طُردت سوزان سومرز من شركة Three's Company لأنها طلبت أجرًا متساويًا مع زميلها النجم جون ريتر ، الذي كان يتقاضى خمسة أضعاف راتبها.

تم فصل سوزان سومرز من شركة Three's بسبب طلبها المساواة في الأجر

تركزت كل حلقة من حلقات شركة Three's Company حول سوء فهم ، لكن رحيل سوزان سومرز المفاجئ عن العرض كان تناقضًا حقيقيًا لم يكن مديرو الشبكة على استعداد لإصلاحه.

عندما ظهر المسرحية الهزلية في 15 مارس 1977 ، كان عرضًا في منتصف الموسم بست حلقات فقط ، لكن الديناميكيات المحببة بين زملاء السكن الثلاثة الفخريين - جون ريتر في دور جاك تريبير ، جويس ديويت في دور جانيت وود وسومرز في دور كريسي سنو - بسرعة أصبحت الدعامة الأساسية لعروض Nielsen Top 10. كما أن الرسوم الكوميدية الخيالية في الشقة 201 قفزت بالنجوم الشباب إلى شهرة حقيقية ، مع تكريم سومرز على أغلفة العديد من المجلات.

في عام 1980 ، كانت الممثلة على ما يبدو في صدارة لعبتها وكانت تعرف قيمتها. عندما حان وقت ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 5 دقائق)

15 فكرة عن "تم فصل سوزان سومرز من شركة Three's Company لأنها طلبت أجرًا متساويًا مع زميلها النجم جون ريتر ، الذي كان يتقاضى خمسة أضعاف راتبها".

  1. wjbc

    هذا هو السبب في أن فريق الأصدقاء وافق على التفاوض كمجموعة. كان بإمكانهم طرد واحد منهم ، لكن ليس كلهم. تعرض ديفيد شويمر وجنيفر أنيستون لخسارة لتحقيق ذلك للأربعة الآخرين. ولكن على المدى الطويل ، فقد أتت ثمارها لهم أيضًا ، حيث أوجدت بيئة مستقرة ونجاحًا طويل المدى للعرض ومدفوعات ضخمة للقروض المشتركة.

  2. وقت اللف

    في إحدى المرات كان بإمكانك رؤية كرات جون ريتر بطريق الخطأ في حلقة واحدة ولم يكتشفوا ذلك حتى عام 2006.

  3. MasterBlogroll

    > "كان رد البرنامج ،" من تعتقد نفسك؟ "قالت الممثلة لـ [* People *] (https://people.com/tv/suzanne-somers-recalls-being-fired-from-threes-company-for-asking-for-equal-pay). "قالوا ،" جون ريتر هو النجم. "
    >
    > \ [… \]
    >
    > عندما وقعت سومرز في العرض لأول مرة ، وافقت على [3,500 دولار في الأسبوع] (https://www.yahoo.com/now/shes-greedy-suzanne-somers-remembers-asking-equal-pay-threes-company-resulted-smear-campaign-150058529.html) للعب بابلي كريسي. مع اكتساب البرنامج قوة دفع ، ارتفع راتبها وسرعان ما كانت تجني 30,000 ألف دولار في الأسبوع. 
    >
    > \ [… \]
    >
    > لذلك ذهب زوجها ، المنتج التلفزيوني السابق آلان هامل ، للتفاوض معها ، وطلب 150,000 ألف دولار في الأسبوع ، وهو متوسط ​​ما كان الرجال يكسبونه على شاشات التلفزيون في ذلك الوقت ، وعلى قدم المساواة مع ما كانت تجنيه ريتر.

  4. هيكيرميك

    كان هذا العرض صعبًا جدًا في ذلك الوقت. شاب وبنات يعيشان معًا ، رجل مثلي الجنس يتظاهر بالكثير من التلميحات الجنسية. ربما كانت وجهة نظري فقط في ذلك الوقت ، كنت في التاسعة من عمري ولم يُسمح لي بالمشاهدة. من المضحك كيف يبدو الآن ترويضًا جدًا مقارنة بالأشياء الأخرى على التلفزيون.

  5. تيرب

    اتضح أن الأمر كله كان سوء فهم.

  6. سيميفراكي

    هذا يذكرني بقصة بول رايزر / هيلين هانت حول المساواة في الأجور من Mad About You. أصر Riser و Hunt على أن يتم الدفع لهما بالتساوي ، وتم كتابته في عقودهما ، والتي كانت تقدمية للغاية ، حتى في التسعينيات. خرجت هيلين وفازت بجائزة الأوسكار عن فيلم "As Good As It Gets" وتفاوض وكيلها على زيادة كبيرة في الراتب ، ومنذ ذلك الحين تألق العرض "Helen Hunt الحائزة على جائزة الأكاديمية". بسبب شرط المساواة في الأجور في عقدهم ، حصل Paul Riser على مكافأة كبيرة أيضًا دون الحاجة إلى الفوز بجائزة أوسكار أو جعل وكيله يتفاوض!

  7. سيارة جميلة 6338

    على الجانب الآخر ، هدد ليونارد نيموي بالسير من فيلم Star Trek ما لم تحصل Nichelle Nichols على زيادة على قدم المساواة مع بقية الممثلين ، وهدد Ed O 'Neal بالابتعاد عن فيلم Married With Children ما لم يبدأ Fox في مغادرة Christina Applegate وحده. حيث قاموا بالضغط عليها لتفقد المزيد من الوزن عندما كانت تعاني بالفعل من اضطراب في الأكل. حصل نيكولز على علاوة ، وتراجع فوكس عن آبلجيت.

  8. بارون روغ

    أحب أن الوجبات الجاهزة هنا هي أن الأصدقاء تفاوضوا كأصدقاء

  9. داربي داون

    كل حلقة تدور حول سوء فهم. كان هناك نكات لا تنتهي حول الجنس.

    كان غبيًا لكن الجميع شاهده.

  10. Readerf52

    أتساءل عن المبلغ الذي حصل عليه جون ريتر ليكون صوت كليفورد ، الكلب الأحمر الكبير ...

  11. داتشي 412

    كان هذا قبل وقتي ولكن ألم يكن جون ريتر نجم العرض؟

  12. لودج بول ميرفي

    بالعودة إلى السبعينيات ، كانت الشخصيات تُطرد من البرامج التلفزيونية في كل مرة يطلبون فيها المزيد من المال.

  13. EddyGurge

    بالنسبة لي ، نعم أنا عجوز ، كان هذا العرض جون ريتر وآخرين. RIP جون. لقد فاتك حقًا.

  14. dk_jr

    كانت فقط تنتظر أن تسقط الكرة الأخرى

  15. curiosity0425

    الآن هذا عرض أود أن أشارك فيه على Netflix أو Hulu

اترك تعليق

Suzanne Somers was fired from ‘Three’s Company’ for asking for equal pay with her male co-star, John Ritter, who was earning five times her salary.

Suzanne Somers Was Fired From ‘Three’s Company’ for Asking for Equal Pay

Every episode of Three’s Company centered around a misunderstanding, but Suzanne Somers’ sudden departure from the show was a real discrepancy that network executives were unwilling to fix.

When the sitcom debuted on March 15, 1977, it was a mid-season show with only six episodes, but the lovable dynamics between the titular three roommates — John Ritter as Jack Tripper, Joyce DeWitt as Janet Wood and Somers as Chrissy Snow — quickly became a mainstay of the Nielsen Top 10 shows. The fictional comedic antics in apartment 201 also catapulted the young stars into real-life fame, with Somers gracing the covers of numerous magazines.

In 1980, the actress was seemingly at the top of her game and she knew her worth. When it came time for … Continue Reading (5 minute read)

15 thoughts on “Suzanne Somers was fired from ‘Three’s Company’ for asking for equal pay with her male co-star, John Ritter, who was earning five times her salary.”

  1. wjbc

    This is why the cast of Friends agreed to negotiate as a group. They could have fired one of them, but not all of them. David Schwimmer and Jennifer Aniston took a loss to make it happen for the other four. But in the long run it paid off for them as well, creating a stable environment, long term success for the show, and hefty syndication payments.

  2. windingtime

    One time you could accidentally see John Ritter’s balls in one episode and they didn’t find out until like 2006.

  3. MasterBlogroll

    >“The show’s response was, ‘Who do you think you are?’” the actress told [*People*](https://people.com/tv/suzanne-somers-recalls-being-fired-from-threes-company-for-asking-for-equal-pay). “They said, ‘John Ritter is the star.’”
    >
    >\[…\]
    >
    >When Somers first signed on to the show, she agreed to a [$3,500 a week salary](https://www.yahoo.com/now/shes-greedy-suzanne-somers-remembers-asking-equal-pay-threes-company-resulted-smear-campaign-150058529.html) to play the bubbly Chrissy. As the show gained traction, her salary climbed and soon she was making $30,000 a week. 
    >
    >\[…\]
    >
    > So her husband, former television producer Alan Hamel, went to negotiate for her, asking for $150,000 a week, which was the average that men were earning on television at the time, and on par with what her costar Ritter was making.

  4. hikermick

    This show was pretty risque at the time. A guy and girls living together, a pretend gay man, lots of sexual innuendo. Maybe it’s just my perspective at the time, I was only nine and not allowed to watch. Funny how now it seems so tame compared to other stuff on TV.

  5. TerpBE

    It turned out it was all a misunderstanding.

  6. semifraki

    This reminds me of the Paul Riser/Helen Hunt equal pay story from Mad About You. Riser and Hunt insisted that they be paid equally, and had it written into their contracts, which was very progressive, even in the 90s. Helen went off and won an oscar for “As Good As It Gets” and her agent negotiated a big pay raise, since now the show starred “academy award winning Helen Hunt”. Because of the equal pay clause in their contract, Paul Riser got a big pay bump as well without having to win an oscar OR have his agent negotiate!

  7. Pretty-Vehicle-6338

    On the flipside, Leonard Nimoy threatened to walk from “Star Trek” unless Nichelle Nichols got a raise on par with the rest of the cast, and Ed O’ Neal threatened to walk away from “Married With Children” unless Fox started leaving Christina Applegate alone. They where pressuring her to lose more weight when she was already suffering from a eating disorder. Nichols got a raise, and Fox backed off Applegate.

  8. Baron_Rogue

    i love that the takeaway here is that Friends negotiated as friends

  9. DarbyDown

    Every episode revolved around a misunderstanding. There was endless joking about sex.

    It was dumb but everyone watched it.

  10. readerf52

    I wonder how much John Ritter got paid to be the voice of Clifford, the big red dog…

  11. dutchy412

    This was before my time but wasn’t John Ritter the star of the show?

  12. LodgePoleMurphy

    Back in the 1970’s characters would get fired off TV shows almost every time they asked for more money.

  13. EddyGurge

    To me, yeah I’m old, that show was John Ritter and others. R.I.P. John. You are truly missed.

  14. dk_jr

    She was just waiting for the other ball to drop

  15. curiosity0425

    Now that’s a show I’d love to binge on Netflix or Hulu

Leave a Comment