首页 » 法律与政府 » 这是关于公民公共服务(CPS)的事实,这是美国政府的一项计划,在第二次世界大战期间为依良心拒服兵役者提供了替代兵役的选择。 CPS的受聘人员与森林大火作战,帮助改革了虐待性精神卫生系统,甚至在医学实验中充当了测试对象。

这是关于公民公共服务(CPS)的事实,这是美国政府的一项计划,在第二次世界大战期间为依良心拒服兵役者提供了替代兵役的选择。 CPS的受聘人员与森林大火作战,帮助改革了虐待性精神卫生系统,甚至在医学实验中充当了测试对象。

1945年,加利福尼亚州卡米诺附近的Snowline营地的平民公共服务消防队。

平民公共服务(CPS)是美国政府的一项计划,在第二次世界大战期间,它为依良心拒服兵役者提供了替代兵役的方案。

从1941年到1947年,将近12,000名起草人愿意以某种身份为自己的国家服务,但不愿执行任何形式的兵役,他们在美国和波多黎各的152个CPS营地接受了具有国家重要性的任务。

来自历史悠久的和平教堂和其他信仰的选民在诸如美国森林服务局,土壤保护局和国家公园管理局等机构的监督下,在土壤保护,林业,消防,农业等领域工作。

维持CPS营地和满足男人的需求的成本是他们的会众和家庭的责任。

CPS士兵的服役时间比常规征兵服役的更长,并且直到战争结束后才被释放。

最初对该计划表示怀疑的政府机构学会了欣赏男子的服务,并要求该计划派遣更多工人。

第一次世界大战的征兵法规定,禁止某个宗教组织的成员参加任何形式的战争。[2] 这种豁免有效地将出于良心拒服兵役者的身份限制在历史悠久的和平教会的成员中:门诺派教徒(以及诸如哈特派教派的其他再洗礼团体),朋友宗教协会(贵格会)和兄弟会教堂。

在第一次世界大战期间拒绝不参加战斗的出于良心拒服兵役者被关押在军事设施中,如路易斯堡(华盛顿),恶魔岛(加利福尼亚)和莱文沃思堡(堪萨斯州)。

同时,司法部正准备起诉181名门诺派领导人,因为他们发表了反对服兵役的声明,因为他们违反了间谍法。[3] 起草人拒绝穿制服或以任何方式进行合作给政府和合作组织都造成了困难。 大约2000年[4],这些绝对CO受到的待遇包括配给短粮,单独监禁和身体虐待,其严重程度足以导致两名Hutterite起草者死亡。[5]

他们普遍认为任何服兵役都是不可接受的,他们根据第一次世界大战期间和战后美国在欧洲的朋友服务委员会的工作经验以及俄罗斯门诺派人的林业服务经验,制定了民用替代服务计划。沙皇俄罗斯的军事部门。[6]

在美国为另一场战争做准备时,以了解华盛顿特区政治内部事务的朋友为代表的历史悠久的和平教堂,试图影响新的法案草案,以确保其士兵能够以替代性的非军事形式履行职责。

位于俄勒冈州拉派恩(La Pine)的CPS#60营地威基普(Camp Wickiup),是1938年建立的前平民保护团设施。

历史悠久的和平教堂概述了一项计划,其中包括在教堂的控制下运营和维护CPS营地。

但是,罗斯福总统反对任何不涉及对被征募者进行军事控制的计划。[11] 为了保存其计划并保留该计划的平民指导,各教会主动提出为营地提供资金。

助手们说服了罗斯福,让首席指挥官在偏僻的营地工作比重述第一次世界大战的困难更为可取。

选择性服务队和和平教会同意接受为期六个月的教会支持和资助的出于良心拒服兵役者营地的审判,因此诞生了平民公共服务局。

教会的职责包括对难民营的日常管理,生活费用,伙食和男子保健。[13] 当年轻人到达第一营地时,他们开始了为期六个月的实验,该实验将持续六年。

平民公共服务人员居住在营房式的营地中,例如以前的平民保护团设施。

南达科他州希尔市附近的一个大型营地,例如第57号营地,有五个宿舍,并容纳了多达172名建造Deerfield大坝的人。[16] 后来,由于项目位于城市地区,这些人住在较小的单位,靠近他们的任务的公共住房。

CPS男子通常每周工作六小时,每天工作XNUMX个小时。

门诺派中央委员会,美国朋友服务委员会和兄弟服务委员会管理着几乎所有营地。[17] 天主教虔诚反对者协会管理四个营地,卫理公会世界和平委员会管理两个营地。

主任负责管理人员的需求,监督营地设施的维护,处理社区关系,并向选择性服务官员报告。

后来,来自CPS工人中的有能力的人指挥了营地。

各个营地的教学计划强度各不相同,经过九个小时的体力劳动,可能很难激励他们上课。

营地营养师在分配给厨师的男人的帮助下准备了所有餐点。

如果是牧师,来访的牧师或CPS员工本人,则由营地负责人组织周日敬拜活动。

虽然历史悠久的和平教堂组织了CPS,但其中38%的人来自其他教派,而4%的人则声称没有宗教信仰。[20]

无法与CPS系统合作并且无法适应教堂管理的难民营的人被重新分配到由选择性服务系统管理的少数难民营。[23] 这些营地往往生产力最低,最难管理。

教会主要负责为平民公共服务提供资金,满足男人的食物,衣服和其他物质需求。

在农民或精神病医院工作的男人会得到固定工资,这些工资必须交给联邦政府。[26] 人们立即反对这种做法,因为这些人认为他们正在帮助资助战争。

第一个平民公共服务项目是在农村地区,在那里男人们从事与水土保持,农业和林业有关的任务。

后来,人们被分配到他们在医院,精神病房和大学研究中心工作的城市中的项目。

考虑到大多数男人的农村背景,最初的营地提供了水土保持和与耕作有关的项目。

出于良心拒服兵营的成员向公众展示了森林服务保护区防火线的“一舔法”。

在森林服务和国家公园服务营地,CPS的人员负责消防。

这些人从散布在蒙大拿州,爱达荷州和俄勒冈州的森林中的大本营出发,空运了200英里,到达消防现场,并携带了消防工具和两天的K口粮。

在该专业计划中,有多达240名CPS男性服务。[30] 其中一间跳烟学校位于蒙大拿州的帕克森营地。[31]

政府最初对CPS工人担任这些职位表示反对,认为最好将男人隔离在农村难民营中,以防止其哲学传播。

到1945年底,超过2000名CPS员工在41个州的20个机构中工作。[33]

CPS男子在精神病院的病房中发现了可怕的病情。

6年1946月37日,《生活》杂志根据首席运营官的报告印制了精神保健系统的专题报道。 CPS的另一项努力是“心理卫生项目”,成为了国家心理健康基金会。[XNUMX] 最初对公民公共服务的价值持怀疑态度的埃莉诺·罗斯福(Eleanor Roosevelt)对CO引入的精神卫生系统印象深刻,后来成为了国家精神卫生基金会的赞助商,并积极启发了包括Owen J.在内的其他杰出公民。

在科学研究与发展办公室和哈佛大学医学院,耶鲁大学和斯坦福大学以及马萨诸塞州总医院等医疗机构的外科医生的指导下,民用公共服务领域的被告成为了人类医学实验中的医学和科学研究测试对象。

测试对象让自己被疟疾蚊子叮咬,当发烧在三到四天内达到高峰时,接受实验治疗。[43] [44] 在明尼苏达大学,十二名CPS男性接受了测试以确定感染疟疾的人的恢复期。

从1945年到1947年,联合国救济和复兴管理局和兄弟会教堂的兄弟会服务委员会将牲畜运送到饱受战争war的国家。

在太平洋战争结束后十九个月,即1947年56月,公务员被释放,营地关闭。[XNUMX​​XNUMX] 战后,精神卫生系统的改革继续进行。

来自历史悠久的和平教堂的人从CPS获释后志愿提供救济和重建。

1947年诺贝尔和平奖被授予战后在欧洲进行的救济工作的美国和英国朋友服务委员会。[59] 战后,门诺派中央委员会将其工作重心从营地管理转向了欧洲的救济和重建。

在朝鲜战争和越南战争期间,美国公职人员为美国出于良心拒服兵役者提供了替代服务计划的先例。[60] 尽管没有重复执行CPS计划,但建立了为男子提供机会从事“具有国家重要性的工作”而不是服兵役的想法。

拳击在1930年代和1940年代的高中体育课中很普遍,而在平民公共服务营地中则是一种很流行的娱乐方式。

(2006)第二次世界大战中的公务员抽烟者:良心拒服兵役的消防员,杰斐逊,北卡罗来纳州:麦克法兰公司,ISBN 0-7864-2533-4

宗教反对派国家服务委员会(1947)平民公共服务目录:1941年1947月至167年000月,华盛顿特区,7页,ASIN:B1KIXNUMXHXNUMXC。

平民公共服务,可在CPS中任职的所有12,000名起草人的可搜索数据库,以及150多个难民营的工作描述。


来源: 平民公共服务

Here’s a fact about Civilian Public Service (CPS), a US government program that provided conscientious objectors with an alternative to military service during World War II. CPS draftees fought forest fires, helped reform an abusive mental health system, and even acted as test subjects in medical experiments.

Civilian Public Service firefighting crew at Snowline Camp near Camino, California, 1945.

The Civilian Public Service (CPS) was a program of the United States government that provided conscientious objectors with an alternative to military service during World War II.

From 1941 to 1947, nearly 12,000 draftees, willing to serve their country in some capacity but unwilling to perform any type of military service, accepted assignments in work of national importance in 152 CPS camps throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Draftees from the historic peace churches and other faiths worked in areas such as soil conservation, forestry, fire fighting, agriculture, under the supervision of such agencies as the U.S. Forest Service, the Soil Conservation Service, and the National Park Service.

The cost of maintaining the CPS camps and providing for the needs of the men was the responsibility of their congregations and families.

CPS men served longer than regular draftees and were not released until well after the end of the war.

Initially skeptical of the program, government agencies learned to appreciate the men’s service and requested more workers from the program.

The conscription law of World War I provided for noncombatant service for members of a religious organization whose members were forbidden from participating in war of any form.[2] This exemption effectively limited conscientious objector status to members of the historic peace churches: Mennonites (and other Anabaptist groups such as Hutterites), Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) and Church of the Brethren.

Conscientious objectors who refused noncombatant service during World War I were imprisoned in military facilities such as Fort Lewis (Washington), Alcatraz Island (California) and Fort Leavenworth (Kansas).

Simultaneously the Justice Department was preparing to indict 181 Mennonite leaders for violating the espionage act because of a statement they adopted against performing military service.[3] The draftees’ refusal to put on a uniform or cooperate in any way caused difficulties for both the government and the COs. The treatment received by nearly 2000[4] of these absolute COs included short rations, solitary confinement and physical abuse so severe as to cause the deaths of two Hutterite draftees.[5]

Holding a common view that any participation in military service was not acceptable, they devised a plan of civilian alternative service, based on experience gained by American Friends Service Committee work in Europe during and after World War I and forestry service done by Russian Mennonites in lieu of military service in Tsarist Russia.[6]

As the United States prepared for another war, the historic peace churches, represented by Friends who understood inner dealings of Washington D.C. politics, attempted to influence new draft bills to ensure their men could fulfill their duty in an alternative, non-military type of service.

Camp Wickiup, CPS #60, La Pine, Oregon was a former Civilian Conservation Corps facility erected in 1938.

The historic peace churches outlined a plan that included running and maintaining CPS camps under church control.

However, President Roosevelt opposed any plan not involving military control over the draftees.[11] To save their plan and retain civilian direction of the program, the churches offered to fund the camps.

Aides convinced Roosevelt that putting the COs to work in out-of-the-way camps was preferable to repeating the difficulties of World War I.

Selective Service and the peace churches agreed to a six-month trial of church supported and funded camps for conscientious objectors and thus Civilian Public Service was born.

The responsibilities of the churches included day-to-day management of the camps, subsistence costs, meals and healthcare for the men.[13] When the young men arrived at the first camps, they started a six-month experiment that would extend to six years.

Civilian Public Service men lived in barracks-style camps, such as former Civilian Conservation Corps facilities.

A large camp such as number 57 near Hill City, South Dakota, had five dormitories and housed as many as 172 men building the Deerfield Dam.[16] Later, with projects located in urban areas, the men lived in smaller units, communal housing near their assignments.

CPS men typically worked nine hours, six days per week.

Mennonite Central Committee, American Friends Service Committee and Brethren Service Committee administered almost all of the camps.[17] The Association of Catholic Conscientious Objectors managed four camps and the Methodist World Peace Commission two.

The director managed the needs of the men, oversaw maintenance of the camp facilities, handled community relations and reported to Selective Service officials.

Later, capable men from among the CPS workers directed the camps.

The strength of instructional programs varied from camp to camp, and after nine hours of physical labor, it could be difficult to motivate the men to attend classes.

The camp dietitian, with the help of men assigned as cooks, prepared all of the meals.

Sunday worship services were organized by the camp director if he was a pastor, by a visiting pastor, or by the CPS men themselves.

While the historic peace churches organized the CPS, 38% of the men came from other denominations and 4% claimed no religious affiliation.[20]

Men who became uncooperative with the CPS system and were unable to adjust to the church-managed camps were reassigned to a few camps managed by the Selective Service System.[23] These camps tended to be the least productive and most difficult to administer.

Churches were primarily responsible for financing Civilian Public Service, providing for the men’s food, clothes, and other material needs.

Men who worked for farmers or psychiatric hospitals received regular wages, which they were required to give to the federal government.[26] Objections to this practice developed immediately because the men felt they were helping to fund the war.

The first Civilian Public Service projects were in rural areas where the men performed tasks related to soil conservation, agriculture and forestry.

Later men were assigned to projects in cities where they worked in hospitals, psychiatric wards, and university research centers.

Anticipating the rural background of most men, the initial camps provided soil conservation and farming-related projects.

Members of Conscientious Objectors camp demonstrating “one-lick method” of fire line building for Forest Service Reserves.

At Forest Service and National Park Service camps, CPS men were responsible for fire control.

From base camps scattered through the forests of Montana, Idaho and Oregon, the men were flown as many as 200 miles to fire sites, carrying firefighting tools and a two-day supply of K-rations.

Up to 240 CPS men served in this specialized program.[30] One of the smokejumping schools was at Camp Paxson in Montana.[31]

The government balked at initial requests that CPS workers have these positions, believing it better to keep the men segregated in the rural camps to prevent the spread of their philosophy.

By the end of 1945, more than 2000 CPS men worked in 41 institutions in 20 states.[33]

The CPS men discovered appalling conditions in the mental hospital wards.

On May 6, 1946 Life Magazine printed an exposé of the mental healthcare system based on the reports of COs. Another effort of CPS, Mental Hygiene Project became the National Mental Health Foundation.[37] Initially skeptical about the value of Civilian Public Service, Eleanor Roosevelt, impressed by the changes introduced by COs in the mental health system, became a sponsor of the National Mental Health Foundation and actively inspired other prominent citizens including Owen J.

Draftees in Civilian Public Service became medical and scientific research test subjects in human medical experiments under the direction of the Office of Scientific Research and Development and the Surgeon General at medical institutions such as Harvard Medical School, Yale and Stanford Universities, and Massachusetts General Hospital.

The test subjects allowed themselves to be bitten by malarial mosquitoes and when the fever reached its peak in three to four days, were given experimental treatments.[43][44] At the University of Minnesota, twelve CPS men underwent tests to determine the recovery period for those infected with malaria.

From 1945 to 1947 the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration and the Brethren Service Committee of the Church of the Brethren sent livestock to war-torn countries.

Civilian Public Service men were released from their assignments and the camps closed during March 1947, nineteen months after the end of the war in the Pacific.[56] Reforms in the mental health system continued after the war.

Men from the historic peace churches volunteered for relief and reconstruction after their release from CPS.

The 1947 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to American and British Friends Service Committees for their relief work in Europe after the war.[59] Mennonite Central Committee redirected its effort from camp administration to relief and reconstruction in Europe after the war.

Civilian Public Service created a precedent for the Alternative Service Program for conscientious objectors in the United States during the Korean and Vietnam Wars.[60] Although the CPS program was not duplicated, the idea of offering men an opportunity to do “work of national importance” instead of military service was established.

Boxing was common in high school physical education classes of the 1930s and 1940s and a popular form of recreation in Civilian Public Service camps.

(2006) Smokejumpers of the Civilian Public Service in World War II: Conscientious Objectors As Firefighters, Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, ISBN 0-7864-2533-4

National Service Board for Religious Objectors (1947) Directory of Civilian Public Service: May, 1941 to March, 1947, Washington, D.C., 167 pages, ASIN: B000KI7H1C.

Civilian Public Service, Searchable database of all 12,000 draftees who served in CPS, plus descriptions of the work in more than 150 camps.


Source: Civilian Public Service