电影“布鲁斯兄弟”的预算预算中有一部分用于夜间拍摄时购买可卡因。

布鲁斯兄弟是由约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)执导的1980年美国音乐喜剧电影。[4] 该片由John Belushi和Dan Aykroyd饰演“ Joliet” Jake和Elwood Blues,这些角色是根据“ The Blues Brothers”在NBC综艺节目《 Saturday Night Live》中反复演绎的音乐素描。

It features musical numbers by rhythm and blues (R&B), soul, and blues singers James Brown, Cab Calloway, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, and John Lee Hooker.

赢得了这部电影竞标战的环球影城希望在周六夜现场,动物之家和布鲁斯兄弟的音乐成功之后利用Belushi的受欢迎程度。 它很快发现自己无法控制生产成本。

电影摄制新手艾克罗伊德(Aykroyd)花了六个月的时间来制作一部长而非常规的剧本,兰迪斯不得不在制作前重写,这是在没有最终预算的情况下开始的。

贝鲁什(Belushi)在芝加哥举行的聚会和吸毒活动造成了漫长而昂贵的延误,再加上银幕上描述的破坏性的汽车追逐,使最后一部电影成为有史以来制作成本最高的喜剧之一。

杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)服刑三年后从乔利埃特惩教中心(Juliet Correctional Center)释放,并由他的兄弟埃尔伍德(Elwood)驾驶他的布卢兹莫比尔(Bluesmobile)一辆破烂不堪的警车将其抱起来。

在三重摇滚浸信会教堂的牧师克莱奥弗斯·詹姆斯(Reverend Cleophus James)的布道中,杰克有一个顿悟:他们可以重组他们的乐队“蓝军兄弟”(Blues Brothers)–杰克在狱中解散,并筹集资金拯救孤儿院。 。

在与最后两个乐队成员会面的途中,兄弟俩发现穿过杰克逊公园的路被“美国社会主义白人党”(“伊利诺伊纳粹”)阻拦在桥上。 艾尔伍德(Elwood)将它们从大桥上驶入东泻湖。

电影“布鲁斯兄弟”使用的“布鲁斯莫比尔”的副本。

约翰·贝鲁西(John Belushi)饰演“ Joliet”杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)

另请参阅:布鲁斯兄弟

角色杰克(Jake)和艾尔伍德·布鲁斯(Elwood Blues)是由Belushi和Aykroyd在周六夜现场的表演中创作的。

Aykroyd与Ron Gwynne合作开发了虚构的血腥兄弟Jake和Elwood的故事和人物素描,后者被认为是电影的故事顾问。

乐队首张专辑《公文包充满蓝调》的衬纸笔记中提到,兄弟俩在一个孤儿院长大,从名叫柯蒂斯的看门人那里学到了布鲁斯,并用一根钢丝绳切开了中指,以此来密封了他们的兄弟情谊。来自Elmore James的吉他。[5]

由于蓝调兄弟(Blues Brothers)的音乐成就和他在National Lampoon's Animal House中的作用,Belushi在1978年成为了明星。

当艾克罗伊德(Aykroyd)和贝鲁西(Belushi)决定制作一部布鲁斯兄弟电影时,竞争激烈。

正如艾克罗伊德(Aykroyd)在1998年的纪录片《布鲁斯兄弟的背后的故事》中承认的那样,他以前从未写过剧本,甚至没有看过,因此他找不到作家。

他将其命名为“布鲁斯兄弟的回归”,并将其归功于“ Scriptatron GL-9000”。[7] 兰迪斯(Landis)的任务是将脚本编辑成可用的剧本,[8]他花了大约两个星期的时间。[6]

拍摄[编辑]

大部分影片是在1979年12月至9月之间在芝加哥及其周围拍摄的,其中包括伊利诺伊州朱利叶特附近的朱丽叶教养中心和伊利诺伊州沃康达,汽车撞到了XNUMX号公路的一侧。[XNUMX] 由市长Jane M合作制作。

我们将其写成致敬之作。”丹·艾克罗伊德(Dan Aykroyd)在写给该电影25周年DVD发行的文章中对《芝加哥太阳时报》表示。[11]

(艾尔伍德(Elwood)的伊利诺伊州驾照号码是几乎有效的编码号码,其中嵌入了丹·艾克罗伊德(Dan Aykroyd)自己的生日。)杰克(Jake)与女友的最后对峙是在废弃芝加哥货运隧道系统的一部分副本中拍摄的。

戴利中心。[13] 日裔美国艺术家山下幸雄(Sachio Yamashita)的公开壁画在影片的最后瓦克大道(Wacker Drive)追车场景中占有重要地位,其中包括“超级图形”作品“权力的平衡”。

乐队进行高潮音乐会的Palace Palace宴会厅当时是在拍摄乡村俱乐部的时候,但后来变成了以其所在的芝加哥邻区命名的南岸文化中心。

拍摄这座城市历史上最大的场面的费用总计为3.5万美元。[19] Belushi和Aykroyd同意在拍摄后向慈善机构捐款50,000美元。[19] 尽管允许Bluesmobile驶过Daley Center大厅,但临时折断的窗格暂时代替了建筑物中的普通玻璃。[19] [20] 超速行驶的汽车对建筑物内的7,650块花岗岩铺路石和青铜空气格栅造成了35美元的损失。[19] 电梯,楼梯和陪审员办公室的室内照片全部重新制作成电影胶片进行拍摄。[19]

蓝军兄弟终于到达理查德·J的现场。

蓝调兄弟乐队的成员也以其音乐成就而著称。

这部电影还因知名名人和娱乐行业人物的客串演出而闻名,其中包括史蒂夫·劳伦斯(Steve Lawrence)作为订票代理人,特维吉(Twiggy)担任捷豹敞篷车的“时髦女郎”,艾尔伍德在加油站的命题,史蒂芬·斯皮尔伯格(Steven Spielberg)库克县评估员的书记员约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)担任购物中心追捕的州警官,保罗·鲁本斯(Paul Reubens)(在小便·赫尔曼之前)在切兹·保罗(Chez Paul)餐厅现场当服务员,乔·沃尔什(Joe Walsh)在客串中是第一个跳上监狱的囚犯。最后一桌,Chaka Khan作为三重摇滚合唱团的独奏者。

布偶表演者弗兰克·奥兹(Frank Oz)扮演惩教官,在兄弟俩撞入玩具反斗城的场景中,可以发现格罗弗(Grover)和青蛙柯米特(Kermit the Frog)玩具,并有一位顾客(由特技协调员加里·麦克拉迪(Gary McLarty)扮演)询问收银员是否有小猪小姐(Miss Piggy)娃娃,是奥兹(Oz)配音的布偶角色。 歌手兼词曲作者史蒂芬·毕晓普(Stephen Bishop)是一名副警长,他抱怨杰克(Jake)和艾尔伍德(Elwood)弄坏了他的手表(由于在购物中心追车)。

化妆师莱恩·布里顿(Layne Britton)是老牌手,他问艾尔伍德(Elwood):“你让我得到我的Cheez Whiz吗,男孩?” Cab Calloway饰演的角色被命名为Curtis,以向俄勒冈州波特兰的蓝调音乐人Curtis Salgado致敬,他在俄勒冈州拍摄动物馆时启发了Belushi。[22]

剪辑完成后的一天,瓦瑟曼(Wasserman)邀请兰迪斯(Landis)到他的办公室,与在美国西部电影放映中占主导地位的曼恩剧院连锁店负责人泰德·曼恩(Ted Mann)交谈。

最终,与当时典型的大型预算工作室电影相比,《蓝调兄弟》在美国的发行量不到全国发行量的一半,这在票房上并不算成功。[6]

蓝调兄弟(Blues Brothers)于20年1980月594日开业,并在XNUMX家影院上映。

在根据《周六夜现场》素描改编的电影中,它在韦恩的世界和韦恩的世界2之间排名第二。[3] 导演约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)声称,布鲁斯兄弟(Blues Brothers)也是第一部在海外票房收入超过美国的美国电影。[11]

该网站的批判共识是:“为了自己的利益而过高,但最终被演员的魅力,导演约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)的风度和几个令人振奋的音乐作品所挽救。” [25]它获得了金卷轴最佳奖声音编辑和音效,[26]在《 Total Film》杂志的“有史以来最伟大的14部喜剧电影列表”中排名第50 [27],在Bravo的“ 69部最有趣的电影”中排名第100。[28]

《芝加哥太阳时报》的罗杰·埃伯特(Roger Ebert)给这部电影四分之三的评分,称赞它充满活力的音乐数字,并说如果汽车追赶如此之高以至于他们最终变得麻木,那么这是“令人难以置信的”。

[29]在对《华盛顿邮报》的评论中,加里·阿诺德(Gary Arnold)在对《华盛顿邮报》的评论中批评兰迪斯充斥了“蓝调的脆弱情节”。[30]带着汽车追捕和暴打的兄弟,在芝加哥的大街上以狂热,无幽默的眼光拍摄,以至于漫画的感觉几乎消失了。” [31] 时代杂志的理查德·科里斯(Richard Corliss)写道:“布鲁斯兄弟是一部拆除交响曲,与穆格合成器的冷酷无情的表现格格不入。” [XNUMX]

她还带领导演兰迪斯(Landis)进行“分散注意力的编辑”任务,并提到了灵魂食品餐厅的场景,萨克斯管演奏家卢·马里尼(Lou Marini)在柜台上跳舞时头部开枪。[32] 在纪录片《布鲁斯兄弟的故事背后的故事》中,兰迪斯承认了批评,而马里尼则回想起了他对看完这部电影所感到的沮丧。

金·纽曼(Kim Newman)于2013年为《帝国》撰稿,他认为“布鲁斯兄弟”是“城市贫民窟,汽车紧缩以及黑心节奏和布鲁斯的混合体”,“音乐比任何一部电影都多年。”

他指出,Belushi和Aykroyd拥护英雄:“阿雷莎(Aretha)冲过'Think',出租车卡洛维(Cab Calloway)冲过'Minnie the Moocher',约翰·李·胡克(John Lee Hooker)用电子琴通过'Boom Boom'和Ray Charles狂欢,更不用说最热门了带。” 他观察到“这张照片使其中出现的几乎所有音乐家的职业生涯重新焕发了活力”,并得出结论:“通过雷朋斯,它听起来仍然很棒,看起来也一样好。” [33]

他们走得更远,指出“布鲁斯兄弟”是一部令人难忘的电影,从事实来看,这是一部天主教电影。[35]

蓝调兄弟已经成为深夜电影的主要内容,甚至在澳大利亚墨尔本的瓦尔哈拉电影院的定期放映中逐渐演变成观众参与的节目。[36] 约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)在10周年纪念放映会上给电影院打了一个电话,以感谢电影院和歌迷的支持,后来邀请定期的参加者在“布鲁斯兄弟2000”中客串演出。

2005年25月,蓝调兄弟38周年庆典在洛杉矶的格劳曼中国剧院举行。[XNUMX] 与会者包括Landis,前环球影业公司高管Thom Mount,电影编辑小乔治·佛尔西(George Folsey,Jr.),以及演员詹姆斯·布朗,亨利·吉布森,查尔斯·纳皮尔,史蒂夫·克罗珀和史蒂芬·毕晓普。

148年,“ Collector's Edition” DVD和特别版VHS和Laserdisc发行时,电影的原始长度恢复到1998分钟。

DVD和Laserdisc版本包括56分钟的纪录片,名为“布鲁斯兄弟制作背后的故事”。

由肯尼(JM Kenny)制作和导演(同年也制作了动物之家典藏版DVD),其中包括对兰迪斯,艾克罗伊德,蓝调兄弟乐队成员,制作人罗伯特K的采访。

《布鲁斯兄弟:原声带录音》(后重新发行为《布鲁斯兄弟:音乐原声带》)于20年1980月XNUMX日发行,是布鲁斯兄弟乐队的第二张专辑,该乐队也在那年进行了巡回演出以宣传影片。

The songs on the soundtrack album are a noticeably different audio mix than in the film, with a prominent baritone saxophone in the horn line (also heard in the film during “Shake a Tail Feather”, though no baritone sax is present), and female backing vocals on “Everybody Needs Somebody to Love”, though the band had no other backup singers, besides Jake &/or Elwood, in the film.

布鲁斯兄弟的许多普通成员,包括萨克斯风演奏家汤姆·斯科特(Tom Scott)和鼓手史蒂夫·乔丹(Steve Jordan),都在配乐专辑中演出,但不在电影中。

根据兰迪斯(Landis)在1998年的纪录片《布鲁斯兄弟的背后故事》中的说法,富兰克林和布朗在音乐表演上的拍摄花费了更多的力气,因为两位艺术家都不习惯在电影中对他们的表演进行口述同步。

杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)主唱布鲁斯兄弟

布鲁斯兄弟乐队

杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)主唱布鲁斯兄弟

雷·查尔斯和布鲁斯兄弟(杰克和艾尔伍德,主唱)

布鲁斯兄弟(杰克布鲁斯,主唱;艾尔伍德布鲁斯,口琴和人声)

艾瑞莎·富兰克林(Aretha Franklin)和布鲁斯兄弟(Blues Brothers),布兰达·科贝特(Brenda Corbett),玛格丽特·布兰奇(Margaret Branch),卡罗琳·富兰克林(Carolyn Franklin),杰克(Jake)和艾尔伍德(Elwood)

艾尔伍德,杰克和布鲁斯兄弟乐队

布鲁斯兄弟乐队的出租车卡洛韦

杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)的主唱布鲁斯兄弟(献给音乐家Magic Sam)

杰克·布鲁斯(Jake Blues)和布鲁斯兄弟(Blues Brothers)(在影片的闭幕词中,詹姆斯·布朗(James Brown),卡比·卡洛韦(Cab Calloway),雷·查尔斯(Ray Charles),艾瑞莎·富兰克林(Aretha Franklin)和“船员”演唱了诗歌。

电影中的其他歌曲[编辑]

影片的配乐包括埃尔默·伯恩斯坦(Elmer Bernstein)创作的“上帝音乐”(带有合唱声的乐器),他之前曾与约翰·兰迪斯(John Landis)一起在国家Lampoon的动物馆工作。

Blues Brothers乐队(他们的主题曲;在大卖场被砸烂期间播放,当他们在Palace Hotel宴会厅被介绍时再次出现,结合了Booker T的“时间紧”。

约翰·李·胡克(约翰·李·胡克(John Lee Hooker)(在电影中演奏两次;第一次,当杰克(Jake)试图给莫里·史琳(Maury Sline)打电话时,再次当乐队去了鲍勃(Bob's)

布鲁斯兄弟

1998年的续集《 Blues Brothers 2000》具有与原始电影类似的特征,包括大型的追逐场景和音乐数字。

兰迪斯(Landis)返回导演电影,艾克罗伊德(Aykroyd)饰演约翰·古德曼(John Goodman),乔·莫顿(Joe Morton)和10岁的J.

布鲁斯兄弟:私人

IMDb上的布鲁斯兄弟

美国电影学会目录中的布鲁斯兄弟

票房Mojo的布鲁斯兄弟


来源: 布鲁斯兄弟(电影)

A section of the budget of the movie “Blues Brothers” was set aside for purchases of cocaine during night shooting.

The Blues Brothers is a 1980 American musical comedy film directed by John Landis.[4] It stars John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd as “Joliet” Jake and Elwood Blues, characters developed from “The Blues Brothers” recurring musical sketch on the NBC variety series Saturday Night Live.

It features musical numbers by rhythm and blues (R&B), soul, and blues singers James Brown, Cab Calloway, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, and John Lee Hooker.

Universal Studios, which had won the bidding war for the film, was hoping to take advantage of Belushi’s popularity in the wake of Saturday Night Live, Animal House, and the Blues Brothers’ musical success; it soon found itself unable to control production costs.

The start of filming was delayed when Aykroyd, new to film screenwriting, took six months to deliver a long and unconventional script that Landis had to rewrite before production, which began without a final budget.

On location in Chicago, Belushi’s partying and drug use caused lengthy and costly delays that, along with the destructive car chases depicted onscreen, made the final film one of the most expensive comedies ever produced.

Jake Blues is released from Joliet Correctional Center after serving three years, and is picked up by his brother Elwood in his Bluesmobile, a battered, decommissioned police car.

During a sermon by the Reverend Cleophus James at the Triple Rock Baptist Church, Jake has an epiphany: they can re-form their band, “The Blues Brothers” – which disbanded while Jake was in prison – and raise the money to save the orphanage.

On their way to meet the final two band members, the brothers find the road through Jackson Park blocked by an “American Socialist White People’s Party” – “the Illinois Nazis” – demonstration on a bridge; Elwood runs them off the bridge into the East Lagoon.

Copy of the “Bluesmobile”, the car the Blues Brothers use in the film.

John Belushi as “Joliet” Jake Blues

See also: The Blues Brothers

The characters, Jake and Elwood Blues, were created by Belushi and Aykroyd in performances on Saturday Night Live.

The fictional back story and character sketches of blood brothers Jake and Elwood were developed by Aykroyd in collaboration with Ron Gwynne, who is credited as a story consultant for the film.

As related in the liner notes of the band’s debut album, Briefcase Full of Blues, the brothers grew up in an orphanage, learned the blues from a janitor named Curtis, and sealed their brotherhood by cutting their middle fingers with a steel string said to have come from the guitar of Elmore James.[5]

Belushi had become a star in 1978 as a result of both the Blues Brothers’ musical success and his role in National Lampoon’s Animal House.

When Aykroyd and Belushi decided they could make a Blues Brothers film, the bidding war was intense.

Aykroyd had never written a screenplay before, as he admitted in the 1998 documentary, Stories Behind the Making of The Blues Brothers, or even read one, and he was unable to find a writing partner.

He titled it The Return of the Blues Brothers, and credited it to “By Scriptatron GL-9000”.[7] Landis was given the task of editing the script into a usable screenplay,[8] which took him about two weeks.[6]

Filming[edit]

Much of the film was shot on location in and around Chicago between July and October 1979, including Joliet Correctional Center in nearby Joliet, Illinois and Wauconda, Illinois, where the car crashes into the side of Route 12.[9] Made with the cooperation of Mayor Jane M.

We wrote it as a tribute”, Dan Aykroyd told the Chicago Sun-Times in an article written to mark the film’s 25th-anniversary DVD release.[11]

(Elwood’s Illinois driver’s license number is an almost-valid encoded number, with Dan Aykroyd’s own birth date embedded.) Jake’s final confrontation with his girlfriend was filmed in a replica of a section of the abandoned Chicago freight tunnel system.

Daley Center.[13] Public murals by Japanese American artist Sachio Yamashita feature prominently in the film’s final car chase scene along lower Wacker Drive, including the “super graphics” work “Balance of Power.”

The Palace Hotel Ballroom, where the band performs its climactic concert, was at the time of filming a country club, but later became the South Shore Cultural Center, named after the Chicago neighborhood where it is located.

Costs for filming the largest scene in the city’s history totaled $3.5 million.[19] Permission was given after Belushi and Aykroyd offered to donate $50,000 to charity after filming.[19] Although the Bluesmobile was allowed to be driven through the Daley Center lobby, special breakaway panes were temporarily substituted for the normal glass in the building.[19][20] The speeding car caused $7,650 in damage to 35 granite paver stones and a bronze air grille in the building.[19] Interior shots of the elevator, staircase, and assessor’s office were all recreated in a film set for filming.[19]

For the scene when the Blues Brothers finally arrive at the Richard J.

The members of The Blues Brothers band are notable for their musical accomplishments, as well.

The film is also notable for the number of cameo appearances by established celebrities and entertainment-industry figures, including Steve Lawrence as a booking agent, Twiggy as a “chic lady” in a Jaguar convertible whom Elwood propositions at a gas station, Steven Spielberg as the Cook County Assessor’s clerk, John Landis as a state trooper in the mall chase, Paul Reubens (before Pee-wee Herman) as a waiter in the Chez Paul restaurant scene, Joe Walsh in a cameo as the first prisoner to jump up on a table in the final scene, and Chaka Khan as the soloist in the Triple Rock choir.

Muppet performer Frank Oz plays a corrections officer, and in the scene where the brothers crash into Toys R Us, a Grover and Kermit the Frog toy can be spotted and a customer (played by stunt coordinator Gary McLarty) asks the cashier if they have a Miss Piggy doll, a Muppet character that is voiced by Oz. Singer/songwriter Stephen Bishop is a deputy sheriff who complains that Jake and Elwood broke his watch (a result of the car chase in the mall).

Makeup artist Layne Britton is the old card player who asks Elwood, “Did you get me my Cheez Whiz, boy?” The character portrayed by Cab Calloway is named Curtis as an homage to Curtis Salgado, a Portland, Oregon, blues musician who inspired Belushi while he was in Oregon filming Animal House.[22]

One day after the editing was done, Wasserman invited Landis up to his office to speak with Ted Mann, head of the Mann Theatres chain, which dominated film exhibition in the Western United States.

Ultimately The Blues Brothers got less than half the bookings nationwide for its initial release than a typical big-budget studio film of the era, which did not bode well for its success at the box office.[6]

The Blues Brothers opened on June 20, 1980, with a release in 594 theaters.

It ranks second, between Wayne’s World and Wayne’s World 2, among films adapted from Saturday Night Live sketches.[3] Director John Landis claimed The Blues Brothers was also the first American film to gross more money overseas than it did in the United States.[11]

The site’s critical consensus reads, “Too over the top for its own good, but ultimately rescued by the cast’s charm, director John Landis’ grace, and several soul-stirring musical numbers.”[25] It won the Golden Reel Award for Best Sound Editing and Sound Effects,[26] is 14th on Total Film magazine’s “List of the 50 Greatest Comedy Films of All Time”[27] and is number 69 on Bravo’s “100 Funniest Movies”.[28]

Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times gave the film three out of four stars, praising it for its energetic musical numbers and said the car chases were “incredible” if so over-the-top that they finally became numbing.

There’s even room, in the midst of the carnage and mayhem, for a surprising amount of grace, humor, and whimsy.”[29] In his review for The Washington Post, Gary Arnold criticized Landis for engorging “the frail plot of The Blues Brothers with car chases and crack-ups, filmed with such avid, humorless starkness on the streets of Chicago that comic sensations are virtually obliterated”.[30] Time magazine’s Richard Corliss wrote, “The Blues Brothers is a demolition symphony that works with the cold efficiency of a Moog synthesizer gone sadistic”.[31]

She also took director Landis to task for “distracting editing”, mentioning the Soul Food diner scene in which saxophonist Lou Marini’s head is out of shot as he dances on the counter.[32] In the documentary, Stories Behind the Making of The Blues Brothers, Landis acknowledges the criticism, and Marini recalls the dismay he felt at seeing the completed film.

Kim Newman, writing for Empire in 2013, considered The Blues Brothers to be “an amalgam of urban sleaze, automobile crunch and blackheart rhythm and blues” with “better music than any film had had for many years”.

He noted that Belushi and Aykroyd pack in their heroes: “Aretha storming through ‘Think’, Cab Calloway cruising through ‘Minnie the Moocher’, John Lee Hooker boogying through ‘Boom Boom’ and Ray Charles on electric piano, not to mention the hottest band.” He observed that “the picture had revived the careers of virtually all the musicians that appeared in it” and concluded “it still sounds great and looks as good as ever through Ray Bans”.[33]

They went further, stating, The Blues Brothers “is a memorable film, and, judging by the facts, a Catholic one.”[35]

The Blues Brothers has become a staple of late-night cinema, even slowly morphing into an audience-participation show in its regular screenings at the Valhalla Cinema, in Melbourne, Australia.[36] John Landis acknowledged the support of the cinema and the fans by a phone call he made to the cinema at the 10th-anniversary screening, and later invited regular attendees to make cameo appearances in Blues Brothers 2000.

In August 2005, a 25th-anniversary celebration for The Blues Brothers was held at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre in Los Angeles.[38] Attendees included Landis, former Universal Studios executive Thom Mount, film editor George Folsey, Jr., and cast members James Brown, Henry Gibson, Charles Napier, Steve Cropper, and Stephen Bishop.

The film’s original length was restored to 148 minutes for the “Collector’s Edition” DVD and a Special Edition VHS and Laserdisc release in 1998.

The DVD and Laserdisc versions included a 56-minute documentary called “The Stories Behind The Making Of The Blues Brothers”.

Produced and directed by JM Kenny (who also produced the Animal House Collector’s Edition DVD the same year), it included interviews with Landis, Aykroyd, members of The Blues Brothers Band, producer Robert K.

The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (later re-released as The Blues Brothers: Music from the Soundtrack) was released on June 20, 1980 as the second album by the Blues Brothers Band, which also toured that year to promote the film.

The songs on the soundtrack album are a noticeably different audio mix than in the film, with a prominent baritone saxophone in the horn line (also heard in the film during “Shake a Tail Feather”, though no baritone sax is present), and female backing vocals on “Everybody Needs Somebody to Love”, though the band had no other backup singers, besides Jake &/or Elwood, in the film.

A number of regular Blues Brothers’ members, including saxophonist Tom Scott and drummer Steve Jordan, perform on the soundtrack album, but are not in the film.

According to Landis in the 1998 documentary The Stories Behind the Making of ‘The Blues Brothers’, filmed musical performances by Franklin and Brown took more effort, as neither artist was accustomed to lip-synching their performances on film.

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues

The Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues

Ray Charles with the Blues Brothers (Jake and Elwood, backing vocals)

The Blues Brothers (Jake Blues, lead vocals; Elwood Blues, harmonica and vocals)

Aretha Franklin and the Blues Brothers with backing vocals by Brenda Corbett, Margaret Branch, Carolyn Franklin, Jake, and Elwood

Elwood, Jake, and the Blues Brothers Band

Cab Calloway with the Blues Brothers Band

The Blues Brothers with lead vocals by Jake Blues (dedicated to the musician Magic Sam)

Jake Blues and the Blues Brothers (Over the closing credits in the film, verses are sung by James Brown, Cab Calloway, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin and “crew”)

Other songs in the film[edit]

The film’s score includes “God Music” (instrumental with choir vocalese) composed by Elmer Bernstein, who previously had worked with John Landis on National Lampoon’s Animal House.

The Blues Brothers band (their theme song; plays during the smashing of the Mall and again when they are introduced at the Palace Hotel Ballroom, incorporating “Time Is Tight” by Booker T.

John Lee Hooker (plays in the film twice; first when Jake tries to phone Maury Sline, again when the band go to Bob’s Country Bunker)

The Blues Brothers

The 1998 sequel, Blues Brothers 2000, had similar traits to the original, including large car-chase scenes and musical numbers.

Landis returned to direct the film and Aykroyd reprised his role, joining John Goodman, Joe Morton, and 10-year-old J.

Blues Brothers: Private

The Blues Brothers on IMDb

The Blues Brothers at the American Film Institute Catalog

The Blues Brothers at Box Office Mojo


Source: The Blues Brothers (film)