公司首页 » 人与社会 » 什么是芬兰日罚款制度?

什么是芬兰日罚款制度?

超速罚单的平均成本约为 150 美元。 对大多数人来说,这几乎相当于一周的工资。 但在芬兰,超速罚单可高达创纪录的 103,000 美元。 让我们找出这是如何发生的,以及它是否能有效地执行法律。

芬兰人实行日间罚款制度。 罚款的计算依据是违法者的每日可支配收入除以二。 违规行为越严重,您的可支配收入越多,罚款就越高。

美好的一天

违法者的违规行为通常会导致罚款。 我们习惯于固定罚款系统,其中使用全面方法来确定违规处罚。 价格不变。 虽然这个制度是常态,但它并没有提高现有制裁的效力。 (来源: University of Chicago )

另一方面,日罚则强调违法者的可支配收入。 简而言之,超速罚单与最低赌注和百万富翁不同。 该制度体现了平等正义的概念。 一张 150 美元的超速罚单可能意味着一个人的零钱,但也可能意味着另一个人一周的工资。

欧洲和拉丁美洲的几个城市使用日间罚款,因为这是一种在罪犯之间平均分配惩罚的方式。 有了这个系统,法官首先确定违规的严重程度。 然后严重性将被转换为 处罚单位,其中一个单位的惩罚等于违规者一天的比赛。 (来源: 公开课)

日间罚款于 1921 年在芬兰首次实施。瑞典、丹麦和挪威很快就紧随其后。 一些研究表明,该系统减少了监狱人口,因为罚款更容易支付。 (来源: 附件出版商)

基于收入的罚款的好处

每日罚款的第一个好处是它平等地伸张正义。 一个富有的罪犯将受到与工资较低的罪犯相同的工资的影响。 如上所述,固定罚款制度可能适用于拥有大量资金的个人。 他们可以将罚款注销为 chump-change。 

该系统可以带来的另一个好处是减少穷人的刑事司法债务。 固定罚款通常很高,如果不支付,犯罪者可能会因为这种微不足道的罪行而被投入监狱。 被投入监狱意味着处于经济边缘的人没有收入。 这会让他们的生活脱轨。 这种情况可能会导致个人犯下不同的罪行,以维持生计或支付罚款。

在不同的国家,日间罚款已被用作监禁的替代品,从而减少了管理监狱的费用。 它还有助于为政府创造可用于其他用途的收入。 (来源: University of Chicago )

昂贵的超速罚单

如上所述,大多数欧洲国家都实行日间罚款。 有许多关于个人支付超速罚单的报道。 以下是在超速罚单上花了很多钱的人的候选名单。 

  • 英国商人罗纳德·克洛斯 (Ronald Klos) 于 4,643 年支付了一张 2007 美元的罚单,当时他被一辆时速 156 英里的相机拍到并用手机通话。
  • 芬兰百万富翁 Reima Kuisla 因在 58,000 mph 的道路上以 65 mph 的速度被罚款 50 美元。
  • 前诺基亚电话总监 Annsi Vanjoki 支付了 103,000 美元,以在 47 英里/小时的道路上以 31 英里/小时的速度驾驶他的哈雷戴维森。
  • 27 岁的 Jussi Salonoja 是芬兰最富有的人之一,217,000 年被罚款 2004 美元。他在时速 50 英里的道路上以 25 英里/小时的速度被抓获。

(资源: Thrillist)

发表评论

Home » People & Society » What is the Finnish Day-Fine System?

What is the Finnish Day-Fine System?

The average cost of a speeding ticket is around $150. To most people, that’s almost a week’s worth of wages. But in Finland, speeding tickets can reach up to a record $103,000. Let’s find out how this happened and if it is effective in enforcing the law.

The Finnish implement the Day-Fine System. The penalty is calculated based on the offender’s daily disposable income, divided by two. The more severe the infraction and the more disposable income you have, the higher the fine.

The Day-Fine

The infraction incurred by the offender usually dictates fines. We are used to the fixed-fine system, wherein a blanket approach is used to determine an infraction penalty. The price doesn’t change. Though this system is the norm, it does not improve the efficacy of the sanction in place. (Source: University of Chicago)

The day-fine, on the other hand, emphasizes the offender’s disposable income. Simply put, a speeding ticket fine would differ from a minimum-wager to a millionaire. This system puts into perspective the concept of equal justice. A $150 speeding ticket could mean pocket change to one individual, yet could also mean a week’s pay for another.

Day-fines are used in several European and Latin American cities, as it is a way of distributing punishments equally among offenders. With this system, judges first determine how severe the infraction is. Then the severity will be translated to punishment units, wherein one unit of punishment is equal to one day’s play of the offender. (Source: OJP)

The day-fine was first implemented in Finland in 1921. Sweden, Denmark, and Norway soon followed the trend. Some studies showed that the system reduced the prison population, as the fines were more manageable to pay. (Source: Annex Publishers)

Benefits of Income-Based Fines

The first benefit of day-fines is that it delivers justice equally. A wealthy offender would be impacted the same pay a lower waged offender would. As mentioned above, a fixed-fine system may work well with individuals with a lot of money. They can write off the fine as chump-change. 

Another benefit the system can bring is the reduction of criminal justice debt for the poorer individuals. Fixed fines are usually steep, and if it is not paid, the offender can be thrown into jail for such a trivial offense. Being thrown in prison means no income for people in the economic margins. This will derail their lives. This situation may lead the individual to commit different offenses to either make ends meet or pay their fines.

Day-fines have been used as a substitute for incarceration in different countries, thereby lessening the expenses of running prisons. It has also helped generate revenue for the government that can be used for other things. (Source: University of Chicago)

Expensive Speeding Tickets

As mentioned above, day-fines are implemented in most European countries. There have been numerous reports of excessive speeding tickets paid by individuals. Below is a shortlist of individuals who spent a lot of money on speeding tickets. 

  • Ronald Klos, a British businessman, paid a $4,643 ticket in 2007 when he was caught by a camera going 156 mph and talking on his mobile phone.
  • Reima Kuisla, a Finnish millionaire, was fined $58,000 for doing 65 mph on a 50 mph road.
  • Ex-Nokia Phone Director Annsi Vanjoki paid $103,000 for riding his Harley-Davidson at 47 mph on a 31 mph road.
  • 27-year-old Jussi Salonoja, one of the richest men in Finland, was fined $217,000 in 2004. He was caught doing 50 mph on a 25 mph road.

(Source: Thrillist)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: