الصفحة الرئيسية » القانون والحكومة » إليكم حقيقة حول الخدمة المدنية العامة (CPS) ، وهو برنامج حكومي أمريكي قدم للمستنكفين ضميريًا بديلاً للخدمة العسكرية خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. حارب مجندو CPS حرائق الغابات ، وساعدوا في إصلاح نظام الصحة العقلية المسيء ، بل وعملوا كموضوعات اختبار في التجارب الطبية.

إليكم حقيقة حول الخدمة المدنية العامة (CPS) ، وهو برنامج حكومي أمريكي قدم للمستنكفين ضميريًا بديلاً للخدمة العسكرية خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. حارب مجندو CPS حرائق الغابات ، وساعدوا في إصلاح نظام الصحة العقلية المسيء ، بل وعملوا كموضوعات اختبار في التجارب الطبية.

طاقم الإطفاء التابع للخدمة المدنية العامة في Snowline Camp بالقرب من كامينو ، كاليفورنيا ، 1945.

كانت الخدمة العامة المدنية (CPS) أحد برامج حكومة الولايات المتحدة التي قدمت للمستنكفين ضميريًا بديلاً للخدمة العسكرية خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية.

من عام 1941 إلى عام 1947 ، قبل ما يقرب من 12,000 من المجندين ، المستعدين لخدمة بلدهم في بعض القدرات ولكنهم غير مستعدين لأداء أي نوع من الخدمة العسكرية ، مهام ذات أهمية وطنية في 152 معسكرًا تابعًا للحزب الشيوعي الصيني في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وبورتوريكو.

عمل المجندون من كنائس السلام التاريخية وغيرها من الأديان في مجالات مثل الحفاظ على التربة ، والغابات ، ومكافحة الحرائق ، والزراعة ، تحت إشراف وكالات مثل خدمة الغابات الأمريكية ، وخدمة الحفاظ على التربة ، وخدمة الحدائق الوطنية.

كانت تكلفة الحفاظ على معسكرات النيابة العامة وتلبية احتياجات الرجال من مسؤولية أتباعهم وعائلاتهم.

خدم رجال CPS لفترة أطول من المجندين العاديين ولم يتم الإفراج عنهم إلا بعد انتهاء الحرب.

في البداية كانت الوكالات الحكومية متشككة في البرنامج ، وتعلمت تقدير خدمة الرجال وطلبت المزيد من العاملين من البرنامج.

نص قانون التجنيد الإجباري في الحرب العالمية الأولى على الخدمة غير المقاتلة لأعضاء منظمة دينية مُنع أعضاؤها من المشاركة في أي شكل من أشكال الحرب. [2] حد هذا الإعفاء بشكل فعال من حالة المستنكف ضميريًا لأعضاء كنائس السلام التاريخية: المينونايت (ومجموعات قائلون بتجديد عماد أخرى مثل Hutterites) ، جمعية الأصدقاء الدينية (الكويكرز) وكنيسة الإخوة.

تم سجن المعترضين على الخدمة العسكرية بدافع الضمير الذين رفضوا الخدمة غير المقاتلة خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى في منشآت عسكرية مثل فورت لويس (واشنطن) وجزيرة الكاتراز (كاليفورنيا) وفورت ليفنوورث (كانساس).

في الوقت نفسه ، كانت وزارة العدل تستعد لإدانة 181 من قادة المينونايت بتهمة انتهاك قانون التجسس بسبب بيان اعتمدوه ضد أداء الخدمة العسكرية. [3] تسبب رفض المجندين ارتداء الزي الرسمي أو التعاون بأي شكل من الأشكال في صعوبات لكل من الحكومة والمكاتب القطرية. تضمنت المعاملة التي تلقاها ما يقرب من 2000 [4] من هذه الشهادات المطلقة حصصًا غذائية قصيرة ، وحبسًا انفراديًا ، وإساءة جسدية شديدة لدرجة تسبب في وفاة اثنين من المجندين الهوتيريين. [5]

مع وجود وجهة نظر مشتركة مفادها أن أي مشاركة في الخدمة العسكرية غير مقبولة ، فقد وضعوا خطة للخدمة المدنية البديلة ، بناءً على الخبرة المكتسبة من عمل لجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية في أوروبا أثناء وبعد الحرب العالمية الأولى وخدمة الغابات التي قام بها مينونايت الروس بدلاً من ذلك. الخدمة العسكرية في روسيا القيصرية. [6]

بينما كانت الولايات المتحدة تستعد لحرب أخرى ، حاولت كنائس السلام التاريخية ، التي يمثلها الأصدقاء الذين فهموا التعاملات الداخلية لسياسة واشنطن العاصمة ، التأثير على مسودات مشاريع القوانين الجديدة لضمان قيام رجالها بواجبهم في خدمة بديلة غير عسكرية. .

كان معسكر Wickiup ، CPS # 60 ، لا باين ، أوريغون مرفقًا سابقًا لفيلق الحفظ المدني الذي تم تشييده في عام 1938.

حددت كنائس السلام التاريخية خطة تضمنت إدارة معسكرات CPS وإدارتها تحت سيطرة الكنيسة.

ومع ذلك ، عارض الرئيس روزفلت أي خطة لا تنطوي على سيطرة عسكرية على المجندين. لحفظ خطتهم والاحتفاظ بالتوجيه المدني للبرنامج ، عرضت الكنائس تمويل المخيمات.

أقنع المساعدون روزفلت بأن وضع المكاتب القطرية للعمل في معسكرات بعيدة عن الطريق أفضل من تكرار صعوبات الحرب العالمية الأولى.

وافقت الخدمة الانتقائية وكنائس السلام على محاكمة مدتها ستة أشهر للمخيمات التي تدعمها الكنيسة وتمولها للمستنكفين ضميريًا ، وبالتالي ولدت الخدمة المدنية العامة.

تضمنت مسؤوليات الكنائس الإدارة اليومية للمخيمات وتكاليف المعيشة والوجبات والرعاية الصحية للرجال. [13] عندما وصل الشبان إلى المخيمات الأولى ، بدأوا تجربة مدتها ستة أشهر تمتد إلى ست سنوات.

عاش رجال الخدمة العامة المدنية في معسكرات تشبه الثكنات ، مثل منشآت فيلق الحماية المدنية السابق.

معسكر كبير مثل رقم 57 بالقرب من هيل سيتي ، ساوث داكوتا ، كان به خمسة مهاجع ويأوي ما يصل إلى 172 رجلاً يبنون سد ديرفيلد. في وقت لاحق ، مع وجود مشاريع في المناطق الحضرية ، عاش الرجال في وحدات أصغر ، مساكن جماعية بالقرب من مهامهم.

عمل رجال CPS عادة تسع ساعات ، ستة أيام في الأسبوع.

قامت لجنة مينونايت المركزية ولجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية ولجنة خدمة الأخوة بإدارة جميع المعسكرات تقريبًا. قامت رابطة المعترضين على الخدمة العسكرية الكاثوليكية بإدارة أربعة معسكرات ولجنة السلام العالمية الميثودية الثانية.

أدار المدير احتياجات الرجال ، وأشرف على صيانة مرافق المخيم ، وتولى العلاقات المجتمعية ، وقدم تقارير إلى مسؤولي الخدمة الانتقائية.

في وقت لاحق ، قام رجال قادرون من بين عمال CPS بإدارة المعسكرات.

تباينت قوة البرامج التعليمية من مخيم إلى آخر ، وبعد تسع ساعات من العمل البدني ، قد يكون من الصعب تحفيز الرجال على حضور الفصول الدراسية.

قام اختصاصي التغذية في المخيم ، بمساعدة رجال تم تعيينهم كطهاة ، بإعداد جميع الوجبات.

تم تنظيم خدمات العبادة يوم الأحد من قبل مدير المخيم إذا كان قسيسًا ، أو بواسطة قس زائر ، أو من قبل رجال CPS أنفسهم.

بينما نظمت كنائس السلام التاريخية النيابة العامة ، جاء 38٪ من الرجال من طوائف أخرى و 4٪ قالوا إنهم لا ينتمون إلى ديانات. [20]

تمت إعادة تعيين الرجال الذين أصبحوا غير متعاونين مع نظام CPS ولم يتمكنوا من التكيف مع المعسكرات التي تديرها الكنيسة في عدد قليل من المعسكرات التي يديرها نظام الخدمة الانتقائية. تميل هذه المخيمات إلى أن تكون الأقل إنتاجية والأكثر صعوبة في الإدارة.

كانت الكنائس مسؤولة بشكل أساسي عن تمويل الخدمة العامة المدنية ، وتوفير طعام الرجال وملابسهم والاحتياجات المادية الأخرى.

الرجال الذين عملوا لمزارعين أو مستشفيات نفسية يتلقون رواتب منتظمة ، كان مطلوب منهم إعطائها للحكومة الفيدرالية. [26] ظهرت الاعتراضات على هذه الممارسة على الفور لأن الرجال شعروا أنهم يساعدون في تمويل الحرب.

كانت أولى مشاريع الخدمة المدنية العامة في المناطق الريفية حيث كان الرجال يؤدون المهام المتعلقة بالحفاظ على التربة والزراعة والغابات.

في وقت لاحق تم تكليف الرجال بمشاريع في المدن حيث عملوا في المستشفيات وأجنحة الطب النفسي ومراكز البحوث الجامعية.

توقعًا للخلفية الريفية لمعظم الرجال ، قدمت المعسكرات الأولية الحفاظ على التربة والمشاريع المتعلقة بالزراعة.

أعضاء من معسكر المعترضين على الخدمة العسكرية يوضحون "طريقة العقدة الواحدة" لبناء خط النار لمحميات خدمات الغابات.

في معسكرات خدمة الغابات و National Park Service ، كان رجال CPS مسؤولين عن مكافحة الحرائق.

من المعسكرات الأساسية المنتشرة عبر غابات مونتانا وأيداهو وأوريجون ، تم نقل الرجال لمسافة تصل إلى 200 ميل إلى مواقع إطلاق النار ، حاملين أدوات مكافحة الحرائق وإمدادات من K-rations لمدة يومين.

خدم ما يصل إلى 240 من رجال CPS في هذا البرنامج المتخصص. [30] كانت إحدى مدارس القفز من الدخان في كامب باكسون في مونتانا.

رفضت الحكومة الطلبات الأولية بأن يشغل عمال CPS هذه المناصب ، معتقدة أنه من الأفضل إبقاء الرجال منفصلين في المعسكرات الريفية لمنع انتشار فلسفتهم.

بحلول نهاية عام 1945 ، عمل أكثر من 2000 رجل من CPS في 41 مؤسسة في 20 ولاية.

اكتشف رجال CPS ظروفًا مروعة في أجنحة مستشفيات الأمراض العقلية.

في 6 مايو 1946 ، قامت مجلة Life Magazine بطباعة عرض لنظام الرعاية الصحية النفسية بناءً على تقارير المكاتب القطرية. جهد آخر لـ CPS ، أصبح مشروع الصحة العقلية هو المؤسسة الوطنية للصحة العقلية. كانت إليانور روزفلت متشككة في البداية بشأن قيمة الخدمة العامة المدنية ، وقد أعجبت بالتغييرات التي أدخلتها المكاتب القطرية في نظام الصحة العقلية ، وأصبحت راعية للمؤسسة الوطنية للصحة العقلية وألهمت بنشاط مواطنين بارزين آخرين بما في ذلك أوين ج.

أصبح المجندون في الخدمة العامة المدنية موضوعات اختبار البحث الطبي والعلمي في التجارب الطبية البشرية تحت إشراف مكتب البحث العلمي والتطوير والجراح العام في المؤسسات الطبية مثل كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد وجامعات ييل وستانفورد ومستشفى ماساتشوستس العام.

سمح الأشخاص الخاضعون للاختبار لعض بعوض الملاريا وعندما وصلت الحمى إلى ذروتها في غضون ثلاثة إلى أربعة أيام ، تم إعطاؤهم علاجات تجريبية. [43] [44] في جامعة مينيسوتا ، خضع اثنا عشر رجلاً من CPS لاختبارات لتحديد فترة الشفاء للمصابين بالملاريا.

من عام 1945 إلى عام 1947 ، أرسلت إدارة الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة والتأهيل ولجنة خدمة الإخوان التابعة لكنيسة الأخوة الماشية إلى البلدان التي مزقتها الحروب.

تم إطلاق سراح رجال الخدمة المدنية العامة من مهامهم وأغلقت المعسكرات في مارس 1947 ، بعد تسعة عشر شهرًا من انتهاء الحرب في المحيط الهادئ. استمرت الإصلاحات في نظام الصحة النفسية بعد الحرب.

تطوع رجال من كنائس السلام التاريخية للإغاثة وإعادة الإعمار بعد إطلاق سراحهم من CPS.

مُنحت جائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 1947 للجان خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية والبريطانية لعملها الإغاثي في ​​أوروبا بعد الحرب. أعادت اللجنة المركزية لمينونايت توجيه جهودها من إدارة المخيم إلى الإغاثة وإعادة الإعمار في أوروبا بعد الحرب.

خلقت الخدمة العامة المدنية سابقة لبرنامج الخدمة البديلة للمستنكفين ضميريًا في الولايات المتحدة خلال حربي كوريا وفيتنام. [60] على الرغم من عدم تكرار برنامج CPS ، فقد نشأت فكرة منح الرجال فرصة للقيام "بعمل ذي أهمية وطنية" بدلاً من الخدمة العسكرية.

كانت الملاكمة شائعة في فصول التربية البدنية بالمدارس الثانوية في ثلاثينيات وأربعينيات القرن الماضي وشكلًا شائعًا من أشكال الترفيه في معسكرات الخدمة المدنية العامة.

(2006) Smokejumpers of the Civilian Public Service in World War II: Conscientious Objects as Firefighters، Jefferson، NC: McFarland & Company، ISBN 0-7864-2533-4

مجلس الخدمة الوطنية للمعارضين الدينيين (1947) دليل الخدمة المدنية العامة: مايو 1941 إلى مارس 1947 ، واشنطن العاصمة ، 167 صفحة ، ASIN: B000KI7H1C.

الخدمة العامة المدنية ، قاعدة بيانات قابلة للبحث لجميع المجندين البالغ عددهم 12,000 الذين خدموا في CPS ، بالإضافة إلى وصف للعمل في أكثر من 150 معسكرًا.


المصدر الخدمة العامة المدنية

Here’s a fact about Civilian Public Service (CPS), a US government program that provided conscientious objectors with an alternative to military service during World War II. CPS draftees fought forest fires, helped reform an abusive mental health system, and even acted as test subjects in medical experiments.

Civilian Public Service firefighting crew at Snowline Camp near Camino, California, 1945.

The Civilian Public Service (CPS) was a program of the United States government that provided conscientious objectors with an alternative to military service during World War II.

From 1941 to 1947, nearly 12,000 draftees, willing to serve their country in some capacity but unwilling to perform any type of military service, accepted assignments in work of national importance in 152 CPS camps throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Draftees from the historic peace churches and other faiths worked in areas such as soil conservation, forestry, fire fighting, agriculture, under the supervision of such agencies as the U.S. Forest Service, the Soil Conservation Service, and the National Park Service.

The cost of maintaining the CPS camps and providing for the needs of the men was the responsibility of their congregations and families.

CPS men served longer than regular draftees and were not released until well after the end of the war.

Initially skeptical of the program, government agencies learned to appreciate the men’s service and requested more workers from the program.

The conscription law of World War I provided for noncombatant service for members of a religious organization whose members were forbidden from participating in war of any form.[2] This exemption effectively limited conscientious objector status to members of the historic peace churches: Mennonites (and other Anabaptist groups such as Hutterites), Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) and Church of the Brethren.

Conscientious objectors who refused noncombatant service during World War I were imprisoned in military facilities such as Fort Lewis (Washington), Alcatraz Island (California) and Fort Leavenworth (Kansas).

Simultaneously the Justice Department was preparing to indict 181 Mennonite leaders for violating the espionage act because of a statement they adopted against performing military service.[3] The draftees’ refusal to put on a uniform or cooperate in any way caused difficulties for both the government and the COs. The treatment received by nearly 2000[4] of these absolute COs included short rations, solitary confinement and physical abuse so severe as to cause the deaths of two Hutterite draftees.[5]

Holding a common view that any participation in military service was not acceptable, they devised a plan of civilian alternative service, based on experience gained by American Friends Service Committee work in Europe during and after World War I and forestry service done by Russian Mennonites in lieu of military service in Tsarist Russia.[6]

As the United States prepared for another war, the historic peace churches, represented by Friends who understood inner dealings of Washington D.C. politics, attempted to influence new draft bills to ensure their men could fulfill their duty in an alternative, non-military type of service.

Camp Wickiup, CPS #60, La Pine, Oregon was a former Civilian Conservation Corps facility erected in 1938.

The historic peace churches outlined a plan that included running and maintaining CPS camps under church control.

However, President Roosevelt opposed any plan not involving military control over the draftees.[11] To save their plan and retain civilian direction of the program, the churches offered to fund the camps.

Aides convinced Roosevelt that putting the COs to work in out-of-the-way camps was preferable to repeating the difficulties of World War I.

Selective Service and the peace churches agreed to a six-month trial of church supported and funded camps for conscientious objectors and thus Civilian Public Service was born.

The responsibilities of the churches included day-to-day management of the camps, subsistence costs, meals and healthcare for the men.[13] When the young men arrived at the first camps, they started a six-month experiment that would extend to six years.

Civilian Public Service men lived in barracks-style camps, such as former Civilian Conservation Corps facilities.

A large camp such as number 57 near Hill City, South Dakota, had five dormitories and housed as many as 172 men building the Deerfield Dam.[16] Later, with projects located in urban areas, the men lived in smaller units, communal housing near their assignments.

CPS men typically worked nine hours, six days per week.

Mennonite Central Committee, American Friends Service Committee and Brethren Service Committee administered almost all of the camps.[17] The Association of Catholic Conscientious Objectors managed four camps and the Methodist World Peace Commission two.

The director managed the needs of the men, oversaw maintenance of the camp facilities, handled community relations and reported to Selective Service officials.

Later, capable men from among the CPS workers directed the camps.

The strength of instructional programs varied from camp to camp, and after nine hours of physical labor, it could be difficult to motivate the men to attend classes.

The camp dietitian, with the help of men assigned as cooks, prepared all of the meals.

Sunday worship services were organized by the camp director if he was a pastor, by a visiting pastor, or by the CPS men themselves.

While the historic peace churches organized the CPS, 38% of the men came from other denominations and 4% claimed no religious affiliation.[20]

Men who became uncooperative with the CPS system and were unable to adjust to the church-managed camps were reassigned to a few camps managed by the Selective Service System.[23] These camps tended to be the least productive and most difficult to administer.

Churches were primarily responsible for financing Civilian Public Service, providing for the men’s food, clothes, and other material needs.

Men who worked for farmers or psychiatric hospitals received regular wages, which they were required to give to the federal government.[26] Objections to this practice developed immediately because the men felt they were helping to fund the war.

The first Civilian Public Service projects were in rural areas where the men performed tasks related to soil conservation, agriculture and forestry.

Later men were assigned to projects in cities where they worked in hospitals, psychiatric wards, and university research centers.

Anticipating the rural background of most men, the initial camps provided soil conservation and farming-related projects.

Members of Conscientious Objectors camp demonstrating “one-lick method” of fire line building for Forest Service Reserves.

At Forest Service and National Park Service camps, CPS men were responsible for fire control.

From base camps scattered through the forests of Montana, Idaho and Oregon, the men were flown as many as 200 miles to fire sites, carrying firefighting tools and a two-day supply of K-rations.

Up to 240 CPS men served in this specialized program.[30] One of the smokejumping schools was at Camp Paxson in Montana.[31]

The government balked at initial requests that CPS workers have these positions, believing it better to keep the men segregated in the rural camps to prevent the spread of their philosophy.

By the end of 1945, more than 2000 CPS men worked in 41 institutions in 20 states.[33]

The CPS men discovered appalling conditions in the mental hospital wards.

On May 6, 1946 Life Magazine printed an exposé of the mental healthcare system based on the reports of COs. Another effort of CPS, Mental Hygiene Project became the National Mental Health Foundation.[37] Initially skeptical about the value of Civilian Public Service, Eleanor Roosevelt, impressed by the changes introduced by COs in the mental health system, became a sponsor of the National Mental Health Foundation and actively inspired other prominent citizens including Owen J.

Draftees in Civilian Public Service became medical and scientific research test subjects in human medical experiments under the direction of the Office of Scientific Research and Development and the Surgeon General at medical institutions such as Harvard Medical School, Yale and Stanford Universities, and Massachusetts General Hospital.

The test subjects allowed themselves to be bitten by malarial mosquitoes and when the fever reached its peak in three to four days, were given experimental treatments.[43][44] At the University of Minnesota, twelve CPS men underwent tests to determine the recovery period for those infected with malaria.

From 1945 to 1947 the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration and the Brethren Service Committee of the Church of the Brethren sent livestock to war-torn countries.

Civilian Public Service men were released from their assignments and the camps closed during March 1947, nineteen months after the end of the war in the Pacific.[56] Reforms in the mental health system continued after the war.

Men from the historic peace churches volunteered for relief and reconstruction after their release from CPS.

The 1947 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to American and British Friends Service Committees for their relief work in Europe after the war.[59] Mennonite Central Committee redirected its effort from camp administration to relief and reconstruction in Europe after the war.

Civilian Public Service created a precedent for the Alternative Service Program for conscientious objectors in the United States during the Korean and Vietnam Wars.[60] Although the CPS program was not duplicated, the idea of offering men an opportunity to do “work of national importance” instead of military service was established.

Boxing was common in high school physical education classes of the 1930s and 1940s and a popular form of recreation in Civilian Public Service camps.

(2006) Smokejumpers of the Civilian Public Service in World War II: Conscientious Objectors As Firefighters, Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, ISBN 0-7864-2533-4

National Service Board for Religious Objectors (1947) Directory of Civilian Public Service: May, 1941 to March, 1947, Washington, D.C., 167 pages, ASIN: B000KI7H1C.

Civilian Public Service, Searchable database of all 12,000 draftees who served in CPS, plus descriptions of the work in more than 150 camps.


Source: Civilian Public Service