首页 » 最新资讯 » 政治 » 哪位美国总统赢得了最多的选举投票?

哪位美国总统赢得了最多的选举投票?

如果您不居住在美国,投票制度可能会使您感到困惑。 在本文中,我们将详细说明美国大选的结果以及如何选举总统。

在1984年的总统选举中,罗纳德·里根(Ronald Reagan)在49个州中的50个赢得了选举,总共获得525张选举人票。 因此,他成为了在整个美国历史上拥有最多选举人票的总统。

美国选举制度如何运作?

作为一个依靠民主的国家,您想以为总统候选人是由美国公民直接选举产生的。 可悲的是,事实并非如此。

候选人由 选民 通过选举学院的过程。 此过程基于美国宪法,该宪法是在国会投票与公民普选之间的折衷方案。 (来源: 美国政府)

选举学院如何运作?

选举学院的过程始于选择 选民。 共有538名选民,并且必须有270的多数票才能宣布候选人为总统。 (来源: 美国政府)

如何获得选民资格?

为了符合选举人资格,《美国宪法》规定,不得任命美利坚合众国参议员,代表或担任信托或利润办公室的人为选举人。 这项规定已经到位,以避免在内战时代退缩。 选民的选择需要经过两部分的过程才能做出决定。 (来源: 美国政府)

如果选民投票选举总统,为什么还要在大选中投票呢?

大选投票仍然很重要。 在大选期间,您的投票有助于确定您的州选民。 当您对总统候选人进行投票时,您实际上并不是在为总统投票。 相反,您是在告诉您的州支持哪个候选人。 反过来,国家使用大选的数据来任命选民。 (来源: 美国政府)

里根如何在1984年选举中获胜?

罗纳德·里根(Ronald Reagan)于6年1984月49日获得第二任美国总统。他在50个州中的59个州中击败了沃尔特·蒙代尔(Walter Mondale)。 他还以XNUMX%的票数赢得了普选票。 使他的胜利成为压倒性胜利,这在当时是历史性的胜利。 (来源: 纽约时报)

里根在共和党中没有遭到反对。 非洲裔美国传教士杰西·杰克逊(Jesse Jackson)于1983年宣布竞选民主党。

杰克逊受到现任参议员和前州长的竞争,导致沃尔特·蒙代尔(Walter Mondale)代表民主党。 蒙代尔(Mondale)的倒台始于他表示将提高税收的时候。 民主党人等着里根犯了一个错误,但他从未这么做。 争议进一步蔓延,这对蒙代尔和他的竞选伙伴杰拉尔丁·费拉罗(Geraldine Ferraro)并没有真正描绘出好景象。 (来源: 英国的)

发表评论

Home » News » Politics » Which US President Won the Most Number of Electoral Votes?

Which US President Won the Most Number of Electoral Votes?

If you do not live in the United States, the system of voting may confuse you. In this article we will explain the details on what happens in the US election, and how Presidents are chosen.

In the 1984 Presidential election Ronald Reagan won in 49 out of the 50 states, and garnered a total of 525 electoral votes. Thus making him the president who had the most number of electoral votes in the entire history of the United States.

How Does the US Election System Work?

Being a country that banks on democracy, you’d like to think that the Presidential candidate is elected directly by the citizens of the United States. Sadly, this isn’t the case.

Candidates are chosen by electors though the process of Electoral College. This process is based on the US Constitution that was made to be a compromise between a vote issued in Congress and a popular vote by the citizens. (Source: USA Gov)

How Does the Electoral College Work?

The process of the Electoral College starts with the selection of the electors. There are a total of 538 electors, and a majority vote of 270 is required in order for a candidate to be declared as president. (Source: USA Gov)

How to Qualify as an Elector?

To be qualified as an elector, the US Constitution states that no Senator or Representative or Person holding an Office of Trust or Profit under the United States of America shall be appointed as an elector. This provision has been set in place to avoid the kerfuffle back in the Civil War era. The selection of the electors go through a two-part process before a decision is made. (Source: USA Gov)

If the Electors Vote for President, Why Should You Vote in the General Election?

Voting in the general election is still important. During the general election, your vote helps determine who your State elector shall be. When you cast your vote for the Presidential candidate, you aren’t actually voting for the President. Rather, you are telling your state which candidate you support. The state in turn, uses the data from the general election to appoint the electors. (Source: US Gov)

How Did Reagan Win in the 1984 Elections?

Ronald Reagan won a second term as the President of the United States in November 6, 1984. He was able to defeat Walter Mondale in 49 out of the 50 states. He also won the popular vote by 59 percent. Making his victory a landslide win, quite a historical one at that. (Source: NY Times)

Reagan ran unopposed in the Republican Party. Whereas Jesse Jackson, an African American preacher announced his candidacy for the Democratic Party in 1983.

Jackson was contested by incumbent senators and former governors which led to Walter Mondale representing the Democratic Party instead. Mondale’s downfall started when he stated that he would raise taxes. The Democrats waited for Reagan to make a mistake, but he never did. More controversy was spilled which didn’t really paint a good picture for Mondale and his running mate Geraldine Ferraro. (Source: Britannica)

9 thoughts on “Which US President Won the Most Number of Electoral Votes?”

  1. Sirhc978

    Related fun facts:

    FDR is in second with 523 electoral votes, but there were only 531 total votes to win. There were 538 total for Reagan to win.

    Nixon is in 3rd place with 520 votes

  2. suzukigun4life

    Mondale’s campaign was such a disaster. He openly called for raising taxes on millions of voters openly during the election. He alienated a lot of party members by doing so. He spent over $3 million on television advertising in California, where he had no chance of winning.

  3. ksiyoto

    Interesting note: After the first debate, there were some questions voiced about whether or not Reagan was going senile – even the Wall Street Journal talked about it. In the second debate, there was this moment: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoPu1UIBkBc

    Mondale later remarked that at that moment, he knew Reagan was going to win.

  4. cuidado-jones

    Ronald Reagan? The ACTOR?!

  5. dkl415

    Washington won unanimous victories in the electoral college in both 1788 and 1792. Fewer total votes since there were fewer states, but a clean sweep.

  6. BeepBlipBlapBloop

    And the one state he lost, he lost by less than four thousand votes. It was very nearly a clean sweep.

  7. indigo-a-a

    Mondale only won Minnesota, his home state.

  8. Aonberg

    Is something like this possible ever again? I highly doubt it.

  9. bserum

    Seeing this statistic in a vaccuum, one could be forgiven for thinking that 98% of America supported Reagan in 1984.

    And while he totally dominated within America’s electoral college system, looking a little deeper suggests a nation as divided as it has ever been…

    58% of the popular vote went to Reagan

    31% of eligible voters voted for Reagan (53.3% voter turnout)

Leave a Comment