主页 » 人与社会 » 宗教信仰 » 托马斯杰斐逊是否制作了自己的圣经版本?

托马斯杰斐逊是否制作了自己的圣经版本?

美国第三任总统托马斯·杰斐逊(Thomas Jefferson)被称为经常处理宗教自由的自然神论者,他是耶稣基督的忠实追随者。 尽管杰斐逊自称是基督徒,但他无意承认基督的神性和圣经中记载的他的神迹。 

托马斯·杰斐逊从圣经中删掉了与他的信仰相矛盾的段落,并将他对圣经的演绎命名为杰斐逊圣经,其中包含两卷排除耶稣的神性和奇迹。 

杰斐逊圣经

托马斯杰斐逊曾于 1801 年至 1909 年担任美国总统,他与其他开国元勋一起相信自然神论。 在启蒙时代发生的进步的推动下,这位美国前总统发现自己沉浸在科学和神学中。

作为耶稣基督及其教义的追随者,托马斯·杰斐逊不同意任何有助于圣经制作的资料来源,包括他认为具有欺骗性的福音书作者马太、马可、路加和约翰。 话虽如此,杰斐逊自己创造了他的福音书版本。 (来源: 史密森杂志


托马斯杰斐逊用一把剃刀和一把剪刀在圣经新约副本中剪下小矩形文本。 之后,他用剪报粘贴了他对基督哲学的演绎。 他的新约版本完全集中在耶稣基督身上,不包括他的神迹。 (来源: 发展史)

他在威廉玛丽学院接受过经典教育,因此他可以比较不同的翻译。 他用某种非常锋利的刀片剪下段落,并用白纸将每本福音书的线条粘在四列中,页面的一侧是希腊语和拉丁语,另一侧是法语和英语。

哈里·鲁宾斯坦

杰斐逊的新约排除了圣经中值得注意的事件,例如复活、升天、将水变成酒的奇迹、用五个大麦面包和两条鱼喂养无数人,以及许多类似的神秘作品。 (来源: 发展史

杰斐逊用红色皮革包裹,将他的版本命名为 拿撒勒人耶稣的生平和道德,广泛研究了六本新约的不同版本,如希腊语、法语、拉丁语和詹姆士国王英语。 84 年出版的 1820 页卷反映了杰斐逊对基督教义的信仰,不包括没有逻辑原因的奇迹事件。 (来源: 史密森杂志

失落的杰斐逊卷

托马斯·杰斐逊在 1804 年首次巩固了他对圣经的解释的意图。杰斐逊在 1803 年写给本杰明·拉什的一封信中揭示了他的意图。(资料来源: 史密森杂志)

它们是探究和反思生活的结果,与那些对我的意见一无所知的人归咎于我的反基督教系统非常不同。 对于基督教的腐败,我确实是反对的; 但不是耶稣本人的真正诫命。

托马斯·杰斐逊

(资源: 国家档案馆)

然后他创造了 拿撒勒人耶稣的哲学, 信件表明它包含了 46 页的新约经文。 拿撒勒人耶稣的哲学 以基督的道德教义为中心。 (来源: 史密森杂志

1804 卷仍然丢失,但幸运的是,史密森学会获得了 1820 卷, 拿撒勒人耶稣的生平和道德,当杰斐逊的曾孙女把这本书卖给他们时。 (来源: 发展史

发表评论

Home » People & Society » Religion & Belief » Did Thomas Jefferson Make His Own Version of the Bible?

Did Thomas Jefferson Make His Own Version of the Bible?

Known as a deist that often dealt with religious freedom, the third United States President, Thomas Jefferson, was a devoted follower of Jesus Christ. And although he labels himself as a Christian, Jefferson had no intention of recognizing Christ’s divinity and his miraculous works stated in the Bible. 

Thomas Jefferson cut out passages from the Bible that contradicted his beliefs and made his rendition of the Holy Scripture entitled the Jefferson Bible, which contained two volumes that excluded Jesus’ divinity and miracles. 

The Jefferson Bible

Thomas Jefferson, who once served as the President of the United States from 1801 to 1909, believed in deism alongside his other Founding Fathers. Fueled by the occurring advancements during the Age of Enlightenment, the former American President found himself immersed in science and theology.

As a follower of Jesus Christ and His teachings, Thomas Jefferson didn’t agree with any of the sources that contributed to the making of the Bible, including the gospel writers Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, who he deemed as deceitful. With that said, Jefferson took it upon himself to create his version of the gospels. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine


Thomas Jefferson used a razor and a pair of scissors in cutting out small rectangles of text in copies of the Bible’s New Testament. Following that, he pasted his rendition of Christ’s philosophy using his clippings. His version of the New Testament focused entirely on Jesus Christ, excluding his miracles. (Source: History)

He had a classic education at the College of William & Mary, so he could compare the different translations. He cut out passages with some sort of very sharp blade and, using blank paper, glued doen lines from each of the Gospels in four columns, Greek and Latin on one side of the pages, and French and English on the other.

Harry Rubenstein

Jefferson’s New Testament excluded notable events in the Bible such as the resurrection, his ascension to heaven, his miracles that converted water into wine, feeding numerous people with five loaves of barley bread and two fish, and many mystical works of the like. (Source: History

Bound in red leather, Jefferson entitled his version as The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth, extensively studying over six copies of the New Testament in different versions such as Greek, French, Latin, and King James English. The 84-paged volume produced in 1820 reflected Jefferson’s belief in the teachings of Christ, not including the miraculous events that bore no logical reason. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine

The Lost Jefferson Volume

Thomas Jefferson first solidified his intention to produce his interpretation of the Bible occurred in 1804. Jefferson reveals his intentions in a letter he wrote to Benjamin Rush in 1803.  (Source: Smithsonian Magazine)

They are the result of a life of enquiry & reflection, and very different from that Anti-Christian system, imputed to me by those who know nothing of my opinions. to the corruptions of Christianity, I am indeed opposed; but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself.

Thomas Jefferson

(Source: National Archives)

He then created The Philosophy of Jesus of Nazareth, where correspondence indicates that it contained 46 pages worth of passages from the New Testament. The Philosophy of Jesus of Nazareth centered on the moral teachings of Christ. (Source: Smithsonian Magazine

The 1804 volume remains lost, but fortunately, the Smithsonian Institute acquired the 1820 volume, The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth, when Jefferson’s great-granddaughter sold the book to them. (Source: History

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: