أراد دوايت دي أيزنهاور حضور تخرج ابنه جون من ويست بوينت ، لكنه لم يتمكن من القيام بذلك لأنه كان "مشغولاً قليلاً بالعمل". في يوم التخرج - 6 يونيو 1944 - كان أيزنهاور الأكبر يشرف على غزو الحلفاء لنورماندي.

العد التنازلي ليوم النصر: كيف سيحتفل منزل الرئيس أيزنهاور في جيتيسبيرغ بذكرى الغزو

داخل منزل الرئيس دوايت دي أيزنهاور السابق في جيتيسبيرغ ، يعلق صورة لابنه جون ، عندما كان أيزنهاور الأصغر مسجلاً في الأكاديمية العسكرية للولايات المتحدة في ويست بوينت.

قال دان فيرميليا ، حارس حديقة في موقع أيزنهاور التاريخي الوطني: "بالطبع ، لم يكن آيك قادرًا على التواجد هناك لتخرج ابنه في ويست بوينت". "في رسائله إلى [زوجته] مامي في الأيام والأسابيع التي سبقت [التخرج] ، كان أحد الأشياء التي ذكرها هو مدى رغبته في أن يكون هناك. لكنه ذكر أنه ، للأسف ، كان "مشغولًا جدًا بالعمل".

كان ذلك لأن جون أيزنهاور تخرج من ويست بوينت في 6 يونيو 1944 - في نفس اليوم الذي عمل فيه والده كقائد أعلى للحلفاء لبعثة الحلفاء ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 5 دقائق)

6 أفكار حول "أراد دوايت د.أيزنهاور حضور تخرج ابنه جون من ويست بوينت ، لكنه لم يتمكن من القيام بذلك لأنه كان" مشغولاً بعض الشيء بالعمل " في يوم التخرج - 6 يونيو 1944 - كان أيزنهاور الأكبر يشرف على غزو الحلفاء لنورماندي ".

  1. مزتهفروج

    أراد جون كنيدي حضور معرض العالم لعام 1962 في سياتل لكنه دعا بسبب البرد.

    علمنا لاحقًا أن برده كان في الواقع أزمة الصواريخ الكوبية.

  2. نينجا نيرد 99

    ومن المفارقات أن أحد الأسباب التي أدت إلى سوء أداء الألمان في D-Day هو أن جميع كبار قادتهم مثل Rommel حصلوا على تقرير عن الطقس يشير إلى سوء الأحوال الجوية في اليومين المقبلين وغادروا لزيارة العائلة أو الحفلة في باريس.

  3. هوبيت دود 13

    سألته بكل جدية: إذا التقينا بضابط أعلى رتبة مني ولكن دونك ، فكيف نتعامل مع هذا؟ هل احيي اولا وعندما يردون تحياتي هل تردون لهم؟ ›.

    "كان رد فعل أبي المزعج قصيرًا. جون ، لا يوجد ضابط في هذا المسرح لا يتفوق عليك ويحتل مرتبة أقل مني ".

  4. عازل

    يا له من عذر ضعيف ، الأسرة أولاً

  5. ImGumbyDamnIt

    تخرجت حماتي من جامعة كولومبيا في يوم النصر. كان زوجها ملازمًا في طاقم عمل عمر برادلي. فقدت شهادتها أثناء انتقالها بعد بضع سنوات. كتبت للمدرسة للاستعلام عما إذا كان بإمكانها الحصول على بديل. بحلول هذا الوقت ، كان أيزنهاور يشغل منصب رئيس الجامعة (كان هذا قبل ترشحه لـ POTUS). وقعت أيزنهاور على دبلومة بديلة مؤرخة بتاريخ تخرجها الأصلي ، 6 يونيو 1944.

  6. حيسوس 2

    وتخرج ابن توم هانكس في نفس الفصل!

اترك تعليق

Dwight D. Eisenhower wanted to attend his son John’s graduation from West Point, but was unable to do so because he was “a bit too busy with work.” On graduation day – June 6, 1944 – the elder Eisenhower was overseeing the Allied invasion of Normandy.

Countdown to D-Day: how President Eisenhower’s Gettysburg home will mark the invasion’s anniversary

Inside the former Gettysburg home of President Dwight D. Eisenhower hangs a portrait of his son, John, when the younger Eisenhower was enrolled at the United States Military Academy at West Point.

“Of course, Ike was not able to be there for his son’s West Point graduation,” said Dan Vermilya, a park ranger at the Eisenhower National Historic Site. “In his letters to [his wife] Mamie in the days and weeks leading up [to the graduation], one thing he mentioned was how much he wanted to be there. But he made mention that, sadly, he was ‘a bit too busy with work’.”

That was because John Eisenhower graduated from West Point on June 6, 1944 – the same day that his father, serving as the Supreme Allied Commander for the Allied Expeditiona… Continue Reading (5 minute read)

6 thoughts on “Dwight D. Eisenhower wanted to attend his son John’s graduation from West Point, but was unable to do so because he was “a bit too busy with work.” On graduation day – June 6, 1944 – the elder Eisenhower was overseeing the Allied invasion of Normandy.”

  1. Miztahfrawg

    JFK wanted to attend the 1962 Worlds Fair in Seattle but called out because of a cold.

    We learned later that his cold was actually the Cuban Missile Crisis.

  2. NinjaNerd99

    Ironically one the reasons the Germans did so poorly on D-Day is all their top commanders like Rommel got a weather report that indicated bad weather for the next couple of days and left to visit family or party in Paris.

  3. hobbitdude13

    “I asked him in all earnestness: ‘If we should meet an officer who ranks above me but below you, how do we handle this? Should I salute first and when they return my salute, do you return theirs?’

    “Dad’s annoyed reaction was short. ‘John, there isn’t an officer in this theater who doesn’t rank above you and below me.’”

  4. dielectricunion

    what a lame excuse, family first /s

  5. ImGumbyDamnIt

    My Mother-in-law graduated from Columbia University on D-Day. Her husband was a lieutenant on Omar Bradley’s staff. She lost her diploma during a move a few years later. She wrote the school to inquire if she could get a replacement. By this time Eisenhower was serving as the university president (this was before he ran for POTUS). Eisenhower signed her replacement diploma, dated with her original graduation date, June 6, 1944.

  6. haysoos2

    And Tom Hanks’ son graduated in the same class!

Leave a Comment