首页 » 食品 » 是什么导致了 1939 年的大蛤蜊浓汤战争?

是什么导致了 1939 年的大蛤蜊浓汤战争?

相信我们今天都熟悉的蛤蜊浓汤是由法国人、新斯科舍人和英国人引进的。 这最终成为 1700 年代的主食。 虽然这道菜有不同的变化,但您知道在汤中使用西红柿是违法的吗?

缅因州众议员克利夫兰沉睡者讨厌西红柿。 1929 年,他起草了一项法案,禁止在蛤蜊浓汤中使用西红柿。违法的惩罚是在涨潮时挖出一桶蛤蜊,这几乎是不可能的。

1939 年的大蛤蜊浓汤战争

那时,缅因州众议员克利夫兰斯利珀讨厌西红柿,这已经不是什么秘密了。 事实上,在 1939 年,他起草了一项法案,将用西红柿制作蛤蜊浓汤定为犯罪。 在涨潮时,违法者必须挖出一桶蛤蜊。 任何喧嚣的人都会说,这不仅是一种残酷的惩罚,而且是完全不可能做到的。 幸运的是,该法案从未被提交,蛤蜊浓汤战争在没有任何政府干预的情况下结束。

但这还不是全部。 缅因州酒店协会决定在波特兰的仲冬狂欢中制止这个问题。 这时,沉睡者请来了他的厨师,而他的竞争对手、费城餐厅老板哈里·塔利带来了他的厨师。 Sleeper 的厨师在活动中烹制了传统的缅因州蛤蜊浓汤,而 Tully 的厨师制作了以番茄为原料的曼哈顿蛤蜊浓汤。

每一个都吸引了杰出的杂烩美食画廊的味蕾。 由缅因州州长刘易斯·O·巴罗斯 (Lewis O. Barrows) 领导的美食家们严肃地啜饮着竞争对手的混合物。

美联社,纳舒厄电讯报

在品尝到番茄蛤蜊浓汤后,Sleeper 表示厌恶,说这不是蛤蜊浓汤,而是蔬菜汤。 但塔利解释了西红柿如何通过为蛤蜊增添风味来真正提升菜肴的档次。 可悲的是,塔利的曼哈顿蛤蜊浓汤没有机会对抗经典。 评委们一致投票支持新英格兰的对手。 (来源: 新英格兰历史学会)

沉睡者为他的胜利而幸灾乐祸

活动结束后,头条新闻是: 好的老式新英格兰蛤蜊浓汤今天在与大城市姐妹,番茄浸渍的曼哈顿蛤蜊浓汤的美食之战中吸引了美食家的点头。 毋庸置疑,Sleeper 不惜一切代价赢得了这场胜利。

If a clam could vote, I would be elected President

克利夫兰沉睡者,缅因州代表

(资源: 新英格兰历史学会)

还有人希望这次十字军东征吗?

蛤蜊浓汤烹饪一年后,埃莉诺·伊利 (Eleanor Early) 继续反对她在书中所写的以番茄为基础的汤 新英格兰采样器。

这是一种可怕的粉红色混合物,叫做曼哈顿蛤蜊浓汤,那只是一种蔬菜汤,不要与新英格兰蛤蜊浓汤混淆,也不要放在同一个地方。 西红柿和蛤蜊的亲和力并不比冰淇淋和辣根高。

Eleanor Early,新英格兰采样器

(资源: 新英格兰历史学会)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » Food » What Caused the Great Clam Chowder War of 1939?

What Caused the Great Clam Chowder War of 1939?

It is believed that the clam chowder we are all familiar with today was introduced by the French, Nova Scotian, and British Settlers. This eventually became a staple dish by the 1700s. While there are different variations of the dish, did you know that it was illegal to use tomatoes in the soup?

Cleveland Sleeper, a Maine State Representative, hated tomatoes. He drafted a bill to outlaw the use of tomatoes in clam chowder in 1929. The punishment for breaking the law was to dig up a barrel of clams at high tide which was virtually impossible.

The Great Clam Chowder War of 1939

It was no secret back then that Cleveland Sleeper, the Maine State Representative, hated tomatoes. In fact, in 1939, he drafted a bill to criminalize making clam chowder with tomatoes. The offenders would have to dig up a barrel of clams during a high tide. Any clammer would tell that it is not only a cruel punishment, but it was quite impossible to accomplish. Fortunately, the bill never got filed, and the clam chowder war ended without any government interference.

But that wasn’t all. The Maine Hotel Association decided to put a stop to the issue in its mid-winter frolic in Portland. At this time, Sleeper called in his chef, and his rival Harry Tully, a Philadelphian restauranteur, brought his. Sleeper’s chef cooked a traditional Maine clam chowder at the event, while Tully’s chef made a tomato-based Manhattan Clam Chowder.

Each appealed to the palates of a distinguished gallery of chowder epicures. The epicures, headed by Maine’s Governor, Lewis O. Barrows, gravely sipped the rival concoctions.

Associated Press, Nashua Telegraph

Upon tasting the tomato-based clam chowder, Sleeper expressed his disgust by saying that it was not clam chowder but vegetable soup. But Tully explained how the tomato actually elevates the dish by lending flavor to the clam. Sadly, Tully’s Manhattan Clam Chowder did not stand a chance against the classic. The judges unanimously voted for the New England rival instead. (Source: New England Historical Society)

Sleeper Gloating Over His Win

After the event, headlines read: Good old-fashioned New England clam chowder drew the nod of epicures here today in a battle de cuisine with its big-city sister, tomato-impregnated Manhattan clam chowder. Needless to say, Sleeper milked this win for all it was worth.

If a clam could vote, I would be elected President

Cleveland Sleeper, Maine State Representative

(Source: New England Historical Society)

Did Anyone Else Hope on this Crusade?

A year after the clam chowder cook-off, Eleanor Early went on her own crusade against the tomato-based version of the soup that she wrote about it in her book A New England Sampler.

here is a terrible pink mixture called Manhattan Clam Chowder, that is only a vegetable soup, and not to be confused with New England Clam Chowder, nor spoken of in the same breath. Tomatoes and clams have no more affinity than ice cream and horseradish.

Eleanor Early, A New England Sampler

(Source: New England Historical Society)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: