马丁·库尼(Martin Couney)在科尼岛(Coney Island),大西洋城和世界博览会上设立了婴儿孵化器展览,收取25c的费用以查看早产儿。 他为“弱势婴儿”提供免费护理,证明了孵化器的成功。 从大约6,500-1900年间,他拯救了43多个婴儿。

康尼岛的孵化器婴儿

大约在1920年夏天,夏天沿着康尼岛的木板路漫步的游客会听到吠叫的声音:“别忘了看婴儿!” 那些听了电话的人,也许是在享受了热狗或骑着旋风后,付了四分之一钟,走进了一个房间,在这个房间里,每个婴儿箱里陈列着最小的婴儿,每个婴儿重XNUMX或XNUMX磅。 他们的护士雷克特夫人偶尔会用一种特殊的技巧使众人惊叹:将钻石戒指戴在婴儿的手腕上。

正如布鲁克林伊格(1903年)所报道的那样,它可能曾经是“人类喂养,护理和照顾婴儿最奇怪的地方”,但在XNUMX世纪初至XNUMX世纪中叶的大部分时间里,几乎没有宝贵的治疗选择… 继续阅读

来源: https://daily.jstor.org/coney-islands-incubator-babies/

Martin Couney set up infant incubator shows at Coney Island, Atlantic City and World’s Fairs, charging 25c to view premature babies. He offered free care for ‘weakling babies’, proving the success of incubators. He saved over 6,500 babies from ~1900-43.

Coney Island’s Incubator Babies

Tourists strolling along the Coney Island boardwalk in the summertime, circa 1920, would have heard the barkers beckoning: “Don’t forget to see the babies!” Those that heeded the call, perhaps after enjoying a hot dog or a ride on the Cyclone, paid a quarter and stepped into a room where the tiniest of infants, weighing two or three pounds each, were on display in individual incubators. Madame Recht, their nurse, occasionally wowed the crowds with a special trick: placing her diamond ring around a baby’s wrist.

It may have been the “Strangest Place on Earth for Human Tots to Be Fed, Nursed and Cared For,” as the Brooklyn Eagle reported in 1903, but for much of the early-to-mid twentieth century, precious few treatment options were avail… Continue Reading

Source: https://daily.jstor.org/coney-islands-incubator-babies/

Advertisement