Zum Zeitpunkt seines Abschlusses im Jahr 1969 wurde Robin Williams von seinen Klassenkameraden als „höchstwahrscheinlich nicht erfolgreich“ und „am lustigsten“ eingestuft.

Für andere Verwendungen siehe Robin Williams (Begriffsklärung).

Robin McLaurin Williams (21. Juli 1951 - 11. August 2014) war ein US-amerikanischer Schauspieler und Komiker.

Der in Chicago geborene Williams begann Mitte der 1970er Jahre in San Francisco und Los Angeles mit der Aufführung von Stand-up-Comedy und gilt als führend in der Comedy-Renaissance von San Francisco. [1] Nachdem Williams in der Sitcom Mork & Mindy als Alien Mork berühmt geworden war, begann er eine Karriere sowohl in der Stand-up-Comedy als auch im Spielfilm.

Nach seiner ersten Hauptrolle in Popeye (1980) spielte Williams in zahlreichen Filmen mit, die einen kritischen und finanziellen Erfolg erzielten, darunter The World Laut Garp (1982), Moskau am Hudson (1984), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Awakenings (1990), Aladdin (1992), The Fisher King (1991), One Hour Photo (2002) und World's Greatest Dad (2009) sowie Kassenschlager wie Hook ( 1991), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Jumanji (1995), The Birdcage (1996), Good Will Hunting (1997) und The Night at the Museum-Trilogie (2006–2014).

Williams wurde viermal für die Oscar-Verleihung nominiert und gewann einmal als bester Nebendarsteller für seine Leistung als Psychologe Sean Maguire bei Good Will Hunting.

Laut Reeve war Skinner von Williams verwirrt, der sofort mit vielen Akzenten auftreten konnte, darunter schottisch, irisch, englisch, russisch und italienisch.

In einer späteren Produktion brachte Williams seine Kritiker mit seiner gut aufgenommenen Leistung als alter Mann in Die Nacht des Leguans von Tennessee Williams zum Schweigen.

Williams spielt Stand-up-Comedy bei einer USO-Show am 20. Dezember 2007

Nachdem seine Familie nach Marin County gezogen war, begann Williams Mitte der 1970er Jahre in der San Francisco Bay Area mit der Aufführung von Stand-up-Comedy.

Er gab seinen ersten Auftritt im Holy City Zoo, einem Comedy-Club in San Francisco, wo er sich von der Bar hocharbeitete. [41] In den 1960er Jahren war San Francisco ein Zentrum für eine Rockmusik-Renaissance, Hippies, Drogen und eine sexuelle Revolution, und in den 1970er Jahren half Williams, seine „Comedy-Renaissance“ zu leiten, schreibt der Kritiker Gerald Nachman. [1]: 6 Williams sagt Er erfuhr in dieser Zeit von „Drogen und Glück“ und fügte hinzu, dass er „die besten Gehirne meiner Zeit in Schlamm verwandelt hat“. [31]

Williams zog nach Los Angeles und trat weiterhin in Clubs wie dem Comedy Club auf.

Dort wurde er 1977 vom Fernsehproduzenten George Schlatter gesehen, der ihn bat, bei einer Wiederaufnahme seiner Show Laugh-In aufzutreten. Die Show wurde Ende 1977 ausgestrahlt und war sein Debüt im Fernsehen. [31] In diesem Jahr spielte Williams auch eine Show im LA Improv für Home Box Office. [42] Während die Laugh-In-Wiederbelebung fehlschlug, führte sie Williams in eine Fernsehkarriere; Er trat weiterhin in Comedy-Clubs wie dem Roxy auf, um seine Improvisationsfähigkeiten zu verbessern. [31] [43]

Williams gewann einen Grammy Award für die Aufnahme seiner Live-Show 1979 in der Copacabana in New York, Reality…

Einige seiner späteren Tourneen, nachdem er Fernseh- und Filmstar geworden war, umfassen einen Abend mit Robin Williams, Robin Williams: At The Met und Robin Williams: Live on Broadway.

Williams sagte, dass er teilweise aufgrund des Stresses beim Aufstehen zu Beginn seiner Karriere angefangen habe, Drogen und Alkohol zu konsumieren.

Williams hat einmal das Leben von Stand-up-Comedians beschrieben:

Williams fühlte sich sicher, dass ihm nicht die Ideen ausgehen würden, da der ständige Wandel der Weltereignisse ihn versorgen würde. [46] Er erklärte auch, dass er beim Improvisieren oft die freie Assoziation von Ideen benutzte, um das Publikum interessiert zu halten. [48] Die Wettbewerbsatmosphäre verursachte Probleme; Zum Beispiel beschuldigten ihn einige Komiker, ihre Witze kopiert zu haben, was Williams nachdrücklich bestritt. [46] [49] [50] David Brenner behauptet, er habe Williams persönlich konfrontiert und ihm mit Körperverletzung gedroht, wenn er Williams einen weiteren seiner Witze aussprechen hörte. [51] [52] Whoopi Goldberg verteidigte ihn und erklärte, dass es für Comedians schwierig sei, das Material eines anderen Comedians nicht wiederzuverwenden, und dass es „die ganze Zeit“ gemacht werde. [53] Er vermied es später, zu Auftritten anderer Comedians zu gehen, um ähnliche Anschuldigungen abzuschrecken. [53]

Nach dem Laugh-In-Revival und dem Auftritt in der Besetzung der Richard Pryor Show auf NBC wurde Williams 1978 von Garry Marshall als Alien Mork in einer Folge der TV-Serie Happy Days „My Favourite Orkan“ besetzt. [31] [ 54] Als Ersatz für einen abtretenden Schauspieler in letzter Minute gesucht, beeindruckte Williams den Produzenten mit seinem ausgefallenen Sinn für Humor, als er auf dem Kopf saß, als er gebeten wurde, sich für das Vorsprechen zu setzen. [55] Als Mork improvisierte Williams einen Großteil seines Dialogs und seiner körperlichen Komödie und sprach mit hoher, nasaler Stimme.

Mork wurde populär und auf Plakaten, Malbüchern, Brotdosen und anderen Waren abgebildet. [58] Mork & Mindy war in seiner ersten Staffel so erfolgreich, dass Williams am 12. März 1979 auf dem Cover des Time Magazine erschien. [59] [60] Das Titelbild, das 1979 von Michael Dressler aufgenommen wurde, soll "seine verschiedenen Seiten [eingefangen] haben: den lustigen Mann, der vor der Kamera steht, und eine süße, nachdenklichere Pose, die auf einem kleinen Fernseher erscheint, den er in seinen Händen hält" an Mary Forgione von der Los Angeles Times. [61] Dieses Foto wurde kurz nach seinem Tod in der National Portrait Gallery der Smithsonian Institution installiert, damit die Besucher ihren Respekt erweisen können. [61] Williams erschien auch auf dem Cover der Rolling Stone-Ausgabe vom 23. August 1979, fotografiert von Richard Avedon. [62] [63]

Ab Ende der 1970er und in den 1980er Jahren erreichte Williams mit seiner Stand-up-Komödie ein breiteres Publikum, darunter drei HBO-Comedy-Specials, Off The Wall (1978), Ein Abend mit Robin Williams (1983) und Robin Williams: Live an der Met (1986).

Ebenfalls 1986 war Williams Mitveranstalter der 58. Oscar-Verleihung. [64]

Williams war auch ein regelmäßiger Gast in verschiedenen Talkshows, darunter The Tonight Show mit Johnny Carson [65] und Late Night mit David Letterman, in denen er 50 Mal auftrat.

Letterman, der Williams fast 40 Jahre lang kannte, erinnert sich, dass er zum ersten Mal als neuer Comedian im Comedy Store in Hollywood auftrat, wo Letterman und andere Comedians bereits Stand-up gemacht hatten.

Seine Stand-up-Arbeit war ein fester Bestandteil seiner Karriere, wie der Erfolg seiner Ein-Mann-Show (und der nachfolgenden DVD) Robin Williams: Live on Broadway (2002) zeigt.

Siehe auch: Robin Williams Filmografie

Die erste Filmrolle, die Robin Williams zugeschrieben wird, ist ein kleiner Teil der Low-Budget-Komödie Can I Do It von 1977…

Dort zeigte Williams die schauspielerischen Fähigkeiten, die zuvor in seiner Fernseharbeit demonstriert wurden. und die kommerzielle Enttäuschung des Films wurde nicht auf seine Rolle zurückgeführt. [73] [74] Er spielt die Hauptrolle in The World Laut Garp (1982), von dem Williams glaubte, dass ihm "ein gewisser Wahnsinn auf dem Bildschirm gefehlt hat, aber er hatte einen großen Kern". [41] Er fuhr mit anderen kleineren Rollen in weniger erfolgreichen Filmen fort, wie The Survivors (1983) und Club Paradise (1986), obwohl er sagte, dass diese Rollen nicht dazu beitrugen, seine Filmkarriere voranzutreiben. [41]

Seine erste große Pause kam von seiner Hauptrolle in Good Morning, Vietnam (1987) von Regisseur Barry Levinson, die Williams eine Nominierung für den Oscar als bester Schauspieler einbrachte. [54] Der Film spielt 1965 während des Vietnamkrieges, wobei Williams die Rolle von Adrian Cronauer spielt, einem Radioschock-Jock, der die Truppen mit Komödie und Sarkasmus unterhält.

Über das Mikrofon schuf er Sprachimpressionen von Menschen, darunter Walter Cronkite, Gomer Pyle, Elvis Presley, Mr. Ed und Richard Nixon. [41] "Wir haben einfach die Kameras rollen lassen", sagte Produzent Mark Johnson, und Williams "hat es geschafft, für jede einzelne Einstellung etwas Neues zu schaffen." [75]

Viele seiner späteren Rollen waren in Pathos mit Pathos. [76] Seine Rollen in Comedy- und Dramatikfilmen brachten Williams einen Oscar als bester Nebendarsteller (für seine Rolle als Psychologe bei Good Will Hunting (1997)) [54] sowie zwei frühere Oscar-Nominierungen (für das Spielen eines Englischlehrers in) ein Dead Poets Society (1989) und für das Spielen eines unruhigen Obdachlosen in The Fisher King (1991). [54] 1991 spielte er einen erwachsenen Peter Pan in dem Film Hook, obwohl er gesagt hatte, dass er fünfundzwanzig Pfund verlieren müsste. [77]

Andere Rollen, die Williams in gefeierten dramatischen Filmen hatte, sind Moskau am Hudson (1984), Awakenings (1990), What Dreams May Come (1998) und Bicentennial Man (1999). [78] In Insomnia porträtierte Williams einen Schriftsteller / Mörder auf der Flucht vor einem schlafentzugenen Polizisten aus Los Angeles (gespielt von Al Pacino) im ländlichen Alaska. [79] Ebenfalls im Jahr 2002 spielte Williams in dem Psychothriller One Hour Photo einen emotional gestörten Fotoentwicklungstechniker, der von einer Familie besessen ist, für die er seit langer Zeit Bilder entwickelt hat. [80] Der letzte Williams-Film, der zu seinen Lebzeiten veröffentlicht wurde, war The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, ein Film, der sich mit dem Wert des Lebens befasst.

Mike Medavoy, Produzent von Hook, sagte seinem Regisseur Steven Spielberg, dass er Hoffman und Williams absichtlich für den Film zusammengetan habe, weil er wusste, dass sie zusammenarbeiten wollten, und dass Williams die Gelegenheit begrüßte, mit Spielberg zusammenzuarbeiten. [82] Williams profitierte von der Zusammenarbeit mit Woody Allen, der ihn und Billy Crystal bei Deconstructing Harry (1997) inszenierte, da Allen wusste, dass Crystal und Williams oft zusammen auf der Bühne aufgetreten waren. [83]

Seine Leistung in der Rolle eines Therapeuten bei Good Will Hunting (1997) hat einige echte Therapeuten tief getroffen und Williams einen Oscar verliehen. [84] In Awakenings (1990) spielte Williams einen Arzt nach dem Vorbild von Oliver Sacks, der das Buch schrieb, auf dem der Film basierte.

Sacks sagte später, die Art und Weise, wie der Verstand des Schauspielers funktionierte, sei eine „Form des Genies“. 1989 spielte Williams einen Privatschullehrer in der Dead Poets Society, die eine letzte emotionale Szene beinhaltete, von der einige Kritiker sagten, sie habe „eine Generation inspiriert“ und wurde Teil der Popkultur. [85] Ein Autor, der den größten Teil seiner Filmografie betrachtete, war „beeindruckt von der Breite“ und der radikalen Vielfalt der meisten Rollen, die Williams darstellte. [86]

Williams sprach Charaktere in mehreren Animationsfilmen aus.

Buckley, Peter Lorre, Arnold Schwarzenegger und Arsenio Hall. Seine Rolle in Aladdin wurde zu einer seiner bekanntesten und beliebtesten, und der Film war der erfolgreichste des Jahres 89; Es gewann zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter einen Golden Globe für Williams.

Williams lieferte weiterhin Stimmen in anderen Animationsfilmen, darunter FernGully: Der letzte Regenwald (1992), Robots (2005), Happy Feet (2006) und eine nicht im Abspann veröffentlichte Gesangsdarbietung in Everyone's Hero (2006).

Williams tritt bei der USO World Gala 2008 in Washington, DC am 1. Oktober 2008 auf

Williams mit Marsha Garces bei den 61. Academy Awards 1989

Williams war ein Enthusiast sowohl von Pen-and-Paper-Rollenspielen als auch von Videospielen. [116] [117] [118] Seine Tochter Zelda wurde nach der Titelfigur aus The Legend of Zelda, einer beliebten Videospielserie der Familie, benannt und trat manchmal auf Unterhaltungsmessen für Verbraucher auf. [119] [120] [121]

In dem Bericht wurde auch festgestellt, dass Williams "in letzter Zeit eine Zunahme der Paranoia" erlitten hatte. [155] Eine Untersuchung seines Gehirngewebes ergab, dass Williams an einer „diffusen Lewy-Körper-Demenz“ litt. [149] Seine Frau Susan Schneider beschrieb die Krankheit als "den Terroristen im Gehirn meines Mannes" und sagte: "Wie auch immer Sie es betrachten - die Anwesenheit von Lewy-Körpern hat ihm das Leben gekostet", unter Bezugnahme auf seine frühere Diagnose von Parkinson. [9]

Zu Ehren seiner Theaterarbeit wurden die Lichter des Broadway für den Abend des 14. August 2014 abgedunkelt. [162] In dieser Nacht ehrte die Besetzung des Aladdin-Musicals Williams, indem sie das Publikum zu einem Mitsingen von „Friend Like Me“ einlud, einem Oscar-nominierten Lied, das ursprünglich von Williams im Film Aladdin von 1992 gesungen wurde. [163] Fans von Williams schufen provisorische Denkmäler an seinem Star auf dem Hollywood Walk of Fame [164] und an Orten seiner Fernseh- und Filmkarriere, wie der Bank in Bostons öffentlichem Garten in Good Will Hunting [165] in den Pacific Heights, San Francisco, Haus in Mrs. Doubtfire, [166] das Schild für Parrish Shoes in Keene, New Hampshire, wo Teile von Jumanji gedreht wurden, [167] und Boulder, Colorado, Haus für Mork & Mindy. [168] Die Arbeit an einer Buchbiographie wurde 2014 vom New York Times-Schriftsteller David Itzkoff begonnen [169] und 2018 mit dem Titel einfach Robin veröffentlicht. [170] Darüber hinaus wurde ein Tunnel am Highway 101 nördlich der Golden Gate Bridge am 29. Februar 2016 offiziell als „Robin Williams Tunnel“ bezeichnet. [171]

Während der 66. Primetime Emmy Awards am 25. August 2014 präsentierte Billy Crystal im Fernsehen eine Hommage an Williams und bezeichnete ihn als „den hellsten Stern in unserer Comedy-Galaxie“. [172] [173] Am 9. September 2014 strahlte PBS ein einstündiges Special aus, das seiner Karriere gewidmet war. [174] Am 27. September 2014 hielten Dutzende führender Stars und Prominenter in San Francisco eine Hommage, um sein Leben und seine Karriere zu feiern. [175]

Unter der Regie von Marina Zenovich wurde der Film Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind auch auf dem Sundance Film Festival gezeigt. [180] Im selben Jahr wurde ein Wandbild von Robin Williams in der Market Street in San Francisco erstellt. [181]

Williams schrieb Comedians wie Jonathan Winters, Peter Sellers, Nichols und May sowie Lenny Bruce als Einflüsse zu und bewunderte ihre Fähigkeit, ein intellektuelleres Publikum mit einem höheren Maß an Witz anzulocken. [1]: 43 Er mochte auch Jay Leno wegen seiner Schnelligkeit Ad-Libbing-Comedy-Routinen und Sid Caesar, dessen Taten er für „kostbar“ hielt. [46]

Während eines Interviews in London im Jahr 2002 sagte Williams zu Michael Parkinson, dass Peter Sellers ein wichtiger Einflussfaktor sei, insbesondere seine Rolle mit mehreren Charakteren in Dr. Strangelove, und erklärte: "Besser geht es nicht." Die britischen Comedy-Schauspieler Dudley Moore und Peter Cook gehörten ebenfalls zu seinen Einflüssen, sagte er Parkinson. [183]

Williams wurde auch von Richard Pryors furchtloser Fähigkeit beeinflusst, über sein persönliches Leben auf der Bühne zu sprechen, unter anderem über den Konsum von Drogen und Alkohol, und Williams fügte diese Art von Themen während seiner eigenen Auftritte hinzu.

Obwohl Williams zuerst als Stand-up-Comedian und Fernsehstar anerkannt wurde, wurde er später dafür bekannt, in Filmrollen mit Substanz und ernstem Drama zu spielen.

Williams schuf eine charakteristische Freiform-Person in der Komödie in einem Stil, der so weit verbreitet und eindeutig mit ihm identifiziert war, dass neue Komiker Williams persönlich imitierten.

Hauptartikel: Liste der Auszeichnungen und Nominierungen, die Robin Williams erhalten hat

2003 - Grammy Award für das beste Comedy-Album, Robin Williams Live - 2002 [192]

Das Leben und der Humor von Robin Williams: Eine Biographie.

Robin Williams: Eine Biographie.

Das Robin Williams Sammelalbum.

"Das Leben und der Tod von Robin Williams".

"Peter Travers über 9 seiner Lieblingsaufführungen von Robin Williams - Rolling Stones Filmkritiker belastet die beste Arbeit des verstorbenen Schauspielers und Komikers".

Robin Williams bei Find a Grave

Robin Williams auf IMDb


Quelle: Robin Williams

At the time of his graduation in 1969, Robin Williams was voted “Most Likely Not to Succeed” and “Funniest” by his classmates.

For other uses, see Robin Williams (disambiguation).

Robin McLaurin Williams (July 21, 1951 – August 11, 2014) was an American actor and comedian.

Born in Chicago, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in San Francisco and Los Angeles in the mid-1970s, and is credited with leading San Francisco’s comedy renaissance.[1] After rising to fame playing the alien Mork in the sitcom Mork & Mindy, Williams established a career in both stand-up comedy and feature film acting.

After his first starring film role in Popeye (1980), Williams starred in numerous films that achieved critical and financial success, including The World According to Garp (1982), Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Awakenings (1990), Aladdin (1992), The Fisher King (1991), One Hour Photo (2002), and World’s Greatest Dad (2009), as well as box office hits, such as Hook (1991), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Jumanji (1995), The Birdcage (1996), Good Will Hunting (1997), and the Night at the Museum trilogy (2006–2014).

Williams was nominated four times for the Academy Awards, winning once for Best Supporting Actor for his performance as psychologist Sean Maguire in Good Will Hunting.

According to Reeve, Skinner was bewildered by Williams, who could instantly perform in many accents, including Scottish, Irish, English, Russian, and Italian.

In a later production, Williams silenced his critics with his well-received performance as an old man in The Night of the Iguana by Tennessee Williams.

Williams performing stand-up comedy at a USO show on December 20, 2007

After his family moved to Marin County, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in the San Francisco Bay Area in the mid-1970s.

He gave his first performance at the Holy City Zoo, a comedy club in San Francisco, where he worked his way up from tending bar.[41] In the 1960s, San Francisco was a center for a rock music renaissance, hippies, drugs, and a sexual revolution, and in the 1970s, Williams helped lead its “comedy renaissance”, writes critic Gerald Nachman.[1]:6 Williams says he found out about “drugs and happiness” during that period, adding that he saw “the best brains of my time turned to mud”.[31]

Williams moved to Los Angeles and continued performing stand-up at clubs including the Comedy Club.

There, in 1977, he was seen by TV producer George Schlatter, who asked him to appear on a revival of his show Laugh-In. The show aired in late 1977 and was his debut TV appearance.[31] That year, Williams also performed a show at the LA Improv for Home Box Office.[42] While the Laugh-In revival failed, it led Williams into a television career; he continued performing stand-up at comedy clubs such as the Roxy to help keep his improvisational skills sharp.[31][43]

Williams won a Grammy Award for the recording of his 1979 live show at the Copacabana in New York, Reality …

Some of his later tours, after he became a TV and film star, include An Evening With Robin Williams, Robin Williams: At The Met and Robin Williams: Live on Broadway.

Williams said that partly due to the stress of performing stand-up, he started using drugs and alcohol early in his career.

Williams once described the life of stand-up comedians:

Williams felt secure he would not run out of ideas, as the constant change in world events would keep him supplied.[46] He also explained that he often used free association of ideas while improvising in order to keep the audience interested.[48] The competitive atmosphere caused problems; for example, some comedians accused him of copying their jokes, which Williams strongly denied.[46][49][50] David Brenner claims that he confronted Williams personally and threatened him with bodily harm if he heard Williams utter another one of his jokes.[51][52] Whoopi Goldberg defended him, explaining that it is difficult for comedians not to reuse another comedian’s material, and that it is done “all the time”.[53] He later avoided going to performances of other comedians to deter similar accusations.[53]

After the Laugh-In revival and appearing in the cast of The Richard Pryor Show on NBC, Williams was cast by Garry Marshall as the alien Mork in a 1978 episode of the TV series Happy Days, “My Favorite Orkan”.[31][54] Sought after as a last minute cast replacement for a departing actor, Williams impressed the producer with his quirky sense of humor when he sat on his head when asked to take a seat for the audition.[55] As Mork, Williams improvised much of his dialogue and physical comedy, speaking in a high, nasal voice.

Mork became popular, featured on posters, coloring books, lunch-boxes, and other merchandise.[58] Mork & Mindy was such a success in its first season that Williams appeared on the March 12, 1979, cover of Time magazine.[59][60] The cover photo, taken by Michael Dressler in 1979, is said to have “[captured] his different sides: the funnyman mugging for the camera, and a sweet, more thoughtful pose that appears on a small TV he holds in his hands” according to Mary Forgione of the Los Angeles Times.[61] This photo was installed in the National Portrait Gallery in the Smithsonian Institution shortly after his death to allow visitors to pay their respects.[61] Williams also appeared on the cover of the August 23, 1979, issue of Rolling Stone, photographed by Richard Avedon.[62][63]

Starting in the late 1970s and throughout the 1980s, Williams began to reach a wider audience with his stand-up comedy, including three HBO comedy specials, Off The Wall (1978), An Evening with Robin Williams (1983) and Robin Williams: Live at the Met (1986).

Also in 1986, Williams co-hosted the 58th Academy Awards.[64]

Williams was also a regular guest on various talk shows, including The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson[65] and Late Night with David Letterman, on which he appeared 50 times.

Letterman, who knew Williams for nearly 40 years, recalls seeing him first perform as a new comedian at The Comedy Store in Hollywood, where Letterman and other comedians had already been doing stand-up.

His stand-up work was a consistent thread through his career, as seen by the success of his one-man show (and subsequent DVD) Robin Williams: Live on Broadway (2002).

See also: Robin Williams filmography

The first film role credited to Robin Williams is a small part in the 1977 low-budget comedy Can I Do It …

There, Williams showcased the acting skills previously demonstrated in his television work; and the film’s commercial disappointment was not blamed upon his role.[73][74] He stars as the leading character in The World According to Garp (1982), which Williams considered “may have lacked a certain madness onscreen, but it had a great core”.[41] He continued with other smaller roles in less successful films, such as The Survivors (1983) and Club Paradise (1986), though he said these roles did not help advance his film career.[41]

His first major break came from his starring role in director Barry Levinson’s Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), which earned Williams a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Actor.[54] The film is set in 1965 during the Vietnam War, with Williams playing the role of Adrian Cronauer, a radio shock jock who keeps the troops entertained with comedy and sarcasm.

Over the microphone, he created voice impressions of people, including Walter Cronkite, Gomer Pyle, Elvis Presley, Mr. Ed, and Richard Nixon.[41] “We just let the cameras roll,” said producer Mark Johnson, and Williams “managed to create something new for every single take.”[75]

Many of his later roles were in comedies tinged with pathos.[76] His roles in comedy and dramatic films garnered Williams an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor (for his role as a psychologist in Good Will Hunting (1997)),[54] as well as two previous Academy Award nominations (for playing an English teacher in Dead Poets Society (1989), and for playing a troubled homeless man in The Fisher King (1991)).[54] In 1991, he played an adult Peter Pan in the film Hook, although he had said that he would have to lose twenty-five pounds.[77]

Other roles Williams had in acclaimed dramatic films include Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Awakenings (1990), What Dreams May Come (1998), and Bicentennial Man (1999).[78] In Insomnia, Williams portrayed a writer / killer on the run from a sleep-deprived Los Angeles policeman (played by Al Pacino) in rural Alaska.[79] Also in 2002, in the psychological thriller One Hour Photo, Williams played an emotionally disturbed photo development technician who becomes obsessed with a family for whom he has developed pictures for a long time.[80] The last Williams movie released during his lifetime was The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, a film addressing the value of life.

Mike Medavoy, producer of Hook, told its director, Steven Spielberg, that he intentionally teamed up Hoffman and Williams for the film because he knew they wanted to work together, and that Williams welcomed the opportunity of working with Spielberg.[82] Williams benefited from working with Woody Allen, who directed him and Billy Crystal in Deconstructing Harry (1997), as Allen had knowledge of the fact that Crystal and Williams had often performed together on stage.[83]

His performance in the role of a therapist in Good Will Hunting (1997) deeply affected some real therapists and won Williams an Academy Award.[84] In Awakenings (1990), Williams played a doctor modeled on Oliver Sacks, who wrote the book on which the film was based.

Sacks later said the way the actor’s mind worked was a “form of genius.” In 1989 Williams played a private school teacher in Dead Poets Society, which included a final, emotional scene which some critics said “inspired a generation” and became a part of pop culture.[85] Looking over most of his filmography, one writer was “struck by the breadth” and radical diversity of most roles Williams portrayed.[86]

Williams voiced characters in several animated films.

Buckley, Peter Lorre, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and Arsenio Hall.[89] His role in Aladdin became one of his most recognized and best-loved, and the film was the highest-grossing of 1992; it won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe for Williams.

Williams continued to provide voices in other animated films, including FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992), Robots (2005), Happy Feet (2006), and an uncredited vocal performance in Everyone’s Hero (2006).

Williams performing at the 2008 USO World Gala in Washington, D.C. on October 1, 2008

Williams with Marsha Garces at the 61st Academy Awards in 1989

Williams was an enthusiast of both pen-and-paper role-playing games and video games.[116][117][118] His daughter Zelda was named after the title character from The Legend of Zelda, a family favorite video game series, and he sometimes performed at consumer entertainment trade shows.[119][120][121]

The report also noted that Williams had been suffering “a recent increase in paranoia”.[155] An examination of his brain tissue suggested Williams suffered from “diffuse Lewy body dementia”.[149] Describing the disease as “the terrorist inside my husband’s brain”, his wife Susan Schneider said, “however you look at it—the presence of Lewy bodies took his life,” referring to his previous diagnosis of Parkinson’s.[9]

In honor of his theater work, the lights of Broadway were darkened for the evening of August 14, 2014.[162] That night, the cast of the Aladdin musical honored Williams by having the audience join them in a sing-along of “Friend Like Me”, an Oscar-nominated song originally sung by Williams in the 1992 film Aladdin.[163] Fans of Williams created makeshift memorials at his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame[164] and at locations from his television and film career, such as the bench in Boston’s Public Garden featured in Good Will Hunting;[165] the Pacific Heights, San Francisco, home used in Mrs. Doubtfire;[166] the sign for Parrish Shoes in Keene, New Hampshire, where parts of Jumanji were filmed;[167] and the Boulder, Colorado, home used for Mork & Mindy.[168] Work on a book biography was begun by New York Times writer David Itzkoff in 2014,[169] and was published in 2018, entitled simply Robin.[170] In addition, a tunnel on Highway 101 north of the Golden Gate Bridge was officially named the “Robin Williams Tunnel” on February 29, 2016.[171]

On television, during the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards on August 25, 2014, Billy Crystal presented a tribute to Williams, referring to him as “the brightest star in our comedy galaxy”.[172][173] On September 9, 2014, PBS aired a one-hour special devoted to his career,[174] and on September 27, 2014, dozens of leading stars and celebrities held a tribute in San Francisco to celebrate his life and career.[175]

Directed by Marina Zenovich, the film, Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind, was also screened at the Sundance Film Festival.[180] That same year, a mural of Robin Williams was created on Market Street, in San Francisco.[181]

Williams credited comedians including Jonathan Winters, Peter Sellers, Nichols and May, and Lenny Bruce as influences, admiring their ability to attract a more intellectual audience with a higher level of wit.[1]:43 He also liked Jay Leno for his quickness in ad-libbing comedy routines and Sid Caesar, whose acts he felt were “precious”.[46]

During an interview in London in 2002, Williams told Michael Parkinson that Peter Sellers was an important influence, especially his multi-character roles in Dr. Strangelove, stating, “It doesn’t get better than that.” British comedy actors Dudley Moore and Peter Cook were also among his influences, he told Parkinson.[183]

Williams was also influenced by Richard Pryor’s fearless ability to talk about his personal life on stage, with subjects including his use of drugs and alcohol, and Williams added those kinds of topics during his own performances.

Although Williams was first recognized as a stand-up comedian and television star, he later became known for acting in film roles of substance and serious drama.

Williams created a signature free-form persona in comedy, in a style that was so widely and uniquely identified with him, that new comedians imitated Williams personally.

Main article: List of awards and nominations received by Robin Williams

2003 – Grammy Award for Best Comedy Album, Robin Williams Live – 2002[192]

The Life and Humor of Robin Williams: A Biography.

Robin Williams: A Biography.

The Robin Williams Scrapbook.

“The Life and Death of Robin Williams”.

“Peter Travers on 9 of His Favorite Robin Williams Performances – Rolling Stone’s film critic weighs in on the late actor and comedian’s best work”.

Robin Williams at Find a Grave

Robin Williams on IMDb


Source: Robin Williams