首页 » 法律与政府 » 公共安全 » 犯罪与正义 » 布里斯班为什么成立?

布里斯班为什么成立?

几个世纪以来,有几个国家将他们的囚犯送到罪犯殖民地流放。 有几个殖民地已经在澳大利亚开始。 首先,让我们谈谈布里斯班及其成立的原因。

布里斯班最初是一个流放地,关押那些在澳大利亚领土上犯下新罪行而已经被流放的罪犯。 它最初被称为摩顿湾刑事和解。

什么是流放地?

流放地是为被迫与社会隔离的罪犯而设立的海外定居点。 英格兰最初将他们的罪犯运往美国。 然后,当美国革命发生时,他们开始将他们送往澳大利亚。 (来源: 英国的)

什么是摩顿湾刑事和解?

摩顿湾刑事拘留所成立于 1825 年,是一个流放重犯的地方。 欧洲人首先发现了布里斯班河,并与三名前罪犯开始了定居点。

到 1826 年,该定居点已经有 200 名罪犯。 但此时布里斯班不仅仅是一个营地。 帕特里克·洛根 (Patrick Logan) 上尉启动了一项公共工程计划,以用更好的建筑取代临时建筑。

Spring Hill 的一座风车建于 1828 年。风车用于将玉米和小麦磨成面粉。 风车由风帆提供动力,而跑步机则作为一种惩罚形式运行。 洛根船长以异常残忍的方式使用了这种惩罚。

报道称,摩顿湾的犯人在洛根船长的监视下遭受了很大的痛苦。 他们被要求从黎明开始工作,直到太阳落山。 那些行为不端的人会被用脚镣束缚,在跑步机上大量工作,或接受 150 次拉动,从而受到进一步的惩罚。 (来源: NMA)

布里斯班是如何得名的?

殖民地建立时,法律不允许在该地区附近建立任何私人定居点。 随着岁月的流逝,新罪犯的数量开始减少,人口也出现了明显的下降。

英国政府开始质疑和解的可持续性。 到 1838 年,该地区对自由定居者开放。 路德教会的传教士是第一个在此期间定居的传教士。

到 6 年 1859 月 XNUMX 日,布里斯班市宣告成立。 它的名字来自托马斯布里斯班爵士。 他是一名出生于苏格兰的英国士兵,当时被任命为新南威尔士州州长。 John Petrie was the first elected mayor. (来源: 澳大利亚传记词典)

布里斯班在现代世界的表现如何?

今天,众所周知,布里斯班市是澳大利亚昆士兰州人口最多的城市,拥有 2.6 万人口。 然而,它是一个多元化的城市,约有 32% 的人口出生在外国。

布里斯班被列为全球宜居城市之首的全球城市评级。 他们以其独特的建筑和多元文化而闻名。 正因为如此,这座城市成为了一个颇受欢迎的旅游景点。 (来源: GaWC眼中的世界)

发表评论

Home » Law & Government » Public Safety » Crime & Justice » Why Was Brisbane Founded?

Why Was Brisbane Founded?

For centuries several countries have sent their prisoners to exile in convict colonies. There are a few colonies that have started in Australia. First, let’s talk about Brisbane and the reason why it was founded.

Brisbane was originally a penal colony for convicts who had committed new offenses on Australian soil while they were already being exiled. It was initially known as Moreton Bay Penal Settlement.

What is a Penal Colony?

A penal colony is an overseas settlement made for criminals forced into isolation from society. England initially shipped off their criminals to America. Then, when the American Revolution happened, they started sending them off to Australia. (Source: Britannica)

What is the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement?

The Moreton Bay Penal Settlement was established in 1825 to be a place of exile for re-offending convicts. Europeans first discovered the Brisbane River and started the settlement with three ex-convicts.

By 1826, there were already 200 convicts in the settlement. But Brisbane was more than just an encampment at this point. Captain Patrick Logan started a program of public works to replace temporary structures with better buildings.

A windmill at Spring Hill was built in 1828. The windmill was used to grind corn and wheat into flour. The windmill was powered by the wind sails and a treadmill which convicts ran as a form of punishment. Captain Logan used this punishment with exceptional brutality.

Reports say that the Moreton Bay convicts suffered a great deal under the watch of Captain Logan. They were required to work from dawn until the sun had set. Those who misbehaved were punished even further by being fettered with leg irons, working extensively on the treadmill, or receiving 150 laches. (Source: NMA)

How Did Brisbane Get Its Name?

When the colony was established, the law did not permit the erection of any private settlements near the area. As the years passed, the number of new convicts started to decrease, and there was a significant decline in the population.

The British government started questioning the sustainability of the settlement. By 1838, the area was opened for free settlers. Lutheran missionaries were the first to have settled during this time.

By September 6, 1859, the city of Brisbane was proclaimed. It got its name from Sir Thomas Brisbane. He was a British soldier born in Scotland appointed as the Governor of New South Wales at the time. John Petrie was the first elected mayor. (Source: Australian Dictionary of Biography)

How is Brisbane Doing in the Modern World?

Today the City of Brisbane is known to be the most populous city in the Australian state of Queensland, with a population of 2.6 million. However, it is a diverse city, with about 32% of its population being foreign-born.

Brisbane is classified as a global city rating at the top of livable cities in the world. They are known for their distinct architecture and diverse culture. Because of this, the city became quite a popular tourist attraction. (Source: The World According to GaWC)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: