特雷·帕克(Trey Parker)不得不故意选择要使自动调谐正常工作的键,并说:“如果您使用它并且正确地唱歌,它对您的声音没有任何作用。”

Auto-Tune是由Antares Audio Technologies创建的音频处理器,它使用专有的设备来测量和更改人声和乐器音乐的录制和演奏中的音调。[5] 它最初旨在掩盖或纠正关键音色的不准确之处,尽管原本的音调稍有偏离,但仍可以完美地调整人声。

从Cher的1998年热门单曲“ Believe”开始,制作人开始使用Auto-Tune作为声音效果,故意使人声失真。

到2018年,音乐评论家西蒙·雷诺兹(Simon Reynolds)观察到Auto-Tune已经“革新了流行音乐”,称其用于效果“是一种永不褪色的时尚。

现在,它的使用比以往任何时候都更加牢固。” [6]术语“自动调谐”已成为描述音乐中可听音高校正的通用术语,而与使用哪种方法无关。

自动调谐是由地球物理学家,前音乐家安迪·希尔德布兰德(Andy Hildebrand)创建的,他曾为埃克森美孚公司开发了复杂的算法,以解释地震波产生的数据以寻找地下油藏。[6] 希尔德布兰德发现,他解释地震数据的方法可用于检测,分析和修改音频文件中的音高。[9] 他的音高检测方法涉及自相关的使用,并证明优于基于特征提取的早期尝试,后者在处理人类语音的某些方面(如双音)方面存在问题,导致声音伪影。[13] 音乐行业的工程师以前考虑过使用自相关是不切实际的,因为需要进行非常大的计算,但是希尔德布兰德发现“将一百万乘以的简化简化为四。

Hildebrand在同事的妻子的建议下提出了一种音高校正技术的想法,后者开玩笑说她可以使用一种设备来帮助她唱歌。[14] [13] 最初,Auto-Tune旨在精心校正不精确的音调,以使音乐更具表现力,原始专利主张“当声音或乐器不合时宜时,演奏的情感品质就会丧失。” [6]

根据《洛杉矶时报》的克里斯·李(Chris Lee)的说法,谢尔(Cher)1998年的歌曲“相信”(Believe)“被广泛认为是将Auto-Tune的机械调制注入了流行意识”。[15] 雪儿(Cher)的制作人使用该设备“夸大了突然的音高校正的人工性”,这与它的初衷相反。

在早期的采访中,“相信”的制作人声称他们使用了DigiTech Talker FX踏板,Sound on Sound的编辑认为这是为了保护商业秘密。[17] 在“相信”成功之后,该技术最初被称为“切尔效应”。[18] [19] 在2000年,Mirwais Ahmadzai从他的专辑Production中演唱的单曲“ Naive Song”是使用Auto-Tune进行完整人声演唱的第一首曲目。[20] [21]

The use of Auto-Tune as a vocal effect was bolstered in the late 2000s by hip hop/R&B recording artist T-Pain who elaborated on the effect and made active use of Auto-Tune in his songs.[22] He cites new jack swing producer Teddy Riley and funk artist Roger Troutman’s use of the Talk Box as inspirations for his own use of Auto-Tune.[15] T-Pain became so associated with Auto-Tune that he had an iPhone App named after him that simulated the effect, called “I Am T-Pain”.[23] Eventually dubbed the “T-Pain effect”[14], the use of Auto-Tune became a popular fixture of late 2000s music, where it was notably used in other hip hop/R&B artists’ works, including Snoop Dogg’s single “Sexual Eruption”,[24] Lil Wayne’s “Lollipop”,[25] and Kanye West’s album 808s & Heartbreak.[26] In 2009, riding on the wave of Auto-Tune’s popularity, The Black Eyed Peas’ number-one hit, “Boom Boom Pow”, made heavy use of Auto-Tune and other artificial sound effects to create a futuristic sound.[14]

在51年初的第2009届格莱美颁奖典礼上,Death Cab for Cutie乐队戴着蓝丝带露面,抗议在音乐界使用Auto-Tune。[34] 那个春天的晚些时候,Jay-Z将他的专辑The Blueprint 3的主打单曲命名为“ DOA”

然而,当后来受到Sirius / XM的采访时,她说,如果“以创造性的方式”使用Auto-Tune并不坏,并指出她在Bionic中的歌曲“ Elastic Love”使用了它。[37]

从Snoop Dogg和Lil Wayne到Britney Spears和Cher的明星都使用了Auto-Tune,这已被广泛批评为无法在键上唱歌。[19] [45] [46] [47] [48] 特雷·帕克(Trey Parker)在南方公园的歌曲“同性恋鱼”中使用了自动调音,结果发现他必须唱小调才能使声音失真。 他声称:“您必须是一个糟糕的歌手,才能使这件事听起来像是真实的。

[49] Electropop唱片艺术家Ke $ ha已被广泛认为在歌曲中使用过多的Auto-Tune,这使她的嗓音天才受到了广泛的认可。审查。[32] [45] [50] [51] [52] [53] 音乐制作人里克·鲁宾(Rick Rubin)写道:“现在,如果您听流行音乐,一切将在完美的音调,完美的时间和完美的音调中进行。

大型乐队歌手迈克尔·布布莱(MichaelBublé)批评自动调音(Auto-Tune)可以使每个人听起来都像“机器人”一样,但承认他在录制流行音乐时会使用它。[54]

尽管许多艺术家都在使用Auto-Tune,但Regina Bradley指出,对于黑人艺术家来说,更好地控制自己声音的声音并对其进行更改以适应歌曲的情绪可能特别有用。

T-Pain, the R&B singer and rapper who reintroduced the use of Auto-Tune as a vocal effect in pop music with his album Rappa Ternt Sanga in 2005, says “My dad always told me that anyone’s voice is just another instrument added to the music.

当时,他沉迷于异丙嗪可待因,一些评论家将Auto-Tune看作是Wayne孤独和沮丧的音乐表达。[59] 马克·安东尼·尼尔(Mark Anthony Neal)写道,利尔·韦恩(Lil Wayne)的人声独特性,“他的人声发白,模糊,发白,发红,指示出各种创伤。” [60]凯文·德里斯科尔(Kevin Driscoll)问,“自动调音不是当今黑人的哇音踏板吗?流行吗?


来源: 自动调音

Trey Parker had to deliberately sing off key to get auto-tune to work, saying “If you use it and you sing into it correctly, it doesn’t do anything to your voice.”

Auto-Tune is an audio processor created by Antares Audio Technologies which uses a proprietary device to measure and alter pitch in vocal and instrumental music recording and performances.[5] It was originally intended to disguise or correct off-key inaccuracies, allowing vocal tracks to be perfectly tuned despite originally being slightly off-pitch.

Starting with Cher’s 1998 hit “Believe”, producers began to use Auto-Tune as a sound effect, to deliberately distort vocals.

By 2018, music critic Simon Reynolds observed that Auto-Tune had “revolutionized popular music”, calling its use for effects “the fad that just wouldn’t fade.

Its use is now more entrenched than ever.”[6] The term auto-tune has become a generic term to describe audible pitch correction in music regardless of the method.

Auto-Tune was created by Andy Hildebrand, a geophysicist and former musician who had developed complex algorithms for Exxon to interpret data generated by a seismic wave to find underground oil deposits.[6] Hildebrand discovered that his methods for interpreting seismic data could be used to detect, analyze, and modify the pitch in audio files.[9] His method for detecting pitch involved the use of autocorrelation and proved to be superior to earlier attempts based on feature extraction that had problems processing certain aspects of the human voice such as diphthongs, leading to sound artifacts.[13] Music industry engineers had previously considered the use of autocorrelation impractical because of the extremely large computational effort required, but Hildebrand found a “simplification [that] changed a million multiply adds into just four.

Hildebrand had come up with the idea for a vocal pitch correction technology on the suggestion of a colleague’s wife, who had joked that she could use a device to help her sing in tune.[14][13] Originally, Auto-Tune was designed to discreetly correct imprecise intonations, in order to make music more expressive, with the original patent asserting that “When voices or instruments are out of tune, the emotional qualities of the performance are lost.”[6]

According to Chris Lee of the Los Angeles Times, Cher’s 1998 song “Believe” is “widely credited with injecting Auto-Tune’s mechanical modulations into pop consciousness”.[15] Cher’s producers used the device to “exaggerate the artificiality of abrupt pitch correction”, contrary to its original purpose.

In an early interview, the producers of “Believe” claimed they had used a DigiTech Talker FX pedal, in what Sound on Sound’s editors felt was an attempt to preserve a trade secret.[17] After the success of “Believe” the technique was initially referred to as the “Cher Effect”.[18][19] In the year 2000, the single “Naive Song” performed by Mirwais Ahmadzai from his album Production was the first ever track using Auto-Tune on the complete vocals.[20][21]

The use of Auto-Tune as a vocal effect was bolstered in the late 2000s by hip hop/R&B recording artist T-Pain who elaborated on the effect and made active use of Auto-Tune in his songs.[22] He cites new jack swing producer Teddy Riley and funk artist Roger Troutman’s use of the Talk Box as inspirations for his own use of Auto-Tune.[15] T-Pain became so associated with Auto-Tune that he had an iPhone App named after him that simulated the effect, called “I Am T-Pain”.[23] Eventually dubbed the “T-Pain effect”[14], the use of Auto-Tune became a popular fixture of late 2000s music, where it was notably used in other hip hop/R&B artists’ works, including Snoop Dogg’s single “Sexual Eruption”,[24] Lil Wayne’s “Lollipop”,[25] and Kanye West’s album 808s & Heartbreak.[26] In 2009, riding on the wave of Auto-Tune’s popularity, The Black Eyed Peas’ number-one hit, “Boom Boom Pow”, made heavy use of Auto-Tune and other artificial sound effects to create a futuristic sound.[14]

At the 51st Grammy Awards in early 2009, the band Death Cab for Cutie made an appearance wearing blue ribbons to protest the use of Auto-Tune in the music industry.[34] Later that spring, Jay-Z titled the lead single of his album The Blueprint 3 as “D.O.A.

When later interviewed by Sirius/XM, however, she said that Auto-Tune wasn’t bad if used “in a creative way” and noted her song “Elastic Love” from Bionic uses it.[37]

Used by stars from Snoop Dogg and Lil Wayne to Britney Spears and Cher, the use of Auto-Tune has been widely criticized as indicative of an inability to sing on key.[19][45][46][47][48] Trey Parker used Auto-Tune on the South Park song “Gay Fish”, and found that he had to sing off-key in order to sound distorted; he claimed, “You had to be a bad singer in order for that thing to actually sound the way it does.

If you use it and you sing into it correctly, it doesn’t do anything to your voice.”[49] Electropop recording artist Ke$ha has been widely recognized as using excessive Auto-Tune in her songs, putting her vocal talent under scrutiny.[32][45][50][51][52][53] Music producer Rick Rubin wrote that “Right now, if you listen to pop, everything is in perfect pitch, perfect time and perfect tune.

Big band singer Michael Bublé criticized Auto-Tune as making everyone sound the same – “like robots” – but admits he uses it when he records pop-oriented music.[54]

Although Auto-Tune is used by a variety of artists, Regina Bradley states it can be particularly useful for black artists to have more control of their voice’s sound and change it to fit the mood of the song.

T-Pain, the R&B singer and rapper who reintroduced the use of Auto-Tune as a vocal effect in pop music with his album Rappa Ternt Sanga in 2005, says “My dad always told me that anyone’s voice is just another instrument added to the music.

At the time, he was heavily addicted to promethazine codeine, and some critics see Auto-Tune as a musical expression of Wayne’s loneliness and depression.[59] Mark Anthony Neal writes that Lil Wayne’s vocal uniqueness, his “slurs, blurs, bleeps and blushes of his vocals, index some variety of trauma.”[60] And Kevin Driscoll asks, “Is Auto-Tune not the wah pedal of today’s black pop?


Source: Auto-Tune

Advertisement