首页 » 科学 » 生态与环境 » Palo Verde 核电站从哪里取水?

Palo Verde 核电站从哪里取水?

我们非常清楚回收利用的好处。 这个过程使我们能够帮助保护资源和保护我们的星球。 但是您知道核电站每分钟回收这么多废水吗?

帕洛佛得核电站 在亚利桑那州 是唯一一座远离任何水域的发电厂。 它的反应堆每分钟需要 20,000 加仑的水来冷却,而且只使用附近城市的废水。

帕洛佛得核电站

Palo Verde 发电站 (PVGS) 被认为是最重要的核能设施。 它建于亚利桑那州温特斯堡,距凤凰城约 3,739 英里。 PVGS 可以从三个 1,270 兆瓦的机组中产生 XNUMX 兆瓦的电力。

该核电站能够为大约 4 万户家庭发电,并由使用压水反应堆的铀燃料蒸汽电提供动力。 PVGS的建设始于1976年,十年后,第一台发电机组上线。 1988年,所有单位都上网。 (来源: 圣地亚哥联合论坛报)

该工厂为亚利桑那州、加利福尼亚州、新墨西哥州和德克萨斯州供电。 它已被核运行研究所和联邦核管理委员会公认为安全性和可靠性最好的设备之一。 它还提供了该州 70% 的清洁能源,因为它不排放任何碳,也不产生任何空气污染物。

迄今为止,该工厂自使用核能以来已能够抵消 484 亿吨二氧化碳。 它还能够抵消253,000吨二氧化硫和618,000吨氮氧化物。 该工厂在其多年运营中产生的所有核废料都储存在现场。 废物储存在水泥和钢制容器中。 这些容器存放在一个大约有足球场那么大的区域内。

该工厂占地 4,000 多英亩。 这包括为数千名员工提供住房。 反应堆每十八个月关闭一次,以补充燃料并进行预防性维护。 这个过程大约需要三个月的时间,大约有 3,000 名员工参与其中。

该工厂三分之一的员工是退伍军人,首席核官罗伯特·贝门特是美国海军退伍军人。 该综合大楼设有消防部门,并有严格的安全和安保措施。

作为该国最大的发电机之一,PVGS 每年为亚利桑那州带来超过 2 亿美元的经济影响,其中近 55 万美元用于缴纳财产税。 该工厂还在维护停工期间为该州的人们提供了额外的就业机会。 在此期间,它雇用了 800 至 1,000 名临时员工。 (来源: AZ大媒体)

Palo Verde 从哪里取水?

由于三台核电机组全天 24 小时运转,并将其与沙漠热量相结合,PVGS 在日常运营中需要大量的水。 核裂变过程会产生极高的热量,而且由于该过程是在水下进行的,因此强烈的热量会产生大量的蒸汽。 反过来,这种蒸汽会激活发电的涡轮机。

PVGS 远不及它可用于此过程的任何水体。 然而,工程师设计了一个系统,该系统可以利用凤凰城第 91 大道废水处理设施和托勒森设施的处理过的废水。

废水通过大约 36 英里的管道从设施输送到工厂。 据记录,该工厂在夏季典型的炎热天气中使用约 80 万加仑的水来发电。 由于炎热,人们使用更多的电力。 (来源: 图森)

发表评论

Home » Science » Ecology & Environment » Where Does the Palo Verde Nuclear Plant Get Water?

Where Does the Palo Verde Nuclear Plant Get Water?

We are well aware of the benefits of recycling. The process allows us to help preserve resources and protect our planet. But did you know that a nuclear plant recycles so much wastewater per minute?

The Palo Verde Nuclear Plant in Arizona is the only power plant built far from any body of water. Its reactors need 20,000 gallons of water per minute to cool it down, using only wastewater from nearby cities.

The Palo Verde Nuclear Plant

The Palo Verde Generating Station (PVGS) is considered the most significant nuclear energy facility. It was built in Wintersburg, Arizona, around fifty miles outside Phoenix. The PVGS can produce 3,739 megawatts of power coming from three 1,270 megawatt units.

The nuclear plant is able to generate power for approximately 4 million homes and is powered by uranium-fueled, steam-electricity using a pressurized water reactor. Construction for the PVGS began in 1976, and after ten years, the first power generating unit went online. In 1988, all units were online. (Source: San Diego Union Tribune)

The plant supplies power to Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas. It has been recognized as among the best for safety and reliability by the Institute of Nuclear Operations and the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. It is also the provider of 70% of the state’s clean energy as it does not emit any carbon nor produce any air pollutants.

To date, the plant has been able to offset 484 million metric tons of carbon dioxide since it runs on nuclear energy. It was also able to offset 253,000 tons of sulfur dioxide and 618,000 tons of nitrogen oxide. All of the nuclear waste the plant created in its years of operation is stored on-site. Waste is stored in cement and steel containers. These containers are stored in an area about as big as a football field.

The plant spans over 4,000 acres of land. This includes housing for thousands of employees. Reactors are shut down every eighteen months to be refueled and undergo preventive maintenance. The process takes about three months, and approximately 3,000 employees work on it.

A third of the plant’s employees are veterans, with Chief Nuclear Officer Robert Bement, a US Navy veteran. The complex has its fire department and has stringent safety and security measures.

As one of the country’s biggest power generators, the PVGS provides an annual economic impact of more than $2 billion to Arizona, with almost $55 million being paid to property taxes. The plant also provides additional employment opportunities for those in the state during maintenance shutdowns. It employs 800 to 1,000 temporary employees during this time. (Source: AZ Big Media)

Where Does Palo Verde Get Water?

With three nuclear power generators functioning 24 hours a day and combining it with the desert heat, the PVGS needs a lot of water in its daily operations. The nuclear fission process creates extreme heat, and since this process is underwater, the intense heat creates a heavy mass of vapor. This vapor, in turn, activates the turbines that generate electricity.

The PVGS is nowhere near any body of water that it can use for this process. However, the engineers designed a system where the plant can utilize treated wastewater from Phoenix’s 91st avenue wastewater treatment facility and the Tolleson facility.

The wastewater travels approximately 36 miles of pipelines from the facilities to the plant. It was recorded that the plant uses about 80 million gallons of water to generate power during a typical hot day in summer. People use more electricity due to the heat. (Source: Tucson)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: