تعرف على أنتوني إرفين ، السباح الذي فاز بالميدالية الذهبية في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية لعام 2000 ، والذي تقاعد في الثانية والعشرين من عمره ، بدأ في تعاطي المخدرات ، وفي لحظة ما لم يكن قادرًا على النهوض من على الأريكة لأيام متتالية. في عام 22 عاد إلى السباحة ، وفي أولمبياد 2011 أصبح أكبر سباح يفوز بميدالية ذهبية.

الحائز على الميدالية الذهبية أنتوني إرفين يعود إلى الألعاب الأولمبية بعد مشاكل المخدرات ومحاولة الانتحار

في سن الخامسة والثلاثين ، عاد أنتوني إرفين الحاصل على الميدالية الذهبية

كان العديد من منافسي أنتوني إرفين يتعلمون القراءة والكتابة في المرة الأخيرة التي فاز فيها بميدالية ذهبية ، في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية لعام 2000 في سيدني ، قبل تقاعده فجأة - لكنهم يعرفون كيفية تهجئة اسمه الآن.

يوم الأحد ، رسخ إرفين مباراة الإياب التي وضعت الولايات المتحدة في مركز للفوز بالميدالية الذهبية في سباق التتابع 4 × 100 متر حرة ، وفاز بأول ميدالية له منذ أن كان مراهقًا. هذا الخميس سوف يتنافس في سباق 50 متر حرة - أقصر وأسرع سباق في الألعاب المائية.

قليلون كانوا يتوقعون أن إرفين - البالغ من العمر 35 عامًا ، وهو أكبر رجل أمريكي يسبح في حدث أولمبي فردي منذ عام 1904 - كان بإمكانه تحقيق مثل هذه العودة.

"من العدل أن نقول إنه لم يكن أحد ... مواصلة القراءة

المصدر https://people.com/sports/anthony-ervin-returning-for-olympic-gold-as-the-oldest-swimmer/

Meet Anthony Ervin, a swimmer who won a gold medal at the 2000 Olympics, retired at 22, begun abusing drugs, at one moment being hardly able to raise from a sofa for days on end. In 2011 he got back into swimming, and at the 2016 Olympics became the oldest swimmer to win a gold medal.

Gold Medalist Anthony Ervin Makes His Olympic Comeback After Drug Problems and Attempted Suicide

At 35, former gold medalist Anthony Ervin is making a comeback

Many of Anthony Ervin‘s competitors were just learning to read and write the last time he won a gold medal, at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, before he abruptly retired – but they know how to spell his name now.

On Sunday, Ervin anchored the qualifying leg that put the U.S. in position to win gold in the 4×100-meter freestyle relay, earning him his first medal since he was a teenager. This Thursday he will compete in the 50-meter freestyle – the shortest, fastest race in aquatics.

Few would have expected that Ervin – at 35, the oldest American man to swim an individual Olympics event since 1904 – could have made such a comeback.

“It’s fair to say nobody has been th… Continue Reading

Source: https://people.com/sports/anthony-ervin-returning-for-olympic-gold-as-the-oldest-swimmer/