الصفحة الرئيسية » غير مصنف » من شاع كلمة "خلل"؟

من شاع كلمة "خلل"؟

كان هناك الكثير من الكلمات الممتعة التي نستخدمها عادة من مفردات اليديشية. كلمات مثل: schmooze ، maven ، klutz ، ونعم كلمة خلل. ولكن من المسؤول عن تعميم استخدامها في اللغة الحديثة.

اشتهر رائد الفضاء الشهير جون جلين بكلمة "خلل". في كتاب ميركوري سفن ، تأمل في الكلمة قائلاً إنها مصطلح آخر لوصف مشكلة فنية. على الرغم من أنه لم يكن أول من استخدم الكلمة في وسائل الإعلام.

ما هو أصل الكلمة للكلمة خلل?

الكلمة خلل نشأت من الكلمة اليديشية بريق وهو ما يعني مكان زلق. كما أنها تستخدم جليتشن الذي يترجم حرفيا إلى حرك. عندما تفكر في الأمر ، فإنه لا يقترب من وصف كلمة خلل اليوم.

في الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي ، بدأ مذيعو الراديو في استخدام المصطلح خلل لوصف مشاكل على الهواء أو مشاكل فنية. بحلول الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي ، وصل المصطلح إلى وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية وبدأ المهندسون في استخدام المصطلح أيضًا.

لا توجد وسيلة للتأكيد على وجه اليقين كيف تعلم جون جلين عن الكلمة ، ولكن هناك شيء واحد مؤكد - استخدامه للمصطلح سريعًا. الشيء التالي الذي عرفناه ، كان جزءًا من لغة رواد الفضاء. (مصدر: مجلة الفضاء الجوي)

من هو جون جلين؟

ولد جون هيرشل جلين جونيور في 18 يوليو 1921 في كامبريدج بولاية أوهايو. انتقلت عائلته إلى كونكورد بولاية أوهايو بعد ولادته وأنشأ والده شركة Glenn Plumbing. كبر ، كان مفتونًا بالطيران. طار طائرته الأولى مع والده وهو في الثامنة من عمره. حتى أنه كان يصنع نماذج طائرات في أوقات فراغه.

على الرغم من أن الطيران كان حبه الأول ، فقد درس الكيمياء عندما التحق بكلية Muskingum. من خلال برنامج تدريب الطيارين المدنيين المجاني ، تمكن جلين من الحصول على رخصة طيار خاصة بحلول عام 1941.

كان طيارًا في مشاة البحرية الأمريكية ومهندسًا ورجل أعمال وعضوًا في مجلس الشيوخ. لكنه اشتهر بدوره كرائد فضاء. كان أول أمريكي تجول حول الأرض ثلاث مرات في عام 1962. وبعد تقاعده من وكالة ناسا ، أصبح عضوًا في مجلس الشيوخ من عام 1974 حتى عام 1999.

الخلافات حول جون جلين

في عام 1998 ، عاد جون جلين إلى الفضاء لإجراء تجربة صغيرة. أثناء قراءة كتاب يسمى فسيولوجيا الفضاء والطب الذي كتبه أطباء ناسا ، أدرك أن التغيرات التي تحدث في الفضاء مثل فقدان العضلات وكتلة العظام وكذلك بلازما الدم تشبه التغييرات التي يمر بها كبار السن. اعتقد جلين أن وكالة ناسا يجب أن تحاول إرسال شخص كبير السن على متن مهمة مكوكية - وسيكون المرشح المثالي لذلك. (مصدر: بريان رايلي)

قال دان غولدن ، مدير وكالة ناسا في ذلك الوقت ، إنه سيفكر في جلين إذا كان بإمكانه اجتياز الاختبارات البدنية التي أجراها رواد الفضاء الأصغر سنًا. وغني عن القول أنه كان قادرًا على إكمال الاختبارات والتأهل للمهمة.

بحلول يناير 1998 ، أعلن Goldin أن Glenn سيكون جزءًا من STS-95. مما يجعله ، البالغ من العمر 77 عامًا ، أكبر شخص يطير إلى الفضاء. (مصدر: سي ان ان)

كان هناك الكثير من الجدل حول هذه المهمة ، خاصةً عندما كان منخرطًا جدًا في السياسة. أشار بعض الأشخاص في مجتمع الفضاء إلى أن المهمة كانت في الأساس خدمة مُنحت لبيل كلينتون ، الذي كان الرئيس في ذلك الوقت.

قال جون بايك ، مدير اتحاد العلماء الأمريكيين: "إذا كان شخصًا عاديًا ، فإنه سيعترف بأنه بطل أمريكي عظيم وأنه يجب أن يطير على متن المكوك مجانًا. إنه متواضع جدًا بالنسبة لذلك ، ولذا يجب أن يكون لديه سبب البحث الطبي هذا. لا علاقة له بالطب ". (مصدر: سي بي اس نيوز)

اترك تعليق

Who Popularized the Word “Glitch”?

There have been lots of fun words that we commonly use from the Yiddish vocabulary. Words like: schmooze, maven, klutz, and yes the word glitch. But who is responsible for popularizing it’s use in modern language.

The word “glitch” has been popularized by the famous astronaut John Glenn. In the book by the Mercury Seven, he mused about the word saying it was another term to describe a technical problem. Though he was not the first to use the word on media.

What is the Etymology of the Word Glitch?

The word glitch originated from the Yiddish word glitsh which means slippery place. It is also used as glitshn which literally translates to slide. When you think of it, it doesn’t come close to describing what the word glitch today.

In the 1940s radio announcers started using the term glitch to describe an on-air issues or technical problems. By the 1950s the term made it to mainstream media and engineers started using the term as well.

There is no way of telling for sure how John Glenn learned about the word, but one thing is certain – his use of the term caught on quick. The next thing we knew, it was part of astronaut jargon. (Source: Air Space Magazine)

Who is John Glenn?

John Herschel Glenn Jr. was born on July 18, 1921 in Cambridge, Ohio. His family moved to Concord, Ohio after he was born and his father started the Glenn Plumbing Company. Growing up, he was fascinated with aviation. He flew his first plane with his father at the age of 8. He would even build aircraft models in his spare time.

Although aviation was his first love, he studied chemistry when he went to Muskingum College. Through a free Civilian Pilot Training Program, Glenn was able to earn a private pilot license by 1941.

He was a US Marine Corps pilot, an engineer, a businessman, and a state senator. But he was better known for his role as an astronaut. He was the first American to have gone around the earth three times in 1962. And after retiring from NASA, he became a state senator from 1974 until 1999.

Controversies About John Glenn

In 1998, John Glenn went back to space for a little experiment. While reading a book called Space Physiology and Medicine which was written by NASA doctors, he realized that the changes that occur in space such as loss of muscle and bone mass as well as blood plasma are similar to the changes older people experience. Glenn thought NASA should try sending an older person on board a shuttle mission – and he would be the perfect candidate for this. (Source: Brian Riley)

Dan Goldin, the director of NASA during the time said he would consider Glenn if he could pass the physical exams the younger astronauts took. Needless to say, he was able to complete the examinations and qualify for the mission.

By January 1998, Goldin announced that Glenn would be part of the STS-95. Making him, at 77, the oldest person to fly into space. (Source: CNN)

There was a lot of controversy around this mission, especially when he was very involved in politics. Some people on the space community pointed out that the mission was basically a favor granted to Bill Clinton, who was the President at the time.

John Pike, the director of the Federation of American Scientist said: “If he was a normal person, he would acknowledge he’s a great American hero and that he should get to fly on the shuttle for free. He’s too modest for that, and so he’s got to have this medical research reason. It’s got nothing to do with medicine.” (Source: CBS News)

Leave a Comment