ما هو Knuth Reward Check؟

دونالد كنوث ، أبو تحليل الخوارزميات ، مؤلف كتاب "فن برمجة الكمبيوتر". يعتبر هذا الكتاب الكتاب المقدس لعلوم الكمبيوتر الحديثة.

أنشأ دونالد كنوث نظام مكافأة للعثور على أخطاء في كتابه. أرسل شيكات بقيمة 2.56 دولار لكل خطأ يتم العثور عليه وأرسل أكثر من 2,000 شيك بقيمة 20,000 دولار. لم يتم صرف معظم الشيكات. بدلاً من ذلك ، تم الاحتفاظ بها وتأطيرها لحقوق المفاخرة.

ولد دونالد كنوث في ميلووكي ، ويسكونسن. وُلد قبل عام واحد فقط من اندلاع الحرب العالمية الثانية المخيفة في 2 يناير 10. في سن مبكرة ، أظهر كنوث بالفعل ذكاءً فائقًا. انضم إلى مسابقة وفاز بجهاز تلفزيون والكثير من قطع الحلوى لمدرسته. (مصدر: تاريخ الكمبيوتر)

من هو دونالد كنوث؟

حصل كنوث على منحة دراسية في الفيزياء واستمر في الحصول على درجة الدكتوراه. في الرياضيات ، مستعرضًا عقله الاستثنائي. في السنوات التي تلت ذلك ، نشر العديد من الكتب المتعلقة بعلوم الكمبيوتر. في السبعينيات ، كان مجال علوم الكمبيوتر جديدًا. رأى كنوث أن هذا المجال ليس له هوية حقيقية ، ولا معايير ، وقليل جدًا من المراجع المتاحة. (مصدر: مؤسسة BBVA)

بدأ في كتابة كتابه "فن برمجة الكمبيوتر". الكتاب ، حتى الآن ، لا يزال غير مكتمل. يتكون الكتاب من سبعة مجلدات على وجه الدقة. شهد الكتاب العديد من التعديلات والتغييرات ، للتكيف مع طبيعة علوم الكمبيوتر - في تطور مستمر. قام كنوث أيضًا بتأليف العديد من الكتب ، وكلها تساهم في هذا المجال. (مصدر: TAOCP)

ما هو Knuth Reward Check؟

صمم Knuth نظام Knuth Reward Check كنظام لمكافأة بيضة عيد الفصح لأولئك الذين يجدون عيوبًا في منشوراته. يمكن أن يأتي في شكل خطأ مطبعي بسيط لمزيد من الأخطاء التقنية أو التاريخية. يمكن أن يكون أيضًا في شكل اقتراحات جوهرية لمنشوراته.

بدأ مطاردة بيض عيد الفصح في عام 1995 ، حيث أرسل 2.56 دولار إلى أول شخص اكتشف أخطاء في كتبه. مبلغ 2.56 دولار ، يتوافق مع 1 دولار سداسي عشري. (مصدر: كلية ستانفورد)


اعتبارًا من أكتوبر 2001 ، كتب Knuth أكثر من 2,000 شيك ، كل شيك بقيمة 8 دولارات. في أغلب الأحيان ، لم يقم الفائزون بصرف هذه الشيكات. لقد تم الاحتفاظ بها كتذكارات ، أو تم وضعها ، كحق تفاخر ، لوجود خطأ في أعماله. (مصدر: الإذاعة الوطنية العامة)

ما هو بنك سان سيريف؟

في عام 2008 ، توقف Knuth عن إرسال الشيكات الفعلية إلى الحاصلين على جوائز بيضة عيد الفصح. جاء القرار عندما أبلغه مصرفه بالاتجاهات الجديدة في احتيال الشيكات. كان من السهل جدًا الحصول على المعلومات وسرقة الأموال من شيك مكتوب.

لمواصلة مكافأة الأفراد الذين يساعدونه في تحسين منشوراته ، ابتكر Knuth بنك San Serriffe الوهمي. ثم يكتب شهادات إيداع شخصية لكل حائز. لا يزال الفائزون يتلقون شيك حقوق المفاخرة من دونالد كنوث عبر بنك سان سيريف.

يمكن للفائزين العثور على أرصدتهم على موقع Bank of San Serriffe.

البنك غريب الأطوار تمامًا ، شيء من خيال كنوث. عنوانها هو Thirty Point، Caissa Inferiore، San Serriffe، Pincus. يتكهن الكثيرون بأن هذه الأماكن مأخوذة من قصص خيالية عشوائية ربما واجهها كنوث في سنواته.

بغض النظر عن الحقيقة ، لا يزال صيادو بيض عيد الفصح نشطين حتى يومنا هذا ، وما زالوا يعملون في طريقهم للحصول على حساباتهم في هذا البنك الوهمي. لا يزال هذا وحده يثبت ذكاء كنوث وقيمته في كسب لقب "أبو تحليل الخوارزميات". (مصدر: كلية ستانفورد)

اترك تعليق

Home » Science » Computer Science » What is the Knuth Reward Check?

What is the Knuth Reward Check?

Donald Knuth, the Father of Analysis of Algorithms, is the author of The Art of Computer Programming. This book is considered the bible of modern-day Computer Science.

Donald Knuth created a reward system for finding errors in his book. He sends checks for $2.56 for each mistake found and has sent over 2,000 checks valued at $20,000. Most of the checks weren’t cashed. Instead, it was kept and framed for bragging rights.

Donald Knuth was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He was born just a year before the dreaded World War 2 took place on January 10, 1938. At a young age, Knuth has already shown superior intelligence. He joined a contest and won a television set and a lot of candy bars for his school. (Source: Computer History)

Who is Donald Knuth?

Knuth received a scholarship in physics and continued earning his Ph.D. in Mathematics, showcasing his extraordinary mind. In the years that followed, he published many books relating to Computer Science. In the 70s, the field of Computer Science was new. Knuth saw this field as having no real identity, no standards, and very few available references. (Source: BBVA Foundation)

He began writing his book, The Art of Computer Programming. The book is, to date, still unfinished. The book consists of seven volumes, to be exact. The book has seen numerous edits and changes, adapting to Computer Science’s nature – continuously evolving. Knuth also authored numerous books, all contributing to the field. (source: TAOCP)

What is the Knuth Reward Check?

Knuth designed the Knuth Reward Check as an easter egg reward system for those who find flaws in his publications. It can come in the form of a simple typographical error to more technical or historical errors. It can also be in the form of substantial suggestions to his publications.

He began this easter egg hunt in 1995, sending out $2.56 to the first person to find errors in his books. The amount of $2.56, corresponds to 1 hexadecimal dollar. (Source: Stanford Faculty)


As of October 2001, Knuth has written more than 2,000 checks, each check valued at $8. Most often, awardees did not cash these checks. They have been kept as memorabilia, or put, a bragging right, for having found an error in his works. (Source: NPR)

What is the Bank of San Serriffe?

In 2008, Knuth stopped sending actual checks to his easter egg awardees. The decision came when his bank advised him of the new trends in check fraud. It was simply too easy to gain information and steal money off a written check.

To continue rewarding individuals that help him perfect his publications, Knuth came up with the fictitious Bank of San Serriffe. He then writes personal certificates of deposit for each awardee. Awardees still receive the bragging rights check from Donald Knuth via the Bank of San Serriffe.

Awardees can find their balances on the Bank of San Serriffe website.

The bank is purely whimsical, something out of Knuth’s imagination. Its address is Thirty Point, Caissa Inferiore, San Serriffe, Pincus. Many speculate that these places are from random fictitious stories that Knuth may have encountered in his years.

Regardless of the fact, easter egg hunters are still active up to this day, still working their way to have their account in this fictitious bank. This alone still proves Knuth’s intelligence and worth in earning his title as the “Father of Analysis of Algorithms”. (Source: Stanford Faculty)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: