الصفحة الرئيسية » الناس والمجتمع » الدين والمعتقد » هل صنع توماس جيفرسون نسخته الخاصة من الكتاب المقدس؟

هل صنع توماس جيفرسون نسخته الخاصة من الكتاب المقدس؟

كان توماس جيفرسون ، المعروف باسم الربوبي الذي غالبًا ما يتعامل مع الحرية الدينية ، من أتباع يسوع المسيح المخلص. وعلى الرغم من أنه يسمي نفسه بأنه مسيحي ، لم يكن لدى جيفرسون أي نية للاعتراف بألوهية المسيح وأعماله المعجزية المذكورة في الكتاب المقدس. 

قطع توماس جيفرسون مقاطع من الكتاب المقدس تناقض معتقداته وجعل تسليمه للكتاب المقدس بعنوان إنجيل جيفرسون الكتابي ، والذي احتوى على مجلدين استبعدا ألوهية يسوع ومعجزاته. 

جيفرسون الكتاب المقدس

كان توماس جيفرسون ، الذي شغل منصب رئيس الولايات المتحدة من عام 1801 إلى عام 1909 ، يؤمن بالربوبية إلى جانب الآباء المؤسسين الآخرين. مدفوعًا بالتطورات التي حدثت خلال عصر التنوير ، وجد الرئيس الأمريكي السابق نفسه منغمسًا في العلوم واللاهوت.

بصفته من أتباع يسوع المسيح وتعاليمه ، لم يتفق توماس جيفرسون مع أي من المصادر التي ساهمت في صنع الكتاب المقدس ، بما في ذلك كتّاب الإنجيل متى ومرقس ولوقا ويوحنا ، الذين اعتبرهم مخادعين. مع ذلك ، أخذ جيفرسون على عاتقه إنشاء نسخته من الأناجيل. (مصدر: مجلة سميثسونيان


استخدم توماس جيفرسون شفرة حلاقة ومقصًا في قص مستطيلات صغيرة من النص في نسخ العهد الجديد من الكتاب المقدس. بعد ذلك ، قام بلصق تجسيده لفلسفة المسيح باستخدام قصاصاته. ركزت نسخته من العهد الجديد بالكامل على يسوع المسيح ، باستثناء معجزاته. (مصدر: تاريخ التنمية )

حصل على تعليم كلاسيكي في كلية William & Mary ، حتى يتمكن من مقارنة الترجمات المختلفة. قام بقص المقاطع بنوع من الشفرات الحادة للغاية ، وباستخدام ورق فارغ ، تم لصق أسطر من كل من الأناجيل في أربعة أعمدة ، اليونانية واللاتينية على جانب واحد من الصفحات ، والفرنسية والإنجليزية على الجانب الآخر.

هاري روبنشتاين

استبعد العهد الجديد لجيفرسون الأحداث البارزة في الكتاب المقدس مثل القيامة ، وصعوده إلى السماء ، ومعجزاته التي حولت الماء إلى خمر ، وإطعام العديد من الناس بخمسة أرغفة من خبز الشعير وسمكتين ، والعديد من الأعمال الصوفية المماثلة. (مصدر: تاريخ التنمية

مقيد بالجلد الأحمر ، وصف جيفرسون نسخته باسم حياة وأخلاق يسوع الناصري، ودرس على نطاق واسع أكثر من ست نسخ من العهد الجديد في إصدارات مختلفة مثل اليونانية والفرنسية واللاتينية والملك جيمس الإنجليزية. يعكس المجلد المكون من 84 صفحة الذي تم إنتاجه في عام 1820 إيمان جيفرسون بتعاليم المسيح ، ولا يشمل الأحداث المعجزة التي لم تحمل أي سبب منطقي. (مصدر: مجلة سميثسونيان

حجم جيفرسون المفقود

عزز توماس جيفرسون نيته في تقديم تفسيره للكتاب المقدس لأول مرة في عام 1804. جيفرسون يكشف عن نواياه في رسالة كتبها إلى بنيامين راش في عام 1803. (المصدر: مجلة سميثسونيان)

إنها نتيجة حياة من الاستفسار والتفكير ، ومختلفة تمامًا عن ذلك النظام المناهض للمسيحية ، المنسوبة إلي من قبل أولئك الذين لا يعرفون شيئًا عن آرائي. ضد فساد المسيحية ، أنا بالفعل أعارض. ولكن ليس للمبادئ الحقيقية ليسوع نفسه.

توماس جيفرسون

(مصدر: الأرشيف الوطني)

ثم خلق فلسفة يسوع الناصري حيث تشير المراسلات إلى أنها تحتوي على 46 صفحة من نصوص العهد الجديد. فلسفة يسوع الناصري تتمحور حول التعاليم الأخلاقية للمسيح. (مصدر: مجلة سميثسونيان

يظل مجلد 1804 مفقودًا ، ولكن لحسن الحظ ، حصل معهد سميثسونيان على مجلد 1820 ، حياة وأخلاق يسوع الناصري، عندما باعت حفيدة جيفرسون الكتاب لهم. (مصدر: تاريخ التنمية

اترك تعليق

Home » People & Society » Religion & Belief » Did Thomas Jefferson Make His Own Version of the Bible?

Did Thomas Jefferson Make His Own Version of the Bible?

Known as a deist that often dealt with religious freedom, the third United States President, Thomas Jefferson, was a devoted follower of Jesus Christ. And although he labels himself as a Christian, Jefferson had no intention of recognizing Christ’s divinity and his miraculous works stated in the Bible. 

Thomas Jefferson cut out passages from the Bible that contradicted his beliefs and made his rendition of the Holy Scripture entitled the Jefferson Bible, which contained two volumes that excluded Jesus’ divinity and miracles. 

The Jefferson Bible

Thomas Jefferson, who once served as the President of the United States from 1801 to 1909, believed in deism alongside his other Founding Fathers. Fueled by the occurring advancements during the Age of Enlightenment, the former American President found himself immersed in science and theology.

As a follower of Jesus Christ and His teachings, Thomas Jefferson didn’t agree with any of the sources that contributed to the making of the Bible, including the gospel writers Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, who he deemed as deceitful. With that said, Jefferson took it upon himself to create his version of the gospels. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine


Thomas Jefferson used a razor and a pair of scissors in cutting out small rectangles of text in copies of the Bible’s New Testament. Following that, he pasted his rendition of Christ’s philosophy using his clippings. His version of the New Testament focused entirely on Jesus Christ, excluding his miracles. (Source: History)

He had a classic education at the College of William & Mary, so he could compare the different translations. He cut out passages with some sort of very sharp blade and, using blank paper, glued doen lines from each of the Gospels in four columns, Greek and Latin on one side of the pages, and French and English on the other.

Harry Rubenstein

Jefferson’s New Testament excluded notable events in the Bible such as the resurrection, his ascension to heaven, his miracles that converted water into wine, feeding numerous people with five loaves of barley bread and two fish, and many mystical works of the like. (Source: History

Bound in red leather, Jefferson entitled his version as The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth, extensively studying over six copies of the New Testament in different versions such as Greek, French, Latin, and King James English. The 84-paged volume produced in 1820 reflected Jefferson’s belief in the teachings of Christ, not including the miraculous events that bore no logical reason. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine

The Lost Jefferson Volume

Thomas Jefferson first solidified his intention to produce his interpretation of the Bible occurred in 1804. Jefferson reveals his intentions in a letter he wrote to Benjamin Rush in 1803.  (Source: Smithsonian Magazine)

They are the result of a life of enquiry & reflection, and very different from that Anti-Christian system, imputed to me by those who know nothing of my opinions. to the corruptions of Christianity, I am indeed opposed; but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself.

Thomas Jefferson

(Source: National Archives)

He then created The Philosophy of Jesus of Nazareth, where correspondence indicates that it contained 46 pages worth of passages from the New Testament. The Philosophy of Jesus of Nazareth centered on the moral teachings of Christ. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine

The 1804 volume remains lost, but fortunately, the Smithsonian Institute acquired the 1820 volume, The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth, when Jefferson’s great-granddaughter sold the book to them. (Source: History

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: