保罗·威廉姆斯(Paul Williams)建筑师

谁是明星的建筑师?

尽管奴隶制于1865年结束,但有色人种的身手短短并不奇怪,特别是在职业发展和风头正劲的时候。 但是,有一个人打破了建筑业的壁垒,为他的非裔美国人铺平了道路。

保罗·威廉姆斯(Paul Williams)是美国建筑师学会的第一位非洲裔美国人。 他也以“星际建筑师”的绰号而闻名。 在美国各地设计了3,000多个建筑,包括好莱坞的房屋 大假发。

保罗·威廉姆斯是谁?

保罗·里维尔·威廉姆斯(Paul Revere Williams)于18年1894月2日出生于加利福尼亚州洛杉矶。 他的父亲从孟菲斯搬到洛杉矶,从事水果生意,但患上了结核病,在保罗4岁时就去世了。他的母亲在两年后因同样的疾病去世。 XNUMX岁时,他成了孤儿。 他和他的兄弟小切斯特(Chester Jr.)曾在寄养系统中待过一段时间,但保罗被CD和艾米丽·克拉克森(Emily Clarkson)收养。 (来源: 黑名单文化)

克拉克森一家非常支持保罗。 他们给了他最好的教育,他们可以提供甚至支持他对艺术的兴趣。 他是所在地区小学中唯一的非裔美国人。 (来源: 黑名单文化)

保罗在读高中时,一家建筑业的家庭朋友影响他学习几何和物理,以攻读建筑学。 毕竟,保罗很有才华。 可悲的是,并非所有人都鼓励他走这条路。 他的指导顾问因他的肤色而使他不愿从事该职业。 那时,黑人建筑师简直是闻所未闻。 (来源: 黑名单文化)

毋庸置疑,保罗·威廉姆斯(Paul Williams)不听周围的消极情绪,因此决定采用建筑。 到1921年,他成为一名认证建筑师,并在约翰·奥斯丁(John G. Austin)的领导下工作。 到1923年,他开设了自己的公司,后来在第二次世界大战中担任美国海军的建筑师。 (来源: 洛杉矶保护区)

保罗在《美国杂志》的一篇文章中写道:“我是黑人”; 我想证明自己拥有的一切能力。 我想获得新的能力。 我想证明,我作为一个人应得的一席之地。 向世界其他地方证明,您不应该将自己局限于皮肤的颜色。 (来源: 快公司)

Why Was He Called The Architect To The Stars?

保罗·威廉姆斯(Paul Williams)的建筑风格脱颖而出的原因之一是,他将客户的个性和特色融入了该项目。 在那些日子里,他真的没有奢侈地坚持自己的方式–因此,他决定走另一条路。 (来源: PBS)

经过设计 按钮 的家 练习 保罗·弗兰克·辛纳屈(Frank Sinatra)并在电视上露面,保罗忙于为好莱坞名人设计房屋。 有一个 保罗·威廉斯 回家便成为一种趋势。 (来源: PBS)

曾有保罗·威廉姆斯家的其他名人包括: Lucille Ball,Bill Robinson,Lon Chaney,Barbara Stanwyck,Desi Arnaz和Tyrone Power。

传统

保罗·里维尔·威廉姆斯(Paul Revere Williams)对每位有抱负的色彩建筑师产生的影响都是惊人的。 他的毅力,决心和毅力使他克服了自己所面临的障碍。 种族主义和歧视直到今天才结束,但我们有责任帮助打破这些障碍,实现更大的利益。 才华,技巧和魅力不取决于您的肤色。

8 thoughts on “Who Was The Architect To The Stars?”

  1. 白雪公主

    古老的问题需要现代的解决方案!

  2. Thinkpad200

    他做了一些很棒的房屋设计,确实具有加利福尼亚早期的氛围。 但是大多数架构师都学会了与客户倒挂草图。 (来源:上午建筑师)

  3. 我的意思是,这可能是一个促成因素,但制图员学会颠倒书写并不罕见。 他们经常会参加设计会议,并且摆在桌子的错误一边,必须这样做。

    对于任何重要的草稿/修订,您也不会这样做。 您可以在制图台上进行操作,任何看到过该文件的人都知道他们已经倾斜了。 没有人从错误的角度使用绘图表。

  4. 受教育的

    我花了一点时间才明白这意味着他正站在他们对面的桌子上画画。

  5. papabear570

    听起来像他的客户被刺穿

  6. 达赖喇嘛

    你好。 建筑师在这里。 不确定这与种族有多大关系。 可能,但不确定。 大多数建筑师都有一定的能力将草图颠倒过来,因为当您提出想法时,您不会坐在客户旁边,而您更有可能坐在他们对面。 当然,您可以朝上画草图,但倒置草图可以消除一些纸排。

  7. ezalexander3

    我不认为种族主义是建筑师倒挂的唯一原因。 但是,在他的AIA金牌奖页面上,这就是他说他倒挂的原因。 我敢肯定有很多好处。 首先,这个家伙是一位伟大的建筑师,主要为白人客户建造建筑物-这个家伙正在设计杰作并敲门-

发表评论

Home » Arts & Entertainment » Movies » Who Was The Architect To The Stars?
Paul Williams Architect

Who Was The Architect To The Stars?

Though slavery ended in 1865, it is not a surprise that people of color have been given the shorter end of the stick especially when it came to career growth and a spot in the lime light. But there was one man who broke barriers in the architectural industry that paved the way for his fellow African Americans.

Paul Williams was the first African American member of the American Institute of Architects. He was also known by the nickname “Architect to the Stars” having designed more than 3,000 structures all over the US including homes for Hollywood big wigs.

Who is Paul Williams?

Paul Revere Williams was born on February 18, 1894 in Los Angeles, California. His father moved to LA from Memphis to start a fruit business but contracted tuberculosis and passed away when Paul was just 2. His mother died two years later of the same illness. At the age of 4, he was orphaned. He and his brother Chester Jr. was in the foster care system for a while, but Paul was adopted by C.D. and Emily Clarkson. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

The Clarksons were very supportive of Paul. They gave him the best education they could provide and even supported his interest in the arts. He was the only African-American in the elementary school in his district. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

When Paul was in high school, a friend of the family who was in the construction industry influenced him to study geometry and physics to get into Architecture. After all, Paul was incredibly talented. Sadly, not everyone encouraged him to take this path. His guidance counselor discouraged him from pursuing the career because of his color. Back in those days a black architect was simply unheard of. (Source: Black Listed Culture)

Needless to say, Paul Williams didn’t listen to the negativity around him and decided to take up architecture anyway. By 1921 he became a certified architect and worked under John G. Austin. By the year 1923, he opened his own firm and later on served as the architect to the US Navy in World War II. (Source: LA Conservancy)

Paul wrote in an essay for American Magazine entitled “I Am A Negro”; I wanted to vindicate every ability I had. I wanted to acquire new abilities. I wanted to prove, that I, as an individual deserved a place in the world. Proving to the rest of the world that you shouldn’t limit yourself to the color of your skin. (Source: Fast Company)

Why Was He Called The Architect To The Stars?

One of the reasons Paul Williams’ architectural style stood out was because he incorporated the personality and character of his clients to the project. In those days, he didn’t really have the luxury to insist on his way – so he decided to go through a different route. (Source: PBS)

After designing the push-button home of the Frank Sinatra and being featured on television, Paul got quite busy designing homes for Hollywood celebrities. Having a Paul Williams home then became a trend. (Source: PBS)

Other celebrities who had a Paul Williams home include; Lucille Ball, Bill Robinson, Lon Chaney, Barbara Stanwyck, Desi Arnaz, and Tyrone Power.

The Legacy

The impact Paul Revere Williams had on every aspiring architect of color is beyond amazing. His perseverance, determination and resiliency is what made him overcome the hurdles he has faced. Racism and discrimination hasn’t ended up until today, but it is up to us to help break those barriers for the greater good. Talent, skill and moxie isn’t based on the color of your skin.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: