الصفحة الرئيسية » الهوايات وأوقات الفراغ » المياه الأنشطة » القوارب » كيف نجا تشارلز جوغين من تيتانيك؟
تشارلز جوغين

كيف نجا تشارلز جوغين من تيتانيك؟

كانت RMS Titanic عبارة عن سفينة ركاب بريطانية تديرها White Star Line التي غرقت في شمال المحيط الأطلسي في 15 أبريل 1912 بعد اصطدامها بجبل جليدي في رحلتها الأولى من ساوثهامبتون ، إنجلترا ، إلى مدينة نيويورك. توفي أكثر من 1,500 من بين 2,224 راكبًا وطاقمًا على متنها ، مما يجعل الغرق أحد أكثر حوادث الغرق فتكًا بسفينة واحدة حتى تلك اللحظة. في حين أنها لا تزال تعتبر الأكثر دموية في زمن السلم أو غرق سفينة سياحية. جذبت الكارثة انتباه الجمهور على نطاق واسع ، وأرست الأساس لنوع أفلام الكوارث ، وألهمت العديد من الأعمال الفنية. ومع ذلك ، هل تعلم أن هناك شخصًا نجا من الغرق بأكثر الطرق غير التقليدية؟

شرب تشارلز جوغين ، كبير الخبازين في تيتانيك ، زجاجة ويسكي كاملة بينما كانت السفينة تغرق وقضى حوالي 3 ساعات في المياه -2 درجة مئوية قبل أن يتم إنقاذه ونقله إلى بر الأمان.

كيف نجا تشارلز جوغين من غرق تيتانيك؟

أثناء غرق سفينة تيتانيك ، تم تكليف جوغين والطهاة الآخرين بنقل الطعام والإمدادات إلى قوارب النجاة. ساعد Joughin ، إلى جانب المضيفين وغيرهم من البحارة ، النساء والأطفال في ركوب قوارب النجاة. عندما رفضت النساء على ظهر السفينة الذهاب إلى القارب ، بدعوى أنهن أكثر أمانًا على متن السفينة تايتانيك ، قام بجرهن بالقوة إلى أعلى وألقى بهن في قارب النجاة.

ثم عاد إلى قمرته وشرب قدر استطاعته من الويسكي ، استعدادًا للموت. في وقت لاحق ، نزل إلى منتزه B Deck وألقى حوالي خمسين كرسيًا للاستلقاء في البحر بحيث يمكن للناس في المياه المتجمدة استخدامها كأجهزة عائمة. كان Joughin آخر شخص غادر تيتانيك ، وقد فعل ذلك بأناقة. 

فبدلاً من أن يموت فورًا من الخوف والنوبة القلبية الشديدة ، ركب السفينة مثل المصعد. لقد نزل ببساطة من تيتانيك إلى الماء ، ووفقًا لروايته ، لم يبلل شعره.

ثم تم إنقاذ Joughin بعد ثلاث ساعات في مياه المحيط الأطلسي -2 درجة. كانت درجة الحرارة تلك لتلك الفترة الزمنية تقتل أي شخص بشكل طبيعي. من ناحية أخرى ، كان جسد Joughin يحتوي على الكثير من الويسكي الذي يمر عبره لدرجة أن الكحول يحارب البرد ويبقيه على قيد الحياة. 

سبح حتى وضح النهار عندما لاحظ وجود قارب نجاة قابل للانهيار مقلوبًا مع الضابط الثاني تشارلز لايتولر وحوالي 25 رجلاً آخرين يقفون على الجانب. سبح نحوها ببطء ، لكن لم يكن هناك مكان. تعرف عليه إسحاق ماينارد ، وهو طباخ ، وأخذ يده بينما تشبث كبير الخبازين بجانب القارب ، وكانت قدماه ورجلاه لا تزالان في الماء. ثم سبح Joughin إلى قارب نجاة آخر وتم نقله ، حيث مكث حتى صعد على متن RMS Carpathia ، الذي أنقذه. (مصدر: تاريخ التنمية )

ماذا يحدث لتشارلز جوغين بعد غرق التايتانيك؟

عاد Joughin إلى إنجلترا بعد أن نجا من السفينة Titanic وكان أحد أفراد الطاقم الذين أفادوا بالإدلاء بشهادتهم في التحقيق البريطاني بقيادة Viscount Mersey. في عام 1920 ، انتقل إلى باترسون ، نيو جيرسي ، ووفقًا لنعيه ، كان أيضًا على متن سفينة SS Oregon عندما غرقت في ميناء بوسطن. قبل تقاعده في عام 1944 ، عمل على السفن التي تديرها American Export Lines وكذلك في عمليات نقل القوات في الحرب العالمية الثانية. (مصدر: تاريخ التنمية )

اترك تعليق

Home » Uncategorized » How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic?
Charles Joughin

How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic?

The RMS Titanic was a British passenger liner operated by the White Star Line that sank in the North Atlantic Ocean on 15 April 1912 after colliding with an iceberg on her maiden voyage from Southampton, England, to New York City. More than 1,500 of the estimated 2,224 passengers and crew aboard died, making the sinking one of the deadliest for a single ship up to that point. While it is still considered the deadliest peacetime superliner or cruise ship sinking. The disaster drew widespread public attention, laid the groundwork for the disaster film genre, and inspired numerous artistic works. However, did you know there was a person who survived the sinking in the most unconventional way?

Charles Joughin, the Titanic’s chief baker, drank an entire bottle of whiskey as the ship was sinking and spent about 3 hours in the -2°c waters before he was rescued and brought to safety.

How Did Charles Joughin Survive the Titanic Sinking?

During the Titanic’s sinking, Joughin and the other chefs were tasked with transporting food and supplies to the lifeboats. Joughin, along with stewards and other seamen, assisted women and children in boarding lifeboats. When the women on deck refused to go to the boat, claiming they were safer aboard the Titanic, he forcibly dragged them up and threw them into the lifeboat.

Then he went back to his cabin and drank as much whiskey as he could, preparing to die. Later, he went down to the B Deck promenade and threw about fifty deckchairs overboard so that people in the freezing waters could use them as floatation devices. Joughin was the last person to leave the Titanic, and he did so in style. 

Instead of dying instantly from fright and a massive heart attack, he rode the ship down like an elevator. He simply stepped off the Titanic and into the water, and according to his account, he didn’t even get his hair wet.

Joughin was then rescued after three hours in the -2 degrees waters of the Atlantic Ocean. That temperature for that period of time would have normally killed anyone. Joughin’s body, on the other hand, had so much whiskey coursing through it that the alcohol fought the cold and kept him alive. 

He swam until daylight when he noticed an upturned collapsible lifeboat with Second Officer Charles Lightoller and about 25 other men standing on the side. He swam slowly towards it, but there was no room. Isaac Maynard, a cook, recognized him and took his hand as the Chief Baker clung to the side of the boat, his feet and legs still in the water. Joughin then swam to another lifeboat and was taken in, where he stayed until he boarded the RMS Carpathia, which rescued him. (Source: History)

What Happens to Charles Joughin After the Sinking of the Titanic?

Joughin returned to England after surviving the Titanic and was one of the crew members who reported to testify at the British Inquiry led by Viscount Mersey. In 1920, he relocated to Paterson, New Jersey, and according to his obituary, he was also onboard the SS Oregon when it sank in Boston Harbor. Before retiring in 1944, he worked on ships operated by American Export Lines as well as on World War II troop transports. (Source: History)

Leave a Comment