野生猩猩使用药用植物缓解关节和肌肉发炎。 猿猴嚼下龙血树cantleyi植物的叶子,以产生白色泡沫,然后将其擦在身上。 当地土著人民也将植物用于相同目的。

猩猩使用植物提取物治疗疼痛

医学并非仅是人类的发明。 众所周知,从昆虫到鸟类再到非人类灵长类动物,还有许多其他动物会自行用植物和矿物质进行药物治疗,以预防感染和其他情况。 婆罗洲自然基金会的行为生态学家海伦·莫罗格-伯纳德(Helen Morrogh-Bernard)花了数十年的时间研究该岛的猩猩,并说她现在发现有证据表明它们以前所未有的药用方式使用植物。

在超过20,000小时的正式观察中,Morrogh-Bernard和她的同事们观察到10只猩猩偶尔将一种特殊的植物(不属于其饮食)咀嚼成泡沫状的泡沫,然后将其揉入皮毛中。 猿一次将长达45分钟的时间按摩到其上臂上的混合药或… 继续阅读(2分钟阅读)

关于“野生猩猩使用药用植物缓解关节和肌肉炎症的6条想法”。 猿猴嚼下龙血树cantleyi植物的叶子,以产生白色泡沫,然后将其擦在身上。 当地土著人民也将植物用于相同目的。”

  1. 许多年前,在一次学校旅行中,我看到土著人使用这种植物,却从不知道它的名字。 谢谢!

    鲜为人知但仍然很有趣的事实:猩猩的字面意思是“森林人”。 来自巴哈萨语:红毛猩猩–人与湖滩–森林。

  2. 这与我们的牲畜的行为相似,他们寻找柳树以剥皮和咀嚼树皮,我相信这是一种天然的阿司匹林。

  3. 自从您今天教了我一些东西以来,在这里获得我的免费奖。

  4. 也有黑猩猩和大猩猩使用简单药物的证据,例如吃某些植物以帮助摆脱寄生虫

  5. 我记得读过一些关于在猩猩附近工作的人如何确保猿猴不看他们所做的事情的文章。 众所周知,他们从模仿中窃取拖拉机和船只。

    人们说学习可能与此相反,但是他们学得很快。

发表评论

Wild orangutans use medicinal plants to sooth joint and muscle inflammation. The apes chew leaves of the Dracaena cantleyi plant to create a white lather, which they then rub onto their bodies. Local indigenous people also use the plant for the same purpose.

Orangutans Use Plant Extracts to Treat Pain

Medicine is not exclusively a human invention. Many other animals, from insects to birds to nonhuman primates, have been known to self-medicate with plants and minerals for infections and other conditions. Behavioral ecologist Helen Morrogh-Bernard of the Borneo Nature Foundation has spent decades studying the island’s orangutans and says she has now found evidence they use plants in a previously unseen medicinal way.

During more than 20,000 hours of formal observation, Morrogh-Bernard and her colleagues watched 10 orangutans occasionally chew a particular plant (which is not part of their diet) into a foamy lather and then rub it into their fur. The apes spent up to 45 minutes at a time massaging the concoction onto their upper arms or… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

6 thoughts on “Wild orangutans use medicinal plants to sooth joint and muscle inflammation. The apes chew leaves of the Dracaena cantleyi plant to create a white lather, which they then rub onto their bodies. Local indigenous people also use the plant for the same purpose.”

  1. 1banana2bananas

    On a school trip many years ago, I saw indigenous people use that plant but never knew what its name was. Thanks!

    Better known but still fun fact: orangutan literally means *forest people*. From Bahasa: orang – people and hutan – forest.

  2. butterbean1968

    This is similar behaviour to our cattle who seek out willow trees to strip and chew the bark,which I believe to be a natural aspirin.

  3. WorldTheAround

    I wonder if the indigenous people learned to this from the apes

  4. kitub100

    Since you taught me something today, here, have my free award.

  5. TheGoddessAnoia7

    There’s also evidence of chimpanzees and gorillas practicing simple medicine, such as eating certain plants to help get rid of parasites

  6. mechapoitier

    I remember reading about how people who work near orangutans have to make sure the apes don’t watch what they do. They’ve been known to steal tractors and boats from mimicry.

    People are saying the learning may have gone the other way with this, but they learn damn fast.

Leave a Comment