1714年,两支武装直升机战斗了2个小时,其中一架用完了弹药。 机长向他的对手发信息,感谢他的对决,并要求更多弹药,以便战斗能够继续进行。 他的对手拒绝了,但是他们随后同意朝相反的方向航行。

当斯堪的纳维亚最残酷的海军上将用完弹药时,他向敌人要求更多

在18世纪初期的浪漫航海时代,彼得·托登斯克约(Peter Tordenskjold)成为海军英雄主义和轻率运动的化身。 他是勇敢的勇士和绅士冒险家的胆大包天的组合,他在皇家达诺-挪威海军服役期间的成就使他成为斯堪的纳维亚的纳尔逊海军上将。

未来的Tordenskjold于1690年出生于Peter Jansen Wessel,出生于挪威特隆赫姆的一个富裕商人家庭。 他是14个孩子中的第18个,在青年时代,他据说是无法控制的,并且参与了许多战斗。 最终,他逃到海上,希望成为丹麦海军的一名军官。 自1524年以来,丹麦和挪威已经团结在一起,丹麦成为主要国家。

那时候… 继续阅读(6分钟阅读)

关于“ 12年,两架武装直升机战斗了1714个小时,其中一架用完了弹药之前,有2个想法。 机长向他的对手发信息,感谢他的对决,并要求更多弹药,以便战斗能够继续进行。 他的对手拒绝了,但他们随后同意朝相反的方向航行。”

  1. 毁灭的灿烂

    >在26年27月1714日至14日期间,韦塞尔的洛文达尔·加莱(Lovendals Gallej)战舰与瑞典护卫舰De Olbing Galley战斗。 奥尔宾被一面英国国旗掩盖,并被一个名叫巴克特曼的英国人指挥。 韦塞尔本人当时正在荷兰国旗下飞行,当两艘船意识到自己的本色时,他们开火并奋战了XNUMX多个小时。

    >最终,在遭受了很大的伤害之后,韦塞尔用完了弹药,并将情况告知了巴克特曼。 他感谢他的出色决斗,并大胆要求英国人提供更多的弹药,以便战斗能够继续进行。 Bactmann拒绝了,但是两艘船聚在一起,两名船员欢呼喝了对方的健康。 然后,机长同意朝相反的方向航行。 因此,韦塞尔因这场绅士之战而被告上法庭,但他被无罪释放,然后晋升为上尉。

  2. 卡蒙0253

    “好运动的老家伙。 你有空子吗?”

    “我没有,但我们会平等地分开吗?”

    “确实,美好的一天”

  3. 休·斯图尔特

    人们多次听到类似的有趣绅士风度。 一种解释是,人们过去曾经有更礼貌的行为准则,但我认为,这更多地体现了大多数参战者如何很少有自己的战斗意愿,并会以任何借口为和平而努力。 –不仅是为了保护自己的生命,而且还因为大多数人都希望尽可能避免丧生。

  4. diogenesofthemidwest

    挪威海军的船上有条形码,因此他们可以使用斯堪的纳维亚半岛。

  5. 存在主义

    这让我想起了什么时候第一次将骷髅船加入了盗贼之海。 我们没有意识到我们会一浪又一浪地战斗。 我们开始用完炮弹和木板进行维修。 所以我们登上他们的船,尽可能多地偷东西,然后用它来修理我们的船并向他们开枪。 另外,我们发现通过撞击它们会造成大量损失。 因此,木板比炮弹更有价值。 在一个人不断航行,一个人开车航行并载人航行以及另外两个人战斗/修理/偷窃的情况下,我们击落了十几艘敌军船只。 这是我在电子游戏中获得的最满意的体验之一。

  6. 理性品质

    这可能是一个愚蠢的问题,但是他将如何向他发送消息?

  7. 三角洲查理45

    这使我想起那些关于联盟和同盟士兵互相送咖啡的故事。

  8. 施罗特银行

    他甚至向他们保证,他会尽快归还弹药。

  9. 第89话

    没有鱼的另一个好事实! 学习这真是太好了!

  10. 魔兔

    如果您了解资料来源(主要是瑞典语和丹麦语),则会发现:

    英国上尉叫布莱克曼,不是巴克特曼。 德·奥尔宾(De Olbing)也是英国人,也是英国船员,但有瑞典语的商标信(并且是乔纳斯·阿尔斯纳斯(JonasAlsnäs)之前购买的,目前正以瑞典人的身份进行翻新。后来,翻新工程完成并更名“ Princessan Ulrica Eleonora”)。 1年,这艘船将由臭名昭著的Lars Gathenhielm(“ Lasse i gatan”)转移并指挥,瑞典臭名昭著的私人船东,并更名为“ Le navigationursuédoisd'Islande”(Den svenske islandsfararen /瑞典航海家)。 在1716年和1716年之间,苏维多斯·迪斯兰德航海家将成为大北方战争中最令人恐惧的私有者之一,并获得多项殊荣。
    2.这不是持续的14个小时。 下午晚些时候,布莱克曼伏击了韦塞尔船,他们进行了三小时的对决,直到太阳开始落山,布莱克曼决定撤离(索具严重受损)。 韦塞尔斯进行了维修并追赶。 午夜Wessels赶上了大约两个小时,他们与两个小时的冈德尔战斗,直到船又分开了。 布莱克曼(Blackman)失去了主桅杆,但洛文达斯(LövendalsGallej)的船体受到严重损坏,不得不撤退以避免沉没。 早上六点,韦塞尔斯决定再次与布莱克曼号交战,并开始了另外三个小时的野蛮行动,直到两船再次不得不分离以修复损坏为止,这时两艘船都有如此大的损坏,因此双方都不愿继续进行交战,直到进行修理为止。已进行。 午夜过后,船只再次发生了第四次也是最后一次交战。 一个小时后,De Olbing的状况非常糟糕,但是由于Wessels即将进行最后的推销,他的供应官报告说它们几乎没粉了。 那时,Wessels发送了他的信息,感谢Blackman的对决,并要求提供更多的火药。 布莱克曼拒绝了。
    3.他们之所以向彼此致敬和离开致敬的决定,不是因为绅士的举止,而是因为De Olbing Galley决斗状态不佳,LövendalsGallej没有弹药,而且天气恶劣,不允许登机(与相当猛烈的波浪)。
    4.军事法庭与协议无关。 韦塞尔因揭露重要的军事情报(缺乏火药)和在没有直接命令的情况下与更大的敌舰交战而被法庭mart告(丹麦海军当时的政策是只与同等劣等的敌军交战,否则设法逃脱)。

  11. 战舰_轻骑兵

    类似的事情发生在最近的第二次世界大战期间,那是一艘日本驱逐舰经过沉没的约翰斯顿号战舰,在萨马尔号战斗中

    https://ww2db.com/ship_spec.php?ship_id=377

    > 1010年,她翻身,开始沉入船首。 幸存者比尔·默瑟(Bill Mercer)回忆说:“过去一年,我们都在看着我们的房屋在地面上缓慢滑动。” 船沉没时,一艘日本驱逐舰航行得非常近。 当幸存者准备用机枪耙子时,他们惊讶地看到日本水手站着并向沉船致敬。 幸存者克林特·卡特(Clint Carter)看到一位“穿着整齐的军官……在桥的翼上”也向他致敬,可能是日本驱逐舰的船长。

    他们尊重自己的勇气和牺牲,因为他们是一支小型驱逐舰部队,与战舰和重型巡洋舰从头到脚。

发表评论

In 1714, 2 gunships fought for 14 hours, before one ran out of ammunition. The captain messaged his opponent, thanking him for a fine duel, and asking for more ammunition, so that the fight could continue. His opponent refused, but they then agreed to sail away in opposite directions.

When Scandinavia’s gutsiest Admiral ran out of ammo, he asked his enemy for more

During the Romantic Age of Seafaring in the early 18 Century Peter Tordenskjold became the embodiment of naval heroism and derring-do. He was a daredevil combination of dashing warrior and gentleman adventurer whose exploits whilst serving in the Royal Dano-Norwegian Navy turned him into the Scandinavian equivalent of Admiral Nelson.

The future Tordenskjold was born Peter Jansen Wessel in 1690 to a wealthy merchant family in Trondheim, Norway. He was the 14th of 18 children and as a youth he was reputedly uncontrollable and was involved in many fights. Eventually he ran away to sea with hopes of becoming an officer in the Danish navy. Denmark and Norway had been united since 1524 with Denmark being the dominant country.

At that time… Continue Reading (6 minute read)

12 thoughts on “In 1714, 2 gunships fought for 14 hours, before one ran out of ammunition. The captain messaged his opponent, thanking him for a fine duel, and asking for more ammunition, so that the fight could continue. His opponent refused, but they then agreed to sail away in opposite directions.”

  1. RuinedSplendour

    >During 26-27 July 1714 Wessel’s ship Lovendals Gallej fought a Swedish frigate called De Olbing Galley. The Olbing was disguised by an English flag and commanded by an Englishman called Bactmann. Wessel himself was flying under a Dutch flag and when the two ships realised their true colours they opened fire and fought for over 14 hours.

    >Eventually, after taking much damage, Wessel ran out of ammunition and messaged his situation to Bactmann. He thanked him for a fine duel and boldly requested the Englishman for more ammunition so that the fight could continue. Bactmann declined but the two ships came together and both crews cheered and drank to each other’s health. The captains then agreed to sail away in opposite directions. Wessel was consequently court-martialled for this gentlemanly fight but he was acquitted and then promoted to Captain.

  2. Kamon0253

    “Good sport old chap. Have you any shot to spare?”

    “I haven’t but shall we part as equals?”

    “Indeed and good day”

  3. Hugh_Stewart

    One hears about similar amusing gentlemanly truces in history quite a few times. One interpretation is that people used to have a more polite code of conduct, but I think it’s more a representation of how the majority of participants in wars have very little personal desire to fight in them and will take any excuse they can to strive towards peace – not just to protect their own lives, but also because most people want to avoid taking another’s life whenever possible.

  4. diogenesofthemidwest

    The Norwegian navy had barcodes on their ships so they could Scandinavian.

  5. existentialism91342

    This reminds me of when skeleton ships were first added to sea of thieves. We didn’t realize we’d be fighting wave after wave of them. We began running out of cannonballs and planks for repairs. So we get boarding their ships, stealing as much as we could and then using it to repair our ship and shoot at them. Plus, we found that we’d do tons of damage by ramming them. So planks were kind of worth more than cannonballs. With one guy constantly bailing, one guy driving and manning the sails and the other two fighting/repairint/stealing, we downed what felt like a dozen enemy vessels. It was one of the most satisfying experiences I’ve ever had in a videogame.

  6. NoeticQuality

    This might be a dumb question but how would he have messaged him?

  7. DeltaCharlie45

    This reminds me of those stories about Union and Confederate soldiers sending coffee to each other.

  8. BankOfSchrute

    He even promised them that he’d return the Ammo as soon as possible.

  9. littlemonkeyfella89

    Another great fact from no such thing as a fish! Learning this is superb!

  10. fiendishrabbit

    If you get into the sources (primarily swedish and danish) you find out:

    1. The english captain was named Blackman, not Bactmann. De Olbing was also of english make and english crew but had a Swedish letter of marque (and had been purchased just before by Jonas Alsnäs and was on its way to Sweden to be refurbished as a privateer. It would later complete that refurbishment and be renamed “Princessan Ulrica Eleonora”). In 1716 the ship would be transferred to and commanded by the infamous Lars Gathenhielm (“Lasse i gatan”), swedens most infamous privateer, and renamed “Le navigateur suédois d’Islande” (Den svenske islandsfararen/The swedish voyager to Iceland). Between 1716 and 1717 Le navigateur suédois d’Islande would establish itself as one of the most feared privateers of the Greath Northern war, taking several prizes.
    2. It wasn’t a sustained 14 hour gunduel. In the late afternoon Blackman ambushed Wessels ship, they fought a three hour gun duel, until the sun started to set and Blackman decided to withdraw (with severely damaged rigging). Wessels conducted repairs and pursued. Some two hours before midnight Wessels caught up, they fought a two hour gunduel until again the ships separated. Blackman had lost his main mast, but Lövendals Gallej had severe hull damage and had to retreat to avoid sinking. At six in the morning Wessels decided to once again engage Blackman and another three hour gunduel commenced until the ships once again hade to separate to repair damages, and at this time both ships had such damages that neither were willing to continue the engagement until repairs had been conducted. At one past midday the ships once again clashed for a fourth and final engagement. After one hour De Olbing was in pretty bad condition, but as Wessels was about to go in for the final push his supply officer reported that they were almost out of powder. At which point Wessels sent his message, thanking Blackman for a fine duel and asking for more powder. Which Blackman declined.
    3. Their decision to salute each others health and depart was less due to gentlemanny behavior and more because De Olbing Galley was in no shape for a duel, the Lövendals Gallej was out of ammo and the weather was such that it did not permit boarding (with quite fierce waves).
    4. The court martial was not about the agreement. Wessels was courtmartialled for revealing vital military intelligence (his lack of gunpowder) and for engaging a larger enemy vessel without direct orders (Danish naval policy at this time was to only engage equal and inferior enemies, or else try to escape).

  11. battleship_hussar

    Something similar happened as recently as WWII during the Battle off Samar from a Japanese destroyer passing by the sinking USS Johnston

    https://ww2db.com/ship_spec.php?ship_id=377

    >At 1010, she rolled over and began to sink by the bow. “We all watched as our home for the past year slowly slid below the surface”, recall survivor Bill Mercer. As the ship was sinking, a Japanese destroyer sailed extremely close. As the survivors braced for a raking by machine gun, they were surprised to see that Japanese sailors stood at attention and saluted at the sinking ship. Survivor Clint Carter saw that a “smartly dressed officer… on the wing of the bridge” saluting as well, possibly the captain of the Japanese destroyer.

    They respected their courage and sacrifice for being a small destroyer force going toe-to-toe with battleships and heavy cruisers.

Leave a Comment