首页 » 人与社会 » 谁开发了改进的血液储存技术?

谁开发了改进的血液储存技术?

由于血液储存的进步,避免了第二次世界大战中的许多人员伤亡,使其具有运往海外的能力。 但是你知道这项技术的支持者也是红十字会的第一位非洲裔美国人吗?

查尔斯·德鲁 (Charles Drew) 改进了血液储存和分配技术,帮助挽救了二战中的许多盟军部队。 他于 1942 年成为第一位非裔美国人红十字会主任,但因排除非裔美国人血统而辞职。

谁是查尔斯·理查德·德鲁?

查尔斯·德鲁 (Charles Drew) 出生于 3 年 1904 月 2,000 日。他在华盛顿特区长大。 德鲁在一个低收入家庭长大,过去常常通过在附近送报纸来增加家庭收入。 他协调和管理人员的能力帮助他和他的十个朋友创建了一个每天发送 XNUMX 份报纸的网络。

德鲁就读于保罗劳伦斯邓巴高中,这是一所历史悠久的黑人学校。 他在参加的所有运动中表现出色,1922 年在马萨诸塞州阿默斯特学院获得部分奖学金。他在田径和足球方面也表现出色,为学院赢得了 Howard Hill Mossman 和 Thomas W. Ashley 奖杯。 到 1926 年,德鲁毕业了,是当时仅有的 XNUMX 名非裔美国人之一。

德鲁于 1928 年在加拿大蒙特利尔的麦吉尔大学学习医学。 他当时选择了这所大学,而不是在哈佛大学的候补名单上。 1933年,他获得医学博士学位和外科硕士学位。 他曾在皇家维多利亚医院和蒙特利尔综合医院实习,但由于父亲于 1934 年去世,他很快转到霍华德大学担任病理学讲师。(资料来源: NCBI)

德鲁继续他的医学生涯,创建了前两个血库,并最终成为霍华德大学外科系主任。 他成为弗里德曼医院的首席外科医生,并成为美国外科委员会的第一位非裔美国人检查员。

德鲁获得了 1943 年的斯宾加恩奖章 最高尚的成就 承认他的血浆采集和分配工作。 德鲁博士于 1 年 1950 月 XNUMX 日去世,享年四十五岁。 德鲁和其他三名同事参加了在阿拉巴马州塔斯基吉研究所举行的医学会议。 他的车在阿拉巴马州伯灵顿附近坠毁,结束了他的生命。

德鲁继续接受了几项追授的荣誉,甚至被列入 1981 年美国邮政伟大的美国人邮票系列。 (来源: 个人简介)

血库之父

德鲁博士在皇家维多利亚医院实习期间检查了输血问题。 由于他父亲的去世,他与 Beattie 博士的研究被搁置了。 但 1938 年获得洛克菲勒奖学金在哥伦比亚大学学习并在长老会医院接受培训后,德鲁继续他的输血研究。

德鲁开发了一种处理和保存血浆或不含细胞的血液的方法。 血浆的持续时间比全血长得多,因此可以储存或 存入银行的 更长的时间。 德鲁被要求领导一项名为 为英国献血 随着他血浆的发展。 他组织跨海运送血浆治疗战争伤亡。

1941 年,德鲁再次领导了红十字会的另一项血库工作。 该行动将用于美国人员。 由于军队不想使用非裔美国人的血,他很快变得沮丧,导致他辞去职务。 (来源: 个人简介)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » People & Society » Who Developed Improved Techniques for Blood Storage?

Who Developed Improved Techniques for Blood Storage?

Many casualties in the second world war were avoided due to the advancement of blood storage, giving it the capability to be shipped overseas. But did you know that the proponent of the technique was also the first African American director of the Red Cross?

Charles Drew improved blood storage and distribution techniques, which helped save many Allied troops in World War II. He became the first African American director of the Red Cross in 1942 but resigned due to excluding African American blood.

Who Was Charles Richard Drew?

Charles Drew was born on June 3, 1904. He grew up in Washington, DC. Growing up in a low-income family, Drew used to contribute to the household income by delivering newspapers in the neighborhood. His ability to coordinate and manage people helped him and ten of his friends create a network to deliver 2,000 newspapers daily.

Drew attended the Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, a historically Black school. He excelled in all the sports he joined, landing a partial scholarship at Amherst College in Massachusetts in 1922. He also excelled in both track and football, earning the Howard Hill Mossman and Thomas W. Ashley trophies for the college. By 1926 Drew graduated and was one of only sixteen African Americans who did at that time.

Drew took up medicine in 1928 at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. He chose the University over being on the waitlist of Harvard University at that time. In 1933, he received his degrees of Doctor of Medicine and Master of Surgery. He did his internship in the Royal Victoria and Montreal General Hospitals but soon moved to Howard University as an instructor in Pathology due to his father’s death in 1934. (Source: NCBI)

Drew continued his medical career, creating the first two blood banks and eventually becoming the head of Howard University’s surgery department. He became the chief surgeon at Freedmen’s Hospital and became the first African American examiner for the American Board of Surgery.

Drew received the 1943 Spingarn Medal for the highest and noblest achievement to recognize his blood plasma collection and distribution work. Dr. Drew passed away on April 1, 1950, at the age of forty-five. Drew and three other colleagues attended a medical conference at Tuskegee Institute in Alabama. His vehicle crashed in nearby Burlington, Alabama, ending his life.

Drew went on to accept several posthumous honors and was even included in the 1981 USPS Great Americans stamp series. (Source: Biography)

Father of the Blood Bank

Dr. Drew examined problems and issues with blood transfusions during his internship at the Royal Victoria Hospital. His study with Dr. Beattie was put on hold because of his father’s death. But upon receiving a Rockefeller Fellowship to study at Columbia University and train in Presbyterian Hospital in 1938, Drew continued his studies on blood transfusion.

Drew developed a method for processing and preserving blood plasma, or blood without cells. Plasma lasts much longer than whole blood, making it possible to be stored or banked for more extended periods. Drew was asked to head a special medical effort known as Blood for Britain with his development of blood plasma. He organized sending blood plasma across the seas to treat casualties of war.

In 1941, Drew again headed another blood bank effort for the Red Cross. The action was to be used for U.S. personnel. He soon became frustrated as the army did not want to use African American blood, causing him to resign from his post. (Source: Biography)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: