Ein Teil des Budgets des Films „Blues Brothers“ wurde für den Kauf von Kokain während der Nachtaufnahmen reserviert.

The Blues Brothers ist ein amerikanischer Musikkomödienfilm von 1980 unter der Regie von John Landis. [4] Darin sind John Belushi und Dan Aykroyd als "Joliet" Jake und Elwood Blues zu sehen, Charaktere, die aus der wiederkehrenden musikalischen Skizze "The Blues Brothers" in der NBC-Varietéserie Saturday Night Live entwickelt wurden.

It features musical numbers by rhythm and blues (R&B), soul, and blues singers James Brown, Cab Calloway, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, and John Lee Hooker.

Die Universal Studios, die den Bieterkrieg für den Film gewonnen hatten, hofften, Belushis Popularität nach Saturday Night Live, Animal House und dem musikalischen Erfolg der Blues Brothers nutzen zu können. es war bald nicht mehr in der Lage, die Produktionskosten zu kontrollieren.

Der Beginn der Dreharbeiten verzögerte sich, als Aykroyd, neu im Drehbuchschreiben, sechs Monate brauchte, um ein langes und unkonventionelles Drehbuch zu liefern, das Landis vor der Produktion neu schreiben musste, das ohne endgültiges Budget begann.

Vor Ort in Chicago verursachten Belushis Party und Drogenkonsum langwierige und kostspielige Verzögerungen, die zusammen mit den zerstörerischen Verfolgungsjagden auf dem Bildschirm den endgültigen Film zu einer der teuersten Komödien machten, die jemals produziert wurden.

Jake Blues wird nach dreijähriger Haft aus dem Joliet Correctional Center entlassen und von seinem Bruder Elwood in seinem Bluesmobile, einem ramponierten, stillgelegten Polizeiauto, abgeholt.

Während einer Predigt von Reverend Cleophus James in der Triple Rock Baptist Church hat Jake eine Offenbarung: Sie können ihre Band „The Blues Brothers“, die sich während Jake im Gefängnis aufgelöst hat, neu gründen und das Geld sammeln, um das Waisenhaus zu retten .

Auf dem Weg zu den letzten beiden Bandmitgliedern finden die Brüder die Straße durch Jackson Park blockiert durch eine Demonstration der "American Socialist White People's Party" - "Illinois Nazis" - auf einer Brücke; Elwood führt sie von der Brücke in die Ostlagune.

Kopie des „Bluesmobile“, des Autos, das die Blues Brothers im Film verwenden.

John Belushi als "Joliet" Jake Blues

Siehe auch: The Blues Brothers

Die Charaktere Jake und Elwood Blues wurden von Belushi und Aykroyd in Performances am Saturday Night Live kreiert.

Die fiktive Hintergrundgeschichte und die Charakterskizzen der Blutsbrüder Jake und Elwood wurden von Aykroyd in Zusammenarbeit mit Ron Gwynne entwickelt, der als Berater für den Film anerkannt ist.

Wie in den Liner Notes des Debütalbums der Band, Briefcase Full of Blues, erwähnt, sind die Brüder in einem Waisenhaus aufgewachsen, haben den Blues von einem Hausmeister namens Curtis gelernt und ihre Bruderschaft besiegelt, indem sie ihre Mittelfinger mit einer Stahlschnur durchtrennt haben kommen von der Gitarre von Elmore James.

Belushi war 1978 aufgrund des musikalischen Erfolgs der Blues Brothers und seiner Rolle in National Lampoons Animal House ein Star geworden.

Als Aykroyd und Belushi beschlossen, einen Blues Brothers-Film zu drehen, war der Bieterkrieg intensiv.

Aykroyd hatte noch nie zuvor ein Drehbuch geschrieben, wie er 1998 in der Dokumentation "Geschichten hinter der Entstehung der Blues-Brüder" zugab oder sogar las, und er konnte keinen Schreibpartner finden.

Er betitelte es Die Rückkehr der Blues-Brüder und schrieb es "By Scriptatron GL-9000" zu. [7] Landis erhielt die Aufgabe, das Drehbuch in ein brauchbares Drehbuch umzuwandeln, [8] das ungefähr zwei Wochen dauerte. [6]

Dreharbeiten [Bearbeiten]

Ein Großteil des Films wurde zwischen Juli und Oktober 1979 vor Ort in und um Chicago gedreht, darunter das Joliet Correctional Center im nahe gelegenen Joliet, Illinois und Wauconda, Illinois, wo das Auto gegen die Route 12 stößt. [9] Hergestellt in Zusammenarbeit mit Bürgermeisterin Jane M.

Wir haben es als Tribut geschrieben “, sagte Dan Aykroyd der Chicago Sun-Times in einem Artikel anlässlich des 25-jährigen Jubiläums der DVD. [11]

(Elwoods Illinois-Führerscheinnummer ist eine fast gültige verschlüsselte Nummer, in die Dan Aykroyds eigenes Geburtsdatum eingebettet ist.) Jakes letzte Konfrontation mit seiner Freundin wurde in einer Nachbildung eines Abschnitts des verlassenen Chicagoer Frachttunnelsystems gefilmt.

Daley Center. [13] Öffentliche Wandbilder des japanisch-amerikanischen Künstlers Sachio Yamashita spielen eine wichtige Rolle in der letzten Verfolgungsjagd des Films entlang des unteren Wacker Drive, einschließlich der „Super-Grafik“ -Arbeit „Balance of Power“.

Der Palace Hotel Ballroom, in dem die Band ihr Klimakonzert aufführt, war zum Zeitpunkt der Dreharbeiten für einen Country Club, wurde aber später zum South Shore Cultural Center, benannt nach dem Stadtteil Chicago, in dem er sich befindet.

Die Kosten für die Dreharbeiten zur größten Szene in der Geschichte der Stadt beliefen sich auf 3.5 Millionen US-Dollar. [19] Die Erlaubnis wurde erteilt, nachdem Belushi und Aykroyd angeboten hatten, nach den Dreharbeiten 50,000 US-Dollar für wohltätige Zwecke zu spenden. [19] Obwohl das Bluesmobil durch die Lobby des Daley Center gefahren werden durfte, wurden die normalen Gläser im Gebäude vorübergehend durch spezielle Abreißscheiben ersetzt. [19] [20] Das rasende Auto verursachte 7,650 Granitpflastersteine ​​und ein bronzenes Luftgitter im Gebäude mit 35 USD Schaden. [19] Innenaufnahmen des Aufzugs, der Treppe und des Assessor-Büros wurden in einem Filmset für Dreharbeiten nachgebildet. [19]

Für die Szene, in der die Blues Brothers endlich im Richard J. ankommen.

Die Mitglieder der Band The Blues Brothers zeichnen sich auch durch ihre musikalischen Leistungen aus.

Der Film ist auch bemerkenswert für die Anzahl der Cameo-Auftritte etablierter Prominenter und Persönlichkeiten der Unterhaltungsbranche, darunter Steve Lawrence als Booking Agent, Twiggy als „schicke Dame“ in einem Jaguar-Cabrio, das Elwood an einer Tankstelle vorschlägt, Steven Spielberg als Der Angestellte des Cook County Assessors, John Landis als State Trooper in der Mall Chase, Paul Reubens (vor Pee-Wee Herman) als Kellner in der Chez Paul Restaurantszene, Joe Walsh in einem Cameo als erster Gefangener, der auf einen sprang Tisch in der Schlussszene und Chaka Khan als Solist im Triple Rock Chor.

Der Muppet-Darsteller Frank Oz spielt einen Korrekturoffizier, und in der Szene, in der die Brüder gegen Toys R Us stoßen, kann ein Spielzeug von Grover und Kermit the Frog entdeckt werden, und ein Kunde (gespielt von Stunt-Koordinator Gary McLarty) fragt den Kassierer, ob er einen hat Miss Piggy Puppe, eine Muppet-Figur, die von Oz geäußert wird. Der Singer / Songwriter Stephen Bishop ist ein stellvertretender Sheriff, der sich darüber beschwert, dass Jake und Elwood seine Uhr gebrochen haben (ein Ergebnis der Verfolgungsjagd im Einkaufszentrum).

Die Maskenbildnerin Layne Britton ist die alte Kartenspielerin, die Elwood fragt: "Hast du mir meinen Cheez Whiz besorgt, Junge?" Die von Cab Calloway porträtierte Figur heißt Curtis als Hommage an Curtis Salgado, einen Bluesmusiker aus Portland, Oregon, der Belushi inspirierte, als er in Oregon Animal House drehte. [22]

Einen Tag nach der Bearbeitung lud Wasserman Landis in sein Büro ein, um mit Ted Mann, dem Leiter der Mann Theatres-Kette, zu sprechen, die die Filmausstellung im Westen der USA dominierte.

Letztendlich erhielten die Blues Brothers für ihre Erstveröffentlichung landesweit weniger als die Hälfte der Buchungen als ein typischer Big-Budget-Studiofilm der damaligen Zeit, der nicht gut für seinen Erfolg an der Abendkasse war. [6]

Die Blues Brothers wurden am 20. Juni 1980 mit einer Veröffentlichung in 594 Kinos eröffnet.

Es liegt an zweiter Stelle zwischen Wayne's World und Wayne's World 2 unter den Filmen, die aus Saturday Night Live-Skizzen adaptiert wurden. [3] Regisseur John Landis behauptete, The Blues Brothers sei auch der erste amerikanische Film, der in Übersee mehr Geld einbringe als in den USA. [11]

Der kritische Konsens der Site lautet: „Zu übertrieben für das eigene Wohl, aber letztendlich gerettet durch den Charme der Besetzung, die Anmut von Regisseur John Landis und mehrere mitreißende Musiknummern.“ [25] Sie gewann den Golden Reel Award for Best Sound Editing and Sound Effects, [26] steht auf Platz 14 der "Liste der 50 größten Comedy-Filme aller Zeiten" des Total Film Magazins [27] und auf Platz 69 der "100 Funniest Movies" von Bravo. [28]

Roger Ebert von der Chicago Sun-Times gab dem Film drei von vier Sternen, lobte ihn für seine energiegeladenen musikalischen Zahlen und sagte, die Verfolgungsjagden seien „unglaublich“, wenn auch so übertrieben, dass sie schließlich betäubten.

Inmitten des Gemetzels und des Chaos gibt es sogar Raum für eine überraschende Menge an Anmut, Humor und Laune. “[29] In seiner Rezension für die Washington Post kritisierte Gary Arnold Landis dafür,„ die zerbrechliche Handlung von The Blues zu verschlingen Brüder mit Verfolgungsjagden und Crack-ups, die auf den Straßen von Chicago mit solch eifriger, humorloser Strenge gefilmt wurden, dass komische Empfindungen praktisch ausgelöscht werden. “[30] Richard Corliss vom Time Magazine schrieb: „The Blues Brothers ist eine Abbruch-Symphonie, die mit der Kälteeffizienz eines sadistisch gewordenen Moog-Synthesizers arbeitet.“ [31]

Sie nahm auch Regisseur Landis zur Aufgabe, um „die Bearbeitung abzulenken“, und erwähnte die Soul Food Diner-Szene, in der der Kopf des Saxophonisten Lou Marini beim Tanzen auf der Theke außer Schuss ist. [32] In dem Dokumentarfilm "Geschichten hinter der Entstehung der Blues-Brüder" erkennt Landis die Kritik an, und Marini erinnert sich an die Bestürzung, die er empfand, als er den fertigen Film sah.

Kim Newman, der 2013 für Empire schrieb, betrachtete The Blues Brothers als "eine Mischung aus urbanem Sleaze, Autokrise und Schwarzherzrhythmus und Blues" mit "besserer Musik als jeder Film seit vielen Jahren".

Er bemerkte, dass Belushi und Aykroyd ihre Helden einpacken: „Aretha stürmt durch 'Think', Cab Calloway durch 'Minnie the Moocher', John Lee Hooker durch 'Boom Boom' und Ray Charles am E-Piano, ganz zu schweigen von den heißesten Band." Er bemerkte, dass "das Bild die Karrieren praktisch aller Musiker wiederbelebt hatte, die darin auftraten" und kam zu dem Schluss, dass "es durch Ray Bans immer noch großartig klingt und so gut aussieht wie immer". [33]

Sie gingen weiter und stellten fest, dass The Blues Brothers "ein denkwürdiger Film und nach den Tatsachen ein katholischer Film ist". [35]

Die Blues Brothers haben sich zu einem festen Bestandteil des Late-Night-Kinos entwickelt und verwandeln sich bei ihren regelmäßigen Vorführungen im Valhalla Cinema in Melbourne, Australien, langsam in eine Show mit Publikumsbeteiligung. [36] John Landis würdigte die Unterstützung des Kinos und der Fans durch einen Anruf, den er bei der Vorführung zum 10-jährigen Jubiläum im Kino tätigte, und lud später regelmäßige Teilnehmer zu Cameo-Auftritten in Blues Brothers 2000 ein.

Im August 2005 fand im chinesischen Theater von Grauman in Los Angeles eine Feier zum 25-jährigen Jubiläum der Blues Brothers statt. [38] Zu den Teilnehmern gehörten Landis, der frühere Geschäftsführer der Universal Studios, Thom Mount, der Filmredakteur George Folsey Jr. und die Darsteller James Brown, Henry Gibson, Charles Napier, Steve Cropper und Stephen Bishop.

Die ursprüngliche Länge des Films wurde für die DVD „Collector's Edition“ und eine Special Edition VHS- und Laserdisc-Veröffentlichung im Jahr 148 auf 1998 Minuten wiederhergestellt.

Die DVD- und Laserdisc-Versionen enthielten einen 56-minütigen Dokumentarfilm mit dem Titel „Die Geschichten hinter der Entstehung der Blues-Brüder“.

Produziert und inszeniert von JM Kenny (der im selben Jahr auch die Animal House Collector's Edition DVD produzierte), enthielt es Interviews mit Landis, Aykroyd, Mitgliedern der Blues Brothers Band, Produzent Robert K.

The Blues Brothers: Original-Soundtrack-Aufnahme (später als The Blues Brothers: Musik aus dem Soundtrack erneut veröffentlicht) wurde am 20. Juni 1980 als zweites Album der Blues Brothers Band veröffentlicht, die ebenfalls in diesem Jahr tourte, um den Film zu promoten.

The songs on the soundtrack album are a noticeably different audio mix than in the film, with a prominent baritone saxophone in the horn line (also heard in the film during “Shake a Tail Feather”, though no baritone sax is present), and female backing vocals on “Everybody Needs Somebody to Love”, though the band had no other backup singers, besides Jake &/or Elwood, in the film.

Eine Reihe regulärer Mitglieder der Blues Brothers, darunter der Saxophonist Tom Scott und der Schlagzeuger Steve Jordan, treten auf dem Soundtrack-Album auf, sind aber nicht im Film enthalten.

Laut Landis in der Dokumentation The Stories Behind the Making von 'The Blues Brothers' aus dem Jahr 1998 waren gefilmte musikalische Darbietungen von Franklin und Brown aufwändiger, da keiner der beiden Künstler daran gewöhnt war, ihre Darbietungen im Film zu synchronisieren.

The Blues Brothers mit Lead-Gesang von Jake Blues

Die Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers mit Lead-Gesang von Jake Blues

Ray Charles mit den Blues Brothers (Jake und Elwood, Hintergrundgesang)

The Blues Brothers (Jake Blues, Lead-Gesang; Elwood Blues, Mundharmonika und Gesang)

Aretha Franklin und die Blues Brothers mit Hintergrundgesang von Brenda Corbett, Margaret Branch, Carolyn Franklin, Jake und Elwood

Elwood, Jake und die Blues Brothers Band

Cab Calloway mit der Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers mit Lead-Gesang von Jake Blues (dem Musiker Magic Sam gewidmet)

Jake Blues und die Blues Brothers (Über den Abspann des Films werden Verse von James Brown, Cab Calloway, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin und der „Crew“ gesungen)

Andere Songs im Film [Bearbeiten]

Die Partitur des Films enthält „God Music“ (Instrumental mit Chorsänger), komponiert von Elmer Bernstein, der zuvor mit John Landis an National Lampoons Animal House gearbeitet hatte.

Die Blues Brothers Band (ihr Titelsong; spielt während der Zerstörung der Mall und erneut, wenn sie im Palace Hotel Ballroom vorgestellt werden, mit "Time Is Tight" von Booker T.

John Lee Hooker (spielt zweimal im Film; zuerst, wenn Jake versucht, Maury Sline anzurufen, wieder, wenn die Band in Bobs Country Bunker geht)

The Blues Brothers

Die Fortsetzung von 1998, Blues Brothers 2000, hatte ähnliche Eigenschaften wie das Original, einschließlich großer Verfolgungsjagden und Musiknummern.

Landis kehrte zurück, um den Film zu leiten, und Aykroyd wiederholte seine Rolle und schloss sich John Goodman, Joe Morton und dem 10-jährigen J. an.

Blues Brothers: Privat

Die Blues Brothers auf IMDb

The Blues Brothers im Katalog des American Film Institute

Die Blues Brothers an der Abendkasse Mojo


Quelle: Die Blues Brothers (Film)

A section of the budget of the movie “Blues Brothers” was set aside for purchases of cocaine during night shooting.

The Blues Brothers is a 1980 American musical comedy film directed by John Landis.[4] It stars John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd as “Joliet” Jake and Elwood Blues, characters developed from “The Blues Brothers” recurring musical sketch on the NBC variety series Saturday Night Live.

It features musical numbers by rhythm and blues (R&B), soul, and blues singers James Brown, Cab Calloway, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, and John Lee Hooker.

Universal Studios, which had won the bidding war for the film, was hoping to take advantage of Belushi’s popularity in the wake of Saturday Night Live, Animal House, and the Blues Brothers’ musical success; it soon found itself unable to control production costs.

The start of filming was delayed when Aykroyd, new to film screenwriting, took six months to deliver a long and unconventional script that Landis had to rewrite before production, which began without a final budget.

On location in Chicago, Belushi’s partying and drug use caused lengthy and costly delays that, along with the destructive car chases depicted onscreen, made the final film one of the most expensive comedies ever produced.

Jake Blues is released from Joliet Correctional Center after serving three years, and is picked up by his brother Elwood in his Bluesmobile, a battered, decommissioned police car.

During a sermon by the Reverend Cleophus James at the Triple Rock Baptist Church, Jake has an epiphany: they can re-form their band, “The Blues Brothers” – which disbanded while Jake was in prison – and raise the money to save the orphanage.

On their way to meet the final two band members, the brothers find the road through Jackson Park blocked by an “American Socialist White People’s Party” – “the Illinois Nazis” – demonstration on a bridge; Elwood runs them off the bridge into the East Lagoon.

Copy of the “Bluesmobile”, the car the Blues Brothers use in the film.

John Belushi as “Joliet” Jake Blues

See also: The Blues Brothers

The characters, Jake and Elwood Blues, were created by Belushi and Aykroyd in performances on Saturday Night Live.

The fictional back story and character sketches of blood brothers Jake and Elwood were developed by Aykroyd in collaboration with Ron Gwynne, who is credited as a story consultant for the film.

As related in the liner notes of the band’s debut album, Briefcase Full of Blues, the brothers grew up in an orphanage, learned the blues from a janitor named Curtis, and sealed their brotherhood by cutting their middle fingers with a steel string said to have come from the guitar of Elmore James.[5]

Belushi had become a star in 1978 as a result of both the Blues Brothers’ musical success and his role in National Lampoon’s Animal House.

When Aykroyd and Belushi decided they could make a Blues Brothers film, the bidding war was intense.

Aykroyd had never written a screenplay before, as he admitted in the 1998 documentary, Stories Behind the Making of The Blues Brothers, or even read one, and he was unable to find a writing partner.

He titled it The Return of the Blues Brothers, and credited it to “By Scriptatron GL-9000”.[7] Landis was given the task of editing the script into a usable screenplay,[8] which took him about two weeks.[6]

Filming[edit]

Much of the film was shot on location in and around Chicago between July and October 1979, including Joliet Correctional Center in nearby Joliet, Illinois and Wauconda, Illinois, where the car crashes into the side of Route 12.[9] Made with the cooperation of Mayor Jane M.

We wrote it as a tribute”, Dan Aykroyd told the Chicago Sun-Times in an article written to mark the film’s 25th-anniversary DVD release.[11]

(Elwood’s Illinois driver’s license number is an almost-valid encoded number, with Dan Aykroyd’s own birth date embedded.) Jake’s final confrontation with his girlfriend was filmed in a replica of a section of the abandoned Chicago freight tunnel system.

Daley Center.[13] Public murals by Japanese American artist Sachio Yamashita feature prominently in the film’s final car chase scene along lower Wacker Drive, including the “super graphics” work “Balance of Power.”

The Palace Hotel Ballroom, where the band performs its climactic concert, was at the time of filming a country club, but later became the South Shore Cultural Center, named after the Chicago neighborhood where it is located.

Costs for filming the largest scene in the city’s history totaled $3.5 million.[19] Permission was given after Belushi and Aykroyd offered to donate $50,000 to charity after filming.[19] Although the Bluesmobile was allowed to be driven through the Daley Center lobby, special breakaway panes were temporarily substituted for the normal glass in the building.[19][20] The speeding car caused $7,650 in damage to 35 granite paver stones and a bronze air grille in the building.[19] Interior shots of the elevator, staircase, and assessor’s office were all recreated in a film set for filming.[19]

For the scene when the Blues Brothers finally arrive at the Richard J.

The members of The Blues Brothers band are notable for their musical accomplishments, as well.

The film is also notable for the number of cameo appearances by established celebrities and entertainment-industry figures, including Steve Lawrence as a booking agent, Twiggy as a “chic lady” in a Jaguar convertible whom Elwood propositions at a gas station, Steven Spielberg as the Cook County Assessor’s clerk, John Landis as a state trooper in the mall chase, Paul Reubens (before Pee-wee Herman) as a waiter in the Chez Paul restaurant scene, Joe Walsh in a cameo as the first prisoner to jump up on a table in the final scene, and Chaka Khan as the soloist in the Triple Rock choir.

Muppet performer Frank Oz plays a corrections officer, and in the scene where the brothers crash into Toys R Us, a Grover and Kermit the Frog toy can be spotted and a customer (played by stunt coordinator Gary McLarty) asks the cashier if they have a Miss Piggy doll, a Muppet character that is voiced by Oz. Singer/songwriter Stephen Bishop is a deputy sheriff who complains that Jake and Elwood broke his watch (a result of the car chase in the mall).

Makeup artist Layne Britton is the old card player who asks Elwood, “Did you get me my Cheez Whiz, boy?” The character portrayed by Cab Calloway is named Curtis as an homage to Curtis Salgado, a Portland, Oregon, blues musician who inspired Belushi while he was in Oregon filming Animal House.[22]

One day after the editing was done, Wasserman invited Landis up to his office to speak with Ted Mann, head of the Mann Theatres chain, which dominated film exhibition in the Western United States.

Ultimately The Blues Brothers got less than half the bookings nationwide for its initial release than a typical big-budget studio film of the era, which did not bode well for its success at the box office.[6]

The Blues Brothers opened on June 20, 1980, with a release in 594 theaters.

It ranks second, between Wayne’s World and Wayne’s World 2, among films adapted from Saturday Night Live sketches.[3] Director John Landis claimed The Blues Brothers was also the first American film to gross more money overseas than it did in the United States.[11]

The site’s critical consensus reads, “Too over the top for its own good, but ultimately rescued by the cast’s charm, director John Landis’ grace, and several soul-stirring musical numbers.”[25] It won the Golden Reel Award for Best Sound Editing and Sound Effects,[26] is 14th on Total Film magazine’s “List of the 50 Greatest Comedy Films of All Time”[27] and is number 69 on Bravo’s “100 Funniest Movies”.[28]

Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times gave the film three out of four stars, praising it for its energetic musical numbers and said the car chases were “incredible” if so over-the-top that they finally became numbing.

There’s even room, in the midst of the carnage and mayhem, for a surprising amount of grace, humor, and whimsy.”[29] In his review for The Washington Post, Gary Arnold criticized Landis for engorging “the frail plot of The Blues Brothers with car chases and crack-ups, filmed with such avid, humorless starkness on the streets of Chicago that comic sensations are virtually obliterated”.[30] Time magazine’s Richard Corliss wrote, “The Blues Brothers is a demolition symphony that works with the cold efficiency of a Moog synthesizer gone sadistic”.[31]

She also took director Landis to task for “distracting editing”, mentioning the Soul Food diner scene in which saxophonist Lou Marini’s head is out of shot as he dances on the counter.[32] In the documentary, Stories Behind the Making of The Blues Brothers, Landis acknowledges the criticism, and Marini recalls the dismay he felt at seeing the completed film.

Kim Newman, writing for Empire in 2013, considered The Blues Brothers to be “an amalgam of urban sleaze, automobile crunch and blackheart rhythm and blues” with “better music than any film had had for many years”.

He noted that Belushi and Aykroyd pack in their heroes: “Aretha storming through ‘Think’, Cab Calloway cruising through ‘Minnie the Moocher’, John Lee Hooker boogying through ‘Boom Boom’ and Ray Charles on electric piano, not to mention the hottest band.” He observed that “the picture had revived the careers of virtually all the musicians that appeared in it” and concluded “it still sounds great and looks as good as ever through Ray Bans”.[33]

They went further, stating, The Blues Brothers “is a memorable film, and, judging by the facts, a Catholic one.”[35]

The Blues Brothers has become a staple of late-night cinema, even slowly morphing into an audience-participation show in its regular screenings at the Valhalla Cinema, in Melbourne, Australia.[36] John Landis acknowledged the support of the cinema and the fans by a phone call he made to the cinema at the 10th-anniversary screening, and later invited regular attendees to make cameo appearances in Blues Brothers 2000.

In August 2005, a 25th-anniversary celebration for The Blues Brothers was held at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre in Los Angeles.[38] Attendees included Landis, former Universal Studios executive Thom Mount, film editor George Folsey, Jr., and cast members James Brown, Henry Gibson, Charles Napier, Steve Cropper, and Stephen Bishop.

The film’s original length was restored to 148 minutes for the “Collector’s Edition” DVD and a Special Edition VHS and Laserdisc release in 1998.

The DVD and Laserdisc versions included a 56-minute documentary called “The Stories Behind The Making Of The Blues Brothers”.

Produced and directed by JM Kenny (who also produced the Animal House Collector’s Edition DVD the same year), it included interviews with Landis, Aykroyd, members of The Blues Brothers Band, producer Robert K.

The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (later re-released as The Blues Brothers: Music from the Soundtrack) was released on June 20, 1980 as the second album by the Blues Brothers Band, which also toured that year to promote the film.

The songs on the soundtrack album are a noticeably different audio mix than in the film, with a prominent baritone saxophone in the horn line (also heard in the film during “Shake a Tail Feather”, though no baritone sax is present), and female backing vocals on “Everybody Needs Somebody to Love”, though the band had no other backup singers, besides Jake &/or Elwood, in the film.

A number of regular Blues Brothers’ members, including saxophonist Tom Scott and drummer Steve Jordan, perform on the soundtrack album, but are not in the film.

According to Landis in the 1998 documentary The Stories Behind the Making of ‘The Blues Brothers’, filmed musical performances by Franklin and Brown took more effort, as neither artist was accustomed to lip-synching their performances on film.

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues

The Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues

Ray Charles with the Blues Brothers (Jake and Elwood, backing vocals)

The Blues Brothers (Jake Blues, lead vocals; Elwood Blues, harmonica and vocals)

Aretha Franklin and the Blues Brothers with backing vocals by Brenda Corbett, Margaret Branch, Carolyn Franklin, Jake, and Elwood

Elwood, Jake, and the Blues Brothers Band

Cab Calloway with the Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues (dedicated to the musician Magic Sam)

Jake Blues and the Blues Brothers (Over the closing credits in the film, verses are sung by James Brown, Cab Calloway, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin and “crew”)

Other songs in the film[edit]

The film’s score includes “God Music” (instrumental with choir vocalese) composed by Elmer Bernstein, who previously had worked with John Landis on National Lampoon’s Animal House.

The Blues Brothers band (their theme song; plays during the smashing of the Mall and again when they are introduced at the Palace Hotel Ballroom, incorporating “Time Is Tight” by Booker T.

John Lee Hooker (plays in the film twice; first when Jake tries to phone Maury Sline, again when the band go to Bob’s Country Bunker)

The Blues Brothers

The 1998 sequel, Blues Brothers 2000, had similar traits to the original, including large car-chase scenes and musical numbers.

Landis returned to direct the film and Aykroyd reprised his role, joining John Goodman, Joe Morton, and 10-year-old J.

Blues Brothers: Private

The Blues Brothers on IMDb

The Blues Brothers at the American Film Institute Catalog

The Blues Brothers at Box Office Mojo


Source: The Blues Brothers (film)