首页 » 科学 » 计算机科学 » 什么是 Knuth 奖励支票?

什么是 Knuth 奖励支票?

Donald Knuth 是算法分析之父,着有《计算机编程艺术》。 这本书被认为是现代计算机科学的圣经。

Donald Knuth 创建了一个奖励系统来发现他书中的错误。 他为发现的每个错误发送了 2.56 美元的支票,并已发送了 2,000 多张价值 20,000 美元的支票。 大多数支票没有兑现。 相反,它被保留和陷害以吹嘘.

唐纳德·克努斯 (Donald Knuth) 出生于威斯康星州密尔沃基市。 他出生在可怕的第二次世界大战于 2 年 10 月 1938 日爆发的前一年。在年轻的时候,克努斯已经表现出超群的智慧。 他参加了一场比赛,为他的学校赢得了一台电视机和许多糖果。 (来源: 电脑历史)

唐纳德·克努斯是谁?

Knuth 获得了物理学奖学金并继续获得博士学位。 在数学方面,展示了他非凡的头脑。 在接下来的几年里,他出版了许多与计算机科学有关的书籍。 在 70 年代,计算机科学领域是新的。 Knuth 认为这个领域没有真正的身份,没有标准,可用的参考资料很少。 (来源: BBVA 基金会)

他开始写他的书,计算机编程的艺术。 迄今为止,这本书仍未完成。 准确地说,这本书共有七卷。 这本书经历了许多编辑和更改,以适应计算机科学的本质 - 不断发展。 Knuth 还撰写了大量书籍,都对该领域做出了贡献。 (来源: TAOCP)

什么是 Knuth 奖励支票?

Knuth 设计了 ​​Knuth 奖励支票作为复活节彩蛋奖励系统,用于那些发现其出版物中存在缺陷的人。 它可以以简单的印刷错误的形式出现,也可以是更多的技术或历史错误。 也可以以对他的出版物提出实质性建议的形式。

他于 1995 年开始寻找复活节彩蛋,向第一个在他的书中发现错误的人寄出 2.56 美元。 2.56 美元的金额,对应于 1 个十六进制美元。 (来源: 斯坦福学院)


截至 2001 年 2,000 月,Knuth 已开出 8 多张支票,每张支票的价值为 XNUMX 美元。 大多数情况下,获奖者不会兑现这些支票。 它们被保留为纪念品,或者说是吹嘘的权利,因为在他的作品中发现了错误。 (来源: 美国国家公共电台)

什么是圣塞里夫银行?

2008 年,Knuth 停止向他的复活节彩蛋获奖者发送实际支票。 当他的银行告诉他支票欺诈的新趋势时,做出了这个决定。 从书面支票中获取信息和偷钱太容易了。

为了继续奖励帮助他完善出版物的个人,Knuth 想出了虚构的 San Serriffe 银行。 然后他为每个获奖者写个人存款证明。 获奖者仍会通过圣塞里夫银行收到唐纳德·克努斯 (Donald Knuth) 的吹牛权支票。

获奖者可以在圣塞里夫银行网站上找到他们的余额。

银行纯粹是异想天开,超出了 Knuth 的想象。 它的地址是三十点,Caissa Inferiore,San Serriffe,Pincus。 许多人推测这些地方来自 Knuth 在他的岁月中可能遇到的随机虚构故事。

不管事实如何,复活节彩蛋猎人直到今天仍然很活跃,仍在努力在这家虚构的银行开设账户。 仅此一点就证明了 Knuth 的智慧和价值,他赢得了“算法分析之父”的称号。 (来源: 斯坦福学院)

发表评论

Home » Science » Computer Science » What is the Knuth Reward Check?

What is the Knuth Reward Check?

Donald Knuth, the Father of Analysis of Algorithms, is the author of The Art of Computer Programming. This book is considered the bible of modern-day Computer Science.

Donald Knuth created a reward system for finding errors in his book. He sends checks for $2.56 for each mistake found and has sent over 2,000 checks valued at $20,000. Most of the checks weren’t cashed. Instead, it was kept and framed for bragging rights.

Donald Knuth was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He was born just a year before the dreaded World War 2 took place on January 10, 1938. At a young age, Knuth has already shown superior intelligence. He joined a contest and won a television set and a lot of candy bars for his school. (Source: Computer History)

Who is Donald Knuth?

Knuth received a scholarship in physics and continued earning his Ph.D. in Mathematics, showcasing his extraordinary mind. In the years that followed, he published many books relating to Computer Science. In the 70s, the field of Computer Science was new. Knuth saw this field as having no real identity, no standards, and very few available references. (Source: BBVA Foundation)

He began writing his book, The Art of Computer Programming. The book is, to date, still unfinished. The book consists of seven volumes, to be exact. The book has seen numerous edits and changes, adapting to Computer Science’s nature – continuously evolving. Knuth also authored numerous books, all contributing to the field. (source: TAOCP)

What is the Knuth Reward Check?

Knuth designed the Knuth Reward Check as an easter egg reward system for those who find flaws in his publications. It can come in the form of a simple typographical error to more technical or historical errors. It can also be in the form of substantial suggestions to his publications.

He began this easter egg hunt in 1995, sending out $2.56 to the first person to find errors in his books. The amount of $2.56, corresponds to 1 hexadecimal dollar. (Source: Stanford Faculty)


As of October 2001, Knuth has written more than 2,000 checks, each check valued at $8. Most often, awardees did not cash these checks. They have been kept as memorabilia, or put, a bragging right, for having found an error in his works. (Source: NPR)

What is the Bank of San Serriffe?

In 2008, Knuth stopped sending actual checks to his easter egg awardees. The decision came when his bank advised him of the new trends in check fraud. It was simply too easy to gain information and steal money off a written check.

To continue rewarding individuals that help him perfect his publications, Knuth came up with the fictitious Bank of San Serriffe. He then writes personal certificates of deposit for each awardee. Awardees still receive the bragging rights check from Donald Knuth via the Bank of San Serriffe.

Awardees can find their balances on the Bank of San Serriffe website.

The bank is purely whimsical, something out of Knuth’s imagination. Its address is Thirty Point, Caissa Inferiore, San Serriffe, Pincus. Many speculate that these places are from random fictitious stories that Knuth may have encountered in his years.

Regardless of the fact, easter egg hunters are still active up to this day, still working their way to have their account in this fictitious bank. This alone still proves Knuth’s intelligence and worth in earning his title as the “Father of Analysis of Algorithms”. (Source: Stanford Faculty)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: