首页 » 艺术与娱乐 » 为什么《歌剧魅影》的制作把全面罩变成了半面罩?

为什么《歌剧魅影》的制作把全面罩变成了半面罩?

歌剧魅影是百老汇上演时间最长的音乐剧。 基于 Gaston Leroux 的 Le Fantôme de L'Opéra,故事围绕着戴着标志性面具的幻影展开,该面具在每次改编中都发生了变化。 

最初因为魅影的面部畸形,为男主角挑选了一个完整的面具,《歌剧魅影》的制作团队很快就将它换成了半面具,以刻画表演者的表情,消除演唱困难。 

卓越的歌剧魅影

歌剧魅影是国际知名的百老汇成功。 它被称为百老汇上跨度最长的音乐剧,持续了十多年。 话虽如此,《歌剧魅影》的总收入已超过 18.5 亿美元,为超过 XNUMX 万人表演。 (来源: 舒伯特组织

基于 Gaston Leroux 的经典作品 Le Fantôme de L'Opéra,歌剧魅影围绕着一个在巴黎歌剧院地下墓穴中潜行的蒙面主角展开。 从那时起,他就对纯洁年轻的女高音克里斯汀产生了深深的吸引力。 带着对克里斯汀的迷恋,蒙面人通过磨练她的技能和才能来分配他的时间,使她成为明星。 (来源: 安德鲁·劳埃德·韦伯

由安德鲁·劳埃德·韦伯 (Andrew Lloyd Webber) 和哈罗德·普林斯 (Harold Prince) 执导的《歌剧魅影》于 26 年 1988 月 2006 日首次上映。 它成为 7,486 年初上演时间最长的演出,第 XNUMX 次上演,超越 猫, 由安德鲁·劳埃德·韦伯和卡梅隆·麦金托什制作的过去的冠军头衔。

自从创下上演时间最长的戏剧纪录以来,《歌剧魅影》在 5,000 年的时间里连续上演了 13​​,2014 多场演出,继续证明了其卓越性。 XNUMX年超越经典大片如 泰坦尼克号《星球大战》 因为它达到了价值 XNUMX 亿美元的国际票房收入。

《歌剧魅影》现已获得 70 多项戏剧大奖,例如 2016 年奥利维尔观众奖、1988 项 XNUMX 年托尼奖,以及更多类似的奖项。 此外,原班人马的唱片在国际上共售出四千万张,堪称最畅销的演员表。 (来源: 舒伯特组织

幻影面具的发展

歌剧魅影面具最著名的是一个白色的半面具,但情况并非总是如此。 即使在原著小说《歌剧魅影》中,面具也完全不同,黑色的多米诺面具大多遮住了他的脸。

在其他电影改编版中,例如 1925 年的朗·钱尼 (Lon Chaney) 无声电影,埃里克 (Erik) 戴着类似于脸的面具,鼻子下方装有防尘罩。 在 1943 年的 Claude Reins 翻拍中,一个蓝白相间的面具覆盖了 Erique Claudin 脸部的 3/4。 之后,Hammer Horror Herbet Lom 变种让 Phantom 戴上了一个全白的布面具,遮住了他脸部的所有部分,不包括他的一只眼睛。 Claude Reins 和 Hammer Horror 都很相似,因为这两种变体的幻影的脸上都有酸引起的疤痕。

随后的改编描绘了幻影由于各种原因戴着不同的面具。 现在,人们最熟悉的是劳埃德韦伯音乐剧中幻影的全白半面罩,它从全面罩变成了展示领队表演者的表情,让唱歌更舒服。 (来源: 波托粉丝团

发表评论

Home » Arts & Entertainment » Why Did the Production of Phantom of the Opera Change the Full Mask Into a Half-Mask?

Why Did the Production of Phantom of the Opera Change the Full Mask Into a Half-Mask?

The Phantom of the Opera is the longest-running musical play on Broadway. Based on the Le Fantôme de L’Opéra by Gaston Leroux, the story revolves around the Phantom who wears an iconic mask that has been changed in every adaptation. 

Initially picking a full mask for the lead actor due to the Phantom’s facial deformity, the production crew of the Phantom of the Opera soon changed it to a half mask to portray the performer’s expressions and eliminate difficulties in singing. 

The Phantom of the Opera’s Excellence

The Phantom of the Opera is an internationally known broadway success. It’s known as the longest-spanning musical play on Broadway, lasting for more than a decade. With that said, the Phantom of the Opera, in totality, has grossed more than one billion dollars, performing for more than 18.5 million individuals. (Source: The Shubert Organization

Based on a classic work of Gaston Leroux, the Le Fantôme de L’Opéra, the Phantom of the Opera revolves around a masked main character that skulks in the catacombs below the Paris Opera House. From then, he feels a deep attraction towards Christine, a pure and youthful soprano. With a fixation for Christine, the masked figure allots his time by honing her skills and talents to make her a star. (Source: Andrew Lloyd Webber

The initial release of the Phantom of the Opera, by Andrew Lloyd Webber and directed by Harold Prince, was on January 26, 1988. It became the longest-running performance in early 2006, playing for the 7,486th time, outdoing Cats, the past title-holder produced by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Cameron Mackintosh.

Since earning the record for the longest-running play, the Phantom of the Opera continued to prove its excellence by having more than 5,000 shows in an added 13-year span. In 2014, it exceeded classic blockbusters such as Titanic and Star Wars as it reached six billion dollars worth of international grosses.

The Phantom of the Opera has now garnered more than 70 major awards in theatre, such as the 2016 Olivier Audience Award, the seven 1988 Tony Awards, and more of similar nature. Moreover, the recording of the original cast sold a total of forty million copies internationally, deemed as the best-selling cast recording. (Source: The Shubert Organization

The Development of Phantom’s Mask

The Phantom of the Opera Mask is most known to be a white-colored half-mask, but that wasn’t always the case. Even in the original novel of the Phantom of the Opera, the mask is entirely different, wherein a black domino mask mostly covered his face.

In the other film adaptations, such as the 1925 Lon Chaney silent film, Erik wore a mask similar to a face, with a dust muffler beneath the nose. In the 1943 Claude Reins remake, a bluish-and-white hued mask covered 3/4ths of Erique Claudin’s face. Following that, the Hammer Horror Herbet Lom variant made the Phantom wear an all-white cloth mask that hid all parts of his face, excluding his one eye. Both the Claude Reins and the Hammer Horror are similar as both variations had the Phantom’s face comprise an acid-induced scar.

The subsequent adaptations portrayed the Phantom wearing different masks due to various reasons. Now, people are most familiar with the Phantom’s all-white half mask in the Lloyd Webber Musical, which changed from a full mask to show the lead performer’s expressions and make singing much more comfortable. (Source: Poto Fandom

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: