主页 » 健康 » 澳大利亚蜘蛛咬伤相关死亡的统计数据是什么?

澳大利亚蜘蛛咬伤相关死亡的统计数据是什么?

众所周知,澳大利亚拥有全球最大、最可怕和最毒的蜘蛛。 仅该国就估计有 10,000 种蜘蛛,其中包括世界上最致命的蜘蛛。 但是你知道澳大利亚有多少人死于蜘蛛咬伤吗?

由于抗毒液的发展,自 1981 年以来,澳大利亚没有任何与蜘蛛咬伤有关的死亡记录。然而,它们确实拥有最致命的蜘蛛种类,如漏斗网和红背。

蜘蛛不那么危险

尽管是一些迷人蜘蛛的家园,但澳大利亚与其他任何地方都非常相似。 然而,蜘蛛通常在家里和外面被发现。 (来源: 世界游牧民族)

这些蛛形纲动物往往会激起大多数人的恐惧,有时还会引起少数人的恐惧症。 但尽管澳大利亚以蜘蛛出没而臭名昭著,拥有世界上最毒的物种,但它们的蜘蛛名声有些夸大其词。 根据麦考瑞大学的蛛形纲动物研究人员 Aaron Harmer 博士的说法,从人类的角度来看,蜘蛛在技术上并没有那么危险。 (来源: 澳大利亚地理)

即使大多数蜘蛛都能咬人,除非被激怒,否则它们是无害的。 事实上,蜜蜂叮咬往往比蜘蛛叮咬更麻烦。 纽卡斯尔大学专门研究毒液的研究员 Geoff Isbister 博士表示,更多的死亡与蜜蜂叮咬引起的过敏反应有关,而不是蜘蛛叮咬。

伊斯比斯特强调,人类对蜘蛛有一种非理性的恐惧。 例如,他说每年约有一千人死于车祸。 与 1979 年记录的最近一次蜘蛛咬伤事件相比。仅统计数据就足以说明问题。 

蜘蛛毒液含有多种化学物质,其中一些对人类有害。 该毒素专为小型猎物而设计,并以少量投放。 这对小动物来说可能是致命的,但当用马等大型动物进行测试时,它们的免疫系统似乎已经产生了对抗毒液的抗体。

自 1979 年以来,澳大利亚没有任何人死于被证实的蜘蛛咬伤。该国两种最毒蜘蛛的抗毒液很容易获得。 红背蜘蛛的抗毒液于 1956 年开发并推出,而漏斗网蜘蛛于 1980 年公开。(来源: 澳大利亚博物馆)

据统计,每年约有 2,000 名澳大利亚人被红背蜘蛛咬伤,而自 100 年以来,仅给患者服用过 1980 剂漏网蜘蛛抗毒液。

只有在观察到严重的中毒迹象时,蜘蛛咬伤才被认为是医疗紧急情况 考虑蜘蛛咬伤 空白. 没有毒液被排入人体。

最危险的澳大利亚蜘蛛

众所周知,澳大利亚是成千上万只蜘蛛的家园,因此以下被认为是最危险的,应该注意。 (来源: 澳大利亚地理)

  • 悉尼漏斗网 – 这些蜘蛛通常在新南威尔士州发现,平均只有 1.5 到 3.5 厘米大。 这种蜘蛛拥有最毒的毒液,它的毒牙比棕色蛇的毒牙还要突出。
  • 红背 – 这些蜘蛛在澳大利亚各地都很常见,通常隐藏在干燥、避风的地方,如花园棚、邮箱和马桶座圈。 由于背部有红色条纹,这种蜘蛛很容易识别。 它们的毒液会影响神经系统,但它们的毒牙太小,无法刺破皮肤。
  • 老鼠蜘蛛 – 这些蜘蛛也遍布澳大利亚各地,但与红背蜘蛛不同,它通常在水体附近的洞穴中发现。 这种蜘蛛通常昏昏欲睡,几乎没有攻击性,但它的毒液类似于漏斗网蜘蛛。

发表评论

Home » Health » What Are the Statistics of Spider Bite Related Deaths in Australia?

What Are the Statistics of Spider Bite Related Deaths in Australia?

Australia is known to have the biggest, scariest, and most venomous spiders globally. There are an estimated 10,000 species of spiders in the country alone, including the world’s deadliest ones. But do you know how many people die of spider bites in Australia?

Due to the development of anti-venoms, there have not been any recorded deaths related to spider bites in Australia since 1981. However, they do have the deadliest species of spiders like the Funnelweb and Redback.

Spiders are Less Dangerous

In spite of being home to some fascinating species of spiders, Australia is pretty much like any other place. However, spiders are commonly found in and out of the home. (Source: World Nomads)

These arachnids tend to incite fear in most people and sometimes evoke phobias in a few. But despite Australia’s infamy of spider infestation and having the most venomous species in the world, their spider reputation is somewhat exaggerated. According to an arachnid researcher from Macquarie University, Dr. Aaron Harmer, spiders are not technically that dangerous from a human perspective. (Source: Australian Geographic)

Even if most spiders can bite, they are pretty harmless unless provoked. In fact, bee stings tend to be more troublesome than spider bites. Dr. Geoff Isbister, a researcher, specializing in envenoming at the University of Newcastle, stated that more deaths are related to allergic reactions from bee stings than spider bites.

Isbister emphasized that humans have an irrational fear of spiders. As an example, he said that about a thousand people die in car crashes each year. Compared to the most recent spider bite case recorded in 1979. Statistics alone speak volumes. 

Spider venom contains several chemicals, with some that are harmful to humans. The toxin is designed for small prey and delivered in small quantities. It may be fatal to small animals, but their immune system seems to have developed antibodies to combat the venom when tested with larger animals like a horse.

There have not been any deaths in Australia from a confirmed spider bite since 1979. Anti-venoms for the two of the most venomous spiders in the country are readily available. Anti-venom for Redback spiders was developed and introduced in 1956, while Funnelweb spiders were made public in 1980. (Source: Australian Museum)

As statistics show, there are approximately 2,000 Australians who have been bitten by Redback spiders each year, and only 100 doses of Funnelweb spider anti-venom have been given to patients since 1980.

A spider bite is only considered a medical emergency if severe signs of envenomation are observed spider bites are considered blank. No venom is expelled into the human.

Most Dangerous Australian Spiders

As Australia is known to be home to thousands of spiders, the below are considered the most dangerous and should be looked out for. (Source: Australian Geographic)

  • Sydney Funnel-Web – these spiders are usually found in New South Wales and are on average only about 1.5 to 3.5 centimeters big. This spider possesses the most toxic venom and delivers it with big fangs more prominent than a brown snake’s fangs.
  • Redback – these spiders are commonly found all across Australia and usually hide in dry, sheltered places like garden sheds, mailboxes, and toilet seats. This spider is easily recognized due to the red stripe on its back. Their venom affects the nervous system, but their fangs are too small to puncture the skin.
  • Mouse Spider – these spiders are also found all over Australia, but as opposed to the Redback, it is usually found in burrows near bodies of water. This type of spider is generally lethargic and hardly aggressive, but its venom is similar to the Funnel-web spiders.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: