主页 » 爱好与休闲 » 水上活动 » 划船 » 查尔斯·乔金是如何在泰坦尼克号中幸存下来的?
查尔斯·贾金

查尔斯·乔金是如何在泰坦尼克号中幸存下来的?

RMS Titanic 是一艘由白星航运公司运营的英国客轮,在从英格兰南安普敦到纽约市的处女航中与冰山相撞后于 15 年 1912 月 1,500 日在北大西洋沉没。 船上估计有 2,224 名乘客和船员,其中超过 XNUMX 人死亡,这使得沉没成为迄今为止单艘船只最致命的沉没事件之一。 虽然它仍然被认为是和平时期最致命的超级班轮或游轮沉没事件。 这场灾难引起了公众的广泛关注,为灾难片类型奠定了基础,并激发了许多艺术作品。 然而,你知道有一个人以最不寻常的方式在沉没中幸存下来吗?

泰坦尼克号的首席面包师查尔斯·乔金(Charles Joughin)在船下沉时喝了一整瓶威士忌,并在 -3°c 的水域中呆了大约 2 个小时,然后才获救并被带到安全的地方。

查尔斯·乔金是如何在泰坦尼克号沉没中幸存下来的?

在泰坦尼克号沉没期间,Joughin 和其他厨师的任务是为救生艇运送食物和补给品。 Joughin 与管家和其他海员一起协助妇女和儿童登上救生艇。 当甲板上的妇女拒绝上船时,声称她们在泰坦尼克号上更安全,他强行将她们拖上去扔到救生艇上。

然后他回到自己的小屋,喝了尽可能多的威士忌,准备死去。 后来,他下到 B 甲板长廊,将大约五十张躺椅扔到船外,以便在冰冷的海水中的人们可以将它们用作漂浮装置。 Joughin 是最后一个离开泰坦尼克号的人,他这样做很有风格。 

他没有因惊吓和严重的心脏病发作而立即死亡,而是像电梯一样骑着船下来。 他只是简单地从泰坦尼克号上走下水,根据他的说法,他甚至没有弄湿头发。

Joughin 在大西洋 -2 度的水域三小时后获救。 那个时期的温度通常会杀死任何人。 另一方面,Joughin 的身体里流淌着太多的威士忌,以至于酒精可以驱寒并让他保持活力。 

他一直游到天亮,这时他注意到一艘上翻的可折叠救生艇,旁边站着二副查尔斯·莱托勒(Charles Lightoller)和大约 25 名其他人。 他慢慢地游过去,但没有地方。 厨师艾萨克·梅纳德(Isaac Maynard)认出了他并握住了他的手,因为贝克酋长紧紧抓住船的一侧,他的脚和腿还在水中。 Joughin 然后游到另一艘救生艇上并被带入,他一直待在那里,直到登上 RMS Carpathia,这才救了他。 (来源: 发展史)

泰坦尼克号沉没后查尔斯·乔金发生了什么?

Joughin 在泰坦尼克号中幸存后返回英国,并且是报告在 Mersey 子爵领导的英国调查中作证的船员之一。 1920 年,他搬到新泽西州的帕特森,根据他的讣告,当 SS Oregon 在波士顿港沉没时,他也在船上。 在 1944 年退休之前,他曾在 American Export Lines 运营的船只以及第二次世界大战的部队运输中工作。 (来源: 发展史)

发表评论

Home » Uncategorized » How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic?
Charles Joughin

How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic?

The RMS Titanic was a British passenger liner operated by the White Star Line that sank in the North Atlantic Ocean on 15 April 1912 after colliding with an iceberg on her maiden voyage from Southampton, England, to New York City. More than 1,500 of the estimated 2,224 passengers and crew aboard died, making the sinking one of the deadliest for a single ship up to that point. While it is still considered the deadliest peacetime superliner or cruise ship sinking. The disaster drew widespread public attention, laid the groundwork for the disaster film genre, and inspired numerous artistic works. However, did you know there was a person who survived the sinking in the most unconventional way?

Charles Joughin, the Titanic’s chief baker, drank an entire bottle of whiskey as the ship was sinking and spent about 3 hours in the -2°c waters before he was rescued and brought to safety.

How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic Sinking?

During the Titanic’s sinking, Joughin and the other chefs were tasked with transporting food and supplies to the lifeboats. Joughin, along with stewards and other seamen, assisted women and children in boarding lifeboats. When the women on deck refused to go to the boat, claiming they were safer aboard the Titanic, he forcibly dragged them up and threw them into the lifeboat.

Then he went back to his cabin and drank as much whiskey as he could, preparing to die. Later, he went down to the B Deck promenade and threw about fifty deckchairs overboard so that people in the freezing waters could use them as floatation devices. Joughin was the last person to leave the Titanic, and he did so in style. 

Instead of dying instantly from fright and a massive heart attack, he rode the ship down like an elevator. He simply stepped off the Titanic and into the water, and according to his account, he didn’t even get his hair wet.

Joughin was then rescued after three hours in the -2 degrees waters of the Atlantic Ocean. That temperature for that period of time would have normally killed anyone. Joughin’s body, on the other hand, had so much whiskey coursing through it that the alcohol fought the cold and kept him alive. 

He swam until daylight when he noticed an upturned collapsible lifeboat with Second Officer Charles Lightoller and about 25 other men standing on the side. He swam slowly towards it, but there was no room. Isaac Maynard, a cook, recognized him and took his hand as the Chief Baker clung to the side of the boat, his feet and legs still in the water. Joughin then swam to another lifeboat and was taken in, where he stayed until he boarded the RMS Carpathia, which rescued him. (Source: History)

What Happens to Charles Joughin After the Sinking of the Titanic?

Joughin returned to England after surviving the Titanic and was one of the crew members who reported to testify at the British Inquiry led by Viscount Mersey. In 1920, he relocated to Paterson, New Jersey, and according to his obituary, he was also onboard the SS Oregon when it sank in Boston Harbor. Before retiring in 1944, he worked on ships operated by American Export Lines as well as on World War II troop transports. (Source: History)

Leave a Comment