蒙特祖玛城堡背后的故事是什么?

亚利桑那州佛得角山谷的蒙特祖玛城堡是一座古老的建筑,坐落在石灰岩山中。 它高五层,大约有20个房间。

该城堡被认为是阿兹台克皇帝蒙特祖玛的故居。 然而,学者们证明,这座城堡只是由早期的白人定居者错误地命名的。 锡那瓜印第安人负责建立这个奇妙的结构。

谁是锡那瓜印第安人?

Sinagua这个名字的意思是 没有水 在西班牙语中。 锡那瓜印第安人的起源尚不清楚。 但众所周知,在前哥伦布时代之前,他们是和平的美洲原住民。 他们大多是猎人,采集者,工匠,商人和农民。 (来源: 历史)

他们主要在田间种玉米,南瓜和豆类,非常朴素。 他们也是编织大师,在手工艺方面颇有天赋。 收集的文物揭示了由可能自己种植的优质棉制成的非常复杂的设计。 (来源: 历史)

蒙特祖玛城堡(Montezuma Castle)中发现的许多物品在该地区并不常见。 学者们认为,西那瓜印第安人是主要商人,他们从遥远的地方以物易物。 蒙特祖玛城堡可能曾经是商品交易的商业中心。 (来源: 历史)

锡那瓜印第安人怎么了?

没有人真的知道锡那瓜印第安人发生了什么事。 就像,为什么他们离开蒙特祖玛城堡? 我们所知道的是,到公元1425年,他们已经离开了该地区。 (来源: 历史)

一些科学家认为,由于人口过多和资源枯竭,他们撤离了该地区。 其他人则认为他们的水中砷含量可能很高。 (来源: 历史)

部落分裂并在其他地方定居的可能性很大。 然后其他美洲原住民和早期的白人定居者开始住在城堡中。 (来源: 历史)

大规模城堡是如何建造的?

蒙特祖玛城堡建于公元1100年至1350年之间。 该结构竖立在海狸溪(Beaver Creek)上方150英尺的石灰岩悬崖的三分之一处。 (来源: 历史)

城堡的墙壁是用石灰石和泥土做成的。 屋顶被大梁框住,然后被小梁覆盖。 然后用茅草和泥密封框架。 梁本身是从美国梧桐,al木或白蜡树上收获的。 他们是用石斧收集的。 (来源: 历史)

墙的底部厚XNUMX英尺,到顶部时缩小到XNUMX英尺。 房间有高高的天花板,低矮的门。 这种设计有助于保持住宅内部的热量。 (来源: 历史)

蒙特祖玛城堡的保存

在过去的几十年中,城堡得到了修复和维护。 城堡的保存并非易事。 1933年,开始了修复工作。 这是为了修复抢劫者造成的损害。 (来源: 历史)

为了保持一切真实,保存人员使用当地材料进行装修和建造,并进行手工维修。 (来源: 历史)

国家公园管理局(National Park Service)负责监视并维护拥有百年历史的城堡。 他们采取了所有必要的措施来保护这一每年被超过350,000名游客参观的国宝。 (来源: 历史)

关于“蒙特祖玛城堡背后的故事是什么?”的7条想法

  1. 豆腐地

    有趣的是,我星期二就在那儿。 看到这是很酷的事情,但是您在这里看到的几乎就是它。

  2. 耶扎尔·奥兹

    金达喜欢哥伦布以为他曾航行到印度,然后他发现了所谓的美洲原住民,印第安人,这简直就是卡住了……

  3. 费·罗西

    我去过那儿。 好地方。 感到失望的是我们无法上房,但我明白原因。

  4. 二战博士

    实际上,当我还是个孩子的时候,我就经常光顾此事,因为它离我妈妈的家很近,并且需要搬动可以看的西洋镜。 曾经有一次巨石倒下并吓坏了所有人(我是个超级轻快的孩子,所以我以为世界即将终结),之后我们再也没有回过头来。 但是我仍然有美好的回忆。

  5. 维德芬斯班

    >用石斧砍伐树木(通常是梧桐,al木或灰烬),以制成较大的光束。 据报道,斧头可能在15分钟内掉落一棵中等大小的树。

    因此,很明显,我们早在公元1100年就收到了来自当地人的砍伐树木的报告?

  6. 臭名昭著的香蕉4391

    他们想知道他们曾经问过当地人什么名字吗……

  7. 凯里马修

    听起来不错。 美洲原住民的“印度人”一词仍然很普遍。

发表评论

What is the Story Behind the Montezuma Castle?

The Montezuma Castle in Verde Valley, Arizona is an ancient structure situated within a limestone mountain. It stood five stories high and had about 20 rooms.

The castle was believed to be the home of the Aztec emperor Montezuma. Scholars, however, proved that the castle was just named by early caucasian settlers by mistake. The Sinagua Indians were responsible for erecting this marvelous structure.

Who were the Sinagua Indians?

The name Sinagua means without water in Spanish. The origins of Sinagua Indians are quite unclear. But they were known to be peaceful Native Americans during the pre-Colombian era. They were mostly hunters, gatherers, craftsmen, traders, and farmers. (Source: History)

They mainly grew corn, squash and beans in their fields and were very simple people. They were also master weavers and quite gifted in crafting. Artifacts that were gathered revealed quite intricate designs made up of high quality cotton that they probably grew themselves. (Source: History)

Many of the items found in the Montezuma Castle isn’t commonly found in the area. Scholars believe that the Sinagua Indians were master traders who bartered items from far away places. Montezuma Castle may have been the commercial center, where trades of goods were done. (Source: History)

What Happened to the Sinagua Indians?

No one really knows what happened to the Sinagua Indians. Like, why they left Montezuma Castle? What we do know is by 1425 A.D. they have left the area. (Source: History)

Some scientists believe that they vacated the area due to overpopulation and depleting resources. Others believed that their water may have had high arsenic content. (Source: History)

Chances are, the tribe split and settled elsewhere. Then other Native Americans and early white settlers started living in the castle. (Source: History)

How was the Massive Castle Built?

The Montezuma Castle was built sometime between 1100 AD and 1350 AD. The structure is erected a third of the way of a 150 foot limestone cliff right above Beaver Creek . (Source: History)

The walls of the castle were made out of limestone and mud. The roof was framed with large beams which were then covered by smaller beams. The framework was then sealed with thatch and mud. The beams itself were harvested from sycamore, alder or ash trees. They were gathered using stone axes. (Source: History)

The walls were two feet thick at the bottom and narrowed down to one foot as it reached the top. The rooms had high ceilings with low and small doors. This design helped preserve the heat inside the dwelling. (Source: History)

The Preservation of Montezuma Castle

In the past few decades, the castle has been restored and maintained. The preservation of the castle was not an easy feat. In 1933, restoration efforts started. This was to repair the damages looters have caused. (Source: History)

To keep everything authentic, preservationists conduct the renovations and construction using local materials and performed repairs by hand. (Source: History)

The National Park Service monitor and maintains the centuries-old castle. They take all the necessary measure to preserve this national treasure that is visited by over 350,000 tourists every year. (Source: History)

7 thoughts on “What is the Story Behind the Montezuma Castle?”

  1. beanomly

    Funny, I was just there on Tuesday. It’s a pretty cool thing to see, but what you see here is pretty much it.

  2. JezzartheOzzy

    Kinda like how Columbus thought he had sailed to India, and so called the Native Americans he found, Indians and it just kind of stuck…

  3. FaeRosie

    I’ve been there. Nice place. Was disappointed that we couldn’t go up into the dwellings, but I understand why.

  4. DrWWIIHistorian

    I actually frequented this when I was a kid as it was close to my mom’s house and had a need moving diorama you could watch. One time a boulder fell and freaked everyone out (I was super skittish kid so I thought the world was ending), we never went back after that. But I still have fond memories.

  5. viderfenrisbane

    > Stone axes were used to harvest the trees (usually sycamore, alder or ash) used to make the larger beams. The axes could reportedly drop an average-sized tree in 15 minutes.

    So apparently we were getting tree felling reports from the natives back in 1100 AD?

  6. InfamousBanana4391

    Wonder did they ever ask the locals what they called it…

  7. kylemattheww

    Sounds about right. The term “Indian” for Native American is still fairly prevalent.

Leave a Comment