首页 » 汽车与交通工具 » 购车 » 大型汽车比小型汽车更安全吗?

大型汽车比小型汽车更安全吗?

当我们出去买车时,我们可能首先想到的是价格。 虽然较小的汽车可能在我们的预算之内,但这是一个明智的选择吗? 请记住,您不能为安全定价。

尽管制造商努力确保所有车辆的安全,但统计数据显示,小型汽车的驾驶员死亡率更高。 大型汽车通常更安全,死亡率比小型汽车低五倍。

美国的统计数据

根据公路安全保险协会或 IIHS 计算的最新司机死亡率,尽管制造商采取了措施,但最小的新型汽车驾驶起来最危险。 15 年死亡率最高的 20 款车型中,小型车和微型车占 2017 款。 同年死亡率最低的是豪华 SUV,而大型 SUV 的死亡率仅为 15/XNUMX。

平均而言,2017 款车型的驾驶员死亡率增加了 36。人数的增加与使用和购买小型汽车的数量成正比。 (来源: 公路安全保险学会)

大型汽车如何更安全?

虽然较新的小型汽车已被改造成最安全的,但较大和较重的车辆比较小的车辆更安全。 这背后的原因很简单; 物理。 更大更重的汽车比更小更轻的汽车更安全。

重量更重的大型车辆将有更长的引擎盖和更大的 挤压区 在发生正面碰撞时,它可以为您提供更大的缓冲。 在 IIHS 进行的研究中,较大的汽车通常会在碰撞时将较轻的汽车向后推。 这意味着对车内人员的作用力较小。 (来源: 埃德蒙兹)

旧的大型汽车比新的更安全吗?

我们都听说过旧汽车是如何像坦克一样制造的,而且它们似乎比新的小型汽车驾驶起来更安全,但事实并非如此。 技术的进步,尤其是汽车安全方面的进步已经取得了长足的进步。 较大但较旧的车辆将不会配备这些安全功能。

一辆已有 10 年历史的大型车辆没有侧面安全气囊或电子稳定控制系统或 ESC,在发生事故时不会像今天配备现代安全设备和防撞技术的小型车辆一样好。 SC 大大降低了车辆侧翻的几率,这对于头重脚轻的卡车和 SUV 尤为重要。 也就是说,不是每个人都能买新的。 因此,如果您要购买二手车,请确保它有侧气囊和 ESC。 在许多情况下,这些是小型和非豪华车辆的可选功能。

IIHS 高级研究工程师 Becky Mueller

(资源: 埃德蒙兹)

碰撞测试分数准确吗?

如果您正在寻找新车,可能会让您感到困惑的一件事是碰撞测试分数。 事情就是这样,分数不能跨大小类进行比较。 美国国家公路交通安全管理局或 NHTSA 有自己的评级系统 并进行自己的碰撞测试。 这些评级仅在将汽车与相同尺寸级别进行比较时有用。 这意味着,如果一辆小型汽车在 NHTSA 获得了 5 星级评级,并不意味着它会拥有与 5 星级 SUV 相同的好处。

评级旨在用于比较与类似尺寸的车辆的碰撞事故。 您无法真正在具有这些评级的细分市场之间切换。

阿德里安·隆德 (Adrian Lund),IIHS 新闻记者

(资源: 埃德蒙兹)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » Autos & Vehicles » Vehicle Shopping » Are Large Cars Safer Than Smaller Ones?

Are Large Cars Safer Than Smaller Ones?

When we’re out to buy a car, the first thing we would probably have in mind is the price. While smaller cars may be well within our budget, is it a wise choice? Remember, you can’t put a price on safety.

Despite the efforts of manufacturers to make all vehicles safe, statistics show that driver deaths are higher in small cars. Large cars are generally safer, with death rates five times lower than that of smaller vehicles.

The Statistics in the United States

According to the most recent driver death rates calculated by the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety or the IIHS, the smallest late-model cars are the most dangerous to drive despite the measures taken by the manufacturers. Small cars and mini cars accounted for the 15 out of 20 models that rated with the highest death rates in 2017. The lowest death rates in the same year were recorded for luxury SUVs, and even larger SUVs had only 15 fatalities per million.

On average, the driver death rate for 2017 car models has increased by 36. The rise in number is directly proportionate to the number of small cars used and bought. (Source: Insurance Institute of Highway Safety)

How are Larger Cars Safer?

While newer small cars have been remodeled to be the safest they have ever been, larger and heavier vehicles are exponentially safer than smaller ones. The reason behind this is simple; physics. Bigger and heavier cars are safer than smaller and lighter ones.

Large vehicles that weigh more would have longer hoods and bigger crush zones which gives you a bigger cushion in the event of a frontal crash. In studies done by the IIHS, larger cars would typically push a lighter car backward upon impact. This means that there is a lesser force on the people inside the vehicle. (Source: Edmunds)

Are Older Large Cars Safer than Newer Ones?

We’ve all heard how older cars were built like tanks, and they are seemingly safer to drive than newer smaller cars, but this is simply not true. The advancements in technology, especially in automobile safety have come a long way. Larger but older vehicles will not be equipped with those safety features.

A large 10-year-old vehicle that does not have side airbags or electronic stability control or ESC would not fare as well in an accident as a small vehicle from today equipped with modern safety equipment and collision avoidance technology. SC greatly reduces the chance of a vehicle rollover, which is particularly important for top-heavy trucks and SUVs. That said, not everyone is able to buy new. So if you’re shopping for a used car, make sure it has side airbags and ESC. In many cases, these were optional features on smaller and non-luxury vehicles.

Becky Mueller, Senior Research Engineer for IIHS

(Source: Edmunds)

Are Crash Test Scores Accurate?

If you’re searching for a new car, one thing that may confuse you are the crash test scores. Here’s the thing, the scores can not be compared across size classes. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration or the NHTSA has its own rating system and does its own crash tests. These ratings are only helpful when comparing cars to the same size class. This means if a small car has registered with a 5-star rating with the NHTSA, it doesn’t mean it will have the same benefits as a 5-star rating SUV.

The ratings are meant to be used to compare crashes with vehicles of similar size. You can’t really go between the segments with these ratings.

Adrian Lund, IIHS Pressident

(Source: Edmunds)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: