简·米诺(Jane Minor)是一名1792年出生的奴隶,由于在1825年的一次流行病期间的医疗工作而获释。她一生都在购买其他奴隶的自由。 她释放了至少十六个人,其中一些花费超过2000美元,每次就诊的薪水大约为2至5美元。

简·米诺(Jane Minor)

简·米诺(Jane Minor,abt 1792-1858年),也被称为根西(gensey)(或詹森)·斯诺,是非裔美国人的治疗者和奴隶解放者,这是美国历史上为数不多的被记录为奴隶制的治疗从业者之一。

早年

小未成年人出生于弗吉尼亚州丁威迪县的Gensey Snow,身为奴隶制。 她曾在本杰明·哈里斯·梅(Benjamin Harris May)的地产上工作。

治疗者和解放者

历史学家苏珊·莱伯索克(Susan Lebsock)表示,未成年人“在医学上显然是熟练的,并且是一位非常有天赋的人,对治疗师有帮助,患者确实对此做出了反应”。 1825年,弗吉尼亚州的彼得斯堡爆发了一场热病,许多黑人和白人家庭都受到了影响。 由于她的康复工作,本杰明·梅(Benjamin May)给予了未成年人她的自由。 在执行契约中,他指出他为…… 继续阅读

来源: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jane_Minor

Jane Minor, a slave born in 1792, was freed due to her medical work during an epidemic in 1825. She spent her life buying the freedom of other slaves. She freed at least sixteen, some costing over $2000, on a salary of around $2-$5 per medical visit.

Jane Minor

Jane Minor (abt 1792-1858), also known as Gensey (or Jensey) Snow, was an African-American healer and slave emancipator, one of the few documented enslaved healing practitioners in United States history.

Early life

Minor was born into slavery as Gensey Snow in Dinwiddie County, Virginia. She worked on the estate of Benjamin Harris May.

Healer and emancipator

Minor “was apparently skilled medically and a very gifted, nurturing healer, someone patients really responded to,” according to historian Susan Lebsock. In 1825, a fever epidemic struck Petersburg, Virginia, and many families, black and white, were affected. As a result of her healing work, Benjamin May gave Minor her freedom. In the manumission deed, he notes that he f… Continue Reading


Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jane_Minor