首页 » 商业与工业 » 是什么导致了洋葱期货法?

是什么导致了洋葱期货法?

2020 年,美国收获了大约 134,700 英亩的洋葱。 仅在美国就以 75.2 亿美元的价格售出约 877.8 万英镑。 但是你听说过 Vince Kosuga 精明的商业计划,涉及 80 万磅洋葱吗?

50 年代,农民兼贸易商文斯·小菅控制着全国市场的洋葱价格。 他在全国积累了近 30 万磅洋葱并控制了供应。 这最终导致了洋葱期货法。

大洋葱角

Vince Kosuga 是一位纽约农民,出生于 15 年 1915 月 1930 日。他在 Pine Island 拥有一个大农场,种植芹菜、生菜和洋葱。 小菅也是一位贪婪的商人,他在 XNUMX 年代看到了垄断大豆和小麦期货市场的机会。 不幸的是,小菅当时被糟糕的小麦市场所震惊。

小菅觉得在他最了解的一种作物——洋葱中存在着更重要的机会。 到 1955 年,小菅义伟在他的农场里储存了他的洋葱产品。 然后,他在几个合作伙伴的帮助下,谨慎地开始在美国各地购买和储存洋葱,同时购买所种植洋葱的期货合约。

到 1955 年秋天,Kosuga 基本上拥有了该国所有的洋葱供应,包括已经收获的和仍在生长的洋葱。 他还控制了所有洋葱的贷款。 他和他的合作伙伴在市场上制造了洋葱的虚假短缺。 然后,他们向经销商和买家要求更高的洋葱价格。

如果他们不同意,小菅和他的合伙人就会破坏市场,让洋葱价格下跌。 Kosuga 能够以较低的成本购买洋葱并收取较高的费用,从而获得巨额利润。 Kosuga 然后押注洋葱价格会因供应而暴跌。

小菅接着将剩余的洋葱供应带到芝加哥期货交易所,并用它充斥着市场和街道。 由于供应增加,价格暴跌,其他洋葱种植者的产品现在一文不值。

洋葱因此被倾倒在芝加哥河中,小菅义伟在 2001 年去世之前赚了数百万美元。据报道,几名洋葱种植者失去了他们在他的计划中拥有的所有财产,其中一些人自杀了。 (来源: 农场进步)

洋葱期货法

28 年 1958 月 XNUMX 日,随着小菅对洋葱市场的开发,政府作出回应,通过了 洋葱期货交易吨。 该法律有效地禁止了洋葱期货合约的交易。 (来源: 数据库百科)

自 2010 年以来,该法律是第一部也是唯一一部禁止特定商品期货合约交易的法律。 违反该法律被视为轻罪,可处以最高 5,000 美元的罚款。


该法有效地严重影响了洋葱种植者。 如果没有农产品期货市场,农民在规划作物时会面临更大的挑战,而洋葱对消费者来说成本更高。 (来源: IEC)

发表评论

Home » Business & Industrial » What Caused the Onion Futures Act?

What Caused the Onion Futures Act?

In 2020, approximately 134,700 acres of onions were harvested in the United States. That is about 75.2 million pounds sold for a value of $877.8 million in the US alone. But have you heard of Vince Kosuga’s shrewd business plan that involved 80 million pounds of onions?

Vince Kosuga, a farmer and trader, controlled the onion prices of the nation’s market in the 50s. He accumulated almost 30 million pounds of onions nationwide and controlled its supply. This eventually led to the Onion Futures Act.

The Great Onion Corner

Vince Kosuga was a New York farmer born on January 15, 1915. He owned a large farm in Pine Island, where he grew celery, lettuce, and onions. Kosuga was also a greedy businessman who saw an opportunity in monopolizing the soybean and wheat futures market in the 1930s. Unfortunately, Kosuga was struck by a lousy wheat market at the time.

Kosuga felt there was a more significant opportunity in one of the crops he knew best, onions. By 1955, Kosuga was stockpiling his onion produce on his farm. He then discreetly started purchasing and storing onions across the US with the help of a few partners while buying futures contracts on the onions planted.

By the fall of 1955, Kosuga essentially owned all of the supply of onions in the country, both already harvested and those still growing. He also controlled the loans of all the onions. He and his partners created a false shortage of onions in the market. They then demanded higher prices for their onions from distributors and buyers.

If they disagreed, Kosuga and his partners would destroy the market and make onion prices drop. Kosuga was able to earn a massive profit from buying onions at a lower cost and charging higher fees. Kosuga then bet that the onion prices would crash due to the supply.

Kosuga then proceeded to take the remainder of his supply of onions to the Chicago Board of Trade and flooded the market and the streets with it. Due to the increase in supply, the prices crashed, leaving other onion farmers with their products that now were worthless.

The onions were consequently dumped in the Chicago River, and Kosuga made millions of dollars he enjoyed until he passed away in 2001. It was also reported that several onion farmers lost all of that they had in his scheme, and some of them committed suicide. (Source: Farm Progress)

The Onion Futures Act

With Kosuga’s exploitation of the onion market, the government responded on August 28, 1958, passing the Onion Futures Act. The law effectively banned the trading of futures contracts on onions. (Source: DBPedia)

The law is the first and only law, as of 2010, to ban the trading of futures contracts for a specific commodity. Violation of this law is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000.


The law effectively severely impacted onion farmers. Without a futures market for their produce, farmers have a more challenging time planning out their crops, and onions cost a bit more for consumers. (Source: CEI)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: