首页 » 未分类 » 物理学家布莱恩·施密特(Brian Schmidt)与他的同事肖恩·卡洛尔(Sean Carroll)打赌,押注我们在20年内将不知道宇宙密度参数的值。 布莱恩自己弄清楚了赌注,因此输掉了赌注,这为他赢得了诺贝尔奖。

物理学家布莱恩·施密特(Brian Schmidt)与他的同事肖恩·卡洛尔(Sean Carroll)打赌,押注我们在20年内将不知道宇宙密度参数的值。 布莱恩自己弄清楚了赌注,因此输掉了赌注,这为他赢得了诺贝尔奖。

提升公众演讲经验

抱歉在此博客中引起无线电广播的长时间沉默。 (我认为最初是“无线电科学”,这是我的潜意识的一个令人鼓舞的信号。)我的时间和注意力被一种称为“实际工作”的有趣现象所占用。 我有四份论文几乎都是可提交的粗略草稿,另外三个项目进展顺利,而其中一个项目“这个结果不可能是正确的,因为如果正确,它将是非常有趣和重要的,并且永远不会发生,但是嘿你永远不知道”的阶段。 一年后写很多书,旅行,组织工作坊等,这使我们能够专注于研究。

说到旅行,我上周在澳大利亚度过,一部分在悉尼,另一部分在堪培拉。 这… 继续阅读(4分钟阅读)

发表评论

Home » Uncategorized » Physicist Brian Schmidt made a bet with his colleague Sean Carroll, betting that we wouldn’t know the value of the cosmological density parameter within 20 years. Brian lost the bet by figuring it out himself, which earned him a Nobel prize.

Physicist Brian Schmidt made a bet with his colleague Sean Carroll, betting that we wouldn’t know the value of the cosmological density parameter within 20 years. Brian lost the bet by figuring it out himself, which earned him a Nobel prize.

Upgrading the Public Lecture Experience

Apologies for the extended radio silence here at the blog. (Originally typed “radio science,” which I suppose is an encouraging sign from my subconscious.) My time and attention has been taken up by an interesting phenomenon known as “real work.” I have four papers in almost-submittable rough draft form, another three projects bubbling along nicely, and one project in the “this result can’t be right because if it is right it would be really interesting and important and that never happens but hey you never know” stage. Feels good to be concentrating on research after a year with too much book writing, traveling, workshop organizing, etc.

Speaking of traveling, I spent last week in Australia, partly in Sydney and partly in Canberra. This… Continue Reading (4 minute read)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: