الصفحة الرئيسية » فنون وترفيه » أفلام » من كان المهندس المعماري للنجوم؟
بول ويليامز مهندس معماري

من كان المهندس المعماري للنجوم؟

على الرغم من انتهاء العبودية في عام 1865 ، فليس من المستغرب أن يتم منح الأشخاص الملونين نهاية أقصر للعصا خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالنمو الوظيفي وبقعة في ضوء الجير. لكن كان هناك رجل واحد كسر الحواجز في الصناعة المعمارية التي مهدت الطريق أمام زملائه الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي.

كان بول ويليامز أول عضو أمريكي من أصل أفريقي في المعهد الأمريكي للمهندسين المعماريين. كان معروفًا أيضًا بلقب "المهندس المعماري للنجوم" بعد أن صممت أكثر من 3,000 مبنى في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة بما في ذلك منازل لهوليوود باروكات كبيرة.

من هو بول ويليامز؟

ولد بول ريفير ويليامز في 18 فبراير 1894 في لوس أنجلوس ، كاليفورنيا. انتقل والده إلى لوس أنجلوس من ممفيس ليبدأ نشاطًا تجاريًا للفواكه ولكنه أصيب بالسل وتوفي عندما كان بول في الثانية من عمره فقط. وتوفيت والدته بعد عامين من نفس المرض. في سن الرابعة أصبح يتيمًا. كان هو وشقيقه تشيستر جونيور في نظام رعاية التبني لفترة من الوقت ، ولكن تم تبني بول من قبل CD وإميلي كلاركسون. (مصدر: الثقافة المدرجة في القائمة السوداء)

كان آل كلاركسون داعمين جدًا لبولس. لقد قدموا له أفضل تعليم يمكن أن يقدموه وحتى دعموا اهتمامه بالفنون. كان الأمريكي الأفريقي الوحيد في المدرسة الابتدائية في منطقته. (مصدر: الثقافة المدرجة في القائمة السوداء)

عندما كان بول في المدرسة الثانوية ، قام صديق للعائلة كان يعمل في صناعة البناء بالتأثير عليه لدراسة الهندسة والفيزياء للدخول في الهندسة المعمارية. بعد كل شيء ، كان بول موهوبًا بشكل لا يصدق. للأسف ، لم يشجعه الجميع على السير في هذا الطريق. لم يشجعه مستشاره الإرشادي على متابعة المهنة بسبب لونه. في تلك الأيام ، لم يكن المهندس المعماري الأسود ببساطة يسمع به. (مصدر: الثقافة المدرجة في القائمة السوداء)

وغني عن القول ، أن بول ويليامز لم يستمع إلى السلبية من حوله وقرر تناول الهندسة المعمارية على أي حال. بحلول عام 1921 أصبح مهندسًا معماريًا معتمدًا وعمل تحت إشراف جون جي أوستن. بحلول عام 1923 ، افتتح شركته الخاصة وعمل لاحقًا مهندسًا للبحرية الأمريكية في الحرب العالمية الثانية. (مصدر: LA Conservancy)

كتب بول في مقال للمجلة الأمريكية بعنوان "أنا زنجي". كنت أرغب في إثبات كل قدرة لدي. كنت أرغب في اكتساب قدرات جديدة. أردت أن أثبت أنني كفرد أستحق مكانًا في العالم. تثبت لبقية العالم أنه لا يجب أن تقتصر على لون بشرتك. (مصدر: نبذة عن الشركة)

لماذا دعي المهندس المعماري للنجوم؟

كان أحد الأسباب وراء تميز الأسلوب المعماري لبول ويليامز هو أنه دمج شخصية وشخصية عملائه في المشروع. في تلك الأيام ، لم يكن لديه حقًا رفاهية الإصرار على طريقه - لذلك قرر السير في طريق مختلف. (مصدر: برنامج تلفزيوني)

بعد تصميم ملف اضغط الزر بيت ال ال فرانك سيناترا وظهوره على شاشة التلفزيون ، انخرط بول في تصميم منازل لمشاهير هوليوود. لدي بول وليامز المنزل ثم أصبح الاتجاه. (مصدر: برنامج تلفزيوني)

من المشاهير الآخرين الذين كان لديهم منزل بول ويليامز ؛ لوسيل بول ، بيل روبنسون ، لون تشاني ، باربرا ستانويك ، ديزي أرناز ، وتيرون باور.

الإرث

إن التأثير الذي أحدثه بول ريفير ويليامز على كل مهندس معماري طموح للون يتجاوز المذهل. مثابرته وتصميمه ومرونته هي ما جعله يتغلب على العقبات التي واجهها. لم تنته العنصرية والتمييز حتى اليوم ، لكن الأمر متروك لنا للمساعدة في كسر هذه الحواجز من أجل الصالح العام. لا تعتمد الموهبة والمهارة والموكسي على لون بشرتك.

اترك تعليق

Paul Williams Architect

Who Was the Architect to the Stars?

Though slavery ended in 1865, it is not a surprise that people of color have been given the shorter end of the stick especially when it came to career growth and a spot in the lime light. But there was one man who broke barriers in the architectural industry that paved the way for his fellow African Americans.

Paul Williams was the first African American member of the American Institute of Architects. He was also known by the nickname “Architect to the Stars” having designed more than 3,000 structures all over the US including homes for Hollywood big wigs.

Who is Paul Williams?

Paul Revere Williams was born on February 18, 1894 in Los Angeles, California. His father moved to LA from Memphis to start a fruit business but contracted tuberculosis and passed away when Paul was just 2. His mother died two years later of the same illness. At the age of 4, he was orphaned. He and his brother Chester Jr. was in the foster care system for a while, but Paul was adopted by C.D. and Emily Clarkson. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

The Clarksons were very supportive of Paul. They gave him the best education they could provide and even supported his interest in the arts. He was the only African-American in the elementary school in his district. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

When Paul was in high school, a friend of the family who was in the construction industry influenced him to study geometry and physics to get into Architecture. After all, Paul was incredibly talented. Sadly, not everyone encouraged him to take this path. His guidance counselor discouraged him from pursuing the career because of his color. Back in those days a black architect was simply unheard of. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

Needless to say, Paul Williams didn’t listen to the negativity around him and decided to take up architecture anyway. By 1921 he became a certified architect and worked under John G. Austin. By the year 1923, he opened his own firm and later on served as the architect to the US Navy in World War II. (Source: LA Conservancy)

Paul wrote in an essay for American Magazine entitled “I Am A Negro”; I wanted to vindicate every ability I had. I wanted to acquire new abilities. I wanted to prove, that I, as an individual deserved a place in the world. Proving to the rest of the world that you shouldn’t limit yourself to the color of your skin. (Source: Fast Company)

Why was he called the Architect to the Stars?

One of the reasons Paul Williams’ architectural style stood out was because he incorporated the personality and character of his clients to the project. In those days, he didn’t really have the luxury to insist on his way – so he decided to go through a different route. (Source: PBS)

After designing the push-button home of the Frank Sinatra and being featured on television, Paul got quite busy designing homes for Hollywood celebrities. Having a Paul Williams home then became a trend. (Source: PBS)

Other celebrities who had a Paul Williams home include; Lucille Ball, Bill Robinson, Lon Chaney, Barbara Stanwyck, Desi Arnaz, and Tyrone Power.

The Legacy

The impact Paul Revere Williams had on every aspiring architect of color is beyond amazing. His perseverance, determination and resiliency is what made him overcome the hurdles he has faced. Racism and discrimination hasn’t ended up until today, but it is up to us to help break those barriers for the greater good. Talent, skill and moxie isn’t based on the color of your skin.

8 thoughts on “Who Was the Architect to the Stars?”

  1. TheIllestBlanco

    Ancient problems require modern solutions!

  2. Thinkpad200

    He did some great house designs that really had an early California vibe. But most architects learn to sketch upside down with clients. (Source: am architect)

  3. pobody

    I mean, that may have been a contributing factor, but it was not uncommon for draftsmen to learn to write upside down. They would frequently be in design meetings and be on the wrong side of the table and have to do that.

    You also wouldn’t do that for any significant drafting/revisions. You would do that on a drafting table, and anyone who has seen one knows they are tilted up. Nobody uses a drafting table from the wrong side.

  4. Edensired

    It took me a minute to understand this meant he was across the table from them drawing.

  5. papabear570

    Sounds like his clients were asswipes

  6. TheDalaiLahma

    Hello. Architect here. Not sure how much this has to do with race. Possible, but not certain. Most architects have some ability to sketch upside down because you’re not going to be sat right next to the client while presenting ideas, it’s more likely that you’ll be sat across from them. Of course you can sketch right side up but sketching upside down removes some paper shuffling.

  7. ezalexander3

    I don’t think racism is the only reason an architect would draw upside down. However, on the AIA gold medal award page for him that’s the reason it states HE drew upside down. I’m sure there are many advantages. First and foremost this guy was a great architect building buildings for a mostly white clientele- this guy was designing masterpieces and knocking down doors –

Leave a Comment