首页 » 商业与工业 » 喷气发动机如何扑灭科威特的石油火灾?
大风

喷气发动机如何扑灭科威特的石油火灾?

石油火灾通常是由意外或自然事件(如闪电)引起的。 在极少数情况下——纵火。 当来自某个来源的石油或天然气被点燃时,就会发生这种情况。 在家里,我们知道扑灭油脂火灾的最佳方法是窒息火焰。 但是你如何大规模地解决这个问题? 比如海湾战争期间科威特油田火灾的案例。

Big Wind 是一个装有米格涡轮喷气发动机的油箱,通过每分钟泵送约 XNUMX 加仑的水来切断油进入空气的流动。 黑烟慢慢消散,火被扑灭。

大风背后的历史

1991年海湾战争期间,伊拉克军队在科威特油田引爆了炸药。 这点燃了几口油井,引起高达 300 英尺的火焰。 30 周以来,大火向沙漠空气中释放了 5,000 吨黑烟。 如果不理会,大火可能会持续一百年。 (来源: 科威特火灾)

阿拉伯人拥有的匈牙利公司 MB Drilling 开发了 Big Wind 来帮助灭火。 它于 1991 年在距离布达佩斯 50 英里的一个小镇上制造。 使用米格喷气发动机执行此类任务的概念并不新鲜。 一段时间以来,俄罗斯人一直在使用米格发动机来灭火和清除积雪。 (来源: 汽车和司机)

他们是如何运送大风的?

匈牙利的油井火灾本应使用大风,但由于海湾战争和科威特的紧急求助,这辆巨大的坦克被运往中东。

Big Wind 基本上是 T-34 坦克和 MiG-21 之间的混合体,重约 46 吨。 这个巨大的坦克被装载在 C-13 货轮上并飞往科威特。 (来源: 汽车和司机)

大风是如何运作的?

大风的概念很简单——切断石油供应以灭火。 工作人员将坦克移到离火更近的地方,火越大,他们应该离火越近。 一旦它们处于最佳位置,它们就会开始将水泵入发动机的排气管中,然后打开喷气动力。

发动机以非常快的速度喷出浓密的水流。 这会切断油,消除燃料源。 最终,将火扑灭。

大风在同一位置再停留 20 到 30 分钟,以冷却滚烫的油山。 只有当火被扑灭后,石油工人才能开始封井。 (来源: 我们是全能的)

谁驾大风?

在科威特火灾发生时,Big Wind 由三名船员处理。 司机在油箱内,他负责转向和停止车辆。 位于后舱的控制器负责启动水泵和发动机。 最后,消防队长负责通过远程控制从 15 英尺外发出命令。 驾驶Big Wind的三名船员是当时为MB Drilling Company工作的匈牙利消防员。 (来源: 美联社新闻)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » Business & Industrial » How Did Jet Engines Put Out Oil Fires in Kuwait?
Big Wind

How Did Jet Engines Put Out Oil Fires in Kuwait?

Oil fires are often started by accident or natural events like lightning. On rare occasions – arson. They occur when the oil or gas from a source get ignited. At home, we know the best way to put out a grease fire is to suffocate the flames. But how do you fix this on a large scale? Such as the case of the Kuwait Oil Field Fires during the Gulf War.

Big Wind, a tank with a MiG turbojet engine mounted on it, cuts off the flow of oil into the air by pumping about a thousand gallons of water per minute. The black smoke slowly eases down, and the fire is put out.

The History Behind Big Wind

In 1991, during the gulf war, the Iraqi Army set off explosives in the oil fields of Kuwait. This ignited several oil wells which caused flames that reached up to 300 feet. For 30 weeks, the fire released 5,000 tons of black smoke into the desert air. If left alone, the fires could have lasted for a hundred years. (Source: Fires of Kuwait)

The Arab-owned Hungarian company, MB Drilling developed Big Wind to help put out fires. It was made in 1991 in a town 50 miles away fro Budapest. The concept of using a MiG jet engine for this kind of task is not new. The Russians had been using MiG engines to blow out fires and clear snow for a while. (Source: Car and Driver)

How Did They Transport Big Wind?

Big wind was supposed to be used in the oil well fires in Hungary, but because of the Gulf War and Kuwait’s emergent need for help, the massive tank was transported to the middle east instead.

Big Wind is basically a cross between a T-34 Tank and a MiG-21 and it weighed about 46 tons. This massive tank was loaded on a C-13 cargo carrier and flown to Kuwait. (Source: Car and Driver)

How Did Big Wind Work?

The concept of Big Wind was simple – cut of the oil supply to kill the fire. A crew moves the tank closer to the fire, the larger it is, the closer they should get. Once they are in an optimal position, they will start pumping water into the exhaust of the engines then turn on the jet power.

The engine spews thick streams of water at a very fast rate. This cuts through the oil, eliminating the fuel-source. Eventually, smothering the fire.

Big Wind stays in the same position for about another 20 to 30 minutes to cool down the hot mountain of oil. Only when the fire is put out, can the oil workers start capping the wells. (Source: We Are The Mighty)

Who Drove Big Wind?

Big Wind was handled by three crewmen at the time of the Kuwait Fires. The driver was inside the tank, he was responsible for steering and stopping the vehicle. The controller, positioned at the rear cabin, took care of starting the water pump and engine. And lastly, the fire chief was responsible for issuing orders from 15 feet away via remote control. The three crewmen who drove Big Wind were Hungarian firefighters who worked for the MB Drilling Company at the time. (Source: AP News)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: