الرئيسية » علوم » البيئة والبيئة » من أين تحصل محطة بالو فيردي النووية على المياه؟

من أين تحصل محطة بالو فيردي النووية على المياه؟

نحن ندرك جيدًا فوائد إعادة التدوير. تسمح لنا العملية بالمساعدة في الحفاظ على الموارد وحماية كوكبنا. لكن هل تعلم أن محطة نووية تعيد تدوير الكثير من مياه الصرف في الدقيقة؟

محطة بالو فيردي النووية في أريزونا هي محطة الطاقة الوحيدة التي بنيت بعيدًا عن أي مسطح مائي. تحتاج مفاعلاتها إلى 20,000 ألف جالون من الماء في الدقيقة لتبريدها ، باستخدام مياه الصرف الصحي من المدن المجاورة فقط.

محطة بالو فيردي النووية

تعتبر محطة توليد بالو فيردي (PVGS) أهم منشأة للطاقة النووية. تم بناؤه في Wintersburg ، بولاية أريزونا ، على بعد حوالي خمسين ميلاً خارج فينيكس. يمكن أن ينتج PVGS 3,739 ميغاواط من الطاقة قادمة من ثلاث وحدات سعة 1,270،XNUMX ميغاواط.

المحطة النووية قادرة على توليد الطاقة لما يقرب من 4 ملايين منزل ويتم تشغيلها بواسطة اليورانيوم والكهرباء البخارية باستخدام مفاعل الماء المضغوط. بدأ بناء PVGS في عام 1976 ، وبعد عشر سنوات ، تم تشغيل أول وحدة لتوليد الطاقة. في عام 1988 ، كانت جميع الوحدات متصلة بالإنترنت. (مصدر: سان دييغو يونيون تريبيون)

يوفر المصنع الطاقة لأريزونا وكاليفورنيا ونيو مكسيكو وتكساس. وقد تم الاعتراف به من بين الأفضل من حيث الأمان والموثوقية من قبل معهد العمليات النووية واللجنة الفيدرالية للرقابة النووية. كما أنها توفر 70٪ من الطاقة النظيفة للولاية لأنها لا تنبعث منها أي كربون ولا تنتج أي ملوثات للهواء.

حتى الآن ، تمكنت المحطة من تعويض 484 مليون طن متري من ثاني أكسيد الكربون نظرًا لأنها تعمل بالطاقة النووية. كما تمكنت من تعويض 253,000 ألف طن من ثاني أكسيد الكبريت و 618,000 ألف طن من أكسيد النيتروجين. يتم تخزين جميع النفايات النووية التي أنشأتها المحطة في سنوات تشغيلها في الموقع. يتم تخزين النفايات في حاويات أسمنتية وحديدية. يتم تخزين هذه الحاويات في منطقة بحجم ملعب كرة قدم تقريبًا.

يمتد المصنع على مساحة 4,000 فدان من الأرض. وهذا يشمل الإسكان لآلاف الموظفين. يتم إغلاق المفاعلات كل ثمانية عشر شهرًا للتزود بالوقود والخضوع للصيانة الوقائية. تستغرق العملية حوالي ثلاثة أشهر ، ويعمل عليها ما يقرب من 3,000 موظف.

ثلث موظفي المحطة من المحاربين القدامى ، مع كبير الضباط النوويين روبرت بيمنت ، وهو من قدامى المحاربين في البحرية الأمريكية. يحتوي المجمع على قسم مكافحة الحرائق ولديه تدابير أمنية وسلامة صارمة.

كواحد من أكبر مولدات الطاقة في البلاد ، يوفر PVGS تأثيرًا اقتصاديًا سنويًا يزيد عن 2 مليار دولار على ولاية أريزونا ، مع دفع ما يقرب من 55 مليون دولار للضرائب العقارية. يوفر المصنع أيضًا فرص عمل إضافية لأولئك الموجودين في الولاية أثناء إيقاف الصيانة. توظف 800 إلى 1,000 موظف مؤقت خلال هذا الوقت. (مصدر: AZ Big Media)

من أين تحصل بالو فيردي على المياه؟

مع وجود ثلاثة مولدات للطاقة النووية تعمل 24 ساعة في اليوم وتجمعها مع حرارة الصحراء ، تحتاج PVGS إلى الكثير من المياه في عملياتها اليومية. تولد عملية الانشطار النووي حرارة شديدة ، وبما أن هذه العملية تتم تحت الماء ، فإن الحرارة الشديدة تخلق كتلة ثقيلة من البخار. يقوم هذا البخار بدوره بتنشيط التوربينات التي تولد الكهرباء.

لا يوجد PVGS في أي مكان بالقرب من أي مسطح مائي يمكنه استخدامه لهذه العملية. ومع ذلك ، صمم المهندسون نظامًا حيث يمكن للمحطة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة من منشأة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي بالجادة رقم 91 في فينيكس ومنشأة توليسون.

تقطع مياه الصرف الصحي ما يقرب من 36 ميلاً من خطوط الأنابيب من المرافق إلى المحطة. تم تسجيل أن المحطة تستخدم حوالي 80 مليون جالون من المياه لتوليد الطاقة خلال يوم حار نموذجي في الصيف. يستخدم الناس المزيد من الكهرباء بسبب الحرارة. (مصدر: توكسون)

اترك تعليق

Home » Science » Ecology & Environment » Where Does the Palo Verde Nuclear Plant Get Water?

Where Does the Palo Verde Nuclear Plant Get Water?

We are well aware of the benefits of recycling. The process allows us to help preserve resources and protect our planet. But did you know that a nuclear plant recycles so much wastewater per minute?

The Palo Verde Nuclear Plant in Arizona is the only power plant built far from any body of water. Its reactors need 20,000 gallons of water per minute to cool it down, using only wastewater from nearby cities.

The Palo Verde Nuclear Plant

The Palo Verde Generating Station (PVGS) is considered the most significant nuclear energy facility. It was built in Wintersburg, Arizona, around fifty miles outside Phoenix. The PVGS can produce 3,739 megawatts of power coming from three 1,270 megawatt units.

The nuclear plant is able to generate power for approximately 4 million homes and is powered by uranium-fueled, steam-electricity using a pressurized water reactor. Construction for the PVGS began in 1976, and after ten years, the first power generating unit went online. In 1988, all units were online. (Source: San Diego Union Tribune)

The plant supplies power to Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas. It has been recognized as among the best for safety and reliability by the Institute of Nuclear Operations and the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. It is also the provider of 70% of the state’s clean energy as it does not emit any carbon nor produce any air pollutants.

To date, the plant has been able to offset 484 million metric tons of carbon dioxide since it runs on nuclear energy. It was also able to offset 253,000 tons of sulfur dioxide and 618,000 tons of nitrogen oxide. All of the nuclear waste the plant created in its years of operation is stored on-site. Waste is stored in cement and steel containers. These containers are stored in an area about as big as a football field.

The plant spans over 4,000 acres of land. This includes housing for thousands of employees. Reactors are shut down every eighteen months to be refueled and undergo preventive maintenance. The process takes about three months, and approximately 3,000 employees work on it.

A third of the plant’s employees are veterans, with Chief Nuclear Officer Robert Bement, a US Navy veteran. The complex has its fire department and has stringent safety and security measures.

As one of the country’s biggest power generators, the PVGS provides an annual economic impact of more than $2 billion to Arizona, with almost $55 million being paid to property taxes. The plant also provides additional employment opportunities for those in the state during maintenance shutdowns. It employs 800 to 1,000 temporary employees during this time. (Source: AZ Big Media)

Where Does Palo Verde Get Water?

With three nuclear power generators functioning 24 hours a day and combining it with the desert heat, the PVGS needs a lot of water in its daily operations. The nuclear fission process creates extreme heat, and since this process is underwater, the intense heat creates a heavy mass of vapor. This vapor, in turn, activates the turbines that generate electricity.

The PVGS is nowhere near any body of water that it can use for this process. However, the engineers designed a system where the plant can utilize treated wastewater from Phoenix’s 91st avenue wastewater treatment facility and the Tolleson facility.

The wastewater travels approximately 36 miles of pipelines from the facilities to the plant. It was recorded that the plant uses about 80 million gallons of water to generate power during a typical hot day in summer. People use more electricity due to the heat. (Source: Tucson)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: