الصفحة الرئيسية » فنون وترفيه » الموسيقي والاغاني » موسيقى صاخبه » نصت فان هالين في عقود أدائها على وضع وعاء من M & M's ، مع إزالة جميع M & M's البني ، في غرفة ملابسهم. لم يفعلوا ذلك ليكونوا حمقى ، ولكن كاختبار بسيط لمعرفة ما إذا كان قد تم الاهتمام بمواصفات السلامة والجودة الأكثر أهمية أيضًا.

نصت فان هالين في عقود أدائها على وضع وعاء من M & M's ، مع إزالة جميع M & M's البني ، في غرفة ملابسهم. لم يفعلوا ذلك ليكونوا حمقى ، ولكن كاختبار بسيط لمعرفة ما إذا كان قد تم الاهتمام بمواصفات السلامة والجودة الأكثر أهمية أيضًا.

من عام 1974 حتى عام 1985 ، تألفت الفرقة من عازف الجيتار إيدي فان هالين ، والمغني ديفيد لي روث ، وعازف الطبول أليكس فان هالين ، وعازف القيثارة مايكل أنتوني.

سرعان ما تم تجنيد غاري تشيرون ، لاعب المواجهة السابق المتطرف ، كمغني رئيسي ليحل محل هاجر ، وتم إصدار فان هالن الثالث في عام 1998.

استمر فان هالين في التوقف حتى عام 2003 عندما اجتمعوا مع هاجر في جولة حول العالم.

غادر هاجر مرة أخرى فان هالن في عام 2005 ، وفي عام 2006 عاد روث كمطرب رئيسي في جولته التي حققت أعلى أرباح ، وواحدة من أعلى الجولات في ذلك العام.

لم تتم دعوة أنتوني للمشاركة في الجولة وتم طرده بشكل أساسي من الفرقة ، وحل محله وولفجانج فان هالين ، ابن إيدي.

وفقًا لـ RIAA ، فإن فان هالين هي الفرقة / الفنانة الأكثر مبيعًا التاسع عشر في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة ، حيث بيعت 19 مليون ألبوم في الولايات المتحدة [56] كما تم الكشف عنها أيضًا في المرتبة الرابعة على قائمة بيلبورد لأفضل صانعي الأموال في عام 8. ] [4] Van Halen هي واحدة من خمس فرق روك فقط لديها ألبومان استديو يبيعان أكثر من 2013 ملايين نسخة في الولايات المتحدة [9] بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، رسم فان هالين 10 أغنية رقم واحد في تاريخ مخطط Billboard's Mainstream Rock وهي واحدة من الفرق الموسيقية الأكثر مبيعًا في العالم على الإطلاق ، بعد أن باعت أكثر من 10 مليون سجل. [11] [13] [80]

مع تقدمهم واكتساب شعبية ، بدأوا في العزف على العديد من الحفلات في الفناء الخلفي وغيروا اسم فرقتهم إلى The Trojan Rubber Co في عام 1972 ، شكل الأخوان فان هالن فرقة تسمى Genesis تضم إيدي كمغني رئيسي / عازف جيتار ، أليكس على الطبول ، ومارك ستون على صوت الجهير.

على الرغم من أن الجمهور كان صغيرًا ، فقد أعجب الاثنان بفان هالين لدرجة أنهما عرضا على الفرقة عقد تسجيل في غضون أسبوع. سجلت المجموعة ألبومها الأول في استوديو Sunset Sound Recorder في منتصف سبتمبر إلى أوائل أكتوبر 24 ، حيث سجلت أجزاء الغيتار لمدة أسبوع واحد ثم سجلت غناءًا لمدة أسبوعين إضافيين.

عند صدوره ، وصل فان هالين إلى المركز 19 على قوائم بيلبورد لموسيقى البوب ​​، وهي واحدة من أكثر بدايات موسيقى الروك نجاحًا تجاريًا. كان يحظى بتقدير كبير على أنه ألبوم هيفي ميتال وهارد روك. احتوى الألبوم على أغانٍ تُعتبر الآن كلاسيكيات فان هالن ، مثل "Runnin" with the Devil "والغيتار المنفرد" Eruption "، والذي عرض استخدام إيدي لتقنية تُعرف باسم" نقر الإصبع ".

تدين كيمياء الفرقة بالكثير إلى سحر الغيتار الفني لإدي فان هالين والغريبة اللامعة لديفيد لي روث وشخصية المسرح ، وهي نقاط قوية جعلتهم فيما بعد منافسين.

عادت الفرقة إلى الاستوديو في أواخر عام 1978 لتسجيل Van Halen II ، وهو ألبوم عام 1979 مشابه في الأسلوب لأول ظهورهم.

على مدى السنوات القليلة التالية ، قامت الفرقة بالتناوب بين إصدارات الألبوم والتجول (انظر جولات حفلات فان هالن الموسيقية).

بيلي شيهان ، بعد أن أكملت فرقته تالاس جولة مع فان هالين ، ادعى أنه اقترب من إيدي فان هالين ليحل محل مايكل أنتوني.

تم تسجيل الألبوم في 5150 استوديو حديثًا تم تسجيله في استوديوهات Eddie Van Halen ، وكان يحتوي على لوحات مفاتيح تم استخدامها بشكل متقطع فقط في الألبومات السابقة.

كان روث منزعجًا من عزف إيدي للموسيقى خارج فان هالين دون مراجعة الفرقة ، وتعاطي المخدرات المزعوم الذي يُزعم أنه منع الفرقة من الممارسات القابلة للتطبيق.

حقق ألبوم Van Halen لعام 1986 رقم 5150 نجاحًا كبيرًا ، حيث أصبح الألبوم الأول للفرقة على قوائم بيلبورد ، مدفوعًا بالأغاني الفردية التي تهيمن عليها لوحة المفاتيح "Why Can't This Be Love" (رقم 1 US) و "Dreams" و "الحب يمشي في" (أعلى 3 الولايات المتحدة).

لتقديم المزيد من الحقبة الجديدة للفرقة ، تم وضع شعار Van Halen جديد على الغلاف.

تم إصدار اللقطات على VHS و DVD كـ Live بدون شبكة. أرادت هاجر في الجولة تقليل استخدام أغاني فان هالن قبل هاجر في المجموعة ، [بحاجة لمصدر] بخلاف الأغاني الكلاسيكية المعروفة للفرقة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم ترشيح Van Halen لجائزتي جرامي ، وفاز بجائزة أفضل أداء هارد روك لعام 1992 مع جائزة Vocal لألبوم For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge.

في عام 1995 ، أصدر فان هالين ألبوم Balance ودعم Bon Jovi في جولة استاد الصيف الأوروبي.

قاموا أيضًا بعمل ألبوم مباشر بعنوان Live: Right Here ، Right Now. أثناء تسجيل أغانٍ لفيلم الإعصار ، تصاعد التوتر بين هاجر والأخوين هالن ، وغادرت هاجر يوم الأب عام 1996.

اتصل ديفيد لي روث بإيدي لمناقشة المسارات التي سيتم تضمينها في تجميع فان هالين المخطط له (العمل الذي بدأ بالفعل قبل رحيل هاجر).

سيشرح إيدي فان هالين لاحقًا (فيما يتعلق بمظهر MTV Video Music Awards) أنه كان محرجًا في البداية من تصرفات روث الغريبة أثناء وجوده أمام الكاميرا خلف بيك ، الذي كان يلقي خطاب قبول للجائزة التي قدمها له فان هالين.

بعد ذلك مباشرة ، تم نقل الفرقة إلى مؤتمر صحفي خلف الكواليس حيث تمت مقابلة استفسارات صحفية حول جولة لم الشمل مع إيدي فان هالين قائلاً إنه بحاجة إلى استبدال مفصل الورك وسيتعين عليه تسجيل ألبوم استوديو جديد بالكامل قبل أي جولة.

كان المغني الرئيسي التالي لفان هالين هو جاري تشيرون ، رئيس فرقة Extreme التي كانت مقرها بوسطن في ذلك الوقت ، والتي لاقت نجاحًا شعبيًا في أوائل التسعينيات. وكانت النتيجة ألبوم Van Halen III.

بعد ذلك بوقت قصير ، عاد فان هالين إلى الاستوديو وفي أوائل عام 1999 ، بدأوا العمل على ألبوم جديد.

واصل الأخوان فان هالين الكتابة في 5150 استوديو ، وسجل تشيرون ألبومًا وقام بجولة مع الفرقة الجديدة قبيلة يهوذا.

إحدى الأغاني التي كتبها Cherone للألبوم الثاني الذي تم إلغاؤه مع Van Halen ، بعنوان "Left For Dead" ، ستشهد تعيين كلماتها على ترتيب موسيقي جديد مع Tribe of Judah.

اجتذبت الجولة ، التي يتصدرها كل من المطربين ، افتتان وسائل الإعلام والجمهور لأنها بدت غير محتملة حتى من جولة فان هالن مع روث أو هاجر.

سجلت الفرقة أغنيتين فقط وعزفت على الهواء مباشرة عدة مرات قبل أن تحل عندما انضم هاجر وأنتوني إلى فان هالن.

LR: مايكل أنتوني ، سامي هاجر ، إيدي فان هالين

في أواخر مارس 2004 ، أعلن فان هالن وهاجر أن هاجر ستجتمع مجددًا مع الفرقة لإصدار تجميعي جديد وجولة موسيقية صيفية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

في يوليو 2004 ، أصدر فان هالين مجموعة جديدة مكونة من قرصين يضم ثلاث أغانٍ جديدة مع هاجر: "حان الوقت" و "Up for Breakfast" و "Learning to See". نُسبت هذه الأغاني الجديدة إلى هاجر / فان هالين / فان هالين ، وهو أمر غير معتاد نظرًا لأن المجموعة بأكملها ، والتي تضم أيضًا مايكل أنتوني ، ستُنسب إليها.

سيكشف أنتوني لاحقًا في المقابلات أن إيدي فان هالين لم يكن يريده في الواقع أن يكون جزءًا من لم الشمل ولهذا السبب لم يُسمح لأنتوني بالأداء في الجلسات (موضحًا افتقاره إلى رصيد كتابة الأغاني) ، مع إيدي يلعب أجزاء الجهير نفسه بدلاً من ذلك.

صرح هاجر في البداية أنه لم يقرر بعد ما سيفعله مع فان هالين ، على الرغم من أنه كان لا يزال عضوًا رسميًا في الفرقة.

صرح هاجر أنه "انتهى مع فان هالين" وتمنى أن "يأخذ الجميع الأمر بجدية أكبر". على الرغم من ذلك ، وصف إدي نفسه لاحقًا بأنه "راضٍ" عن الجولة.

عادت شائعات لم شمل ديفيد لي روث للظهور مرة أخرى وفي 3 يناير 2006 ، أوضح روث خلال مقابلة أنه تحدث إلى أليكس فان هالين في الأسبوع السابق وكان لم الشمل "أمر لا مفر منه". [44] ومع ذلك ، قال أيضًا أن كان إيدي فان هالين "خارج عالمه الصغير" مؤخرًا.

عندما سُئل عما إذا كانت هناك أي مشاكل حدثت مع سامي هاجر خلال جولة عام 2004 ، أجاب إيدي فان هالن ، "سامي هو سامي ، وفي الغالب لا بأس بذلك." أصر روث على اقتراحات لم الشمل ، [45] قائلاً ، "الناس يريدون لم الشمل" ، و "لن يحترم أحد ما يفعله أي منا [موسيقيًا] حتى نخرج من الطريق." في مايو 2006 ، قال لموقع Billboard.com ، "هناك اتصال بين المعسكرين."

في 3 يونيو ، بدأ مايكل أنتوني جولة ناجحة مع هاجر وصفت بأنها "النصف الآخر" (في إشارة إلى كونهم نصف فان هالن والنصف الآخر هو إيدي / أليكس) ، مع غناء أنتوني في بعض الأحيان.

تبع ذلك عرض إيدي فان هالين آخر في 19 يوليو 2006 ، في منزل بتلات في لوس أنجلوس ، يلعب بمواد جديدة.

تبع ذلك بإعلان في 27 يوليو 2006 ، أن بعض موسيقاه الجديدة ستصدر على الموسيقى التصويرية للفيلم الإباحي الخطيئة المقدسة. في مارس 2006 ، تحدث أنتوني إلى مجلة الروك اليابانية Burrn! [46] مدعيا أن الأخوين لا يريدانه في جولة لم الشمل عام 2004 ، على الرغم من أن هاجر فعلت (ولن تلعب بدون أنتوني) ، لكن كان عليه الموافقة على تخفيض الإتاوات و إنهاء كل الارتباط بالفرقة تمامًا بعد الجولة من حيث حقوق استخدام الاسم للترويج لنفسه. [47] اعترف في نفس المقابلة أنه لم يشارك في الأغاني الجديدة في أفضل ما في كلا العالمين وسجل ثلاثة مسارات فقط لـ III.

في 8 سبتمبر 2006 ، كسرت مقابلة حية مع إيدي فان هالين من هوارد ستيرن صمت الفرقة الطويل.

صدم هذا الأمر وأهان العديد من المعجبين. [48] في نوفمبر ، ادعت المتحدثة باسم إيدي ، جاني ليزيفسكي ، أن عائلة فان هالين كانت تكتب / تتدرب على جولة صيفية 2007 ، وهو ما أكده موقع مجلة بيلبورد قريبًا.

في 11 ديسمبر 2006 ، صرح إيدي فان هالين لمجلة جيتار وورلد أن ديفيد لي روث قد تمت دعوته مباشرة للانضمام إلى الفرقة. ومع ذلك ، في 50 ديسمبر ، أعلن روث أنه لم يتحدث إلى إيدي منذ عامين ، وقد يؤدي لم الشمل مع فان هالين إلى "قتال على غرار جيري سبرينغر". [28]

تم تجنيد الأخوة فان هالن ، أنتوني ، وهاجر ، وروث ، على الرغم من أن هاجر وأنطوني فقط حضروا حفل التعيين نيابة عن المجموعة. أعلن بيلبورد في 52 يناير 24 أن فان هالين سوف يجتمع مع روث للقيام بجولة في الولايات المتحدة. تم تأكيد ذلك بعد فترة وجيزة على موقع Van Halen الرسمي. [2007]

أعلن مكتب أخبار Van Halen في 15 فبراير 2007 ، أنه سيتم إصدار مجموعة Van Halen "Best Of (1978-1984)" ، وهي عبارة عن مجموعة من قرص واحد لعصر David Lee Roth الخاص بـ Van Halen ، بحلول 3 أبريل.

زعمت مصادر مختلفة أن الجولة أغلقت كما كان القرص المضغوط الجديد "Best Of". [55] [56] في 8 مارس 2007 ، أعلن إيدي على موقع Van Halen على الإنترنت أنه في إعادة التأهيل.

في مؤتمر صحفي بعد التعريفي ، قال هاجر إنه يود العمل مع Van Halen مرة أخرى ولكن يجب أن يقوم Van Halens بجولة مع Roth أولاً.

بعد ما يقرب من 10 أشهر من التكهنات والشائعات ، قال فان هالين (وروث بشكل منفصل عبر موقعه الخاص [58]) أن الفرقة ستذهب في جولة في أمريكا الشمالية.

في 5 مارس 2008 ، وورلد إنترتينمنت ويكلي إلى سي بي إس نيوز ذكرت أن سبب توقف الجولة هو حاجة إيدي فان هالين إلى إعادة التأهيل.

خلال العرض ، صرح روث عدة مرات أن هذا لن يكون عرضهم الأخير وأنهم "سيرون الجميع في المرة القادمة". في هذا العرض ، تم تغيير لافتة الحلبة لتصبح "VAN HALEN ARENA". وفقًا لمكتب أخبار Van Halen ، كانت جولة لم الشمل مع Roth هي الأعلى في تاريخ الفرقة ، حيث جمعت ما يقرب من 93 مليون دولار.

في مقابلة مع Guitar World ، نُشرت في 12 نوفمبر 2008 ، حول صنع غيتار EVH Wolfgang الجديد القادم من Fender ، قال Eddie Van Halen ، فيما يتعلق بموسيقى Van Halen الجديدة ، "سأصنع الموسيقى" حتى يوم اموت.

سنلتقطها بعد ذلك ". [64] خضع إيدي لعملية جراحية في يده اليسرى في عام 2009 ، بعد بعض العلاج من التهاب المفاصل حيث شعر بألم في أصابعه خلال جولة عام 2007. [65] في مقابلة مع مجلة Glide ظهرت في عدد مايو 2010 ، علق Dweezil Zappa أن إيدي قد لعب له "أشياء جديدة من سجله". لم يتضح من المقابلة ما إذا كانت الموسيقى مخصصة لتسجيل فان هالين جديد.

نشر شانكس على حسابه في تويتر أنه كان في الاستوديو مع الفرقة ونشر صورة لأحد مكبرات صوت إيدي فان هالين. [68] سيكون الألبوم الجديد أول ألبوم كامل لفان هالين منذ عام 1998 ، وهو ألبوم Van Halen III وأول موسيقى جديدة من الفرقة منذ الأغنيات الثلاث الجديدة من مجموعة Best of Both Worlds لعام 2004.

سيكون أيضًا أول ألبوم لفان هالين يظهر فيه ابن إيدي ، وولفجانج فان هالين ، على الجهير بدلاً من مايكل أنتوني.

في 16 يونيو 2011 ، ادعى مارك تريمونتي ، عازف الجيتار كريد وألتر بريدج وتريمونتي ، أنه قد تمت دعوته إلى 5150 استوديوًا وأن إيدي وأليكس وولفجانج فان هالين قاما بأداء الألبوم على الهواء في مجمله لصالح عازف الجيتار إريك وتريمونتي وكريد. فريدمان. ادعى المنتج / المهندس روس هوغارث في 70 يوليو 31 ، أنه "تم تسجيل سجل فان هالن بالكامل." [2011] في 71 سبتمبر 5 ، تم الإبلاغ عن اكتمال المزج في الألبوم الجديد في منتصف أغسطس ، وتقدم الإنتاج إلى مرحلة الإتقان. [2011]

كان هذا أول إصدار من استوديو Van Halen منذ عام 1998 والأول مع Roth على غناء الرصاص منذ 1984.

روث والأخوان فان هالن يتجولان في عام 2012

تضمن العرض العديد من الكلاسيكيات بالإضافة إلى العديد من الأغاني الجديدة من أحدث إصداراتهم ، نوع مختلف من الحقيقة ، والذي تم إصداره رسميًا في اليوم السابق في الولايات المتحدة. على الرغم من التسريح الطويل لفان هالين بين ألبومات الاستوديو ، باعت A Different Kind of Truth 75 نسخة خلال الأيام الستة الأولى من إصدارها ، حيث ظهرت لأول مرة في المرتبة الثانية على Billboard 188,000 Album Chart. كان هناك رد إيجابي ساحق ونقدي من المعجبين على نوع مختلف من الحقيقة ، مما ساعد على تأجيج المدى الطويل للألبوم في الروافد العليا من مخطط ألبوم Billboard 2 الأمريكي ؛ بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، حازت الفرقة على أعلى ألبوم رسوم بياني لها على الإطلاق في المملكة المتحدة (ظهرت لأول مرة في المرتبة السادسة). [200] [76]

على الرغم من متوسط ​​سعر التذكرة الذي يبلغ حوالي 150 دولارًا ، إلا أن جولة فان هالن "A Different Kind of Truth Tour" أثبتت نجاحها التجاري أيضًا ، حيث أن جميع عروض الحلبة الأمريكية تقريبًا "إما بيعت بالكامل أو قريبة منها". [79] بشكل حاسم ، تلقت الفرقة مراجعات إيجابية في الغالب ، خاصة عند أدائها في جميع أنحاء شمال شرق الولايات المتحدة والساحل الغربي.

في 17 مايو 2012 ، ذكرت رولينج ستون أن فان هالين كان يؤجل جميع مواعيد الجولات بعد عرضهم في 26 يونيو في نيو أورلينز ، لويزيانا. بعد ذلك بوقت قصير ، كشف مكتب أخبار Van Halen أن أعضاء الفرقة يتمتعون بصحة جيدة ، ولم يتجادلوا مع بعضهم البعض ، وأن سبب تأجيل مواعيد الجولة هو أخذ استراحة بعد 81 شهرًا من التسجيل والتجول المستمر. وكذلك لإتاحة الفرصة للمجموعة لتعزيز عرضها في الحفلة قبل استئناف الجولة في أواخر صيف 18. [2012] ومع ذلك ، تم إدراج التواريخ المؤجلة رسميًا على أنها ملغاة بعد ذلك بوقت قصير.

في 30 أغسطس 2012 ، تم تشخيص إدي فان هالين بالتهاب الرتج وخضع لعملية جراحية لتأجيل العروض في اليابان المقرر مبدئيًا في نوفمبر 2012. [84] في 20 أبريل 2013 ، لعبت فان هالين التي تواجه روث أول عرض لها خارج أمريكا الشمالية منذ عام 1984 ، وأول عرض لها في أستراليا منذ عام 1998 ، في مهرجان ستون في سيدني. تبع ذلك عرض واحد في كل من طوكيو وناغويا ، وعرضان في أوساكا ، من 85 إلى 18 يونيو.

في فبراير 2015 ، أعلن معجبو Van Halen VHND.com أن Van Halen سيصدر أول ألبوم مباشر على الإطلاق مع المنشد الأصلي David Lee Roth ، Tokyo Dome Live in Concert في 31 مارس 2015.

تم الإبلاغ أيضًا عن أن الفرقة ستصدر نسخًا معاد تصميمها حديثًا من بدايتها عام 1978 و 1984 على قرص مضغوط ورقمي وفينيل. في مقابلة في نفس الشهر ، عندما سئل إيدي فان هالين عن حالة فان هالين ، أجاب بالقول "أرغب في عمل تسجيل استوديو.

في 24 مارس 2015 ، أعلن فان هالين عن جولة في 39 موعدًا مع روث من يوليو إلى أكتوبر 2015 عبر أمريكا الشمالية. [88] [89] في أبريل 2015 ، أخبر إيدي فان هالين رولينج ستون أن الفرقة "من المحتمل أن تتعثر وتقوم بتسجيل استوديو" بعد جولتها. [90]

إيدي فان هالين - غيتار رئيسي ، لوحات مفاتيح ، غناء مساند (1972 إلى الوقت الحاضر) ؛ غناء الرصاص (1972-1974)

فولفجانج فان هالين - باس ، غناء مساند (2006 إلى الوقت الحاضر)

إيدي فان هالين - غناء رئيسي ، غيتار

Eddie Van Halen - جيتار ولوحات مفاتيح وغناء مساند

Eddie Van Halen - جيتار ولوحات مفاتيح وغناء مساند

إيدي فان هالين - الغيتار ، دعم غناء

Eddie Van Halen - جيتار ولوحات مفاتيح وغناء مساند

إيدي فان هالين - جيتار ، جيتار ستوديو باس ، غناء مساند

إيدي فان هالين - الغيتار ، دعم غناء

Wolfgang Van Halen - جيتار باس ، ودعم غناء

شعار Van Halen من عهد روث


المصدر فان هالين

Van Halen stipulated in their performance contracts that a bowl of M&M’s, with all of the brown M&M’s removed, was to be placed in their dressing room. They didn’t do this to be jerks, but as a simple test to see if more important safety and quality specifications were attended to as well.

From 1974 until 1985, the band consisted of guitarist Eddie Van Halen, vocalist David Lee Roth, drummer Alex Van Halen, and bassist Michael Anthony.[7]

Former Extreme frontman Gary Cherone was quickly recruited as lead singer to replace Hagar, and Van Halen III was released in 1998.

Van Halen went on hiatus until 2003 when they reunited with Hagar for a worldwide tour.

Hagar again left Van Halen in 2005, and in 2006 Roth returned as lead vocalist for their highest-grossing tour, and one of the highest-grossing tours of that year.

Anthony was not invited to participate in the tour and was essentially fired from the band, replaced by Wolfgang Van Halen, Eddie’s son.

According to the RIAA, Van Halen is the 19th-best-selling band/artist in United States history, selling 56 million albums in the U.S.[8] They were also revealed at number 4 on the Billboard’s top moneymakers list in 2013.[9][10] Van Halen is one of only five rock bands that have had two studio albums sell more than 10 million copies in the U.S.[11] Additionally, Van Halen charted 13 number-one hits in the history of Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart and they are one of the world’s best-selling bands of all time, having sold more than 80 million records.[12][13][14]

As they progressed and gained popularity, they started to play many backyard parties and changed the name of their band to The Trojan Rubber Co. In 1972, the Van Halen brothers formed a band called Genesis featuring Eddie as lead vocalist/guitarist, Alex on drums, and Mark Stone on bass.

Although the audience was small, the two were so impressed with Van Halen that within a week they offered the band a recording contract.[24] The group recorded their debut album at Sunset Sound Recorders studio in mid-September to early October 1977, recording guitar parts for one week and then recording vocals for two additional weeks.

Upon its release, Van Halen reached No. 19 on the Billboard pop music charts, one of rock’s most commercially successful debuts.[25] It was highly regarded as both a heavy metal and hard rock album.[26] The album included songs now regarded as Van Halen classics, like “Runnin’ with the Devil” and the guitar solo “Eruption”, which showcased Eddie’s use of a technique known as “finger-tapping”.

The band’s chemistry owed much to Eddie Van Halen’s technical guitar wizardry and David Lee Roth’s flamboyant antics and stage persona, strong points which later made them rivals.

The band returned to the studio in late 1978 to record Van Halen II, a 1979 album similar in style to their debut.

Over the next few years, the band alternated album releases and touring (see Van Halen concert tours).

Billy Sheehan, after his band Talas completed a tour with Van Halen, claims he was approached by Eddie Van Halen to replace Michael Anthony.

Recorded at Eddie Van Halen’s newly built 5150 Studios, the album featured keyboards, which had only been used sporadically on previous albums.

Roth was upset about Eddie playing music outside of Van Halen without checking with the band, and his alleged drug abuse that allegedly prevented the band from viable practices.

The 1986 Van Halen album 5150 was a huge hit, becoming the band’s first No. 1 album on the Billboard charts, driven by the keyboard-dominated singles “Why Can’t This Be Love” (#3 U.S.), “Dreams,” and “Love Walks In” (Top 30 U.S.).

To further introduce the new era for the band, a new Van Halen logo was put on the cover.

Footage was released on VHS and DVD as Live Without a Net. In the tour Hagar wanted to minimize the use of pre-Hagar Van Halen songs in the set,[citation needed] other than the band’s best known classics.

In addition, Van Halen was nominated for two Grammy Awards, winning the 1992 Best Hard Rock Performance with Vocal award for the album For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge.

In 1995, Van Halen released the album Balance and supported Bon Jovi on their European Summer stadium tour.

They also made a live album called Live: Right Here, Right Now. During the recording of songs for the film Twister, escalating tension between Hagar and the Van Halen brothers boiled over[citation needed] and Hagar departed on Father’s Day, 1996.

David Lee Roth called Eddie to discuss what tracks would be included on a planned Van Halen compilation (work on which had actually begun before Hagar’s departure).

Eddie Van Halen would later explain (in regard to the MTV Video Music Awards appearance) that he had initially been embarrassed by Roth’s antics while on camera behind Beck, who was giving an acceptance speech for the award that Van Halen had presented to him.

Immediately following this, the band had been taken to a backstage press conference where press queries about a reunion tour were met with Eddie Van Halen saying that he needed a hip replacement and would have to record an entire new studio album before any tour.

Van Halen’s next lead singer was Gary Cherone, frontman of the then-defunct Boston-based band Extreme, a group which had enjoyed some popular success in the early 1990s.[40] The result was the album Van Halen III.

Shortly afterwards, Van Halen returned to the studio and in early 1999, they started work on a new album.

The Van Halen brothers continued writing at 5150 studios, Cherone recorded an album and toured with new band Tribe of Judah.

One of the songs that Cherone had written for the scrapped second album with Van Halen, entitled “Left For Dead”, would see its lyrics set to a new musical arrangement with Tribe of Judah.

The tour, with both singers headlining, attracted media and audience fascination because it seemed more improbable than even a Van Halen tour with Roth or Hagar.

The band recorded just two songs and played live a few times before dissolving when Hagar and Anthony rejoined Van Halen.

L-R: Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar, Eddie Van Halen

In late March 2004, Van Halen and Hagar announced that Hagar would reunite with the band for a new compilation release and a Summer concert tour of the USA.

In July 2004, Van Halen released a new 2-CD compilation featuring three new songs with Hagar: “It’s About Time,” “Up for Breakfast,” and “Learning to See.” These new songs were credited to Hagar/Van Halen/Van Halen, which was unusual since normally the entire lineup, which also included Michael Anthony, would be credited.

Anthony would later reveal in interviews that Eddie Van Halen had in fact not wanted him to be a part of the reunion and for this reason Anthony had not been allowed to perform in the sessions (explaining his lack of a songwriting credit), with Eddie playing the bass parts himself instead.

At first Hagar stated he had yet to decide what he would be doing with Van Halen, although he was still an official member of the band.

Hagar stated that he was “done with Van Halen” and wished that everyone would have “taken it more seriously.” Despite this, Eddie later described himself as “satisfied” with the tour.

Rumors of a David Lee Roth reunion re-emerged and on January 3, 2006, Roth explained during an interview that he had spoken to Alex Van Halen the previous week and a reunion was “inevitable.”[44] However, he also said that Eddie Van Halen was “off in his own little world” recently.

When asked if any problems occurred with Sammy Hagar during the 2004 tour Eddie Van Halen answered, “Sammy is Sammy, and for the most part that’s just fine.” Roth persisted with suggestions of a reunion,[45] saying, “People want the reunion,” and “No one will pay respect to what any of us do [musically] until we get the reunion out of the way.” In May 2006, he told Billboard.com, “There’s contact between the two camps.”

On June 3, Michael Anthony began a successful tour with Hagar billed as “The Other Half” (a reference to them being half of Van Halen with the other half being Eddie/Alex), with Anthony singing lead vocals sometimes.

This was followed by another Eddie Van Halen performance on July 19, 2006, at the House of Petals in Los Angeles, playing new material.

He followed this with an announcement on July 27, 2006, that some of his new music would be released on the soundtrack for the pornographic film Sacred Sin. In March 2006, Anthony spoke to Japanese rock magazine Burrn!,[46] claiming the brothers did not want him on the 2004 reunion tour, although Hagar did (and would not play without Anthony), but he had to agree to reduced royalties and end absolutely all association with the band after the tour in terms of rights to using the name to promote himself.[47] It was in this same interview he admitted he was not involved in the new songs on Best of Both Worlds and only recorded three tracks for III.

On September 8, 2006, Howard Stern’s Eddie Van Halen live interview broke the band’s long silence.

This shocked and offended many fans.[48] In November, Eddie’s spokesperson, Janie Liszewski, claimed the Van Halen family was writing/rehearsing for a summer 2007 tour, which Billboard magazine’s website shortly confirmed.

On December 11, 2006, Eddie Van Halen stated to Guitar World magazine that David Lee Roth had been directly invited to rejoin the band.[50] However, on December 28, Roth announced that he had not talked to Eddie in two years, and a reunion with Van Halen could result in a “Jerry Springer-style fight.”[51]

The Van Halen brothers, Anthony, Hagar, and Roth were inducted, though only Hagar and Anthony appeared at the induction ceremony on behalf of the group.[52] Billboard announced on January 24, 2007 that Van Halen would reunite with Roth for a U.S. tour.[53] This was confirmed shortly after on the official Van Halen website.[54]

The Van Halen News Desk announced on February 15, 2007, that a Van Halen “Best Of (1978–1984),” a single-disc compilation of Van Halen’s David Lee Roth era, would be released by April 3.

Various sources claimed the tour was shut down as was the new “Best Of” CD.[55][56] On March 8, 2007 Eddie announced on Van Halen’s website that he was in rehab.

At a post-induction press conference, Hagar said he would love to work with Van Halen again but that the Van Halens should tour with Roth first.

After nearly 10 months of speculation and rumors, Van Halen (and Roth separately via his own website[58]) said that the band would be going on a tour of North America.

On March 5, 2008, World Entertainment Weekly to CBS News reported that the reason the tour had been interrupted was Eddie Van Halen’s needing to reenter rehab.

During the show Roth stated multiple times that this would not be their final show and that they would “see everyone next time.” At this show the arena sign was altered to read “VAN HALEN ARENA.” According to the Van Halen News Desk, the reunion tour with Roth was the highest grossing in the band’s history, raking in almost 93 million dollars.

In an interview with Guitar World, posted on November 12, 2008, about the making of his upcoming new EVH Wolfgang guitar from Fender, Eddie Van Halen said, in regard to new Van Halen music, “I’ll be making music ’til the day I die.

We’ll pick it up after that.”[64] Eddie underwent surgery on his left hand in 2009, following some treatment for arthritis as he felt pain in his fingers during the 2007 tour.[65] In an interview with Glide Magazine appearing in the May 2010 issue, Dweezil Zappa commented that Eddie had played him “new stuff from his record.” It was not clear from the interview if the music was intended for a new Van Halen record.[66]

Shanks posted on his Twitter account that he was in the studio with the band and posted a picture of one of Eddie Van Halen’s signature amps.[68] The new album would be the first full-length Van Halen album since 1998’s Van Halen III and the first new music from the band since the three new songs from the 2004’s Best of Both Worlds compilation.

It would also be the first Van Halen album to feature Eddie’s son, Wolfgang Van Halen, on the bass in place of Michael Anthony.

On June 16, 2011, Creed, Alter Bridge and Tremonti guitarist Mark Tremonti claimed that he had been invited to 5150 studios and that Eddie, Alex and Wolfgang Van Halen performed the album live, in its entirety, for Tremonti and Creed touring guitarist, Eric Friedman.[70] Producer/engineer Ross Hogarth claimed on July 31, 2011, that “[t]he whole Van Halen record has been recorded.”[71] On September 5, 2011, it was reported that the mixing on the new album had been completed in mid-August, and production had progressed to the mastering stage.[72]

It was Van Halen’s first studio release since 1998 and first with Roth on lead vocals since 1984.

Roth and the Van Halen brothers touring in 2012

The show featured many classics as well as several new songs from their latest release, A Different Kind of Truth, which was released officially the day before in the United States.[75] Despite Van Halen’s long lay-off between studio albums, A Different Kind of Truth sold 188,000 copies during its first six days of release, debuting at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart.[76] There was an overwhelmingly positive critical and fan response to A Different Kind of Truth, which helped to fuel the album’s long run in the upper reaches of the U.S. Billboard 200 Album Chart; additionally, it earned the band its highest-ever charting album in the United Kingdom (debuting at No. 6).[77][78]

Despite an average ticket price of approximately $150, Van Halen’s “A Different Kind of Truth Tour” proved to be a commercial success as well, with nearly all U.S. arena shows “either sold-out, or close to it.” [79] Critically, the band received mostly positive reviews, particularly when performing throughout the U.S. Northeast and West Coast.

On May 17, 2012, Rolling Stone reported that Van Halen was postponing all tour dates after their show of June 26 in New Orleans, Louisiana.[81] Shortly thereafter, the Van Halen News Desk revealed that the band’s members were in good health, had not been arguing with each other, and that the reason for the postponed tour dates was to take a break after 18 months of non-stop recording and touring as well as to allow the group the opportunity to enhance its concert presentation before resuming the tour in the late summer of 2012.[82] However, the postponed dates were officially listed as cancelled shortly thereafter.[83]

On August 30, 2012, Eddie Van Halen was diagnosed with diverticulitis and underwent surgery postponing the shows in Japan initially scheduled for November 2012.[84] On April 20, 2013, the Roth-fronted Van Halen played its first show outside North America since 1984, and their first in Australia since 1998, at the Stone Festival in Sydney.[85] This was followed by one show each in Tokyo and Nagoya, and two in Osaka, from June 18 to 26.

In February 2015, Van Halen fansite VHND.com announced that Van Halen would be releasing their first ever live album with original vocalist David Lee Roth, Tokyo Dome Live in Concert on March 31, 2015.

It was also reported that the band would be releasing newly remastered versions of their 1978 debut and 1984 on CD, digital, and vinyl.[86] In an interview the same month, when asked about the status of Van Halen, Eddie Van Halen responded by saying “I’d love to make a studio record.

On March 24, 2015, Van Halen announced a 39 date tour with Roth to take place from July to October 2015 across North America.[88][89] In April 2015, Eddie Van Halen told Rolling Stone that the band will “probably hunker down and do a studio record” after their tour.[90]

Eddie Van Halen – lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals (1972–present); lead vocals (1972–1974)

Wolfgang Van Halen – bass, backing vocals (2006–present)

Eddie Van Halen – lead vocals, guitar

Eddie Van Halen – Guitar, keyboards, backing vocals

Eddie Van Halen – guitar, keyboards, backing vocals

Eddie Van Halen – guitar, backing vocals

Eddie Van Halen – guitar, keyboards, backing vocals

Eddie Van Halen – guitar, studio bass guitar, backing vocals

Eddie Van Halen – guitar, backing vocals

Wolfgang Van Halen – bass guitar, backing vocals

The Roth-era Van Halen logo


Source: Van Halen