2008 und im Alter von 45 Jahren schrieb sich Flea, Bassist der Multiplatinum-Rockband Red Hot Chili Peppers, als Neuling am Musikprogramm der University of Southern California ein, um die akademische Seite der Musik zu lernen.

Floh geht zurück in die Schule

Als Mitglied der Multiplatinum-Rockband Red Hot Chili Peppers scheint Flea keine höhere Ausbildung zu benötigen, um seine Karriere voranzutreiben. Aber der Bassist hat sich gerade als Neuling am Musikprogramm der University of Southern California eingeschrieben. Für Flea ist es eine Gelegenheit, die akademische Seite der Musik zu lernen.

„Als Kind habe ich an den öffentlichen Schulen in Los Angeles mit ein wenig Privatunterricht Musik auf höchstem Niveau studiert“, sagt Flea. "Meine ganze Karriere, alles, was ich wirklich getan habe, basierte auf Emotionen und Intuition und auf dem, was gut klingt."

Wie jeder andere Studienanfänger beginnt Flea am Anfang mit Bachs Chören und seinen vierstimmigen Harmonien. Es ist eine andere Welt als die der Re…
WEITERLESEN

Quelle: https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=95101406

In 2008 and at the age of 45, Flea, bass player of the multiplatinum rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, enrolled as a freshman at University of Southern California’s music program to learn the academic side of music.

Flea Goes Back To School

As a member of the multiplatinum rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, Flea wouldn’t seem to need higher education to further his career. But the bassist has just enrolled as a freshman at the University of Southern California’s music program. For Flea, it’s an opportunity to learn the academic side of music.

“I studied music at the most remedial level when I was a kid, through the Los Angeles public schools, with a little private instruction,” Flea says. “All my career, all that I’ve really done has been based on emotion and intuition and gravitating toward what sounds good.”

Like any other freshman music major, Flea is starting at the beginning with Bach’s chorales and his four-part harmonies. It’s a different world from that of the Re…
Read More

Source: https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=95101406

Advertisement