梅西百货的两位共同所有人/创始人之一与他的妻子一起在泰坦尼克号去世,因为他拒绝在救助妇女和儿童之前登上救援船。 他的妻子之所以选择留下,是因为她不想放弃丈夫,所以他们俩都在泰坦尼克号上一起丧生。

梅西百货的所有者死于泰坦尼克号。 他拒绝在妇女和儿童面前上救生艇,他的妻子拒绝在没有他的情况下离开。 她说:“我不会与丈夫分开。 随着我们的生活,我们也会一起死。” 最后一次看到他们是手挽着手站在甲板上。

Isidor Straus(6年1845月15日至1912年XNUMX月XNUMX日)是德国出生的犹太人,美国商人,政治家,是梅西百货公司的共同所有人,以及他的兄弟内森。 他还担任美国众议院议员一年多。 他与他的妻子艾达(Ida)在客船RMS泰坦尼克号沉没中丧生。

内战之后,施特劳斯搬到了纽约,伊西多尔的父亲拉撒路在这里说服梅西百货的创始人罗兰·侯赛·梅西(Lowland Hussey Macy)允许L. Straus&Sons在他的商店地下室开设一个陶器部门。

Isidor Straus在L. Straus&Sons工作,后来成为Macy's的玻璃和中国部门。 1888年,他和兄弟内森·斯特劳斯(Nathan Straus)成为梅西百货(Macy)的合伙人。 继续阅读(2分钟阅读)

关于“梅西百货的两个共同所有者/创始人之一,与他的妻子一起死于泰坦尼克号,是因为他拒绝在救助妇女和儿童之前登上救援船,对此有13个想法。 他的妻子之所以选择留下来,是因为她不想放弃丈夫,所以他们俩都在泰坦尼克号上一起死了。”

  1. 砂锅砂锅2

    在1997年的电影中,他们被展示为在房间泛滥时躺在床上。

  2. 严重的缺糖

    在影片中,他们应该被描绘成在沉船的最后蒙太奇期间,一对年长的夫妇在床上拥抱。

  3. 轻轻地跳动

    >在沉没的当晚,在施特劳斯夫人的女仆艾伦·伯德(Ellen Bird)的陪伴下,人们发现伊西多和艾达站在8号救生艇附近。 尽管负责救生艇的官员愿意让这对老年夫妇与伯德小姐一起登上救生艇,但伊西多·施特劳斯拒绝走,因为船上还有妇女和儿童。 他敦促妻子上船,但她拒绝了,说:“我们在一起生活了很多年。 你去哪里,我就去哪里。” 那些已经在8号救生艇上的人以及当时在船甲板上的许多其他人都见证了她的话。 最后一次见到Isidor和Ida并肩站在甲板上。
    >
    >尽管伊西多的尸体已经康复,但艾达的尸体却没有。 布朗克斯伍德劳恩公墓的斯特劳斯陵墓的纪念碑专门献给伊西多和艾达。 它的题词写着:“许多水无法消灭爱,洪水也不会淹没它。”(所罗门之歌8:7)

    (摘自[维基百科](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ida_Straus))

  4. emmasdad01

    令人难以置信的无私

  5. 苹果苹果

    在奥兰多的《泰坦尼克号体验》中,您第一次进入时会被赋予“泰坦尼克号乘客”的名字,然后最后您会了解到自己的命运。 我找到了这个人,我以为我会幸免,因为他是头等舱乘客,我很震惊地发现他是谁以及最后发生了什么。

  6. carlfox1983

    实际上,我在加拿大首映的音乐剧《泰坦尼克号》中饰演了他。 演出停止巡回演出后不久,我的高中就以某种方式获得了版权。 快结束时我有很好的二重奏。

  7. 80%

    想象一下贝佐斯,马斯克或其他亿万富翁这样做吗? 没有机会。

  8. 好伤心但也很甜蜜。 我总是在电影的那部分哭泣。 我也不能离开我的丈夫,直到最后我都会和他在一起!

  9. gratow62

    昨天观看了关于这对夫妇的纪录片-艾达(Ida)和伊西多·施特劳斯(Isidor Strauss)。 她把救生艇上的座位和皮大衣交给了女仆,这样她就可以生存。 在悲剧发生之前和之后看起来都不错。

  10. 早餐Beerz

    他们一定已经看到亚马逊导致实体店零售业崩溃,并决定立即终止。

  11. 骷髅幽灵96

    他们的曾孙女是公主王!

  12. 断眼3

    就像*《贤士的礼物》 *,但它们很富有,每个人都死了

发表评论

One of the 2 co-owners/founders of Macy’s died on the Titanic, along with his wife, because he refused to board rescue ships before women and children were helped. His wife chose to stay behind because she did not want to abandon her husband, so they both died together aboard the Titanic.

The owner of Macy’s died on the Titanic. He refused to get in a lifeboat before women and children, and his wife refused to leave without him. She said, “I will not be separated from my husband. As we have lived, so will we die, together.” They were last seen standing on the deck, arm in arm.

Isidor Straus (February 6, 1845 – April 15, 1912) was a German-born, Jewish, American businessman, politician, and co-owner of Macy’s department store, along with his brother Nathan. He also served for just over a year as a member of the United States House of Representatives. He died with his wife, Ida, in the sinking of the passenger ship RMS Titanic.

After the Civil War, the Straus moved to New York City, where Lazarus the father of Isidor, convinced Rowland Hussey Macy, founder of Macy’s, to allow L. Straus & Sons to open a crockery department in the basement of his store.

Isidor Straus worked at L. Straus & Sons, which became the glass and china department at Macy’s. In 1888, he and brother Nathan Straus became partners of Macy… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

13 thoughts on “One of the 2 co-owners/founders of Macy’s died on the Titanic, along with his wife, because he refused to board rescue ships before women and children were helped. His wife chose to stay behind because she did not want to abandon her husband, so they both died together aboard the Titanic.”

  1. Assholecasserole2

    In the 1997 movie they are shown laying in their bed while their room floods.

  2. seriouslynotawendigo

    In the film they’re supposed to be depicted as the older couple cuddling in the bed during the final montage of the ship sinking.

  3. gentlybeepingheart

    >On the night of the sinking, Isidor and Ida were seen standing near Lifeboat No. 8 in the company of Mrs. Straus’s maid, Ellen Bird. Although the officer in charge of the lifeboat was willing to allow the elderly couple to board the lifeboat with Miss Bird, Isidor Straus refused to go while there were women and children still remaining on the ship. He urged his wife to board, but she refused, saying, “We have lived together for many years. Where you go, I go.” Her words were witnessed by those already in Lifeboat No. 8 as well as many others who were on the boat deck at the time. Isidor and Ida were last seen standing arm in arm on the deck.
    >
    >Although Isidor’s body was recovered, Ida’s body was not. A cenotaph at the Straus Mausoleum at Woodlawn Cemetery in the Bronx is dedicated to Isidor and Ida together. Its inscription reads: “Many waters cannot quench love – neither can the floods drown it.”(Song of Solomon 8:7)

    (From [Wikipedia](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ida_Straus))

  4. emmasdad01

    Incredible selflessness

  5. applepwnz

    At the Titanic Experience in Orlando, you’re given the name of a Titanic Passenger when you first enter, and then at the end you get to read about your fate. I got this guy and I assumed that I would survive seeing as he was a first class passenger, I was pretty shocked to find out who he was and what happened at the end.

  6. carlfox1983

    I actually played him in the Canadian premiere of Titanic the Musical. Somehow my high school landed the rights shortly after the show stopped touring. I had a good duet towards the end.

  7. 80percentofme

    Imagine a Bezos, Musk or any other billionaire doing this? Not a chance.

  8. itsmegpie

    So sad but also sweet. I always cry at that part in the movie. I wouldn’t be able to leave my husband either, I’d be there with him til the end!

  9. gratow62

    Watched a documentary yesterday about this couple – Ida and Isidor Strauss. She gave her seat in the lifeboat and her fur coat to her maid so she could survive. Seemed a nice family before and after the tragedy.

  10. BreakfastBeerz

    They must have seen Amazon leading to the collapse of brick and mortar retails coming and just decided to end it now.

  11. skeletonspook96

    And their great-great-granddaughter is King Princess!

  12. BrokenEye3

    It’s like *The Gift of the Magi* except they’re rich and everyone dies

Leave a Comment