卡洛斯·莱德(Carlos Lehder)面部照片

哥伦比亚贩毒者卡洛斯·莱德(Carlos Lehder)在巴哈马买了一个岛,在那里他建了一条简易机场,控制从南美进入美国的毒品。 他变得如此富有,以至于主动提出偿还哥伦比亚的外债。

诺曼礁

在1970年代后期,由于雷德的狂妄自大和他秘密策划以确保拥有一个私人巴哈马岛作为其行动的全能总部的某种组合,莱德与荣格的伙伴关系开始出现分歧。

那个岛是诺曼底礁(Norman's Cay),当时该岛包括一个码头,一个游艇俱乐部,大约100个私人住宅和一个简易机场。 1978年,莱德(Lehder)开始购买财产,骚扰和威胁该岛的居民。 有一次,有人发现一艘游艇漂流到海岸上,船上有一个主人的尸体。 Lehder估计在该岛上总共花费了4.5万美元。

当莱德(Lehder)支付或强迫当地居民离开并开始完全控制该岛时,诺曼底礁成了他无法无天的私人领地。 到这个时候,他已经迫使荣格退出行动,据称国际刑事金融家罗伯特·维斯科已经成为合伙人。 荣格利用先前的联系为帕勃罗·埃斯科巴尔(Pablo Escobar)采取了较为温和的独立走私路线,并避开了莱德(Lehder)的视线。

从1978年到1982年,珊瑚礁岛是加勒比海地区主要的毒品走私中心,也是莱德及其同事的热带度假胜地和游乐场。 他们乘坐各种能够从满载飞机降落在飞机跑道上的飞机从哥伦比亚飞往可卡因,将其装上各种小型飞机,然后分发到乔治亚州,佛罗里达州和卡罗来纳州。 据信,通过诺曼礁运输的每1辆卡车中,就有4公斤来自莱德。 继续阅读(7分钟阅读)

关于“哥伦比亚贩毒者卡洛斯·莱德(Carlos Lehder)在巴哈马购买了一个岛,他放了一条飞机跑道,控制从南美进入美国的毒品,对此他有12个想法。 他变得如此富有,他主动提出偿还哥伦比亚的外债。”

  1. 西雷

    我曾经在80年代末到90年代初住在巴哈马。 我们有一个私人飞机跑道,一个晚上,茫茫荒野中,这架巨大的飞机低空飞过我们的房子。 当一名工作人员拦住他并告诉他放手时,我父亲要去检查。 第二天早上,当DEA直升机挡住了我们面前的道路时,我的母亲,姐姐和我被拦死了(那天不必上学)。 父亲被阻止的好事是因为事实证明,有大量麻醉品流经我们的财产,而父亲可能已经死了。 在另一个岛上,我可以清楚地记得开车回家,岛上的大部分地方都没电了……机场除外。 跑道被照亮了。 我父亲开车比平常快得多,我们直接去了家。 没有问题。 随它去吧。

  2. 脏星期一

    在“黑帮:美国最邪恶的人”中,他身上有着很好的传记。

    我最喜欢的部分是一位拒绝离开岛上的居民,但实际上却与这个家伙性交。 本质上是和麦德林·卡特尔在一起。 当然,那个家伙在那里和虎鲨一起游泳,所以“疯狂的卡洛斯”不会吓him他。

  3. 伊巴拉比

    无需接受大赦的工资,他们只是冻结了他的帐户

  4. 隔离

    只要他再也没有参加非法活动,他们就应该给他大赦。

    我的意思是,美国总统里根做了几乎相同的事情。

  5. 卡通枪

    Pablo Escobar也有一个小岛。 我相信他在他使用的巴哈马也有飞机跑道。 其他哥伦比亚卡特尔领导人也这样做了。

  6. 约翰尼汉默

    它永远不会令我惊讶,白尘为错误的人创造了什么收益能力。

  7. 特雷莫布

    打击:一部很棒的电影。

    但是一本更好的书。 这本书详细介绍了卡洛斯(Carlos)。

  8. _Born_To_Be_Mild_

    您很富有,但还没有偿还整个国家的债务。

  9. jdubs703

    “他们招募了两个美国女孩去安提瓜度假,接受可卡因,然后带着手提箱带回美国。 重复了几次这个过程,他们很快就有了足够的钱去买飞机。

    他们使用小型偷来的飞机和专业飞行员,开始通过巴哈马将可卡因飞往美国。”

    因此,他们为偷来的飞机节省了足够的钱吗?

  10. 水力压裂_u

    我以为是帕勃罗·埃斯科巴(Pablo Escobar)试图还清哥伦比亚的债务。

发表评论

Colombian drug trafficker Carlos Lehder bought himself an island in the Bahamas where he put an airstrip which controlled the drugs coming in from South America and entering the US. He became so wealthy he offered to pay Colombia’s foreign debt for amnesty.

Norman’s Cay

In the late 1970s, the Lehder-Jung partnership began to diverge, due to some combination of Lehder’s megalomania and his secret scheming to secure a personal Bahamian island as an all-purpose headquarters for his operations.

That island was Norman’s Cay, which at that point consisted of a marina, a yacht club, approximately 100 private homes, and an airstrip. In 1978, Lehder began buying up property and harassing and threatening the island’s residents; at one point, a yacht was found drifting off the coast with the corpse of one of its owners aboard. Lehder is estimated to have spent $4.5 million on the island in total.

As Lehder paid or forced the local population to leave, and began to assume total control of the island, Norman’s Cay became his lawless private fiefdom. By this time, he had forced Jung out of the operation, and international criminal financier Robert Vesco had allegedly become a partner. Jung used his prior connections to take up a more modest line of independent smuggling for Pablo Escobar and stayed out of Lehder’s way.

From 1978 through 1982, the Cay was the Caribbean’s main drug-smuggling hub, and a tropical hideaway and playground for Lehder and associates. They flew cocaine in from Colombia on all sorts of aircraft able to land fully loaded on the airstrip, reloaded it into various small aircraft, and then distributed it to locations in Georgia, Florida, and the Carolinas. Lehder was believed to have received 1 kilo out of every 4 that was transported through Norman’s Cay. Continue Reading (7 minute read)

12 thoughts on “Colombian drug trafficker Carlos Lehder bought himself an island in the Bahamas where he put an airstrip which controlled the drugs coming in from South America and entering the US. He became so wealthy he offered to pay Colombia’s foreign debt for amnesty.”

  1. Siray

    I used to live in the Bahamas back in the late 80’s into the early 90’s. We had a private airstrip and one night, out of nowhere, this massive plane comes flying in low over our house. My father was going to inspect when a staff member stopped him and told him to let it be. The next morning, my mother, sister and I were stopped dead in our tracks when a DEA helicopter blocked the road in front of us (didn’t have to go to school that day). Good thing my father was stopped because it turns out a huge amount of narcotics were moved through our property and my father would probably have ended up dead. On another island, I can clearly remember driving home and the power being out on most of the island…except at the airport. The runway was lit up bright as can be. My father drove by much quicker than normal and we went straight to our house. No questions. Just let it be.

  2. DirtyMonday

    There’s a good bio on him in the “Gangsters: America’s most Evil”

    My favorite part was the one resident who refused to leave the island and actually fucked with this dude. Essentially fucking with the Medellin Cartel. Of course the guy was there to swim with tiger sharks so ‘Crazy Carlos’ wasn’t going to scare him away.

  3. ibarabi

    No need to accept pay for amnesty, they just froze his accounts

  4. SequesterMe

    They should have given him amnesty as long as he never participated in illegal activities again.

    I mean, US president Reagan did very nearly the same thing.

  5. cartoon_gun

    Pablo Escobar also had an island. I believe he also had an airstrip in the Bahamas he used. Other Colombian cartel leaders did too.

  6. johnnyhammer

    It never ceases to amaze me what earning power that white dust creates for the wrong people.

  7. Therealmohb

    Blow: a great movie.

    But an even better book. The book goes into pretty good detail about Carlos.

  8. _Born_To_Be_Mild_

    You’re rich, but not pay-off-the-debts-of-an-entire-country rich.

  9. jdubs703

    “they enlisted two American girls to take a paid vacation to Antigua, receive cocaine, and carry it back with them to the US in their suitcases. Repeating this process several times, they soon had enough money for an airplane.

    Using a small stolen plane and a professional pilot, they began to fly cocaine into the United States via the Bahamas”

    So they saved enough for a stolen plane?

  10. fracking_u

    I thought that was Pablo Escobar who tried paying off Columbia’s debt.

Leave a Comment