Главная » Искусство и развлечения » Кино » Кто был архитектором звезд?
Архитектор Пола Уильямса

Кто был архитектором звезд?

Хотя рабство закончилось в 1865 году, неудивительно, что цветным людям дали более короткий конец палки, особенно когда дело дошло до карьерного роста и места в центре внимания. Но был один человек, который сломал барьеры в архитектурной индустрии, проложив путь своим собратьям-афроамериканцам.

Пол Уильямс был первым афроамериканцем, членом Американского института архитекторов. Он был также известен под прозвищем «Архитектор к звездам». спроектировав более 3,000 строений по всей территории США, включая дома для Голливуда. большие парики.

Кто такой Пол Уильямс?

Пол Ревер Уильямс родился 18 февраля 1894 года в Лос-Анджелесе, штат Калифорния. Его отец переехал в Лос-Анджелес из Мемфиса, чтобы начать фруктовый бизнес, но заболел туберкулезом и скончался, когда Полу было всего 2 года. Его мать умерла через два года от той же болезни. В 4 года осиротел. Он и его брат Честер-младший какое-то время находились в приемной семье, но Пол был усыновлен КД и Эмили Кларксон. (Источник: Культура, внесенная в черный список)

Кларксоны очень поддерживали Пола. Они дали ему лучшее образование, которое могли дать, и даже поддержали его интерес к искусству. Он был единственным афроамериканцем в начальной школе своего района. (Источник: Культура, внесенная в черный список)

Когда Пол учился в старшей школе, друг семьи, который работал в строительной отрасли, повлиял на него, чтобы он изучил геометрию и физику, чтобы поступить в архитектуру. В конце концов, Пол был невероятно талантлив. К сожалению, не все поощряли его идти по этому пути. Его консультант отговорил его от продолжения карьеры из-за его цвета кожи. В те времена о чернокожем архитекторе было просто неслыханно. (Источник: Культура, внесенная в черный список)

Излишне говорить, что Пол Уильямс не прислушивался к окружавшему его негативу и все равно решил заняться архитектурой. К 1921 году он стал дипломированным архитектором и работал под руководством Джона Г. Остина. К 1923 году он открыл свою собственную фирму, а позже служил архитектором военно-морского флота США во время Второй мировой войны. (Источник: LA Conservancy)

Пол написал в эссе для American Magazine под названием «Я негр»; Я хотел подтвердить все свои способности. Я хотел приобрести новые способности. Я хотел доказать, что я как личность заслужил место в мире. Доказывать всему остальному миру, что нельзя ограничивать себя цветом своей кожи. (Источник: Fast Company)

Почему его позвали Архитектор к звездам?

Одной из причин, по которой архитектурный стиль Пола Уильямса выделялся, было то, что он включил в проект личность и характер своих клиентов. В те дни у него действительно не было роскоши настаивать на своем пути, поэтому он решил пойти другим путем. (Источник: PBS)

После проектирования нажать кнопку дом что собой представляет Фрэнк Синатра и будучи показан на телевидении, Пол был очень занят проектированием домов для голливудских знаменитостей. Иметь Пол Уильямс дом тогда стал трендом. (Источник: PBS)

Среди других знаменитостей, у которых был дом Пола Уильямса; Люсиль Болл, Билл Робинсон, Лон Чейни, Барбара Стэнвик, Дези Арназ и Тайрон Пауэр.

Наследие

Влияние Пола Ревира Уильямса на каждого начинающего архитектора цвета невероятно. Его настойчивость, решимость и стойкость - вот что помогло ему преодолеть препятствия, с которыми он столкнулся. Расизм и дискриминация не прекратились до сегодняшнего дня, но наша задача - помочь преодолеть эти барьеры во имя всеобщего блага. Талант, умение и смелость не зависят от цвета вашей кожи.

Оставьте комментарий

Paul Williams Architect

Who Was the Architect to the Stars?

Though slavery ended in 1865, it is not a surprise that people of color have been given the shorter end of the stick especially when it came to career growth and a spot in the lime light. But there was one man who broke barriers in the architectural industry that paved the way for his fellow African Americans.

Paul Williams was the first African American member of the American Institute of Architects. He was also known by the nickname “Architect to the Stars” having designed more than 3,000 structures all over the US including homes for Hollywood big wigs.

Who is Paul Williams?

Paul Revere Williams was born on February 18, 1894 in Los Angeles, California. His father moved to LA from Memphis to start a fruit business but contracted tuberculosis and passed away when Paul was just 2. His mother died two years later of the same illness. At the age of 4, he was orphaned. He and his brother Chester Jr. was in the foster care system for a while, but Paul was adopted by C.D. and Emily Clarkson. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

The Clarksons were very supportive of Paul. They gave him the best education they could provide and even supported his interest in the arts. He was the only African-American in the elementary school in his district. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

When Paul was in high school, a friend of the family who was in the construction industry influenced him to study geometry and physics to get into Architecture. After all, Paul was incredibly talented. Sadly, not everyone encouraged him to take this path. His guidance counselor discouraged him from pursuing the career because of his color. Back in those days a black architect was simply unheard of. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

Needless to say, Paul Williams didn’t listen to the negativity around him and decided to take up architecture anyway. By 1921 he became a certified architect and worked under John G. Austin. By the year 1923, he opened his own firm and later on served as the architect to the US Navy in World War II. (Source: LA Conservancy)

Paul wrote in an essay for American Magazine entitled “I Am A Negro”; I wanted to vindicate every ability I had. I wanted to acquire new abilities. I wanted to prove, that I, as an individual deserved a place in the world. Proving to the rest of the world that you shouldn’t limit yourself to the color of your skin. (Source: Fast Company)

Why was he called the Architect to the Stars?

One of the reasons Paul Williams’ architectural style stood out was because he incorporated the personality and character of his clients to the project. In those days, he didn’t really have the luxury to insist on his way – so he decided to go through a different route. (Source: PBS)

After designing the push-button home of the Frank Sinatra and being featured on television, Paul got quite busy designing homes for Hollywood celebrities. Having a Paul Williams home then became a trend. (Source: PBS)

Other celebrities who had a Paul Williams home include; Lucille Ball, Bill Robinson, Lon Chaney, Barbara Stanwyck, Desi Arnaz, and Tyrone Power.

The Legacy

The impact Paul Revere Williams had on every aspiring architect of color is beyond amazing. His perseverance, determination and resiliency is what made him overcome the hurdles he has faced. Racism and discrimination hasn’t ended up until today, but it is up to us to help break those barriers for the greater good. Talent, skill and moxie isn’t based on the color of your skin.

8 thoughts on “Who Was the Architect to the Stars?”

  1. TheIllestBlanco

    Ancient problems require modern solutions!

  2. Thinkpad200

    He did some great house designs that really had an early California vibe. But most architects learn to sketch upside down with clients. (Source: am architect)

  3. pobody

    I mean, that may have been a contributing factor, but it was not uncommon for draftsmen to learn to write upside down. They would frequently be in design meetings and be on the wrong side of the table and have to do that.

    You also wouldn’t do that for any significant drafting/revisions. You would do that on a drafting table, and anyone who has seen one knows they are tilted up. Nobody uses a drafting table from the wrong side.

  4. Edensired

    It took me a minute to understand this meant he was across the table from them drawing.

  5. papabear570

    Sounds like his clients were asswipes

  6. TheDalaiLahma

    Hello. Architect here. Not sure how much this has to do with race. Possible, but not certain. Most architects have some ability to sketch upside down because you’re not going to be sat right next to the client while presenting ideas, it’s more likely that you’ll be sat across from them. Of course you can sketch right side up but sketching upside down removes some paper shuffling.

  7. ezalexander3

    I don’t think racism is the only reason an architect would draw upside down. However, on the AIA gold medal award page for him that’s the reason it states HE drew upside down. I’m sure there are many advantages. First and foremost this guy was a great architect building buildings for a mostly white clientele- this guy was designing masterpieces and knocking down doors –

Leave a Comment