首页 » 人与社会 » “众智”的概念是什么?

“众智”的概念是什么?

根据所做的研究,通过集体做出的决策似乎优于个人决策。 但这个理论有多真实? 人数真的有力量吗? 

《群体的智慧》认为,群体的答案比个人的答案更准确。 这个概念在要求个人猜测一头牛的重量的情况下进行了测试。 没有人答对,但他们的平均值接近正确答案。

概念的历史

1907 年,英国探险家、人类学家和优生学家弗朗西斯·高尔顿爵士发表了他关于观察人群智慧理论的文章。 高尔顿参加了在普利茅斯举行的英格兰西部肥肉和家禽展的年度展览。 他举办了一场室内游戏,目标是估计一头肥牛在屠宰和穿衣后的重量。

猜出最接近重量的人得到奖励。 高尔顿报告说,有 787 名参与者,主要是屠夫和农民,并且有估算牛重量的专家。 高尔顿借来了写有估算的票,开始整理数据。

收集数据后,高尔顿指出,所有 797 名参与者的答案的平均值为 1207 磅,而牛被屠宰后的实际重量为 1198 磅。 平均结果比任何单个答案都准确得多,并且比游戏的获胜者更接近正确答案。 (来源: 人群的智慧)

人群的概念

这个概念虽然已经存在,但直到 2004 年才出名。美国记者 James Surowiecki 出版了名为 群众的智慧,其中他研究了大型团体如何在不同领域做出正确的决定。

在他的书中,Surowiecki 支持高尔顿的主张,但要使其有效,人群必须满足特定特征:

  1. 小组应该能够有不同的意见。
  2. 一个人的意见应该独立于周围的人,不应受到其他任何人的影响
  3. 任何参与人群的人都应该根据自己的个人知识发表自己的意见。
  4. 人群应该能够将个人意见汇总为一项集体决策。

该理论声称,庞大而多样化的人群会得到更集体的猜测或答案,而不是一群专家。 与专家的答案相反,他们的各种解决方案在平均时通常更好。

但是,需要注意的是,这个概念与 潮流效应. 跟风效应只是人们做某事的方式主要是因为其他人正在做这件事。 这是个人倾向于将他们的信仰和行为与更大的群众保持一致的趋势。

跟风效应也被称为 从众心理. 这种效应通常符合人们喜欢加入获胜团队的逻辑。

跟风效应通常针对个人的认知偏见和渴望成为大多数人的一部分。 成为多数人的感觉通常可以让大多数人确信他们正在做出正确的决定,即使这与他们的个人信念相反。 (来源: Investopedia)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » People & Society » What is the Concept of the “Wisdom of the Crowds”?

What is the Concept of the “Wisdom of the Crowds”?

According to research done, a decision made through a collective seemingly outperforms individual decision-making. But how true is this theory? Is there really strength in numbers? 

“Wisdom of the Crowds” argues that a group’s answer is more accurate than an individual answer. The concept was tested where individuals were asked to guess the weight of an ox. No one got it right, but their average was close to the correct answer.

History of the Concept

In 1907, an English explorer, anthropologist, and eugenicist, Sir Francis Galton, published his article upon observing the Wisdom of the Crowds theory. Galton attended an annual show of the West of England Fat Stock and Poultry Exhibition in Plymouth. He kept a parlor game wherein the goal was to estimate the weight of a fat ox after it was slaughtered and dressed.

Those who guessed the nearest weight were rewarded. Galton reports that there were 787 participants, primarily butchers and farmers, and there were experts in estimating cattle weight. Galton borrowed the tickets on which the estimates were written and began to table the data.

After gathering the data, Galton noted that the average of all 797 participants’ answers was at 1207 pounds, and the ox’s actual weight after it was butchered and slaughtered was 1198 pounds. The average result was far more accurate than any individual answer and was nearer to the correct answer than the winners of the game. (Source: Wisdom of Crowds)

The Concept of the Crowds

This concept, though already existing, was only made famous in 2004. An American journalist, James Surowiecki, published the book titled The Wisdom of the Crowds, in which he examines how large groups have made good decisions in different fields.

In his book, Surowiecki supports Galton’s claim, but for it to be effective, the crowd has to meet specific characteristics:

  1. The group should be able to have a diversity of opinions.
  2. One person’s opinion should remain independent of those around them and should not be influenced by anyone else
  3. Anyone taking part in the crowd should make their own opinion based on their personal knowledge.
  4. The crowd should be able to aggregate personal opinions into one collective decision.

The theory claims that a large and diverse crowd would get to a more collective guess or answer rather than a group of experts. Their various solutions are often better when averaged, as opposed to the expert answers.

However, it should be noted that this concept is not the same as the bandwagon effect. The bandwagon effect is simply how people do something primarily because other people are doing it. This is the tendency of individuals to align their beliefs and behaviors to the greater masses.

The bandwagon effect is also known as herd mentality. This effect usually plays on the logic that people like to be on the winning team.

The bandwagon effect usually targets an individual’s cognitive bias and yearning to be part of the majority. The feeling of being part of the majority usually assures most individuals that they are making the right decision, even if it is the opposite of their personal beliefs. (Source: Investopedia)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: