الصفحة الرئيسية » مواد غذائية » ما الذي تسبب في حرب حساء البطلينوس العظمى عام 1939؟

ما الذي تسبب في حرب حساء البطلينوس العظمى عام 1939؟

يُعتقد أن حساء البطلينوس الذي نعرفه جميعًا اليوم تم تقديمه من قبل المستوطنين الفرنسيين ونوفا سكوتيان والبريطانيين. أصبح هذا في النهاية طبقًا أساسيًا بحلول القرن الثامن عشر. على الرغم من وجود أنواع مختلفة من الطبق ، هل تعلم أنه من غير القانوني استخدام الطماطم في الحساء؟

كليفلاند سليبر ، ممثل ولاية مين ، يكره الطماطم. صاغ مشروع قانون لحظر استخدام الطماطم في حساء البطلينوس في عام 1929. كانت عقوبة مخالفة القانون هي حفر برميل من المحار عند ارتفاع المد وهو أمر مستحيل تقريبًا.

حرب حساء البطلينوس العظمى عام 1939

لم يكن سرا في ذلك الوقت أن كليفلاند سليبر ، ممثل ولاية مين ، كان يكره الطماطم. في الواقع ، في عام 1939 ، صاغ مشروع قانون لتجريم صنع حساء البطلينوس مع الطماطم. سيتعين على الجناة حفر برميل من المحار أثناء ارتفاع المد. سيقول أي صاخب أن هذه ليست مجرد عقوبة قاسية ، ولكن كان من المستحيل تحقيقها. لحسن الحظ ، لم يتم تقديم مشروع القانون مطلقًا ، وانتهت حرب حساء البطلينوس دون أي تدخل من الحكومة.

لكن هذا لم يكن كل شيء. قررت جمعية فنادق ماين وضع حد لهذه المشكلة في منتصف الشتاء المرح في بورتلاند. في ذلك الوقت ، استدعى سليبر رئيس الطهاة الخاص به ، وأحضره منافسه هاري تولي ، صاحب مطعم في فيلادلفيا. طهي طاهي سليبر حساءً تقليديًا من البطلينوس في ولاية مين في الحدث ، بينما صنع طاهي توليز طبقًا من الطماطم في مانهاتن كلام تشودر.

ناشد كل واحد أذواق معرض متميز من أطباق حساء الشودر. الأبيقور ، بقيادة حاكم ولاية ماين ، لويس أو.باروز ، ارتشفوا بشدة التلفيقات المنافسة.

أسوشيتد برس ، ناشوا تلغراف

عند تذوق حساء البطلينوس القائم على الطماطم ، أعرب سليبر عن اشمئزازه بقوله إنه لم يكن حساء البطلينوس بل حساء الخضار. لكن تالي أوضح كيف ترفع الطماطم بالفعل الطبق عن طريق إضفاء نكهة على البطلينوس. للأسف ، لم يكن أمام Tully's Manhattan Clam Chowder فرصة ضد الكلاسيكية. صوت الحكام بالإجماع لصالح منافس نيو إنجلاند بدلاً من ذلك. (مصدر: جمعية نيو انجلاند التاريخية)

النائم يشمت بفوزه

بعد الحدث ، تقرأ العناوين: لقد لفت حساء البطلينوس القديم الجيد في نيو إنجلاند إيماءة الأبيقور هنا اليوم في معركة دي كوجيك مع شقيقتها الكبيرة في المدينة ، حساء مانهاتن البطلينوس المشبع بالطماطم. وغني عن القول ، سليبر استفاد من هذا الفوز لكل ما يستحقه.

إذا كان بإمكان البطلينوس التصويت ، فسأنتخب رئيسًا

كليفلاند سليبر ، ممثل ولاية مين

(مصدر: جمعية نيو انجلاند التاريخية)

هل أي شخص آخر يأمل في هذه الحملة الصليبية؟

بعد عام من طهي حساء البطلينوس ، شنت إليانور إيرلي حملتها الصليبية ضد نسخة الحساء التي تعتمد على الطماطم والتي كتبت عنها في كتابها عينة من نيو إنجلاند.

هنا خليط وردي رهيب يسمى Manhattan Clam Chowder ، وهذا مجرد حساء خضروات ، ولا ينبغي الخلط بينه وبين New England Clam Chowder ، ولا يمكن الحديث عنه في نفس الوقت. الطماطم والمحار ليس لها صلة أكثر من الآيس كريم والفجل.

إليانور إيرلي ، أ نيو إنجلاند سامبلر

(مصدر: جمعية نيو انجلاند التاريخية)

اترك تعليق

%d المدونين مثل هذا:

Home » Food » What Caused the Great Clam Chowder War of 1939?

What Caused the Great Clam Chowder War of 1939?

It is believed that the clam chowder we are all familiar with today was introduced by the French, Nova Scotian, and British Settlers. This eventually became a staple dish by the 1700s. While there are different variations of the dish, did you know that it was illegal to use tomatoes in the soup?

Cleveland Sleeper, a Maine State Representative, hated tomatoes. He drafted a bill to outlaw the use of tomatoes in clam chowder in 1929. The punishment for breaking the law was to dig up a barrel of clams at high tide which was virtually impossible.

The Great Clam Chowder War of 1939

It was no secret back then that Cleveland Sleeper, the Maine State Representative, hated tomatoes. In fact, in 1939, he drafted a bill to criminalize making clam chowder with tomatoes. The offenders would have to dig up a barrel of clams during a high tide. Any clammer would tell that it is not only a cruel punishment, but it was quite impossible to accomplish. Fortunately, the bill never got filed, and the clam chowder war ended without any government interference.

But that wasn’t all. The Maine Hotel Association decided to put a stop to the issue in its mid-winter frolic in Portland. At this time, Sleeper called in his chef, and his rival Harry Tully, a Philadelphian restauranteur, brought his. Sleeper’s chef cooked a traditional Maine clam chowder at the event, while Tully’s chef made a tomato-based Manhattan Clam Chowder.

Each appealed to the palates of a distinguished gallery of chowder epicures. The epicures, headed by Maine’s Governor, Lewis O. Barrows, gravely sipped the rival concoctions.

Associated Press, Nashua Telegraph

Upon tasting the tomato-based clam chowder, Sleeper expressed his disgust by saying that it was not clam chowder but vegetable soup. But Tully explained how the tomato actually elevates the dish by lending flavor to the clam. Sadly, Tully’s Manhattan Clam Chowder did not stand a chance against the classic. The judges unanimously voted for the New England rival instead. (Source: New England Historical Society)

Sleeper Gloating Over His Win

After the event, headlines read: Good old-fashioned New England clam chowder drew the nod of epicures here today in a battle de cuisine with its big-city sister, tomato-impregnated Manhattan clam chowder. Needless to say, Sleeper milked this win for all it was worth.

If a clam could vote, I would be elected President

Cleveland Sleeper, Maine State Representative

(Source: New England Historical Society)

Did Anyone Else Hope on this Crusade?

A year after the clam chowder cook-off, Eleanor Early went on her own crusade against the tomato-based version of the soup that she wrote about it in her book A New England Sampler.

here is a terrible pink mixture called Manhattan Clam Chowder, that is only a vegetable soup, and not to be confused with New England Clam Chowder, nor spoken of in the same breath. Tomatoes and clams have no more affinity than ice cream and horseradish.

Eleanor Early, A New England Sampler

(Source: New England Historical Society)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: