首页 » 未分类 » 谁普及了“小故障”一词?

谁普及了“小故障”一词?

我们通常从意第绪语词汇中使用许多有趣的词。 像这样的单词:schmooze,maven,klutz,是的,单词glitch。 但是谁负责推广它在现代语言中的使用。

“小故障”一词已由著名的宇航员约翰·格伦(John Glenn)推广。 在《水星七号》(Mercury Seven)的书中,他沉思着说这个词是描述技术问题的另一个术语。 尽管他不是第一个在媒体上使用这个词的人。

词的词源是什么 毛刺?

这个单词 毛刺 源自意第绪语 格利特什 意思是 湿滑的地方。 它也被用作 格利特恩 从字面上翻译成 。 当您想到它时,它几乎无法描述当今的“故障”一词。

在1940年代,广播电台播音员开始使用该术语 毛刺 描述直播中的问题或技术问题。 到1950年代,该术语已成为主流媒体,工程师也开始使用该术语。

无法肯定地说出约翰·格伦如何学习这个词,但是可以肯定的是,他对这个词的使用很快就流行了。 我们知道的第二件事,是宇航员行话的一部分。 (来源: 航空杂志)

谁是约翰·格伦?

小约翰·赫歇尔·格伦(John Herschel Glenn)于18年1921月8日出生于俄亥俄州剑桥。 他出生后,全家搬到了俄亥俄州的康科德市,父亲开了Glenn Plumbing Company。 长大后,他着迷于航空。 XNUMX岁那年,他与父亲一起飞行了他的第一架飞机。他甚至会在业余时间建立飞机模型。

尽管航空是他的初恋,但他去Muskingum College时学习化学。 通过免费的平民飞行员培训计划,格伦能够在1941年之前获得私人飞行员执照。

他曾是美国海军陆战队的飞行员,工程师,商人和州参议员。 但是他以宇航员的角色而闻名。 他是1962年第三次绕地球飞行的美国人。从NASA退休后,他从1974年到1999年成为州参议员。

关于约翰·格伦的争议

1998年,约翰·格伦(John Glenn)回到太空进行了一次小实验。 在读一本书时 空间生理与医学 由美国宇航局(NASA)医生撰写的书中,他意识到太空中发生的变化,例如肌肉和骨骼质量的损失以及血浆的变化与老年人所经历的变化相似。 格伦(Glenn)认为,美国宇航局(NASA)应该尝试派遣一个老年人执行航天飞机任务,而他将是为此的理想人选。 (来源: 布莱恩·莱利(Brian Riley))

当时,美国宇航局局长丹·戈尔丹(Dan Goldin)表示,如果格伦能够通过年轻的宇航员参加的体检,他将考虑格伦。 不用说,他能够完成考试并有资格参加任务。

到1998年95月,Goldin宣布Glenn将成为STS-77的一部分。 让他现年XNUMX岁,是能够飞入太空的最年长的人。 (来源: 美国有线电视新闻网)

有关此任务的争议很多,尤其是当他非常参与政治时。 太空界的一些人指出,这次飞行任务基本上是对当时的总统比尔·克林顿(Bill Clinton)的青睐。

美国科学家联合会理事长约翰·派克(John Pike)说:“如果他是一个正常人,他会承认他是一位伟大的美国英雄,他应该免费搭乘航天飞机。 他太谦虚了,所以他必须有这个医学研究的理由。 它与医学无关。” (来源: 哥伦比亚广播公司新闻)

发表评论

Who Popularized the Word “Glitch”?

There have been lots of fun words that we commonly use from the Yiddish vocabulary. Words like: schmooze, maven, klutz, and yes the word glitch. But who is responsible for popularizing it’s use in modern language.

The word “glitch” has been popularized by the famous astronaut John Glenn. In the book by the Mercury Seven, he mused about the word saying it was another term to describe a technical problem. Though he was not the first to use the word on media.

What is the Etymology of the Word Glitch?

The word glitch originated from the Yiddish word glitsh which means slippery place. It is also used as glitshn which literally translates to slide. When you think of it, it doesn’t come close to describing what the word glitch today.

In the 1940s radio announcers started using the term glitch to describe an on-air issues or technical problems. By the 1950s the term made it to mainstream media and engineers started using the term as well.

There is no way of telling for sure how John Glenn learned about the word, but one thing is certain – his use of the term caught on quick. The next thing we knew, it was part of astronaut jargon. (Source: Air Space Magazine)

Who is John Glenn?

John Herschel Glenn Jr. was born on July 18, 1921 in Cambridge, Ohio. His family moved to Concord, Ohio after he was born and his father started the Glenn Plumbing Company. Growing up, he was fascinated with aviation. He flew his first plane with his father at the age of 8. He would even build aircraft models in his spare time.

Although aviation was his first love, he studied chemistry when he went to Muskingum College. Through a free Civilian Pilot Training Program, Glenn was able to earn a private pilot license by 1941.

He was a US Marine Corps pilot, an engineer, a businessman, and a state senator. But he was better known for his role as an astronaut. He was the first American to have gone around the earth three times in 1962. And after retiring from NASA, he became a state senator from 1974 until 1999.

Controversies About John Glenn

In 1998, John Glenn went back to space for a little experiment. While reading a book called Space Physiology and Medicine which was written by NASA doctors, he realized that the changes that occur in space such as loss of muscle and bone mass as well as blood plasma are similar to the changes older people experience. Glenn thought NASA should try sending an older person on board a shuttle mission – and he would be the perfect candidate for this. (Source: Brian Riley)

Dan Goldin, the director of NASA during the time said he would consider Glenn if he could pass the physical exams the younger astronauts took. Needless to say, he was able to complete the examinations and qualify for the mission.

By January 1998, Goldin announced that Glenn would be part of the STS-95. Making him, at 77, the oldest person to fly into space. (Source: CNN)

There was a lot of controversy around this mission, especially when he was very involved in politics. Some people on the space community pointed out that the mission was basically a favor granted to Bill Clinton, who was the President at the time.

John Pike, the director of the Federation of American Scientist said: “If he was a normal person, he would acknowledge he’s a great American hero and that he should get to fly on the shuttle for free. He’s too modest for that, and so he’s got to have this medical research reason. It’s got nothing to do with medicine.” (Source: CBS News)

Leave a Comment