认识新英格兰女孩苏珊·巴彻(Susan Butcher),她的人生唯一目标是赢得阿拉斯加的伊迪塔罗德(Alaskan Iditarod)越野拉雪橇犬比赛,最终她以创纪录的时间赢得了四次胜利,并成为有史以来最伟大的猛将之一

苏珊·布彻(Susan Butcher)

苏珊·霍华特·布彻(Susan Howlet Butcher)(26年1954月5日至2006年1986月1990日)是美国爱犬者,值得注意的是,她是XNUMX年第二次赢得Iditarod Trail拉雪橇犬比赛的女子,XNUMX年第二次获得四次冠军,也是第一次赢得冠军连续五年中的四年。 苏珊屠夫节在阿拉斯加举行纪念活动。

生活与事业

伊迪塔罗德饰面

出生年份

职务

时间

1978

19

16d 15h 40m 30s

1979

9

16d 11h 15m 32s

1980

5

15d 10h 17m 6s

1981

5

12d 12h 45m 24s

1982

2

16d 4h 43m 53s

1983

9

13d 10h 25m 32s

1984

2

12d 16h 41m 42s

1985

划痕

1986

1

11d 15h 6m 0s

1987

1

11d 2h 5m 13s

1988

继续阅读(3分钟阅读)

关于“遇见苏珊·布彻(Susan Butcher),一个新英格兰姑娘的人生唯一目标是赢得阿拉斯加的伊迪塔罗德(Alaskan Iditarod)越野拉雪橇犬比赛,她最终以创纪录的时间赢得了7次比赛,并成为有史以来最伟大的猛扑者之一

  1. awill237

    我第一次住在阿拉斯加是她的头两次。 这是一个*大*的交易。 我似乎还记得她在其他人承认它们是团队而不是工具之前,也曾大力倡导正确对待猛犬。

  2. 泰瑞德

    对于我星期六的早晨来说,这是一本好书。 谢谢!

  3. 无论如何

    她来过我们学校几次,我有一个叔叔在艾迪塔罗德与她竞争。 他除了对她的尊敬外别无他法-当时他唯一受到高度评价的穆斯林是马丁·布塞尔(Martin Buser)–两者都以高标准的狗只护理闻名。

    我的叔叔相信-并且在兰斯之前“如果我不愿意用吸盘猛击另一个赛车手让我赶出比赛,我将不知道良好的体育精神”麦基起飞了,我认为这是一种更受欢迎的态度-虽然比赛的地位很重要,但是最好的狗狗护理奖赏更多地说明了您是一名杀手,如果您只能拥有一个,那么,第一名是卡车,而另一名是尊重。

    我的叔叔也从未赢过,但他仍然有一个狗窝,并在冰川上为游客游览,他希望我的一个堂兄弟有一天能将奖金带回家。

    我喜欢艾迪塔罗德(Iditarod)–它能保存历史并与社区建立联系,并提高了人们对动物保健标准的认识。 我喜欢强调狗的安全性,良好的运动精神以及对统一的阿拉斯加的重视,所有这些都包括红灯笼奖,金块奖。

    我想到去年,猛击者离开了一个正常的世界,两周后又回到家中,全面爆发了COVID。 一个很长的男人被困在这里很久了。 由于COVID,他无法回家。

    但是社区团结在一起,互相帮助,就像在米勒河大火期间一样。 我认为其中很大一部分是由于Susan和Martin和Libby的善良和关心的传统,以及其他所有钉在钉子之前的钉子。 这是种族的骨肉。 在您的照顾下有一条狗死对您来说是一个黑标。 人们记得,他们说话。 从赛车手的角度来看,有时这是不可避免的–当雪机撞到您的狗队时,您将无法控制。 但是,当您让兰斯·麦基(Lance Mackey)丢掉多只狗并一路给他们下药时,该怎么办? 没事我们记得。 而且我们对此不太友善。

    人们喜欢苏珊吗? 我们记得他们。 他们的故事讲述了我们的未来。 他们的故事启发了艾莉·兹克尔斯(Ally Zirkles),这是雷丁顿(Redingtons)或史密斯(Smyths)的最新作物。 他们在小学时被告知提醒:如果您为自己的工作而努力,并且不放弃,那么您可以做的甚至超出您的想象。

    TL; DR –很棒的女人,在这里仍然很受人尊敬

  4. funky_grandma

    但是您是否听说过进入Iditarod的全猫科动物球队? 他们没有获得大奖,但是他们却带着一堆冷的硬猫回家了。

  5. 想法

    您说“人生的唯一目标”,但我认为很多人甚至没有“唯一的目标”,而完全迷失了。 基本上是一生中大部分时间都活着的僵尸。

    至少我就是这样。 我也想要生活中唯一的目标。

  6. 俄亥俄州梅吉

    她有一本书。 我每年与我的学生分享。

发表评论

Meet Susan Butcher, a New England girl whose only goal in life was to win the Alaskan Iditarod Trail Sled Dog race which she ultimately won 4 times with record times and became one the greatest mushers of all time

Susan Butcher

Susan Howlet Butcher (December 26, 1954 – August 5, 2006) was an American dog musher, noteworthy as the second woman to win the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in 1986, the second four-time winner in 1990, and the first to win four out of five sequential years. She is commemorated in Alaska by the Susan Butcher Day.

Life and career

Iditarod Finishes

Year

Position

Time

1978

19th

16d 15h 40m 30s

1979

9th

16d 11h 15m 32s

1980

5th

15d 10h 17m 6s

1981

5th

12d 12h 45m 24s

1982

2nd

16d 4h 43m 53s

1983

9th

13d 10h 25m 32s

1984

2nd

12d 16h 41m 42s

1985

Scratched

1986

1st

11d 15h 6m 0s

1987

1st

11d 2h 5m 13s

1988

Continue Reading (3 minute read)

7 thoughts on “Meet Susan Butcher, a New England girl whose only goal in life was to win the Alaskan Iditarod Trail Sled Dog race which she ultimately won 4 times with record times and became one the greatest mushers of all time”

  1. awill237

    I was living in Alaska the first two times she placed first. It was a *huge* deal. I seem to remember she was a great advocate for proper treatment of the mushing dogs, too, before others had acknowledged them as a team and not a tool.

  2. terad

    That was a nice read for my Saturday morning. Thanks!

  3. NotAnotherWhatever

    She came to our school a few times, and I have an uncle who competed against her in the Iditarod. He had nothing but respect for her – at the time the only musher he talked more highly of was Martin Buser – both were known for their high standards of dog care.

    My uncle believed – and before Lance “I wouldn’t know good sportsmanship if sucker punching another racer got me kicked out of races” Mackey took off I think this was a more popular attitude – that while race standing is important, the best dog care award says a lot more about you as a musher, and if you could only have one, well, first place comes with a truck but the other comes with respect.

    My uncle never won either, but he’s still got a kennel and does tours for tourists on the glaciers, and he’s hoping one of my cousins will bring the prize home for the kennel some day.

    I love the Iditarod – it preserves history and connects the community and raised a lot of awareness about animal care standards. I love the emphasis on dog safety, and good sportsmanship, and on a unified Alaska.The red lantern prize, gold nugget prize, all of it.

    I think about last year where the mushers left to a normal world and came home two weeks later to a full swing of COVID. A musher got trapped here, for a long time. He couldn’t go home to his country because of COVID.

    But the community stuck together and helped each other, much like during the Miller’s Reach fire. I think a big part of that is because of the tradition of kindness and care Susan and Martin and Libby and all those other mushers before nailed into place. It’s in the bones of the race. Having a dog die in your care is such a black mark against you. People remember, and they talk. Sometimes it’s unavoidable from a racer standpoint – when a snow machine crashes into your dog team, you can’t control that. But when you’re Lance Mackey losing multiple dogs and drugging them up along the way? Nah. We remember. And we don’t take very kindly to it.

    People like Susan, though? We remember them. And their stories inform our future. Their stories inspire the Aliy Zirkles, the newest crop of Redingtons, or Smyths. They’re told at elementary schools as reminders: you can do so much more if you work for it and don’t give up than you could even imagine.

    TL;DR – wonderful woman, still very revered here

  4. funky_grandma

    But have you heard about the all-feline team that entered the Iditarod? They didn’t win the grand prize, but they did go home with a pile of cold hard cats.

  5. idevcg

    you say “only goal in life” but I think a lot of people don’t even have “an only goal” and are just completely lost. Basically a living zombie for most of their lives.

    At least that’s how I was. I want an only goal in life too.

  6. OhioMegi

    I have a book she wrote. I share it with my students every year.

  7. cactuspizza

    Musher is such a cool word

Leave a Comment