哥斯达黎加森林橙皮

橙皮如何拯救整个雨林?

雨林对人类生活至关重要,这是因为它们是我们星球上氧气的主要来源。 但是,由于人类不断进行非法采伐和毁林等活动,我们的气候受到严重影响。 因此,您可能想知道,一堆橘子皮如何拯救了整个雨林?

1997年,果汁公司Del Oro在哥斯达黎加国家公园的一片贫瘠土地上倾倒了约12,000吨橙皮。 16年后,该空间变成了一个郁郁葱葱的森林,到处都是藤蔓和其他绿色植物。

这是意外吗?

与人们的想法相反,这绝非偶然。 实际上,它是经过深思熟虑的。 (来源: 科学预警)

1997年,来自宾夕法尼亚大学的两名生态学家和来自哥斯达黎加的一家新果汁公司Del Oro合作进行了一项实验项目。 该公司拥有一块土地,就在瓜纳卡斯特保护区的边界旁。 为了换取更多的空间,德尔·奥罗(Del Oro)签署了一项协议,允许他们将农业废弃物倾倒在公园的某些区域。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

德尔·奥罗(Del Oro)在其产品上未使用任何化学药品或杀虫剂,该协议只允许处置某种农业废料–橙皮和果肉。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

废物仅是要倒在质量差的土壤上,并将由公司的废物系统管理人员进行密切监控。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

公民对此交易有何反应?

并非所有人都对这种安排感到满意。 Del Oro的竞争对手TicoFrut起诉该公司进行倾销 危险废物 腐烂的果皮吸引了大量的苍蝇。 事实证明,TicoFrut的废物管理系统一直存在问题,并被迫检修自己的加工设施。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

其他人没有理解的是,这种安排更多是一种生态实验,而不是一家试图摆脱废物倾倒的公司。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

诉讼发生了什么?

即使有几个环境小组提供的经验证据表明该实验在生态上是安全的,但哥斯达黎加最高法院还是关闭了整个研究。 (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

到目前为止,在三公顷的土地上已经有12,000吨橙皮和果肉。 当法院关闭实验时,果皮被留下了。 (来源: 科学预警)

16年后…

2013年,普林斯顿大学的一位名叫Timothy Treuer的研究生正在寻找研究的主题,并能够与Del Oro公司的研究的原始作者之一建立联系。 他决定对遗留在国家公园的果皮的影响进行后续研究。 (来源: 科学预警)

Treuer说:“树和藤蔓完全长满了,我什至看不到7英尺长的标志,上面有明亮的黄色字母,标志着距离道路只有几英尺的地方,”并提供了一些非常可靠的指标,以准确地量化正在发生的事情,并支持这一眼部测试,该测试在此地点显示,并通过视觉方式实现了施肥与未施肥区域之间差异的惊人程度。” (来源: 钻孔熊猫)

Treuer于2014年回到哥斯达黎加,与一群完整的科学家一起研究茂密的森林。 主要观察之一是; 果皮彻底改变了土地的土壤质量。 土壤从无生命的干燥状态转变为丰富且类似壤土的混合物。 (来源: “科学美国人”)

如果对农业废物进行适当的管理,就会有很多类似的成功案例。

发表评论

costa rica forest orange peels

How Did Orange Peels Save an Entire Rain Forest?

Rain forests are essential to human life and this is because they are the main source of oxygen for our planet. But because of constant abuse from mankind with activities like illegal logging and deforestation, our climate is gravely affected. So you might be wondering, how did a bunch of orange peels save an entire rainforest?

In 1997, Del Oro, a  juice company dumped about 12,000 metric tons of orange peels on a barren land in Costa Rica’s National Park. 16 years later, the space turned into a lush forest filled with vines and other greenery.

Was This an Accident?

Contrary to what people might think, this was no accident. In fact, it was very well thought of. (Source: Science Alert)

In 1997, two ecologists from the University of Pennsylvania and Del Oro, a new fruit juice company from Costa Rica partnered up for an experimental project. The company owned a piece of land that was just by the border of the Guanacaste Conservation Area. In exchange for more space, Del Oro signed a deal that they be allowed to dump their agricultural waste in some areas in the park. (Source: Bored Panda)

Del Oro did not use any chemicals or insecticides on their produce and the agreement allowed the disposal of only a certain kind of agricultural waste – orange peels and pulp. (Source: Bored Panda)

The waste were only meant to be dumped on soil with poor quality, and will be closely monitored by the waste system management of the company. (Source: Bored Panda)

What was the Citizen’s Reaction to This Deal?

Not everyone was pleased with the arrangement. Del Oro’s rival, TicoFrut sued the company for dumping dangerous waste of rotting peels that attracts tons of flies. Turns out, TicoFrut had been having issues with their waste management system and had been forced to overhaul their own processing facility. (Source: Bored Panda)

What others failed to understand is that this arrangement was more of an ecological experiment rather than a corporation trying to get away with dumping their waste. (Source: Bored Panda)

What Happened to the Lawsuit?

Even with empirical evidence provided by several environmental groups that the experiment was ecologically safe, the Costa Rican Supreme Court shut down the whole study. (Source: Bored Panda)

At this point there were already 12,000 metric tons of orange peels and pulp in three hectares of land. When the courts shut down the experiment, the peels were left behind. (Source: Science Alert)

16 Years Later…

In 2013, a graduate student from Princeton University by the name of Timothy Treuer was looking for topics to study on and was able to connect with one of the original authors of the research with the Del Oro company. He decided to do a follow-up study on the effects of the peels that had been left at the national park. (Source: Science Alert)

Treuer said “It was so completely overgrown with trees and vines that I couldn’t even see the 7-foot-long sign with bright yellow lettering marking the site that was only a few feet from the road, “I knew we needed to come up with some really robust metrics to quantify exactly what was happening and to back up this eye-test, which was showing up at this place and realizing visually how stunning the difference was between fertilized and unfertilized areas.” (Source: Bored Panda)

Treuer came back to Costa Rica in 2014 with a full team of scientists to study the lush forest. One of the main observations were; that the peels had completely transformed the land’s soil quality. The soil turned from a dry lifeless state, to a rich and loam-like mixture. (Source: Scientific American)

With the proper management of agricultural waste, there can be lots of success stories like this.

Leave a Comment