在1969年毕业时,罗宾·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams)被同学们评为“最有可能不成功”和“最有趣”。

对于其他用途,请参见Robin Williams(消歧)。

罗宾·麦克劳林·威廉姆斯(21年1951月11日至2014年XNUMX月XNUMX日)是美国演员和喜剧演员。

威廉姆斯(Williams)生于芝加哥,于1970年代中期开始在旧金山和洛杉矶表演单口喜剧,并以旧金山的喜剧复兴而著称。[1] 在以情景喜剧《莫克与明迪》(Mork&Mindy)中扮演外星人莫克(Mork)声名fa起之后,威廉姆斯(Williams)在单口喜剧和故事片表演领域确立了自己的职业。

威廉姆斯(Williams)首次出演电影《大力水手(Popeye)》(1980)之后,出演了许多获得关键性和财务成功的电影,包括《加普世界》(1982),《哈德逊上的莫斯科》(1984),《越南早安》(1987),死亡诗人协会(1989),觉醒(1990),阿拉丁(1992),费舍尔·金(1991),一小时照片(2002)和世界上最伟大的爸爸(2009),以及票房热门影片,例如《胡克( 1991年),Doubtfire夫人(1993年),Jumanji(1995年),Birdcage(1996年),Good Will Hunting(1997年)和博物馆之夜三部曲(2006-2014年)。

威廉姆斯曾四次获得奥斯卡金像奖提名,并以其在心理学家肖恩·马奎尔(Sean Maguire)的《善意狩猎》中的表现获得最佳男配角奖。

根据里夫的说法,斯金纳被威廉姆斯迷住了,威廉姆斯可以立即用许多口音表演,包括苏格兰,爱尔兰,英语,俄语和意大利语。

在后来的作品中,威廉姆斯在田纳西·威廉姆斯的《鬣鳞蜥之夜》中扮演一位老人时表现出色,使评论家critic声不已。

威廉姆斯(Williams)在20年2007月XNUMX日的USO演出中表演单口喜剧

家人移居马林县后,威廉姆斯于1970年代中期开始在旧金山湾区表演单口喜剧。

他在旧金山的一家喜剧俱乐部圣城动物园(Holy City Zoo)进行了首次表演,在那儿,他从酒吧的工作中一路攀升。[41] 评论家Gerald Nachman写道:1960年代,旧金山是摇滚音乐复兴,嬉皮士,毒品和性革命的中心。1970年代,威廉姆斯帮助领导了它的“喜剧复兴”。[1]:6威廉姆斯说他发现了那段时期的“毒品和幸福”,并补充说,他看到“我那个时代最好的大脑变成了泥巴”。[31]

威廉姆斯移居洛杉矶,继续在包括喜剧俱乐部在内的俱乐部中表演单口相声。

1977年,在那里,电视制片人乔治·施拉特(George Schlatter)看到了他,他要求他出现在他的节目《笑声》(Laugh-In)的复兴中。 该节目于1977年底播出,是他首次出演电视节目。[31] 那年,威廉姆斯还在洛杉矶即兴表演家庭票房演出。[42] 当Laugh-In复兴失败时,它使Williams进入了电视界。 他继续在Roxy等喜剧俱乐部表演站立表演,以帮助保持他的即兴创作技巧。[31] [43]

威廉姆斯(Williams)因其1979年在纽约的科帕卡巴纳(Copacabana)上的现场表演录制而获得了格莱美奖……

在成为电视和电影明星之后,他后来的一些巡回演出包括《罗宾·威廉姆斯之夜》,《罗宾·威廉姆斯:大都会》和《罗宾·威廉姆斯:百老汇现场》。

威廉姆斯说,部分原因是要表现出站立的压力,他在职业生涯的早期就开始使用毒品和酒精。

威廉姆斯曾经描述过喜剧演员的生活:

威廉姆斯感到很放心,他不会耗尽想法,因为世界大事的不断变化将使他保持精力充沛。[46] 他还解释说,为了使听众保持兴趣,他经常在即兴创作时使用自由联想的想法。[48] 竞争气氛引起问题; 例如,一些喜剧演员指责他复制了自己的笑话,威廉姆斯坚决否认。[46] [49] [50] 戴维·布伦纳(David Brenner)声称,如果他听到威廉姆斯说出了他的另一则笑话,他将亲自面对威廉姆斯,并以人身伤害威胁他。[51] [52] Whoopi Goldberg为他辩护,解释说喜剧演员很难不重复使用另一位喜剧演员的资料,而且“一直”进行。[53] 后来,他避免参加其他喜剧演员的表演来阻止类似的指控。[53]

在Laugh-In复兴之后,并出现在NBC的Richard Pryor节目中,威廉姆斯由加里·马歇尔(Garry Marshall)在1978年电视连续剧“快乐的日子”“我最喜欢的奥肯”中饰演外星人莫克。[31] [ 54] 在被要求作为离任演员的演员的最后一刻替代之后,威廉姆斯在被要求坐下试镜时坐在他的头上,以他古怪的幽默感给制片人留下了深刻的印象。[55] 威廉姆斯(Mork)饰演莫克(Mork)时,即兴创作了许多对话和肢体喜剧片,用高鼻腔的声音讲话。

莫克开始流行,并出现在海报,涂色书,午餐盒和其他商品上。[58] 莫克与明迪(Mork&Mindy)的第一个赛季如此成功,威廉姆斯(Williams)出现在12年1979月59日的《时代》杂志封面上。[60] [1979] 据称,迈克尔·德莱斯特(Michael Dressler)于61年拍摄的封面照片“捕捉到了他的不同侧面:滑稽人物为相机抢劫,而甜蜜,更周到的姿势出现在他手里拿着的小电视上”致《洛杉矶时报》的Mary Forgione。[61] 这张照片在史密森学会死后不久被安装在国家肖像馆的国家肖像馆中,以允许访客致敬。[23] 威廉姆斯还出现在1979年62月63日的《滚石》上,由理查德·阿维登(Richard Avedon)拍摄。[XNUMX] [XNUMX]

从1970年代末到整个1980年代,威廉姆斯开始用他的单口喜剧来吸引更广泛的观众,包括三个HBO喜剧特别节目:《离墙》(1978年),《罗宾·威廉姆斯的夜晚》(1983年)和《罗宾·威廉姆斯:现场》。在大都会(1986)。

同样在1986年,威廉姆斯与人共同主办了第58届奥斯卡金像奖。[64]

威廉姆斯还是许多脱口秀节目的常客,包括由约翰尼·卡森主演的《今夜秀》 [65]和与大卫·莱特曼的《深夜》,他出演了50次。

莱特曼认识威廉姆斯已有近40年的历史,他回想起自己是好莱坞新喜剧商店中的新喜剧演员,莱特曼和其他喜剧演员已经在那里站起来。

他的单口秀作品是他职业生涯中始终如一的主题,从他的单人表演(以及随后的DVD)《罗宾·威廉姆斯:百老汇的生活》(2002年)的成功中可以看出。

另请参阅:罗宾·威廉姆斯的电影作品

罗宾·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams)的第一部电影角色是1977年低预算喜剧片《我能做到》的一小部分……

威廉姆斯在那里展示了以前在电视作品中展示过的表演技巧。 电影的商业失望并没有归咎于他的角色。[73] [74] 他在Garp(1982)所著的《世界》一书中担任主角,威廉姆斯认为他“可能在屏幕上没有某种疯狂的感觉,但它具有很强的核心性”。[41] 他继续在不太成功的电影中担任其他较小的角色,例如《幸存者》(1983)和《天堂俱乐部》(1986),尽管他说这些角色无助于推进他的电影事业。[41]

他的第一个重大突破是在导演巴里·列文森(Barry Levinson)的《早安,越南》(1987)中担任主角之后,威廉姆斯获得了奥斯卡最佳男主角提名。[54] 这部电影是在1965年越南战争期间拍摄的,威廉姆斯扮演着无线电冲击乔克(Adrian Cronauer)的角色,他使电台保持喜剧和讽刺的气氛。

在麦克风上,他给人们留下了深刻的印象,包括沃尔特·克朗基特(Walter Cronkite),戈默·派尔(Gomer Pyle),猫王(Elvis Presley),埃德先生和理查德·尼克松(Richard Nixon)。[41] 制片人马克·约翰逊(Mark Johnson)说:“我们只是让相机转动。”威廉姆斯“每次拍摄都能创造出新的东西。” [75]

他后来担任的许多角色都是喜剧般的喜剧。[76] 他在喜剧和戏剧电影中的角色获得了威廉姆斯的奥斯卡最佳男配角奖(以其在《 Good Will Hunting》中担任心理学家的角色(1997年))[54],以及此前两次获得奥斯卡金像奖的提名(因为在好莱坞扮演一位英语老师死亡诗人协会(1989),以及饰演费舍尔·金(1991)中一个陷入困境的无家可归的人。[54] 1991年,他曾在影片《胡克(Hook)》中饰演成年的彼得·潘(Peter Pan),尽管他曾说过自己必须减掉77磅。[XNUMX]

威廉姆斯在广受赞誉的戏剧电影中的其他角色还包括《哈德逊河上的莫斯科》(1984年),《觉醒》(1990年),《梦想成真》(1998年)和《百年纪念人》(1999年)。[78] 在失眠中,威廉姆斯在阿拉斯加农村地区一名失眠的洛杉矶警察(由阿尔·帕西诺饰演)中扮演一名作家/杀手,在逃亡中。[79] 同样在2002年,在心理惊悚片《一小时照片》中,威廉姆斯饰演了一位情绪不安的照片开发技术员,他迷上了一个为自己开发了很长时间照片的家庭。[80] 威廉姆斯一生中上映的最后一部电影是布鲁克林的《最愤怒的人》,这部电影讲述了生命的价值。

胡克制片人迈克·梅达沃(Mike Medavoy)告诉其导演史蒂芬·斯皮尔伯格(Steven Spielberg),他有意与霍夫曼和威廉姆斯合作拍摄这部电影,因为他知道他们想共同努力,威廉姆斯欢迎与斯皮尔伯格合作的机会。[82] 威廉姆斯受益于与伍迪·艾伦(Woody Allen)的合作,伍迪·艾伦(Woody Allen)指导他和比利·克里斯特尔(Billy Crystal)执导《解构哈利​​》(1997),因为艾伦知道克里斯特尔和威廉姆斯经常在舞台上一起表演这一事实。[83]

他在《善意狩猎》(1997年)中扮演治疗师的角色深深影响了一些真正的治疗师,并获得了威廉姆斯学院奖。[84] 在《觉醒》(Awakenings,1990年)中,威廉姆斯扮演了以奥利弗·萨克斯(Oliver Sacks)为榜样的医生,他写了这部电影的书。

萨克斯后来说,演员头脑运作的方式是一种“天才形式”。 1989年,威廉姆斯(Williams)在死诗协会(Dead Poets Society)中扮演一所私立学校的老师,其中包括最后的情感场面,一些评论家说这是“启发了一代人”,并成为流行文化的一部分。[85] 纵观他的大部分电影作品,威廉姆斯所扮演的大多数角色都被一位作家的“广度”和根本的多样性所震惊。[86]

威廉姆斯在几部动画电影中为角色配音。

Buckley,Peter Lorre,Arnold Schwarzenegger和Arsenio Hall。[89] 他在阿拉丁(Aladdin)的角色成为他最受认可和最受欢迎的角色之一,这部电影是1992年票房最高的电影; 它赢得了无数奖项,包括威廉姆斯的金球奖。

威廉姆斯继续在其他动画电影中发表声音,包括《蕨谷:最后的雨林》(1992年),《机器人》(2005年),《快乐的脚》(2006年)以及《每个人的英雄》(2006年)中未经评论的演唱。

威廉姆斯(Williams)于2008年1月2008日在华盛顿特区的XNUMX USO世界晚会上演出

威廉姆斯(Williams)和玛莎·加尔斯(Marsha Garces)在61年第1989届奥斯卡颁奖典礼上

威廉姆斯是纸和笔角色扮演游戏和视频游戏的狂热者。[116] [117] [118] [119] [120] [121]他的女儿塞尔达(Zelda)以全家人最喜欢的电子游戏系列《塞尔达传说》(The Legend of Zelda)中的标题角色命名。

该报告还指出,威廉姆斯遭受了“最近偏执狂的增加”。[155] 检查他的脑组织表明威廉姆斯患有“弥漫性路易体痴呆症”。[149] 他的妻子苏珊·施耐德(Susan Schneider)将这种疾病描述为“我丈夫脑海中的恐怖分子”,“无论如何看,路易尸体的存在都夺走了他的生命,”这是他先前对帕金森氏症的诊断。[9]

为了纪念他的戏剧作品,百老汇的灯光在14年2014月162日晚上变暗了。[1992] 那天晚上,阿拉丁音乐剧的演员表彰威廉姆斯,让观众与他们一起演唱了“朋友如我”,这是威廉姆斯最初在163年电影《阿拉丁》中演唱的奥斯卡提名歌曲。[164] 威廉姆斯的影迷在好莱坞星光大道[165]上的明星处以及他的电视和电影事业中的地点,例如在《波士顿威尔士花园》中的古板凳上制作了临时纪念馆,[166]弗朗西斯科(Dougtfire夫人)所用的房屋; [167]新罕布什尔州基恩(Keene)的帕里什(Parrish)鞋的标志,这里拍摄了部分Jumanji的照片; [168]科罗拉多州博尔德(Boulder),莫克和明迪(Mork&Mindy)的房屋。[2014] 纽约时报作家大卫·伊茨科夫(David Itzkoff)于169年开始着书传记,[2018]于170年出版,标题为罗宾。[101] 此外,29年2016月171日,金门大桥以北XNUMX号高速公路上的隧道正式命名为“罗宾·威廉姆斯隧道”。[XNUMX]

在电视上,66年25月2014日举行的第172届黄金时段艾美奖颁奖典礼上,比利·克里斯特尔(Billy Crystal)向威廉姆斯致敬,称威廉姆斯为“我们喜剧星系中最明亮的星星”。[173] [9] 2014年174月27日,PBS播出了一个专为他的职业而设的一小时特别节目,[2014]并在175年XNUMX月XNUMX日,数十位知名明星和名人在旧金山举行了敬意庆祝他的生活和职业。[XNUMX]

由玛丽娜·泽诺维奇(Marina Zenovich)执导的电影罗宾·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams:Come Inside My Mind)也曾在圣丹斯电影节上放映。[180] 同年,在旧金山市场街上创作了罗宾·威廉姆斯的壁画。[181]

威廉姆斯称赞乔纳森·温特斯(Jonathan Winters),彼得·塞勒斯(Peter Sellers),尼科尔斯(Nichols)和梅(May)和兰尼·布鲁斯(Lenny Bruce)等喜剧演员的影响力,赞赏他们以更高的机智吸引更多知识分子的能力。[1]:43他还喜欢杰伊·莱诺(Jay Leno)的敏捷喜剧喜剧套路和席德·凯撒(Sid Caesar),他认为自己的举止“很珍贵”。[46]

在2002年伦敦的一次采访中,威廉姆斯告诉迈克尔·帕金森,彼得·塞勒斯(Peter Sellers)是一个重要的影响力,尤其是他在奇异博士(Strangelove)中扮演的多个角色,他说:“没有比这更好的了。” 他告诉帕金森[183]​​,英国喜剧演员达德利·摩尔和彼得·库克也受到他的影响。

威廉姆斯还受到理查德·普赖尔(Richard Pryor)在舞台上谈论自己的个人生活的无畏能力的影响,威廉姆斯在他的表演中加入了这类话题。

尽管威廉姆斯最初被认为是喜剧演员和电视明星,但后来以出演实质和严肃戏剧的电影角色而闻名。

威廉姆斯在喜剧中创造了一种标志性的自由形式角色,这种风格广受他的认同,以至于新喜剧演员亲自模仿了威廉姆斯。

主条目:罗宾·威廉姆斯获得的奖项和提名列表

2003年–罗宾·威廉姆斯演唱会(Robin Williams Live)荣获格莱美最佳喜剧专辑奖– 2002年[192]

罗宾·威廉姆斯的生平与幽默:传记。

罗宾·威廉姆斯:传记。

罗宾·威廉姆斯剪贴簿。

“罗宾·威廉姆斯的生与死”。

“彼得·特拉弗斯(Peter Travers)在他最喜欢的罗宾·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams)的9场演出中–滚石的电影评论家都在考虑已故演员和喜剧演员的最佳作品。”

《发现坟墓》中的罗宾·威廉姆斯

罗宾·威廉姆斯(Robin Williams)在IMDb上


来源: 罗宾·威廉斯

At the time of his graduation in 1969, Robin Williams was voted “Most Likely Not to Succeed” and “Funniest” by his classmates.

For other uses, see Robin Williams (disambiguation).

Robin McLaurin Williams (July 21, 1951 – August 11, 2014) was an American actor and comedian.

Born in Chicago, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in San Francisco and Los Angeles in the mid-1970s, and is credited with leading San Francisco’s comedy renaissance.[1] After rising to fame playing the alien Mork in the sitcom Mork & Mindy, Williams established a career in both stand-up comedy and feature film acting.

After his first starring film role in Popeye (1980), Williams starred in numerous films that achieved critical and financial success, including The World According to Garp (1982), Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Awakenings (1990), Aladdin (1992), The Fisher King (1991), One Hour Photo (2002), and World’s Greatest Dad (2009), as well as box office hits, such as Hook (1991), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Jumanji (1995), The Birdcage (1996), Good Will Hunting (1997), and the Night at the Museum trilogy (2006–2014).

Williams was nominated four times for the Academy Awards, winning once for Best Supporting Actor for his performance as psychologist Sean Maguire in Good Will Hunting.

According to Reeve, Skinner was bewildered by Williams, who could instantly perform in many accents, including Scottish, Irish, English, Russian, and Italian.

In a later production, Williams silenced his critics with his well-received performance as an old man in The Night of the Iguana by Tennessee Williams.

Williams performing stand-up comedy at a USO show on December 20, 2007

After his family moved to Marin County, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in the San Francisco Bay Area in the mid-1970s.

He gave his first performance at the Holy City Zoo, a comedy club in San Francisco, where he worked his way up from tending bar.[41] In the 1960s, San Francisco was a center for a rock music renaissance, hippies, drugs, and a sexual revolution, and in the 1970s, Williams helped lead its “comedy renaissance”, writes critic Gerald Nachman.[1]:6 Williams says he found out about “drugs and happiness” during that period, adding that he saw “the best brains of my time turned to mud”.[31]

Williams moved to Los Angeles and continued performing stand-up at clubs including the Comedy Club.

There, in 1977, he was seen by TV producer George Schlatter, who asked him to appear on a revival of his show Laugh-In. The show aired in late 1977 and was his debut TV appearance.[31] That year, Williams also performed a show at the LA Improv for Home Box Office.[42] While the Laugh-In revival failed, it led Williams into a television career; he continued performing stand-up at comedy clubs such as the Roxy to help keep his improvisational skills sharp.[31][43]

Williams won a Grammy Award for the recording of his 1979 live show at the Copacabana in New York, Reality …

Some of his later tours, after he became a TV and film star, include An Evening With Robin Williams, Robin Williams: At The Met and Robin Williams: Live on Broadway.

Williams said that partly due to the stress of performing stand-up, he started using drugs and alcohol early in his career.

Williams once described the life of stand-up comedians:

Williams felt secure he would not run out of ideas, as the constant change in world events would keep him supplied.[46] He also explained that he often used free association of ideas while improvising in order to keep the audience interested.[48] The competitive atmosphere caused problems; for example, some comedians accused him of copying their jokes, which Williams strongly denied.[46][49][50] David Brenner claims that he confronted Williams personally and threatened him with bodily harm if he heard Williams utter another one of his jokes.[51][52] Whoopi Goldberg defended him, explaining that it is difficult for comedians not to reuse another comedian’s material, and that it is done “all the time”.[53] He later avoided going to performances of other comedians to deter similar accusations.[53]

After the Laugh-In revival and appearing in the cast of The Richard Pryor Show on NBC, Williams was cast by Garry Marshall as the alien Mork in a 1978 episode of the TV series Happy Days, “My Favorite Orkan”.[31][54] Sought after as a last minute cast replacement for a departing actor, Williams impressed the producer with his quirky sense of humor when he sat on his head when asked to take a seat for the audition.[55] As Mork, Williams improvised much of his dialogue and physical comedy, speaking in a high, nasal voice.

Mork became popular, featured on posters, coloring books, lunch-boxes, and other merchandise.[58] Mork & Mindy was such a success in its first season that Williams appeared on the March 12, 1979, cover of Time magazine.[59][60] The cover photo, taken by Michael Dressler in 1979, is said to have “[captured] his different sides: the funnyman mugging for the camera, and a sweet, more thoughtful pose that appears on a small TV he holds in his hands” according to Mary Forgione of the Los Angeles Times.[61] This photo was installed in the National Portrait Gallery in the Smithsonian Institution shortly after his death to allow visitors to pay their respects.[61] Williams also appeared on the cover of the August 23, 1979, issue of Rolling Stone, photographed by Richard Avedon.[62][63]

Starting in the late 1970s and throughout the 1980s, Williams began to reach a wider audience with his stand-up comedy, including three HBO comedy specials, Off The Wall (1978), An Evening with Robin Williams (1983) and Robin Williams: Live at the Met (1986).

Also in 1986, Williams co-hosted the 58th Academy Awards.[64]

Williams was also a regular guest on various talk shows, including The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson[65] and Late Night with David Letterman, on which he appeared 50 times.

Letterman, who knew Williams for nearly 40 years, recalls seeing him first perform as a new comedian at The Comedy Store in Hollywood, where Letterman and other comedians had already been doing stand-up.

His stand-up work was a consistent thread through his career, as seen by the success of his one-man show (and subsequent DVD) Robin Williams: Live on Broadway (2002).

See also: Robin Williams filmography

The first film role credited to Robin Williams is a small part in the 1977 low-budget comedy Can I Do It …

There, Williams showcased the acting skills previously demonstrated in his television work; and the film’s commercial disappointment was not blamed upon his role.[73][74] He stars as the leading character in The World According to Garp (1982), which Williams considered “may have lacked a certain madness onscreen, but it had a great core”.[41] He continued with other smaller roles in less successful films, such as The Survivors (1983) and Club Paradise (1986), though he said these roles did not help advance his film career.[41]

His first major break came from his starring role in director Barry Levinson’s Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), which earned Williams a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Actor.[54] The film is set in 1965 during the Vietnam War, with Williams playing the role of Adrian Cronauer, a radio shock jock who keeps the troops entertained with comedy and sarcasm.

Over the microphone, he created voice impressions of people, including Walter Cronkite, Gomer Pyle, Elvis Presley, Mr. Ed, and Richard Nixon.[41] “We just let the cameras roll,” said producer Mark Johnson, and Williams “managed to create something new for every single take.”[75]

Many of his later roles were in comedies tinged with pathos.[76] His roles in comedy and dramatic films garnered Williams an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor (for his role as a psychologist in Good Will Hunting (1997)),[54] as well as two previous Academy Award nominations (for playing an English teacher in Dead Poets Society (1989), and for playing a troubled homeless man in The Fisher King (1991)).[54] In 1991, he played an adult Peter Pan in the film Hook, although he had said that he would have to lose twenty-five pounds.[77]

Other roles Williams had in acclaimed dramatic films include Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Awakenings (1990), What Dreams May Come (1998), and Bicentennial Man (1999).[78] In Insomnia, Williams portrayed a writer / killer on the run from a sleep-deprived Los Angeles policeman (played by Al Pacino) in rural Alaska.[79] Also in 2002, in the psychological thriller One Hour Photo, Williams played an emotionally disturbed photo development technician who becomes obsessed with a family for whom he has developed pictures for a long time.[80] The last Williams movie released during his lifetime was The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, a film addressing the value of life.

Mike Medavoy, producer of Hook, told its director, Steven Spielberg, that he intentionally teamed up Hoffman and Williams for the film because he knew they wanted to work together, and that Williams welcomed the opportunity of working with Spielberg.[82] Williams benefited from working with Woody Allen, who directed him and Billy Crystal in Deconstructing Harry (1997), as Allen had knowledge of the fact that Crystal and Williams had often performed together on stage.[83]

His performance in the role of a therapist in Good Will Hunting (1997) deeply affected some real therapists and won Williams an Academy Award.[84] In Awakenings (1990), Williams played a doctor modeled on Oliver Sacks, who wrote the book on which the film was based.

Sacks later said the way the actor’s mind worked was a “form of genius.” In 1989 Williams played a private school teacher in Dead Poets Society, which included a final, emotional scene which some critics said “inspired a generation” and became a part of pop culture.[85] Looking over most of his filmography, one writer was “struck by the breadth” and radical diversity of most roles Williams portrayed.[86]

Williams voiced characters in several animated films.

Buckley, Peter Lorre, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and Arsenio Hall.[89] His role in Aladdin became one of his most recognized and best-loved, and the film was the highest-grossing of 1992; it won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe for Williams.

Williams continued to provide voices in other animated films, including FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992), Robots (2005), Happy Feet (2006), and an uncredited vocal performance in Everyone’s Hero (2006).

Williams performing at the 2008 USO World Gala in Washington, D.C. on October 1, 2008

Williams with Marsha Garces at the 61st Academy Awards in 1989

Williams was an enthusiast of both pen-and-paper role-playing games and video games.[116][117][118] His daughter Zelda was named after the title character from The Legend of Zelda, a family favorite video game series, and he sometimes performed at consumer entertainment trade shows.[119][120][121]

The report also noted that Williams had been suffering “a recent increase in paranoia”.[155] An examination of his brain tissue suggested Williams suffered from “diffuse Lewy body dementia”.[149] Describing the disease as “the terrorist inside my husband’s brain”, his wife Susan Schneider said, “however you look at it—the presence of Lewy bodies took his life,” referring to his previous diagnosis of Parkinson’s.[9]

In honor of his theater work, the lights of Broadway were darkened for the evening of August 14, 2014.[162] That night, the cast of the Aladdin musical honored Williams by having the audience join them in a sing-along of “Friend Like Me”, an Oscar-nominated song originally sung by Williams in the 1992 film Aladdin.[163] Fans of Williams created makeshift memorials at his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame[164] and at locations from his television and film career, such as the bench in Boston’s Public Garden featured in Good Will Hunting;[165] the Pacific Heights, San Francisco, home used in Mrs. Doubtfire;[166] the sign for Parrish Shoes in Keene, New Hampshire, where parts of Jumanji were filmed;[167] and the Boulder, Colorado, home used for Mork & Mindy.[168] Work on a book biography was begun by New York Times writer David Itzkoff in 2014,[169] and was published in 2018, entitled simply Robin.[170] In addition, a tunnel on Highway 101 north of the Golden Gate Bridge was officially named the “Robin Williams Tunnel” on February 29, 2016.[171]

On television, during the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards on August 25, 2014, Billy Crystal presented a tribute to Williams, referring to him as “the brightest star in our comedy galaxy”.[172][173] On September 9, 2014, PBS aired a one-hour special devoted to his career,[174] and on September 27, 2014, dozens of leading stars and celebrities held a tribute in San Francisco to celebrate his life and career.[175]

Directed by Marina Zenovich, the film, Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind, was also screened at the Sundance Film Festival.[180] That same year, a mural of Robin Williams was created on Market Street, in San Francisco.[181]

Williams credited comedians including Jonathan Winters, Peter Sellers, Nichols and May, and Lenny Bruce as influences, admiring their ability to attract a more intellectual audience with a higher level of wit.[1]:43 He also liked Jay Leno for his quickness in ad-libbing comedy routines and Sid Caesar, whose acts he felt were “precious”.[46]

During an interview in London in 2002, Williams told Michael Parkinson that Peter Sellers was an important influence, especially his multi-character roles in Dr. Strangelove, stating, “It doesn’t get better than that.” British comedy actors Dudley Moore and Peter Cook were also among his influences, he told Parkinson.[183]

Williams was also influenced by Richard Pryor’s fearless ability to talk about his personal life on stage, with subjects including his use of drugs and alcohol, and Williams added those kinds of topics during his own performances.

Although Williams was first recognized as a stand-up comedian and television star, he later became known for acting in film roles of substance and serious drama.

Williams created a signature free-form persona in comedy, in a style that was so widely and uniquely identified with him, that new comedians imitated Williams personally.

Main article: List of awards and nominations received by Robin Williams

2003 – Grammy Award for Best Comedy Album, Robin Williams Live – 2002[192]

The Life and Humor of Robin Williams: A Biography.

Robin Williams: A Biography.

The Robin Williams Scrapbook.

“The Life and Death of Robin Williams”.

“Peter Travers on 9 of His Favorite Robin Williams Performances – Rolling Stone’s film critic weighs in on the late actor and comedian’s best work”.

Robin Williams at Find a Grave

Robin Williams on IMDb


Source: Robin Williams