首页 » 人与社会 » Thomas Garrett 如何帮助 Harriet Tubman?

Thomas Garrett 如何帮助 Harriet Tubman?

哈丽特·塔布曼 (Harriet Tubman) 是美国的废奴主义者和政治活动家。 她出生在奴隶制中,但逃脱了,并通过一个反奴隶制活动家的小型网络执行任务,以营救几个被奴役的人,包括她自己的家人和朋友。 但是你知道托马斯加勒特和他参与塔布曼斯的任务吗?

托马斯·加雷特也是一位美国废奴主义者。 尽管他因反对奴隶制的立场而悬赏 10,000 美元,但他仍然与 Harriet Tubman 一起工作并释放了 2,500 多名奴隶。

托马斯·加勒特是谁?

21 年 1789 月 XNUMX 日,托马斯·加勒特 (Thomas Garrett) 出生于宾夕法尼亚州的上达比 (Upper Darby)。 他们的家人参加了贵格会达比之友会议, 和他的家人住在他们的家园,爱命名 江景农场。

1813 年,加勒特与玛丽·夏普莱斯结婚。 他们有五个孩子。 1822 年,他搬到特拉华州的威尔明顿,在那里他成为了 威尔明顿会议。 此举对他的职业生涯非常有利,因为这是一座崭露头角的城市。 该地区也非常适合 地下铁路 计划好的活动。

当他的妻子于 1828 年去世时,加勒特于 1830 年再婚。 Eli Mendenhall 的女儿 Rachel Mendenhall 是他的新娘,不久他们就有了一个儿子。

1893 年他父亲去世后,原来的农田被加勒特和他的兄弟艾萨克和爱德华瓜分。 他们将农场更名为 Fernleaf Farm 和 Cleaveland Farm。 大部分土地现在都得到了保存,并变成了阿灵顿公墓。 Garrett 的家叫做 Thornfield,它建于 1800 年。他一直住在这个家直到 1822 年。

加勒特于 25 年 1871 月 XNUMX 日去世。该市的几位黑人居民参加了他的葬礼并加入了游行队伍。 (来源: 一个与众不同的特拉华人)

加勒特对奴隶制的立场

当加勒特还是个孩子的时候,他的父母积极将逃跑的奴隶藏在他们特拉华县的农舍里。 他在宽容和同情的教导下长大。 他是最早公开挑战奴隶主权利的人之一。

当加勒特年轻时,他们的一名雇员被绑架并几乎被迫成为奴隶。 加勒特亲自追捕罪犯并释放了他们的家人朋友。 根据几位历史学家的说法,正是在这一点上,加勒特意识到了这个问题。 这对他来说是一种精神上的觉醒,从那天起,他将毕生致力于积极追求所有人的平等和尊严。 (资源: 一个与众不同的特拉华人)

加勒特和他对地下铁路的参与

当加勒特搬到特拉华州威尔明顿的贵格会山时,他在反奴隶制圈子中被称为地下铁路食线的站长。 逃脱的奴隶前往马里兰州和特拉华州的低地和沼泽。 在哈丽特·塔布曼 (Harriet Tubman) 和加勒特 (Garrett) 等指挥家的帮助下,他们可以逃离绑架者。

今天,在威尔明顿的第 4 街和希普利街上放置了一个标记,以纪念 地下铁路站长托马斯·加勒特 (Thomas Garrett)。 (资源: 一个与众不同的特拉华人)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » People & Society » How Did Thomas Garrett Help Harriet Tubman?

How Did Thomas Garrett Help Harriet Tubman?

Harriet Tubman was an American abolitionist and political activist. She was born into slavery but escaped and went on a mission to rescue several enslaved people, including her own family and friends, through a small network of anti-slavery activists. But did you know about Thomas Garrett and his involvement in Tubmans’ missions?

Thomas Garret was also an American abolitionist. Despite having a $10,000 bounty on his head for his stance against slavery, he still worked alongside Harriet Tubman and freed over 2,500 slaves.

Who is Thomas Garrett?

On August 21, 1789, Thomas Garrett was born in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania. Their family was part of the Quaker Darby Friends Meeting, and his family resided on their homestead loving named Riverview Farm.

In 1813, Garrett married Mary Sharpless. They had five children. He moved to Wilmington, Delaware, in 1822, where he became a member of the Wilmington Meeting. The move was so advantageous to his career as it was an up-and-coming city. The area was also excellent for the Underground Railroad activity that was planned.

When his wife passed died in 1828, Garrett remarried in 1830. Eli Mendenhall’s daughter, Rachel Mendenhall, was his bride, and they had a son soon after.

Upon his father’s death in 1893, the original farmland was divided between Garrett and his brothers Isaac and Edward. They renamed their farms Fernleaf Farm and Cleaveland Farm. Much of the land has now been preserved and turned into Arlington Cemetary. Garrett’s home was called Thornfield, and it was built in 1800. He lived in this home up until 1822.

Garrett passed away on January 25, 1871. Several black residents of the city attended his funeral and joined the procession rights. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Garrett’s Stand on Slavery

When Garrett was a child, his parents actively hid runaway slaves in their Delaware County farmhouse. He was raised with the teaching of tolerance and compassion. He was one of the first to challenge the rights of slaveholders openly.

When Garrett was a young man, an employee of theirs was kidnapped and almost forced into slavery. Garrett took it upon himself to chase after the offenders and free their family friend. According to several historians, it was at this point that Garrett realized the problem. It was a spiritual awakening for him, and from that day forward, he would devote his life to the active quest for equality and dignity for all. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Garrett and His Involvment with the Underground Railroad

By the time Garrett relocated to Quaker Hill in Wilmington, Delaware, he was known in the anti-slavery circles as the station master on the eater line of the Underground Railroad. Slaves who had escaped made their way to the lowlands and swamps of Maryland and Delaware. With the aid of conductors like Harriet Tubman and Garrett, they could flee from their captors.

Today a marker is placed on the 4th and Shipley Streets of Wilmington in honor of Thomas Garrett, Stationmaster of the Underground Railroad. (Source: A Delawarean That Made A Difference)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: