首页 » 美容与健身 » 什么是 Titus Cut?

什么是 Titus Cut?

在当今世界,女性有不同的发型; 有些传统,有些有趣,有些激进。 过去,留短发的法国女性这样做是有原因的。 那可能是什么原因?

Titus 剪发是法国大革命期间流行的女性发型。 它的灵感来自刽子手砍断即将面临断头台的人的头发。

18世纪的法国发型

XNUMX 世纪下半叶与头发和化妆密切相关,在整个启蒙运动和法国大革命期间,头发和化妆发展成为贵族的有力象征。 法国是那个时代的时尚领袖。 (来源: 德莫德时装)

18 世纪主要与假发有关,但在此期间,男性主要佩戴假发。 在 17 世纪,当法国国王路易十三让头发留长时,假发被发明出来,在 23 岁时经历了早期的秃顶。朝臣们迅速复制了这一趋势,并在查理二世统治期间扩展到了英国。 随着时间的推移,特定的假发款式与各种职业有关,因此被认为是 民主主义者 对于中上层阶级的男人。

强调身高的发型最早出现在 1760 年代。 这个高度通常形状像鸡蛋。 1770 年代中后期,长发成为时尚。 这些款式的高度通常是脸长的 1 到 1 1/2 倍,它们的造型呈金字塔形。 (来源: 德莫德时装)

在法国大革命的后期,许多时尚的上层和中产阶级的年轻男女开始剪短头发。 提图斯发型,或 提图斯的发型,开始流行。 (来源: 有趣的星球)

这种标志性的发型与古罗马之间有什么联系?

古罗马贵族与 18 世纪后期法国发型之间的独特联系始于 1729 年,当时法国启蒙运动作家伏尔泰刚刚完成了五幕剧《布鲁图斯》的创作。 该剧根据卢修斯·尤尼乌斯·布鲁图斯的传奇故事改编,他判处他的儿子提图斯死刑,罪名是他参与了恢复君主制和恢复被驱逐的国王卢修斯·塔奎尼乌斯·苏佩布斯登上王位的阴谋。

布鲁图斯于 30 年 1791 月 13 日,即伏尔泰逝世 XNUMX 周年纪念日在保皇党国家剧院和竞争对手共和剧院上演。 François-Joseph Talma 饰演 Titus。 他穿着古罗马服装,留着一头短发。

演出没几天,巴黎的所有年轻人都剪短了头发, à la Titus,或“像提图斯”。 (来源: 有趣的星球)

Titus 剪裁是分层的短发。 前额留长刘海,而后背的头发剪到脖子上方。 (来源: 香农·塞林)

Titus Cut 及其背后的象征意义

Titus 剪裁,尽管它已成为时尚宣言 à la Titus,在法国大革命期间也具有象征意义。

法国大革命从 1789 年持续到 1790 年代后期。 它曾经是并将继续是法国最激进的革命之一。 叛军能够从根本上改变他们国家的运作方式。 废除君主专制等百年制度,这是迈向民主的第一步。

当时,法国人民已经厌倦了国王、王后和其他法国贵族。 税收很高,看起来好像钱花在凡尔赛宫的豪华派对上,而不是为饥饿的公民提供食物。 更不用说法国最近资助了美国对英国的独立战争。 (来源: 探索步行)

断头台成为法国大革命期间恐怖统治的主要象征。 它被用来处决数千人,包括国王路易十六和玛丽-安托瓦内特。 这就是法国人开始切割提图斯以表示对那些被断头台处决的人的支持的时候。 (来源: 不列颠)

短发的目的是类似于刽子手如何剃掉接近断头台的革命者的头发,以便刀片整齐地穿过脖子。 短发从脖子上梳起来,露出的脖子上披着一条猩红色的丝带,代表断头台受害者的牺牲。 (来源: 百科全书)


断头台一直在法国使用到 1960 世纪。 然而,它的使用在 1970 年代和 1965 年代有所下降,在 1977 年至 1981 年期间仅执行了 XNUMX 次。XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月,法国废除了死刑并逐步停止使用断头台。 (来源: 不列颠)

发表评论

Home » Beauty & Fitness » What is the Titus Cut?

What is the Titus Cut?

In today’s world, women sport different hairstyles; some traditional, some interesting, and some radical. In the past, French women who had short hair did it for a reason.  What could that reason be?

The Titus cut was a trendy female haircut during the French Revolution. It was inspired by the way executioners chopped the hair of those about to face the guillotine.

French Hairstyles of the 18th Century

The second half of the eighteenth century is notably associated with hair and makeup, which developed into potent symbols of nobility throughout the Enlightenment and French Revolution. France was the era’s fashion leader. (Source: Demode Couture)

The 18th century is primarily linked with wigs, but men predominantly wore these throughout this period. In the 17th century, Wigs were invented when King Louis XIII of France, who had allowed his hair to grow long, experienced early baldness at 23. Courtiers quickly copied the trend, which expanded to England during the reign of Charles II. Specific wig styles became connected with various occupations over time and were thus considered de rigeur for men of the middle and upper classes.

Hairstyles emphasizing height first appeared in the 1760s. This height is frequently shaped like an egg. Huge hair became fashionable in the mid-to-late-1770s. The height of these styles was usually 1 to 1 1/2 times the length of the face, and they were styled in a pyramid shape. (Source: Demode Couture)

During the late years of the French Revolution, many fashionable upper- and middle-class young men and women began cutting their hair short. The Titus hairstyle, or coiffure à la Titus, became popular. (Source: Amusing Planet)

What is the Link Between This Iconic Hairstyle and Ancient Rome?

The unique link between an ancient Roman nobleman and a late-18th-century French hairstyle begins in 1729, with the French Enlightenment writer Voltaire had just finished writing Brutus, a five-act play. The drama is based on the legendary account of Lucius Junius Brutus, who sentenced his son Titus to death for his involvement in a plot to restore the monarchy and restore the ousted king Lucius Tarquinius Superbus to the throne.

Brutus was played on May 30, 1791, the 13th anniversary of Voltaire’s death, at both the royalist Théâtre de la Nation and the rival Théâtre de la République. François-Joseph Talma played Titus. He was dressed in ancient Rome clothing, with a short crop of hair.

Within days of the play, all of Paris’s young people had their hair cut short, à la Titus, or “like Titus.” (Source: Amusing Planet)

The Titus cut was a layered, short haircut. Bangs were left long across the forehead, while the hair in the back was chopped to the top of the neck. (Source: Shannon Selin)

The Titus Cut and the Symbolism Behind It

The Titus cut, despite it becoming a fashion statement à la Titus, also bore a symbolic meaning during the French Revolution.

The French Revolution lasted from 1789 to the late 1790s. It was and continues to be one of France’s most radical revolutions. The rebels were able to change the way their country was run fundamentally. Century-old regimes, such as absolute monarchies, were abolished, which was the first step toward democracy.

At the time, the French people had grown tired of the king, queen, and the rest of France’s aristocrats. Taxes were high, and it appeared as though the money was spent on lavish parties at Versailles rather than on food for the starving citizens. Not to mention that France had recently aided in funding the American Revolutionary War against the British. (Source: Discover Walks)

The guillotine became the principal symbol of the Reign of Terror during the French Revolution. It was used to execute thousands of people, including King Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette. And this was when the French started having the Titus cut to show support for those who the guillotine had executed. (Source: Brittanica)

The short hair was intended to resemble how the executioner shaved the hair of revolutionaries approaching the guillotine for the blade to cut neatly through the neck. Short hairstyles were combed up and away from the neck, and the exposed neck was draped in a scarlet ribbon to represent the guillotine victims’ sacrifice. (Source: Encyclopedia)


The guillotine was still used in France long into the twentieth century. However, its use declined in the 1960s and 1970s, with only eight executions between 1965 and 1977. In September 1981, France abolished the death penalty and phased out the use of the guillotine. (Source: Brittanica)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: