الصفحة الرئيسية » الناس والمجتمع » هل أعجب ستيفن هوكينج دراسته الجامعية؟

هل أعجب ستيفن هوكينج دراسته الجامعية؟

يُعرف ستيفن هوكينج ، المعروف بإسهاماته في مجال العلوم ، بأنه أحد أكثر الأشخاص ذكاءً في التاريخ. كطالب ، عانى في البداية من رتب منخفضة في مدرسة سانت ألبانز ؛ عندما وصل إلى جامعة أكسفورد ، أظهر تفوقه نفسه عندما تخرج بمرتبة الشرف ، بغض النظر عن الوقت القليل الذي أمضاه في الدراسة. 

عند دخوله برنامج علم الكونيات في جامعة أكسفورد ، شعر ستيفن هوكينج أن عمله في الكلية كان سهلاً ، وتخرج في النهاية مع مرتبة الشرف على الرغم من أنه خصص القليل من الوقت للدراسة. 

الحياة المبكرة لستيفن هوكينج

ولد في الذكرى 300 لوفاة الفيزيائي الرائع جاليليو جاليلي في 8 يناير 1942 ، ظهر ستيفن هوكينج في عائلة من المثقفين. كان لفرانك وإيزوبيل هوكينغ أربعة أطفال ، وكان ستيفن هوكينغ أكبر أشقائه.

كان والدا ستيفن هوكينغ من خريجي جامعة أكسفورد. حصلت إيزوبيل هوكينغ على تعليمها في جامعة أكسفورد خلال ثلاثينيات القرن الماضي ، عندما لم تكن النساء المتعلمات رسميًا مشهدا مألوفا. على غرار والدة ستيفن ، التحقت فرانك هوكينغ أيضًا بجامعة أكسفورد ، وتخصصت في أمراض المناطق المدارية كباحث طبي.

اعتبروا أكسفورد مكانًا أكثر أمانًا بعيدًا عن القنابل الألمانية التي ألقيت في لندن خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، ونقل إيزوبيل وفرانك إلى هناك في محاولة لإبعاد أسرهم عن الأذى. استمر الزوجان في إنجاب طفلين آخرين هما ماري وفيليبا ، وتبنا طفلهما الرابع إدوارد في عام 1956.

كانت عائلة هوكينغ ، وفقًا لصديق مقرب ، غريبة. ملأ الصمت الغرفة أثناء العشاء حيث ظل كل عضو مغمورًا في كتاب. لقد استخدموا سيارة أجرة قديمة في لندن كسيارة عائلية ، ولم يهتموا بصيانة منزلهم ، حيث يحتوي على النحل في الطابق السفلي ويضيء الألعاب النارية في الدفيئة.

عندما التحق ستيفن هوكينج بمدرسة سانت ألبانز في سنته الأولى ، لم يتم التعرف عليه كطالب لامع حيث كان لديه رتب منخفضة في فصله ، مع إعطاء الأولوية للأنشطة خارج المدرسة مثل لعب ألعاب الطاولة وإنتاج ألعاب جديدة مع أقرانه.

واصل هوكينج حياته الأكاديمية في جامعة أكسفورد ، ودخل المؤسسة التعليمية في سن 17 عامًا. على الرغم من أنه كان يخطط في البداية لدراسة دورة في الرياضيات ، إلا أن أكسفورد لم يقدم برنامجه المرغوب ، مما دفع هوكينج لمتابعة علم الكونيات.

خلال دراسته الجامعية ، تذكر هوكينج أنه بالكاد ركز على مواده حيث حسب أنه يخصص ساعة واحدة فقط يوميًا للمدرسة. وجد الأكاديميين في كليته سهلًا للغاية ، حيث تخرج بمرتبة الشرف في عام 1962. ثم واصل السعي للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه. في علم الكونيات بجامعة كامبريدج. (مصدر: لمحة حول المتجر

إرث ستيفن هوكينج

أثناء متابعة ستيفن لنيل درجة الدكتوراه. في جامعة كامبريدج ، شخص الأطباء حالته بأنه مصاب بالتصلب الجانبي الضموري. واصل الأطباء توضيح أنه لم يتبق له سوى سنوات قليلة ليعيشها. (مصدر: البط

على الرغم من أن ذلك قاده في البداية إلى حالة اكتئاب ، إلا أن تشخيصه لم يشكل حاجزًا أمامه لفترة طويلة. سرعان ما وجد سببًا للاستمرار في العيش داخل عمله وفي علاقته الرومانسية الجديدة مع جين ، زوجته.


أسس ستيفن إرثه من خلال نظرياته وأعماله البارزة ، وشارك في تأليف 15 كتابًا ، بما في ذلك المحترم تاريخ موجز للوقت ، الكون باختصار ، تاريخ موجز للوقتو التصميم الكبير. (مصدر: لمحة حول المتجر)

اترك تعليق

%d المدونين مثل هذا:

Home » People & Society » Did Stephen Hawking Like His Undergraduate Studies?

Did Stephen Hawking Like His Undergraduate Studies?

Stephen Hawking, most known for his contributions in the field of science, is known to be one of the most intelligent people in history. As a student, he initially suffered from low ranks at St. Albans School; when he reached the University of Oxford, his excellence showed itself when he graduated with honors, regardless of the little time he spent studying. 

Entering a Cosmology program at the University of Oxford, Stephen Hawking felt that his college work was easy, eventually graduating with honors even though he dedicated little time to study. 

The Early Life of Stephen Hawking

Born on the 300th death anniversary of the admirable physicist Galileo Galilei on January 8, 1942, Stephen Hawking emerged into a family of intellectuals. Frank and Isobel Hawking had four children, with Stephen Hawking as the eldest siblings.

Both Stephen Hawking’s parents were Oxford Graduates. Isobel Hawking righteously attained her education at Oxford University during the 1930s, when formally educated women weren’t a common sight. Alike Stephen’s mother, Frank Hawking also attended Oxford University, majoring in tropical diseases as a medical researcher.

Deeming Oxford a safer place away from the German bombs dropped in London during World War II, Isobel and Frank transferred there in an attempt to keep their family away from harm. The couple continued to have two other children named Mary and Philippa, adopting their fourth child Edward in 1956.

The Hawking Family, according to a close friend, was odd. Silence filled the room during their dinners as each member remained immersed in a book. They used an old London taxi as their family car, and they hardly cared about their home’s maintenance, containing bees in their basement and lighting fireworks in their greenhouse.

When Stephen Hawking entered St. Albans School in his first year, he was not recognized as a bright student as he had low ranks in his class, prioritizing activities outside school like playing board games and producing new games with his peers.

Hawking continued his academic life at the University of Oxford, entering the educational institution at 17 years old. Although he initially planned on studying a mathematics course, Oxford didn’t offer his desired program, leading Hawking to pursue cosmology.

During his undergraduate studies, Hawking recalled that he barely focused on his subjects as he calculated that he only devoted an hour per day for school. He found his college academics incredibly easy, graduating with honors in 1962. He then continued to strive for his Ph.D. in cosmology at the University of Cambridge. (Source: Biography

Stephen Hawking’s Legacy

During Stephen’s pursuance of a Ph.D. at the University of Cambridge, doctors diagnosed him with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. The doctors continued to explain that he only had a few years left to live. (Source: Ducksters

Although that initially led him to dwell in a depressive state, his diagnosis didn’t serve as a barrier for him for long. He soon found a reason to continue to live within his work and in his newly formed romantic relationship with Jane, his wife.


Stephen established his legacy through his theories and notable works, co-writing 15 books, including the esteemed A Brief History of Time, The Universe in a Nutshell, A Briefer History of Time, and The Grand Design. (Source: Biography)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: