الصفحة الرئيسية » الناس والمجتمع » كيف ساعد توماس جاريت هارييت توبمان؟

كيف ساعد توماس جاريت هارييت توبمان؟

كانت هارييت توبمان ناشطة سياسية وناشطة سياسية في أمريكا. لقد ولدت في العبودية لكنها هربت وذهبت في مهمة لإنقاذ العديد من العبيد ، بما في ذلك عائلتها وأصدقائها ، من خلال شبكة صغيرة من النشطاء المناهضين للعبودية. لكن هل تعلم عن توماس جاريت ومشاركته في مهام توبمانز؟

كان توماس جاريت أيضًا من دعاة إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام في الولايات المتحدة. على الرغم من حصوله على مكافأة قدرها 10,000 دولار على رأسه لموقفه ضد العبودية ، إلا أنه لا يزال يعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع هارييت توبمان وحرر أكثر من 2,500 عبد.

من هو توماس جاريت؟

في 21 أغسطس 1789 ، ولد توماس جاريت في أبر داربي بولاية بنسلفانيا. كانت عائلتهم جزءًا من اجتماع أصدقاء كويكر داربي ، وعائلته سكنوا في مسكنهم المسكن اسمه ريفرفيو فارم.

في عام 1813 ، تزوج غاريت من ماري شاربلس. كان لديهم خمسة أطفال. انتقل إلى ويلمنجتون ، ديلاوير ، في عام 1822 ، حيث أصبح عضوًا في اجتماع ويلمنجتون. كانت هذه الخطوة مفيدة جدًا لمسيرته لأنها كانت مدينة صاعدة. كانت المنطقة أيضًا ممتازة بالنسبة لـ السكك الحديدية تحت الأرض النشاط الذي تم التخطيط له.

عندما توفيت زوجته في عام 1828 ، تزوج غاريت مرة أخرى في عام 1830. كانت ابنة إيلي ميندنهال ، راشيل ميندنهال ، عروسه ، وأنجبا ابنًا بعد فترة وجيزة.

عند وفاة والده في عام 1893 ، تم تقسيم الأرض الزراعية الأصلية بين غاريت وإخوته إسحاق وإدوارد. أعادوا تسمية مزارعهم Fernleaf Farm و Cleaveland Farm. تم الآن الحفاظ على جزء كبير من الأرض وتحويلها إلى مقبرة أرلينغتون. كان منزل غاريت يسمى ثورنفيلد ، وقد تم بناؤه عام 1800. وعاش في هذا المنزل حتى عام 1822.

توفي جاريت في 25 يناير 1871. حضر العديد من سكان المدينة السود جنازته وانضموا إلى حقوق الموكب. (مصدر: ولاية ديلاوير التي أحدثت فرقًا)

موقف جاريت من العبودية

عندما كان غاريت طفلاً ، قام والديه بإخفاء العبيد الهاربين في مزرعة مقاطعة ديلاوير. نشأ على تعليم التسامح والرحمة. كان من أوائل من طعنوا علانية في حقوق مالكي العبيد.

عندما كان غاريت شابًا ، تم اختطاف أحد موظفيهم وكاد يُجبر على العبودية. أخذ غاريت على عاتقه مطاردة الجناة وتحرير صديق العائلة. وفقًا للعديد من المؤرخين ، في هذه المرحلة أدرك جاريت المشكلة. لقد كانت يقظة روحية بالنسبة له ، ومنذ ذلك اليوم فصاعدًا ، سيكرس حياته للسعي النشط لتحقيق المساواة والكرامة للجميع. (مصدر: ولاية ديلاوير التي أحدثت فرقًا)

جاريت ومشاركته في قطار الأنفاق

بحلول الوقت الذي انتقل فيه غاريت إلى كويكر هيل في ويلمنجتون بولاية ديلاوير ، كان معروفًا في دوائر مناهضة العبودية بصفته مدير المحطة على خط أكلي لحوم البشر في مترو الأنفاق للسكك الحديدية. شق العبيد الذين فروا طريقهم إلى الأراضي المنخفضة والمستنقعات في ماريلاند وديلاوير. بمساعدة الموصلات مثل هارييت توبمان وغاريت ، تمكنوا من الفرار من خاطفيهم.

اليوم يتم وضع علامة على 4th وشارع Shipley في ويلمنجتون تكريما لـ توماس جاريت ، مدير محطة قطار الأنفاق. (مصدر: ولاية ديلاوير التي أحدثت فرقًا)

اترك تعليق

%d المدونين مثل هذا:

Home » People & Society » How Did Thomas Garrett Help Harriet Tubman?

How Did Thomas Garrett Help Harriet Tubman?

Harriet Tubman was an American abolitionist and political activist. She was born into slavery but escaped and went on a mission to rescue several enslaved people, including her own family and friends, through a small network of anti-slavery activists. But did you know about Thomas Garrett and his involvement in Tubmans’ missions?

Thomas Garret was also an American abolitionist. Despite having a $10,000 bounty on his head for his stance against slavery, he still worked alongside Harriet Tubman and freed over 2,500 slaves.

Who is Thomas Garrett?

On August 21, 1789, Thomas Garrett was born in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania. Their family was part of the Quaker Darby Friends Meeting, and his family resided on their homestead loving named Riverview Farm.

In 1813, Garrett married Mary Sharpless. They had five children. He moved to Wilmington, Delaware, in 1822, where he became a member of the Wilmington Meeting. The move was so advantageous to his career as it was an up-and-coming city. The area was also excellent for the Underground Railroad activity that was planned.

When his wife passed died in 1828, Garrett remarried in 1830. Eli Mendenhall’s daughter, Rachel Mendenhall, was his bride, and they had a son soon after.

Upon his father’s death in 1893, the original farmland was divided between Garrett and his brothers Isaac and Edward. They renamed their farms Fernleaf Farm and Cleaveland Farm. Much of the land has now been preserved and turned into Arlington Cemetary. Garrett’s home was called Thornfield, and it was built in 1800. He lived in this home up until 1822.

Garrett passed away on January 25, 1871. Several black residents of the city attended his funeral and joined the procession rights. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Garrett’s Stand on Slavery

When Garrett was a child, his parents actively hid runaway slaves in their Delaware County farmhouse. He was raised with the teaching of tolerance and compassion. He was one of the first to challenge the rights of slaveholders openly.

When Garrett was a young man, an employee of theirs was kidnapped and almost forced into slavery. Garrett took it upon himself to chase after the offenders and free their family friend. According to several historians, it was at this point that Garrett realized the problem. It was a spiritual awakening for him, and from that day forward, he would devote his life to the active quest for equality and dignity for all. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Garrett and His Involvment with the Underground Railroad

By the time Garrett relocated to Quaker Hill in Wilmington, Delaware, he was known in the anti-slavery circles as the station master on the eater line of the Underground Railroad. Slaves who had escaped made their way to the lowlands and swamps of Maryland and Delaware. With the aid of conductors like Harriet Tubman and Garrett, they could flee from their captors.

Today a marker is placed on the 4th and Shipley Streets of Wilmington in honor of Thomas Garrett, Stationmaster of the Underground Railroad. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: