توفي أحد مالكي / مؤسسي Macy's على متن التايتانيك ، مع زوجته ، لأنه رفض ركوب سفن الإنقاذ قبل مساعدة النساء والأطفال. اختارت زوجته البقاء في الخلف لأنها لم ترغب في التخلي عن زوجها ، فماتا معًا على متن السفينة تايتانيك.

مات صاحب Macy's على تيتانيك. رفض ركوب قارب النجاة أمام النساء والأطفال ، ورفضت زوجته المغادرة بدونه. قالت: لن أنفصل عن زوجي. كما عشنا ، سنموت معًا ". شوهدوا لآخر مرة يقفون على سطح السفينة ، وذراعهم في ذراع.

كان إيزيدور ستراوس (6 فبراير 1845-15 أبريل 1912) رجل أعمال ألماني المولد ويهوديًا أمريكيًا وسياسيًا وشريكًا في ملكية متجر ماسي مع شقيقه ناثان. كما شغل منصب عضو في مجلس النواب بالولايات المتحدة لأكثر من عام بقليل. مات مع زوجته إيدا في غرق سفينة الركاب آر إم إس تيتانيك.

بعد الحرب الأهلية ، انتقل ستراوس إلى مدينة نيويورك ، حيث أقنع لعازر ، والد إيسيدور ، رولاند هوسي ميسي ، مؤسس شركة Macy's ، بالسماح لـ L. Straus & Sons بفتح قسم للأواني الفخارية في الطابق السفلي من متجره.

عمل Isidor Straus في L. Straus & Sons ، التي أصبحت قسم الزجاج والصيني في Macy's. في عام 1888 ، أصبح هو وشقيقه ناثان ستراوس شريكين في Macy ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 2 دقائق)

13 فكرة حول "توفي أحد مالكي / مؤسسي Macy's على متن السفينة تايتانيك ، مع زوجته ، لأنه رفض ركوب سفن الإنقاذ قبل مساعدة النساء والأطفال. اختارت زوجته البقاء في الخلف لأنها لم ترغب في التخلي عن زوجها ، لذلك مات كلاهما معًا على متن السفينة تايتانيك ".

  1. Assholecasserole2

    في فيلم 1997 ، ظهروا وهم مستلقون على فراشهم بينما تفيض غرفتهم.

  2. على محمل الجد

    في الفيلم من المفترض أن يتم تصويرهما على أنهما الزوجان الأكبر سنًا يحتضنان السرير أثناء المونتاج الأخير لغرق السفينة.

  3. بهدوء القلب

    > في ليلة الغرق ، شوهد إيزيدور وإيدا يقفان بالقرب من قارب النجاة رقم 8 بصحبة خادمة السيدة ستراوس ، إلين بيرد. على الرغم من أن الضابط المسؤول عن قارب النجاة كان على استعداد للسماح للزوجين المسنين بالصعود على متن قارب النجاة مع الآنسة بيرد ، رفض إيسيدور شتراوس الذهاب بينما كان هناك نساء وأطفال لا يزالون على متن السفينة. حث زوجته على الصعود لكنها رفضت قائلة: "لقد عشنا معًا لسنوات عديدة. أين تذهب ، أنا ذاهب ". وشهدت كلماتها من قبل أولئك الموجودين بالفعل في قارب النجاة رقم 8 بالإضافة إلى العديد من الأشخاص الآخرين الذين كانوا على سطح القارب في ذلك الوقت. شوهد إيسيدور وإيدا آخر مرة يقفان بذراعهما على سطح السفينة.
    >
    > بالرغم من العثور على جثة إيسيدور ، لم يتم العثور على جثة إيدا. نصب تذكاري في ضريح شتراوس في مقبرة وودلون في برونكس مخصص لإيزيدور وإيدا معًا. يقول نقشها: "الكثير من المياه لا تستطيع أن تطفئ المحبة ولا تستطيع السيول أن تغرقها" (نشيد الأنشاد 8: 7)

    (من [ويكيبيديا] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ida_Straus))

  4. emmasdad01

    إيثار لا يصدق

  5. applepwnz

    في تجربة تيتانيك في أورلاندو ، تحصل على اسم مسافر تيتانيك عند دخولك لأول مرة ، ثم في النهاية يمكنك أن تقرأ عن مصيرك. حصلت على هذا الرجل وافترضت أنني سأنجو من رؤيته لأنه كان راكبًا من الدرجة الأولى ، لقد صُدمت جدًا لمعرفة من كان وماذا حدث في النهاية.

  6. امين

    لقد لعبت دوره في العرض الكندي الأول لفيلم تايتانيك الموسيقي. بطريقة ما حصلت مدرستي الثانوية على الحقوق بعد فترة وجيزة من توقف العرض عن التجول. كان لدي دويتو جيد في النهاية.

  7. نوتمرلو

    رحلة حقيقية أو موت.

  8. 80 في المئة

    تخيل بيزوس أو ماسك أو أي ملياردير آخر يفعل هذا؟ ليست فرصة.

  9. إيتسميغبي

    حزين جدا ولكن أيضا حلوة. أنا أبكي دائمًا في هذا الجزء من الفيلم. لن أكون قادرًا على ترك زوجي أيضًا ، سأكون هناك حتى النهاية!

  10. 62

    شاهدت فيلمًا وثائقيًا بالأمس عن هذين الزوجين - إيدا وإيزيدور شتراوس. أعطت مقعدها في قارب النجاة ومعطف الفرو لخادمتها حتى تتمكن من البقاء على قيد الحياة. بدت عائلة لطيفة قبل وبعد المأساة.

  11. الفطور

    لا بد أنهم رأوا موقع أمازون يؤدي إلى انهيار محلات بيع الطوب وقذائف الهاون ، وقرروا إنهاء ذلك الآن

  12. الحلقة 96

    وحفيدة حفيدتهم هي الأميرة الملك!

  13. بروكيني 3

    إنها مثل * هدية المجوس * إلا أنهم أغنياء ويموت الجميع

اترك تعليق

One of the 2 co-owners/founders of Macy’s died on the Titanic, along with his wife, because he refused to board rescue ships before women and children were helped. His wife chose to stay behind because she did not want to abandon her husband, so they both died together aboard the Titanic.

The owner of Macy’s died on the Titanic. He refused to get in a lifeboat before women and children, and his wife refused to leave without him. She said, “I will not be separated from my husband. As we have lived, so will we die, together.” They were last seen standing on the deck, arm in arm.

Isidor Straus (February 6, 1845 – April 15, 1912) was a German-born, Jewish, American businessman, politician, and co-owner of Macy’s department store, along with his brother Nathan. He also served for just over a year as a member of the United States House of Representatives. He died with his wife, Ida, in the sinking of the passenger ship RMS Titanic.

After the Civil War, the Straus moved to New York City, where Lazarus the father of Isidor, convinced Rowland Hussey Macy, founder of Macy’s, to allow L. Straus & Sons to open a crockery department in the basement of his store.

Isidor Straus worked at L. Straus & Sons, which became the glass and china department at Macy’s. In 1888, he and brother Nathan Straus became partners of Macy… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

13 thoughts on “One of the 2 co-owners/founders of Macy’s died on the Titanic, along with his wife, because he refused to board rescue ships before women and children were helped. His wife chose to stay behind because she did not want to abandon her husband, so they both died together aboard the Titanic.”

  1. Assholecasserole2

    In the 1997 movie they are shown laying in their bed while their room floods.

  2. seriouslynotawendigo

    In the film they’re supposed to be depicted as the older couple cuddling in the bed during the final montage of the ship sinking.

  3. gentlybeepingheart

    >On the night of the sinking, Isidor and Ida were seen standing near Lifeboat No. 8 in the company of Mrs. Straus’s maid, Ellen Bird. Although the officer in charge of the lifeboat was willing to allow the elderly couple to board the lifeboat with Miss Bird, Isidor Straus refused to go while there were women and children still remaining on the ship. He urged his wife to board, but she refused, saying, “We have lived together for many years. Where you go, I go.” Her words were witnessed by those already in Lifeboat No. 8 as well as many others who were on the boat deck at the time. Isidor and Ida were last seen standing arm in arm on the deck.
    >
    >Although Isidor’s body was recovered, Ida’s body was not. A cenotaph at the Straus Mausoleum at Woodlawn Cemetery in the Bronx is dedicated to Isidor and Ida together. Its inscription reads: “Many waters cannot quench love – neither can the floods drown it.”(Song of Solomon 8:7)

    (From [Wikipedia](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ida_Straus))

  4. emmasdad01

    Incredible selflessness

  5. applepwnz

    At the Titanic Experience in Orlando, you’re given the name of a Titanic Passenger when you first enter, and then at the end you get to read about your fate. I got this guy and I assumed that I would survive seeing as he was a first class passenger, I was pretty shocked to find out who he was and what happened at the end.

  6. carlfox1983

    I actually played him in the Canadian premiere of Titanic the Musical. Somehow my high school landed the rights shortly after the show stopped touring. I had a good duet towards the end.

  7. 80percentofme

    Imagine a Bezos, Musk or any other billionaire doing this? Not a chance.

  8. itsmegpie

    So sad but also sweet. I always cry at that part in the movie. I wouldn’t be able to leave my husband either, I’d be there with him til the end!

  9. gratow62

    Watched a documentary yesterday about this couple – Ida and Isidor Strauss. She gave her seat in the lifeboat and her fur coat to her maid so she could survive. Seemed a nice family before and after the tragedy.

  10. BreakfastBeerz

    They must have seen Amazon leading to the collapse of brick and mortar retails coming and just decided to end it now.

  11. skeletonspook96

    And their great-great-granddaughter is King Princess!

  12. BrokenEye3

    It’s like *The Gift of the Magi* except they’re rich and everyone dies

Leave a Comment