بينما كان الفائزون في سباق المدفع عام 1971 - وهو سباق شوارع عبر الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية - يقودون سيارة فيراري دايتونا ، كان لدى الفائزين بالمركز الثاني سيارة تشيفي مزودة بخزان إضافي سعة 2 جالونًا لتقليل عدد التزود بالوقود. استغرق الشاحنة 248 دقيقة فقط أطول من فيراري لإنهاء السباق.

40 سعيد ، تشغيل المدفع

لقد مرت أربعة عقود منذ إطلاق Cannonball الأصلي. توم ستيوارت يروي قصة السباق الأصلي الغريب ...

الصورة غير متاحة

إذا كان هناك حدث في أي وقت من الأوقات قدم للمنافسين بشكل كبير في طريق العقوبات أكثر من الجوائز ، فإن جولة Cannonball من الساحل إلى الساحل في السبعينيات كانت كذلك.

تصورها كاتب السيارات الأمريكي بروك ييتس في أوائل عام 71 - وهو الوقت الذي كان فيه الإنبات التشريعي للسيارة الأمريكية في مرحلة الإنبات وكانت حرب فيتنام في ذروتها المروعة - بدأت لعبة Cannonball Sea-to-Shining-Sea Memorial Dash من مرآب سيارات Red Ball في وسط مانهاتن يوم الاثنين 15 نوفمبر 1971.

… و 2863 ميلا من المخلفات

تم تسميته على شرف إروين جورج كانو ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 5 دقائق)

5 أفكار حول "بينما كان الفائزون في سباق المدفع عام 1971 - وهو سباق شوارع عبر الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية - يقودون سيارة فيراري دايتونا ، كان لدى الفائزين بالمركز الثاني سيارة تشيفي مزودة بخزان إضافي سعة 2 جالونًا لتقليل عدد التزود بالوقود. استغرقت الشاحنة 248 دقيقة فقط أطول من فيراري لإنهاء السباق ".

  1. ثرينامير

    كل شيء عن الحفرة توقف.

  2. سبيان_

    أراهن أنهم كانوا سيفوزون لو رسموه ليبدو كسيارة إسعاف.

  3. إنها اللعنة مرة أخرى

    سوف يستدعي الناس PD في طريق سريع لسيارة فيراري مسرعة. سوف تحصل على صفير فقط في سيارة.

  4. 4RichNot2B ضعيف

    أتساءل عن مدى جودة / أمان خزان الوقود الإضافي الذي تم صنعه مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أنه وصل إلى 128 ميلاً في الساعة أثناء قيادته.

  5. DarkSideEdgeo

    هناك مجموعة لا تزال تحاول أن تتفوق على بعضها البعض في ذلك الساحل إلى الساحل. ليس كمجموعة كبيرة في حد ذاته ولكن تحاول الفرق الفردية التغلب على الرقم القياسي الحالي. استفادت المحاولة الأخيرة في عام 2020 من انتشار كوفيد -19 مع انخفاض حركة المرور على الطرق وحصد أسرع وقت حتى الآن.

اترك تعليق

While the winners of the 1971 Cannonball Run – a street race across the USA – were driving a Ferrari Daytona, the 2nd place finishers had a Chevy van fitted with a 248-gallon auxiliary tank to minimize the refuel count. The van took only 53 minutes longer than the Ferrari to finish the race in.

Happy 40th, Cannonball Run

It’s been four decades since the original Cannonball Run. Tom Stewart tells the tale of the original wacky race…

Image not available

If ever there was an event that offered competitors significantly more in the way of penalties than prizes then the coast-to-coast Cannonball run of the 1970s was it.

Conceived by American motoring writer Brock Yates in early ’71 – a time when the legislative emasculation of the American automobile was in germination and the Vietnam War was at its horrific peak – the second Cannonball Sea-to-Shining-Sea Memorial Trophy Dash started from the Red Ball parking garage in downtown Manhattan on Monday 15th November 1971.

…and 2863 miles-worth of detritus

Named in honour of Erwin George ‘Canno… Continue Reading (5 minute read)

5 thoughts on “While the winners of the 1971 Cannonball Run – a street race across the USA – were driving a Ferrari Daytona, the 2nd place finishers had a Chevy van fitted with a 248-gallon auxiliary tank to minimize the refuel count. The van took only 53 minutes longer than the Ferrari to finish the race in.”

  1. threenamer

    It’s all about the pit stops.

  2. spyan_

    I bet they would’ve won had they painted it to look like an ambulance.

  3. itsthatdamncatagain

    People will call PD in a highway for a Ferrari speeding. A van will.just get beeped at.

  4. 4RichNot2BPoor

    Wonder how well/safe that extra fuel tank was made considering they hit 128 mph driving it.

  5. DarkSideEdgeo

    There is a group that still attempt to top each other in that coast to coast run. Not as a large group per se but individual teams attempting to beat the current record. Last attempt in 2020 took advantage of covid-19 having less traffic on roads and claimed the fastest time to date.

Leave a Comment