主页 » 艺术与娱乐 » 托尔金将“矮人”作为“矮人”的复数形式进行了流行,以区分他的幻想矮人和有矮人主义的人类,对他们而言,正确的复数就是“矮人”。 矮人的论据变得根深蒂固,以至于“矮人”现在被广泛认为是“矮人”的标准复数形式,即使对于人类

托尔金将“矮人”作为“矮人”的复数形式进行了流行,以区分他的幻想矮人和有矮人主义的人类,对他们而言,正确的复数就是“矮人”。 矮人的论据变得根深蒂固,以至于“矮人”现在被广泛认为是“矮人”的标准复数形式,即使对于人类

矮人与矮人

用法

矮人是名词矮人的标准复数形式。 矮人是英国作家JRR Tolkien在其奇幻小说作品(包括《霍比特人》和《指环王》)中普及(尽管未发明)的较新版本。 当提到幻想世界中的小矮人时,Tolkien拼写是合适的。 矮人在其他地方都更好。 (关于矮人对现实生活中的人是否有礼貌的说法一直存在争议,但我们在这里不做讨论。)

矮人还充当动词,意为使人显得矮小。 从这个意义上说,小矮人是指以第三人称单数现在时态表示的小矮人,而不是小矮人。

下面的ngram描绘了矮人和矮人的发生情况(用定冠词将其删除... 继续阅读(2分钟阅读)

发表评论

Home » Arts & Entertainment » Tolkein popularised “dwarves” as the plural of “dwarf” to differentiate his fantasy dwarves from humans with dwarfism, for whom the correct plural was “dwarfs”. The dwarf trope became so entrenched that “dwarves” is now widely recognised as the standard plural of “dwarf” even for humans

Tolkein popularised “dwarves” as the plural of “dwarf” to differentiate his fantasy dwarves from humans with dwarfism, for whom the correct plural was “dwarfs”. The dwarf trope became so entrenched that “dwarves” is now widely recognised as the standard plural of “dwarf” even for humans

Dwarfs vs. dwarves

Usage

Dwarfs is the standard plural of the noun dwarf. Dwarves is a newer variant popularized (though not invented) by English author J.R.R. Tolkien in his fantasy fiction works, including The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The Tolkien spelling is appropriate when referring to little people in fantasy worlds. Dwarfs is better everywhere else. (There is controversy over whether dwarf is ever a polite term for real-life people, but we won’t go into that here.)

Dwarf also works as a verb meaning to cause to appear small in size. In this sense, dwarf is inflected dwarfs, not dwarves, in the third-person singular present tense.

The below ngram graphs the occurrence of the dwarfs and the dwarves (with the definite article to remove… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

Leave a Comment