一位狡猾的美食家说服上流社会的美国人不要洗沙拉碗。 想法是,调味料会随着时间的流逝而固化木碗,并制作出越来越好的沙拉。 真正的结果是一个腐臭的碗。 这种做法持续了三十年。

臭沙拉碗

从1930年代到60年代,美国人深信必须使用某种碗来制作适当的绿色沙拉:一个普通的,未上漆的木碗,永远无法清洗。 想法是,木头经过多年的“固化”,制成了越来越精美的沙拉。 实际上,调味料渗入了木头,而油变得可怕地腐烂了,所以碗发臭到高高的天堂。

一个狡猾的美食家乔治·雷克托(George Rector)简直欺骗了全国。 5年1936月XNUMX日,《星期六晚邮报》(Saturday Evening Post)上,他发明了木制沙拉碗的神话来为一个故事增色添彩。

由于美国人担心法国美食家的no顾,他将蔬菜沙拉描绘为所有菜肴中最挑剔的菜。 还有完美沙拉的秘诀? 在一个木碗上摩擦一瓣大蒜,这只会使大蒜具有足够的味道,但不会太多(令人恐惧!)。 。 。 然后再不要洗碗。

法国人自己从不相信任何这样的事情。 实际上,巴黎美食家甚至都不喜欢沙拉中的大蒜,因为Rector很清楚,因为他曾在巴黎的餐馆工作过。 在他的食谱中,他发表了无大蒜的法国沙拉食谱。 继续阅读(1分钟阅读)

关于“狡猾的美食家,说服上流社会的美国人不要洗碗沙拉”的6条想法。 想法是,调味料会随着时间的流逝而固化木碗,并制作出越来越好的沙拉。 真正的结果是一个腐臭的碗。 这种做法持续了三十年。”

  1. 燕麦时间

    这种时尚如何持续? 花费不超过一个月的时间,更不用说一年的时间了,任何人都不会意识到自己的碗是一个腐烂的臭烂摊子。

  2. philos34002

    亲爱的上帝! 我岳父有一个大的木制沙拉碗,他坚称只能用于凯撒沙拉,永远不要洗。 (非厨师注意事项:凯撒沙拉涉及生鸡蛋作为调味品的一部分)。 幸运的是,每当丈夫打算在晚上的菜单上添加菜单时,我的丈夫都会警告我,而我的丈夫洗碗并消毒碗时,我会分散他讲战争故事的注意力。

  3. 史蒂夫·戴夫·麦克菲斯

    我不喜欢“美食家”一词

  4. bf_princess

    哦,我的上帝。 我男朋友的母亲去年对我清洁她的木制沙拉碗感到不安,因为她说这是调味的(我想我去年实际上在reddit上评论了她的可笑程度)。 那位老太婆那个女人终于在某事上错了。 我将永久保存该帖子。

  5. 底特律坦卡

    我的父母有直到80年代后期才这样做的朋友。 有趣的是,我的父母坚持说,他们朋友的凯撒沙拉是有史以来最美味的东西。

发表评论

A sly foodie convinced upper class Americans not to ever wash their salad bowls. The idea was that the dressing would cure the wooden bowl over time and make better and better salads. The real result was a rancid, smelly bowl. The practice continued for thirty years.

Stinky Salad Bowls

From the 1930s through the ‘60s, Americans were convinced you had to have a certain kind of bowl to make a proper green salad: a plain, unvarnished wooden bowl which could never be washed. The idea was that the wood “cured” over the years, making ever more exquisite salads. Actually, the dressing seeped into the wood and the oil turned hideously rancid, so the bowls stank to high heaven.

A sly foodie named George Rector had simply hoaxed the whole country. He’d invented the myth of the wooden salad bowl to spice up a story in the Sept. 5, 1936, issue of the Saturday Evening Post.

Playing on Americans’ fear of snobbish French gourmets, he painted green salad as the most finicky dish of all. And the secret of the perfect salad? Rubbing a clove of garlic on a wooden bowl, which would give just enough garlic flavor but not (horrors!) too much . . . and then never washing the bowl.

The French themselves had never believed any such thing. In fact, Parisian gourmets didn’t even like garlic in their salads–as Rector knew perfectly well, since he’d worked in Parisian restaurants. In his cookbooks, he had published garlic-free French salad recipes. Continue Reading (1 minute read)

6 thoughts on “A sly foodie convinced upper class Americans not to ever wash their salad bowls. The idea was that the dressing would cure the wooden bowl over time and make better and better salads. The real result was a rancid, smelly bowl. The practice continued for thirty years.”

  1. Oatmealtime

    How did this fad last? It couldn’t have taken more then a month, let alone a year for anyone to realize their bowl is a rancid stinking mess.

  2. philos34002

    Dear god! My father-in-law had a big wooden salad bowl that he insisted be used only for caesar salad and never be washed. (Note to non-cooks: Caesar salad involves a raw egg as part of the dressing). Fortunately, my husband warned me whenever he was planning on adding that to the evening’s menu and I would get him distracted telling war stories while my husband washed and disinfected the bowl.

  3. SteveDaveMcFace

    Man I loathe the term “foodie”

  4. bf_princess

    Oh my god. My boyfriend’s mother bitched about me cleaning her wooden salad bowl last year because she said it would be seasoned (I think I actually commented on reddit last year about how ridiculous she was being). Holy cow that woman was finally wrong about something. I’m saving this post forever.

  5. Detroiteanca

    My parents had friends who did this up until the late 80s. The funny part is that my parents insist that their friend’s Caesar salad was the most delicious thing ever.

Leave a Comment