首页 » 人与社会 » 斯蒂芬霍金喜欢他的本科学习吗?

斯蒂芬霍金喜欢他的本科学习吗?

斯蒂芬霍金以其在科学领域的贡献而闻名,被称为历史上最聪明的人之一。 作为一名学生,他最初在圣奥尔本斯学校的地位低下; 当他到达牛津大学时,他以优异的成绩毕业,尽管他学习的时间很少。 

进入牛津大学宇宙学课程后,斯蒂芬霍金觉得他的大学工作很容易,尽管他很少花时间学习,但最终还是以优异的成绩毕业。 

史蒂芬霍金的早年生活

300 年 8 月 1942 日,在令人钦佩的物理学家伽利略·伽利莱 (Galileo Galilei) 诞辰 XNUMX 周年之际,斯蒂芬·霍金 (Stephen Hawking) 出生于知识分子家庭。 弗兰克和伊莎贝尔霍金有四个孩子,斯蒂芬霍金是长兄。

斯蒂芬霍金的父母都是牛津大学毕业生。 伊莎贝尔·霍金 (Isobel Hawking) 在 1930 年代在牛津大学完成了她的学业,当时受过正规教育的女性并不常见。 与斯蒂芬的母亲一样,弗兰克霍金也曾就读于牛津大学,主修热带疾病,担任医学研究员。

伊莎贝尔和弗兰克认为牛津是一个更安全的地方,远离二战期间在伦敦投下的德国炸弹,为了让他们的家人远离伤害,伊莎贝尔和弗兰克搬到了那里。 这对夫妇继续有另外两个孩子,名叫玛丽和菲利帕,并于 1956 年收养了他们的第四个孩子爱德华。

据一位密友说,霍金家族很奇怪。 在他们的晚餐期间,沉默充满了房间,因为每个成员都沉浸在书中。 他们用一辆旧的伦敦出租车作为他们的家车,他们几乎不关心家的维护,在地下室养蜜蜂,在温室里放烟花。

斯蒂芬霍金在第一年进入圣奥尔本斯学校时,由于他在班级中排名较低,优先考虑校外活动,例如玩棋盘游戏和与同龄人一起制作新游戏,因此不被认为是一个聪明的学生。

霍金在牛津大学继续他的学术生活,17 岁时进入教育机构。 尽管他最初计划学习数学课程,但牛津大学并没有提供他想要的课程,这导致霍金开始追求宇宙学。

霍金回忆说,在本科学习期间,他几乎没有专注于自己的科目,因为他计算出每天只花一个小时上学。 1962 年,他以优异的成绩毕业,他发现自己的大学学习非常轻松。然后他继续努力攻读博士学位。 剑桥大学宇宙学博士。 (来源: 个人简介

斯蒂芬霍金的遗产

在斯蒂芬攻读博士学位期间。 在剑桥大学,医生诊断他患有肌萎缩侧索硬化症。 医生继续解释说,他只剩下几年的生命了。 (来源: 鸭子

尽管这最初使他陷入抑郁状态,但他的诊断并没有成为他的长期障碍。 他很快找到了继续生活在他的工作中以及与他的妻子简新建立的浪漫关系中的理由。


斯蒂芬通过他的理论和著名作品建立了他的遗产,合着了 15 本书,包括受人尊敬的 时间简史,简述宇宙,时间简史大设计。 (资源: 个人简介)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » People & Society » Did Stephen Hawking Like His Undergraduate Studies?

Did Stephen Hawking Like His Undergraduate Studies?

Stephen Hawking, most known for his contributions in the field of science, is known to be one of the most intelligent people in history. As a student, he initially suffered from low ranks at St. Albans School; when he reached the University of Oxford, his excellence showed itself when he graduated with honors, regardless of the little time he spent studying. 

Entering a Cosmology program at the University of Oxford, Stephen Hawking felt that his college work was easy, eventually graduating with honors even though he dedicated little time to study. 

The Early Life of Stephen Hawking

Born on the 300th death anniversary of the admirable physicist Galileo Galilei on January 8, 1942, Stephen Hawking emerged into a family of intellectuals. Frank and Isobel Hawking had four children, with Stephen Hawking as the eldest siblings.

Both Stephen Hawking’s parents were Oxford Graduates. Isobel Hawking righteously attained her education at Oxford University during the 1930s, when formally educated women weren’t a common sight. Alike Stephen’s mother, Frank Hawking also attended Oxford University, majoring in tropical diseases as a medical researcher.

Deeming Oxford a safer place away from the German bombs dropped in London during World War II, Isobel and Frank transferred there in an attempt to keep their family away from harm. The couple continued to have two other children named Mary and Philippa, adopting their fourth child Edward in 1956.

The Hawking Family, according to a close friend, was odd. Silence filled the room during their dinners as each member remained immersed in a book. They used an old London taxi as their family car, and they hardly cared about their home’s maintenance, containing bees in their basement and lighting fireworks in their greenhouse.

When Stephen Hawking entered St. Albans School in his first year, he was not recognized as a bright student as he had low ranks in his class, prioritizing activities outside school like playing board games and producing new games with his peers.

Hawking continued his academic life at the University of Oxford, entering the educational institution at 17 years old. Although he initially planned on studying a mathematics course, Oxford didn’t offer his desired program, leading Hawking to pursue cosmology.

During his undergraduate studies, Hawking recalled that he barely focused on his subjects as he calculated that he only devoted an hour per day for school. He found his college academics incredibly easy, graduating with honors in 1962. He then continued to strive for his Ph.D. in cosmology at the University of Cambridge. (Source: Biography

Stephen Hawking’s Legacy

During Stephen’s pursuance of a Ph.D. at the University of Cambridge, doctors diagnosed him with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. The doctors continued to explain that he only had a few years left to live. (Source: Ducksters

Although that initially led him to dwell in a depressive state, his diagnosis didn’t serve as a barrier for him for long. He soon found a reason to continue to live within his work and in his newly formed romantic relationship with Jane, his wife.


Stephen established his legacy through his theories and notable works, co-writing 15 books, including the esteemed A Brief History of Time, The Universe in a Nutshell, A Briefer History of Time, and The Grand Design. (Source: Biography)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: