Au moment de son diplôme en 1969, Robin Williams a été élu «le plus susceptible de ne pas réussir» et «le plus drôle» par ses camarades de classe.

Pour d'autres utilisations, voir Robin Williams (homonymie).

Robin McLaurin Williams (21 juillet 1951 - 11 août 2014) était un acteur et comédien américain.

Né à Chicago, Williams a commencé à jouer la comédie debout à San Francisco et à Los Angeles au milieu des années 1970 et est crédité de la renaissance de la comédie de San Francisco. [1] Après être devenu célèbre en jouant l'extraterrestre Mork dans la sitcom Mork & Mindy, Williams a établi une carrière à la fois dans la comédie stand-up et dans le théâtre.

Après son premier rôle au cinéma dans Popeye (1980), Williams a joué dans de nombreux films qui ont remporté un succès critique et financier, dont Le monde selon Garp (1982), Moscou sur l'Hudson (1984), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Awakenings (1990), Aladdin (1992), The Fisher King (1991), One Hour Photo (2002) et World's Greatest Dad (2009), ainsi que des succès au box-office, tels que Hook ( 1991), Mme Doubtfire (1993), Jumanji (1995), La cage à oiseaux (1996), Good Will Hunting (1997) et la trilogie La nuit au musée (2006-2014).

Williams a été nominé quatre fois pour les Oscars, remportant une fois pour le meilleur second rôle masculin pour sa performance en tant que psychologue Sean Maguire dans Good Will Hunting.

Selon Reeve, Skinner était déconcerté par Williams, qui pouvait instantanément jouer dans de nombreux accents, notamment écossais, irlandais, anglais, russe et italien.

Dans une production ultérieure, Williams a fait taire ses critiques avec sa performance bien accueillie en tant que vieil homme dans La nuit de l'iguane de Tennessee Williams.

Williams effectuant une comédie debout lors d'une émission de l'USO le 20 décembre 2007

Après que sa famille ait déménagé dans le comté de Marin, Williams a commencé à jouer du stand-up dans la région de la baie de San Francisco au milieu des années 1970.

Il a donné sa première représentation au zoo de la ville sacrée, un club de comédie à San Francisco, où il a travaillé son chemin vers le haut de barre de service. [41] Dans les années 1960, San Francisco était un centre pour une renaissance de la musique rock, des hippies, des drogues et une révolution sexuelle, et dans les années 1970, Williams a aidé à diriger sa «renaissance de la comédie», écrit le critique Gerald Nachman. [1]: 6 Williams dit il a découvert «la drogue et le bonheur» pendant cette période, ajoutant qu'il avait vu «les meilleurs cerveaux de mon temps se transformer en boue». [31]

Williams a déménagé à Los Angeles et a continué à se produire dans des clubs comme le Comedy Club.

Là, en 1977, il a été vu par le producteur de télévision George Schlatter, qui lui a demandé d'apparaître dans une reprise de son émission Laugh-In. L'émission a été diffusée à la fin de 1977 et était sa première apparition à la télévision. [31] Cette année-là, Williams a également présenté un spectacle au LA Improv pour le Home Box Office. [42] Alors que le renouveau de Laugh-In a échoué, il a conduit Williams dans une carrière télévisuelle; il a continué à exécuter le stand-up aux clubs de comédie tels que le Roxy pour aider à garder ses qualifications d'improvisation pointues. [31] [43]

Williams a remporté un Grammy Award pour l'enregistrement de son émission live de 1979 au Copacabana de New York, Reality…

Certaines de ses dernières tournées, après qu'il soit devenu une star de la télévision et du cinéma, incluent An Evening With Robin Williams, Robin Williams: At The Met et Robin Williams: Live on Broadway.

Williams a déclaré qu'en partie à cause du stress lié au stand-up, il a commencé à consommer de la drogue et de l'alcool au début de sa carrière.

Williams a décrit une fois la vie des comédiens debout:

Williams se sentait sûr de ne pas manquer d'idées, car le changement constant des événements mondiaux le garderait approvisionné. [46] Il a également expliqué qu'il utilisait souvent l'association libre d'idées tout en improvisant afin de garder le public intéressé. [48] L'atmosphère concurrentielle a causé des problèmes; par exemple, certains comédiens l'ont accusé de copier leurs blagues, ce que Williams a fermement nié. [46] [49] [50] David Brenner prétend qu'il a confronté Williams personnellement et l'a menacé de lésions corporelles s'il entendait Williams prononcer une autre de ses blagues. [51] [52] Whoopi Goldberg l'a défendu, expliquant qu'il est difficile pour les comédiens de ne pas réutiliser le matériel d'un autre comédien, et que cela se fait «tout le temps». [53] Plus tard, il a évité d'aller aux spectacles d'autres comédiens pour dissuader des accusations similaires. [53]

Après la renaissance de Laugh-In et apparaissant dans le casting de The Richard Pryor Show sur NBC, Williams a été jeté par Garry Marshall comme l'extraterrestre Mork dans un épisode de 1978 de la série télévisée Happy Days, «My Favorite Orkan». [31] [ 54] Recherché comme remplaçant de dernière minute pour un acteur partant, Williams a impressionné le producteur avec son sens de l'humour décalé lorsqu'il s'est assis sur sa tête lorsqu'on lui a demandé de prendre place pour l'audition. [55] En tant que Mork, Williams a improvisé une grande partie de son dialogue et de sa comédie physique, parlant d'une voix haute et nasillarde.

Mork est devenu populaire, présenté sur des affiches, des livres de coloriage, des boîtes à lunch et d'autres marchandises. Mork & Mindy était un tel succès dans sa première saison que Williams est apparu le 58 mars 12, couverture du magazine Time. [1979] [59] La photo de couverture, prise par Michael Dressler en 60, aurait «[capturé] ses différentes facettes: le drôle d'agression pour la caméra, et une pose douce et plus réfléchie qui apparaît sur un petit téléviseur qu'il tient dans ses mains» selon à Mary Forgione du Los Angeles Times. [1979] Cette photo a été installée à la National Portrait Gallery de la Smithsonian Institution peu de temps après sa mort pour permettre aux visiteurs de lui rendre hommage. [61] Williams est également apparu sur la couverture du 61 août 23, numéro de Rolling Stone, photographié par Richard Avedon. [1979] [62]

À partir de la fin des années 1970 et tout au long des années 1980, Williams a commencé à toucher un public plus large avec sa comédie stand-up, y compris trois émissions spéciales de HBO, Off The Wall (1978), An Evening with Robin Williams (1983) et Robin Williams: Live au Met (1986).

Aussi en 1986, Williams a co-organisé les 58èmes Oscars. [64]

Williams était également un invité régulier sur divers talk-shows, y compris The Tonight Show avec Johnny Carson [65] et Late Night avec David Letterman, sur lesquels il est apparu 50 fois.

Letterman, qui connaissait Williams depuis près de 40 ans, se souvient de l'avoir vu pour la première fois jouer en tant que nouveau comédien au Comedy Store à Hollywood, où Letterman et d'autres comédiens avaient déjà fait du stand-up.

Son travail de stand-up a été un fil conducteur tout au long de sa carrière, comme en témoigne le succès de son one-man show (et du DVD suivant) Robin Williams: Live on Broadway (2002).

Voir aussi: filmographie de Robin Williams

Le premier rôle de film attribué à Robin Williams est une petite partie de la comédie à petit budget de 1977 Can I Do It ...

Là, Williams a présenté les compétences d'acteur démontrées précédemment dans son travail télévisuel; et la déception commerciale du film n'a pas été imputée à son rôle. [73] [74] Il joue le rôle du personnage principal dans Le monde selon Garp (1982), que Williams considérait «qu'il manquait peut-être une certaine folie à l'écran, mais il avait un grand noyau». [41] Il a continué avec d'autres rôles plus petits dans des films moins réussis, tels que The Survivors (1983) et Club Paradise (1986), bien qu'il ait dit que ces rôles n'avaient pas aidé à faire avancer sa carrière cinématographique. [41]

Sa première rupture majeure est venue de son rôle principal dans Good Morning, Vietnam (1987) de Barry Levinson, qui a valu à Williams une nomination pour l'Oscar du meilleur acteur. [54] Le film se déroule en 1965 pendant la guerre du Vietnam, avec Williams jouant le rôle d'Adrian Cronauer, un jock de choc radio qui divertit les troupes avec comédie et sarcasme.

Au micro, il a créé des impressions vocales de personnes, y compris Walter Cronkite, Gomer Pyle, Elvis Presley, M. Ed et Richard Nixon. [41] «Nous avons juste laissé les caméras tourner», a déclaré le producteur Mark Johnson, et Williams «a réussi à créer quelque chose de nouveau pour chaque prise.» [75]

Beaucoup de ses rôles ultérieurs étaient dans des comédies teintées de pathétique. [76] Ses rôles dans la comédie et les films dramatiques ont valu à Williams un Oscar du meilleur acteur de soutien (pour son rôle de psychologue dans Good Will Hunting (1997)), [54] ainsi que deux nominations aux Oscars (pour avoir joué un professeur d'anglais Dead Poets Society (1989) et pour avoir joué un sans-abri troublé dans The Fisher King (1991)). [54] En 1991, il a joué un adulte Peter Pan dans le film Hook, bien qu'il ait dit qu'il devrait perdre vingt-cinq livres. [77]

Les autres rôles que Williams avait dans les films dramatiques acclamés incluent Moscou sur l'Hudson (1984), Awakenings (1990), What Dreams May Come (1998) et Bicentennial Man (1999). [78] Dans Insomnia, Williams a dépeint un écrivain / tueur en fuite d'un policier de Los Angeles privé de sommeil (joué par Al Pacino) dans l'Alaska rural. [79] Toujours en 2002, dans le thriller psychologique One Hour Photo, Williams a joué un technicien de développement photo perturbé émotionnellement qui devient obsédé par une famille pour laquelle il a développé des images pendant longtemps. [80] Le dernier film de Williams sorti de son vivant était The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, un film traitant de la valeur de la vie.

Mike Medavoy, producteur de Hook, a dit à son directeur, Steven Spielberg, qu'il avait intentionnellement fait équipe avec Hoffman et Williams pour le film parce qu'il savait qu'ils voulaient travailler ensemble, et que Williams avait bien accueilli l'opportunité de travailler avec Spielberg. [82] Williams a bénéficié de travailler avec Woody Allen, qui l'a dirigé lui et Billy Crystal dans Deconstructing Harry (1997), car Allen avait connaissance du fait que Crystal et Williams s'étaient souvent produits ensemble sur scène. [83]

Sa performance dans le rôle d'un thérapeute dans Good Will Hunting (1997) a profondément affecté certains vrais thérapeutes et a remporté à Williams un Oscar. [84] Dans Awakenings (1990), Williams a joué un médecin sur le modèle d'Oliver Sacks, qui a écrit le livre sur lequel le film était basé.

Sacks a déclaré plus tard que la façon dont l'esprit de l'acteur fonctionnait était une «forme de génie». En 1989, Williams a joué un professeur d'école privée dans Dead Poets Society, qui comprenait une scène finale et émotionnelle qui, selon certains critiques, «a inspiré une génération» et est devenue une partie de la culture pop. [85] En examinant la plupart de sa filmographie, un écrivain a été «frappé par l'ampleur» et la diversité radicale de la plupart des rôles que Williams a dépeints. [86]

Williams a exprimé des personnages dans plusieurs films d'animation.

Buckley, Peter Lorre, Arnold Schwarzenegger et Arsenio Hall. [89] Son rôle dans Aladdin est devenu l'un de ses plus reconnus et les plus aimés, et le film a été le plus rentable de 1992; il a remporté de nombreux prix, dont un Golden Globe pour Williams.

Williams a continué à fournir des voix dans d'autres films d'animation, notamment FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992), Robots (2005), Happy Feet (2006), et une performance vocale non crédité dans Everyone's Hero (2006).

Williams se produisant au Gala mondial de l'USO 2008 à Washington, DC le 1 octobre 2008

Williams avec Marsha Garces à la 61e cérémonie des Oscars en 1989

Williams était un passionné à la fois des jeux de rôle et des jeux vidéo. [116] [117] [118] Sa fille Zelda a été nommée d'après le personnage principal de The Legend of Zelda, une série de jeux vidéo préférée de la famille, et il a parfois joué dans des foires commerciales de divertissement grand public. [119] [120] [121]

Le rapport notait également que Williams souffrait «d'une récente augmentation de la paranoïa». [155] Un examen de son tissu cérébral a suggéré que Williams souffrait de «démence diffuse à corps de Lewy». [149] Décrivant la maladie comme «le terroriste dans le cerveau de mon mari», sa femme Susan Schneider a déclaré: «quelle que soit la façon dont vous la regardez, la présence de corps de Lewy lui a coûté la vie», se référant à son diagnostic précédent de la maladie de Parkinson. [9]

En l'honneur de son travail théâtral, les lumières de Broadway ont été assombries pour la soirée du 14 août 2014. [162] Cette nuit-là, le casting de la comédie musicale Aladdin a honoré Williams en invitant le public à se joindre à eux dans une chanson de "Friend Like Me", une chanson nominée aux Oscars chantée à l'origine par Williams dans le film Aladdin de 1992. [163] Les fans de Williams ont créé des mémoriaux de fortune à son étoile sur le Hollywood Walk of Fame [164] et à des endroits de sa carrière télévisuelle et cinématographique, comme le banc dans le jardin public de Boston présenté dans Good Will Hunting; [165] the Pacific Heights, San Francisco, maison utilisée par Mme Doubtfire; [166] l'enseigne pour Parrish Shoes à Keene, New Hampshire, où des parties de Jumanji ont été filmées; [167] et Boulder, Colorado, maison utilisée pour Mork & Mindy. [168] Le travail sur une biographie de livre a été commencé par l'écrivain du New York Times David Itzkoff en 2014, [169] et a été publié en 2018, intitulé simplement Robin. [170] De plus, un tunnel sur la route 101 au nord du Golden Gate Bridge a été officiellement nommé «Tunnel Robin Williams» le 29 février 2016. [171]

À la télévision, lors de la 66e Primetime Emmy Awards le 25 août 2014, Billy Crystal a présenté un hommage à Williams, se référant à lui comme «l'étoile la plus brillante de notre galaxie comique». [172] [173] Le 9 septembre 2014, PBS a diffusé une émission spéciale d'une heure consacrée à sa carrière, [174] et le 27 septembre 2014, des dizaines de grandes stars et célébrités ont rendu hommage à San Francisco pour célébrer sa vie et sa carrière. [175]

Réalisé par Marina Zenovich, le film Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind, a également été projeté au Festival du film de Sundance. [180] Cette même année, une peinture murale de Robin Williams a été créée sur Market Street, à San Francisco. [181]

Williams a crédité des comédiens tels que Jonathan Winters, Peter Sellers, Nichols et May et Lenny Bruce comme influences, admirant leur capacité à attirer un public plus intellectuel avec un plus haut niveau d'esprit. [1]: 43 Il aimait aussi Jay Leno pour sa rapidité à des routines de comédie ad-libbing et Sid Caesar, dont les actes, selon lui, étaient «précieux».

Lors d'une interview à Londres en 2002, Williams a déclaré à Michael Parkinson que Peter Sellers avait une influence importante, en particulier ses rôles à plusieurs personnages dans Dr. Strangelove, déclarant: «Ça ne va pas mieux que ça.» Les comédiens britanniques Dudley Moore et Peter Cook faisaient également partie de ses influences, a-t-il déclaré à Parkinson. [183]

Williams a également été influencé par la capacité intrépide de Richard Pryor à parler de sa vie personnelle sur scène, avec des sujets tels que sa consommation de drogue et d'alcool, et Williams a ajouté ce genre de sujets lors de ses propres performances.

Bien que Williams ait d'abord été reconnu comme un comédien de stand-up et une star de la télévision, il est devenu plus tard connu pour avoir joué dans des rôles de film de substance et de drame sérieux.

Williams a créé un personnage de forme libre dans la comédie, dans un style qui lui était si largement et uniquement identifié, que de nouveaux comédiens ont imité Williams personnellement.

Article principal: Liste des prix et nominations reçus par Robin Williams

2003 - Prix Grammy du meilleur album de comédie, Robin Williams Live - 2002 [192]

La vie et l'humour de Robin Williams: une biographie.

Robin Williams: une biographie.

L'album de Robin Williams.

«La vie et la mort de Robin Williams».

"Peter Travers sur 9 de ses performances préférées de Robin Williams - Le critique de cinéma de Rolling Stone pèse sur le meilleur travail de l'acteur et du comédien".

Robin Williams à trouver une tombe

Robin Williams sur IMDb


La source: Robin Williams

At the time of his graduation in 1969, Robin Williams was voted “Most Likely Not to Succeed” and “Funniest” by his classmates.

For other uses, see Robin Williams (disambiguation).

Robin McLaurin Williams (July 21, 1951 – August 11, 2014) was an American actor and comedian.

Born in Chicago, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in San Francisco and Los Angeles in the mid-1970s, and is credited with leading San Francisco’s comedy renaissance.[1] After rising to fame playing the alien Mork in the sitcom Mork & Mindy, Williams established a career in both stand-up comedy and feature film acting.

After his first starring film role in Popeye (1980), Williams starred in numerous films that achieved critical and financial success, including The World According to Garp (1982), Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Awakenings (1990), Aladdin (1992), The Fisher King (1991), One Hour Photo (2002), and World’s Greatest Dad (2009), as well as box office hits, such as Hook (1991), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Jumanji (1995), The Birdcage (1996), Good Will Hunting (1997), and the Night at the Museum trilogy (2006–2014).

Williams was nominated four times for the Academy Awards, winning once for Best Supporting Actor for his performance as psychologist Sean Maguire in Good Will Hunting.

According to Reeve, Skinner was bewildered by Williams, who could instantly perform in many accents, including Scottish, Irish, English, Russian, and Italian.

In a later production, Williams silenced his critics with his well-received performance as an old man in The Night of the Iguana by Tennessee Williams.

Williams performing stand-up comedy at a USO show on December 20, 2007

After his family moved to Marin County, Williams began performing stand-up comedy in the San Francisco Bay Area in the mid-1970s.

He gave his first performance at the Holy City Zoo, a comedy club in San Francisco, where he worked his way up from tending bar.[41] In the 1960s, San Francisco was a center for a rock music renaissance, hippies, drugs, and a sexual revolution, and in the 1970s, Williams helped lead its “comedy renaissance”, writes critic Gerald Nachman.[1]:6 Williams says he found out about “drugs and happiness” during that period, adding that he saw “the best brains of my time turned to mud”.[31]

Williams moved to Los Angeles and continued performing stand-up at clubs including the Comedy Club.

There, in 1977, he was seen by TV producer George Schlatter, who asked him to appear on a revival of his show Laugh-In. The show aired in late 1977 and was his debut TV appearance.[31] That year, Williams also performed a show at the LA Improv for Home Box Office.[42] While the Laugh-In revival failed, it led Williams into a television career; he continued performing stand-up at comedy clubs such as the Roxy to help keep his improvisational skills sharp.[31][43]

Williams won a Grammy Award for the recording of his 1979 live show at the Copacabana in New York, Reality …

Some of his later tours, after he became a TV and film star, include An Evening With Robin Williams, Robin Williams: At The Met and Robin Williams: Live on Broadway.

Williams said that partly due to the stress of performing stand-up, he started using drugs and alcohol early in his career.

Williams once described the life of stand-up comedians:

Williams felt secure he would not run out of ideas, as the constant change in world events would keep him supplied.[46] He also explained that he often used free association of ideas while improvising in order to keep the audience interested.[48] The competitive atmosphere caused problems; for example, some comedians accused him of copying their jokes, which Williams strongly denied.[46][49][50] David Brenner claims that he confronted Williams personally and threatened him with bodily harm if he heard Williams utter another one of his jokes.[51][52] Whoopi Goldberg defended him, explaining that it is difficult for comedians not to reuse another comedian’s material, and that it is done “all the time”.[53] He later avoided going to performances of other comedians to deter similar accusations.[53]

After the Laugh-In revival and appearing in the cast of The Richard Pryor Show on NBC, Williams was cast by Garry Marshall as the alien Mork in a 1978 episode of the TV series Happy Days, “My Favorite Orkan”.[31][54] Sought after as a last minute cast replacement for a departing actor, Williams impressed the producer with his quirky sense of humor when he sat on his head when asked to take a seat for the audition.[55] As Mork, Williams improvised much of his dialogue and physical comedy, speaking in a high, nasal voice.

Mork became popular, featured on posters, coloring books, lunch-boxes, and other merchandise.[58] Mork & Mindy was such a success in its first season that Williams appeared on the March 12, 1979, cover of Time magazine.[59][60] The cover photo, taken by Michael Dressler in 1979, is said to have “[captured] his different sides: the funnyman mugging for the camera, and a sweet, more thoughtful pose that appears on a small TV he holds in his hands” according to Mary Forgione of the Los Angeles Times.[61] This photo was installed in the National Portrait Gallery in the Smithsonian Institution shortly after his death to allow visitors to pay their respects.[61] Williams also appeared on the cover of the August 23, 1979, issue of Rolling Stone, photographed by Richard Avedon.[62][63]

Starting in the late 1970s and throughout the 1980s, Williams began to reach a wider audience with his stand-up comedy, including three HBO comedy specials, Off The Wall (1978), An Evening with Robin Williams (1983) and Robin Williams: Live at the Met (1986).

Also in 1986, Williams co-hosted the 58th Academy Awards.[64]

Williams was also a regular guest on various talk shows, including The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson[65] and Late Night with David Letterman, on which he appeared 50 times.

Letterman, who knew Williams for nearly 40 years, recalls seeing him first perform as a new comedian at The Comedy Store in Hollywood, where Letterman and other comedians had already been doing stand-up.

His stand-up work was a consistent thread through his career, as seen by the success of his one-man show (and subsequent DVD) Robin Williams: Live on Broadway (2002).

See also: Robin Williams filmography

The first film role credited to Robin Williams is a small part in the 1977 low-budget comedy Can I Do It …

There, Williams showcased the acting skills previously demonstrated in his television work; and the film’s commercial disappointment was not blamed upon his role.[73][74] He stars as the leading character in The World According to Garp (1982), which Williams considered “may have lacked a certain madness onscreen, but it had a great core”.[41] He continued with other smaller roles in less successful films, such as The Survivors (1983) and Club Paradise (1986), though he said these roles did not help advance his film career.[41]

His first major break came from his starring role in director Barry Levinson’s Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), which earned Williams a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Actor.[54] The film is set in 1965 during the Vietnam War, with Williams playing the role of Adrian Cronauer, a radio shock jock who keeps the troops entertained with comedy and sarcasm.

Over the microphone, he created voice impressions of people, including Walter Cronkite, Gomer Pyle, Elvis Presley, Mr. Ed, and Richard Nixon.[41] “We just let the cameras roll,” said producer Mark Johnson, and Williams “managed to create something new for every single take.”[75]

Many of his later roles were in comedies tinged with pathos.[76] His roles in comedy and dramatic films garnered Williams an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor (for his role as a psychologist in Good Will Hunting (1997)),[54] as well as two previous Academy Award nominations (for playing an English teacher in Dead Poets Society (1989), and for playing a troubled homeless man in The Fisher King (1991)).[54] In 1991, he played an adult Peter Pan in the film Hook, although he had said that he would have to lose twenty-five pounds.[77]

Other roles Williams had in acclaimed dramatic films include Moscow on the Hudson (1984), Awakenings (1990), What Dreams May Come (1998), and Bicentennial Man (1999).[78] In Insomnia, Williams portrayed a writer / killer on the run from a sleep-deprived Los Angeles policeman (played by Al Pacino) in rural Alaska.[79] Also in 2002, in the psychological thriller One Hour Photo, Williams played an emotionally disturbed photo development technician who becomes obsessed with a family for whom he has developed pictures for a long time.[80] The last Williams movie released during his lifetime was The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, a film addressing the value of life.

Mike Medavoy, producer of Hook, told its director, Steven Spielberg, that he intentionally teamed up Hoffman and Williams for the film because he knew they wanted to work together, and that Williams welcomed the opportunity of working with Spielberg.[82] Williams benefited from working with Woody Allen, who directed him and Billy Crystal in Deconstructing Harry (1997), as Allen had knowledge of the fact that Crystal and Williams had often performed together on stage.[83]

His performance in the role of a therapist in Good Will Hunting (1997) deeply affected some real therapists and won Williams an Academy Award.[84] In Awakenings (1990), Williams played a doctor modeled on Oliver Sacks, who wrote the book on which the film was based.

Sacks later said the way the actor’s mind worked was a “form of genius.” In 1989 Williams played a private school teacher in Dead Poets Society, which included a final, emotional scene which some critics said “inspired a generation” and became a part of pop culture.[85] Looking over most of his filmography, one writer was “struck by the breadth” and radical diversity of most roles Williams portrayed.[86]

Williams voiced characters in several animated films.

Buckley, Peter Lorre, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and Arsenio Hall.[89] His role in Aladdin became one of his most recognized and best-loved, and the film was the highest-grossing of 1992; it won numerous awards, including a Golden Globe for Williams.

Williams continued to provide voices in other animated films, including FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992), Robots (2005), Happy Feet (2006), and an uncredited vocal performance in Everyone’s Hero (2006).

Williams performing at the 2008 USO World Gala in Washington, D.C. on October 1, 2008

Williams with Marsha Garces at the 61st Academy Awards in 1989

Williams was an enthusiast of both pen-and-paper role-playing games and video games.[116][117][118] His daughter Zelda was named after the title character from The Legend of Zelda, a family favorite video game series, and he sometimes performed at consumer entertainment trade shows.[119][120][121]

The report also noted that Williams had been suffering “a recent increase in paranoia”.[155] An examination of his brain tissue suggested Williams suffered from “diffuse Lewy body dementia”.[149] Describing the disease as “the terrorist inside my husband’s brain”, his wife Susan Schneider said, “however you look at it—the presence of Lewy bodies took his life,” referring to his previous diagnosis of Parkinson’s.[9]

In honor of his theater work, the lights of Broadway were darkened for the evening of August 14, 2014.[162] That night, the cast of the Aladdin musical honored Williams by having the audience join them in a sing-along of “Friend Like Me”, an Oscar-nominated song originally sung by Williams in the 1992 film Aladdin.[163] Fans of Williams created makeshift memorials at his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame[164] and at locations from his television and film career, such as the bench in Boston’s Public Garden featured in Good Will Hunting;[165] the Pacific Heights, San Francisco, home used in Mrs. Doubtfire;[166] the sign for Parrish Shoes in Keene, New Hampshire, where parts of Jumanji were filmed;[167] and the Boulder, Colorado, home used for Mork & Mindy.[168] Work on a book biography was begun by New York Times writer David Itzkoff in 2014,[169] and was published in 2018, entitled simply Robin.[170] In addition, a tunnel on Highway 101 north of the Golden Gate Bridge was officially named the “Robin Williams Tunnel” on February 29, 2016.[171]

On television, during the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards on August 25, 2014, Billy Crystal presented a tribute to Williams, referring to him as “the brightest star in our comedy galaxy”.[172][173] On September 9, 2014, PBS aired a one-hour special devoted to his career,[174] and on September 27, 2014, dozens of leading stars and celebrities held a tribute in San Francisco to celebrate his life and career.[175]

Directed by Marina Zenovich, the film, Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind, was also screened at the Sundance Film Festival.[180] That same year, a mural of Robin Williams was created on Market Street, in San Francisco.[181]

Williams credited comedians including Jonathan Winters, Peter Sellers, Nichols and May, and Lenny Bruce as influences, admiring their ability to attract a more intellectual audience with a higher level of wit.[1]:43 He also liked Jay Leno for his quickness in ad-libbing comedy routines and Sid Caesar, whose acts he felt were “precious”.[46]

During an interview in London in 2002, Williams told Michael Parkinson that Peter Sellers was an important influence, especially his multi-character roles in Dr. Strangelove, stating, “It doesn’t get better than that.” British comedy actors Dudley Moore and Peter Cook were also among his influences, he told Parkinson.[183]

Williams was also influenced by Richard Pryor’s fearless ability to talk about his personal life on stage, with subjects including his use of drugs and alcohol, and Williams added those kinds of topics during his own performances.

Although Williams was first recognized as a stand-up comedian and television star, he later became known for acting in film roles of substance and serious drama.

Williams created a signature free-form persona in comedy, in a style that was so widely and uniquely identified with him, that new comedians imitated Williams personally.

Main article: List of awards and nominations received by Robin Williams

2003 – Grammy Award for Best Comedy Album, Robin Williams Live – 2002[192]

The Life and Humor of Robin Williams: A Biography.

Robin Williams: A Biography.

The Robin Williams Scrapbook.

“The Life and Death of Robin Williams”.

“Peter Travers on 9 of His Favorite Robin Williams Performances – Rolling Stone’s film critic weighs in on the late actor and comedian’s best work”.

Robin Williams at Find a Grave

Robin Williams on IMDb


Source: Robin Williams