الرئيسية » الرقم المرجعي » العلوم الإنسانية » تاريخنا » من كان أول ملك حاكم يبحر حول العالم؟

من كان أول ملك حاكم يبحر حول العالم؟

ميري مونارك اشتهر الملك كالاكوا بطرقه المتوهجة والمحبّة للمرح. كان آخر ملوك هاواي قبل أن تصبح جزءًا من الولايات المتحدة. لكن هل تعلم أنه كان رائدًا في شيء غير متوقع تمامًا؟

كان الملك كالاكوا آخر ملوك مملكة هاواي وأول ملك يحكم حول العالم. سافر إلى دول مختلفة للترويج لبلده ، على أمل ألا تختفي.

من هو الملك كالاكوا؟

ولد ديفيد كالاكوا في 15 نوفمبر 1836 في هونولولو ، هاواي. كان نجل رئيس أعلى ، نشأ وتلقى تعليمًا كلاسيكيًا باللغتين الإنجليزية وهاواي. عُرف جيل كالاكاوا الشاب باعتباره جزءًا من أكثر الأجيال المتعلمة في هاواي بسبب رؤية الملك كاميهاميها لإنشاء دولة متعلمة. (مصدر: حاصلون على شهادة التسجيل بمكتبة)

نشأ كالاكاوا في وقت كان فيه المبشرون المسيحيون يغيرون دين العديد من سكان هاواي الأصليين وبدأوا في تولي مناصب في الحكومة المحلية. عندما بلغ سن الرشد ومن خلال نسبه باعتباره ابنًا لرئيس أعلى ، أصبح كالاكوا مرشحًا للعرش. خسر انتخابات عام 1873 لصالح لوناليلو ، لكن لسوء الحظ ، توفي الملك الجديد بعد عام واحد فقط من تعيينه.

أدى انتخاب كالاكاوا من قبل الهيئة التشريعية إلى اعتلاء العرش. ومع ذلك ، كان انتخابه مثيرًا للجدل ، ولكن بمجرد أن استقر ، أثبت الملك الجديد قيمته وقدراته في الفوز على سكان هاواي. كان كالاكوا شغوفًا بالحفاظ على الهوية الوطنية لهاواي وتحسينها.

كان Kalakaua مسؤولاً عن هاواي بونوي، النشيد الوطني للبلاد ، واستقبله السكان الأصليون استحسانًا. كما قام بجولة في جميع الجزر الواقعة تحت هاواي والتقى برعاياه. Kalakaua أيضا أعاد حولا الرقصة التقليدية المقدسة التي تشير إلى الأساطير والأساطير في هاواي ، والتي تم حظرها في عام 1820.

في ذلك الوقت ، لم يكن تاريخ هاواي محفوظًا في الكتابة ، بل تم تناقله شفهيًا. استقر العديد من الأمريكيين والأوروبيين في الجزر وبدأوا في التأثير على العديد من سكان هاواي الأصليين. لم يكن الجيل الجديد مهتمًا بعادات هاواي التقليدية. واعتقدت الأجيال الأكبر سناً في هاواي أنه من المحرمات الكتابة عن أساطيرهم وأساطيرهم. (مصدر: WBUR)

لكن Kalakaua تحدى هذه الفكرة وعمل العلماء مع السكان الأصليين الذين حفظوا الآيات القديمة ، والتي تسمى كاهوناس، حتى يتمكنوا من كتابتها. كان التحدي الأكثر إثارة للجدل الذي قدمه الملك للعلماء هو توثيق الترنيمة المقدسة التي يتم إجراؤها فقط في الاحتفالات ، و كوموليبو. احتوى Kumulipo على قصة الخلق بالإضافة إلى نسب العائلة المالكة. اعترضت عائلة Kahunas ، لكن Kalakaua استحوذت عليهم. (مصدر: حاصلون على شهادة التسجيل بمكتبة)

كالاكوا والسفر حول العالم

في عهده القصير كآخر ملوك هاواي ، كان عمله المكثف في الحفاظ على تقاليد هاواي ناجحًا. كان أحد أفعاله لضمان ذلك هو جعل العديد من الناس يعرفون عن بلده على أمل ألا يُنسى إرثهم.

بصفته الملك ، انطلق في جولة دولية للنوايا الحسنة. كان أول ملك على الإطلاق يطوف حول العالم. أخذته رحلته 281 إلى قرى صغيرة في أوروبا والتقى في النهاية بالملكة. سافر كالاكوا أيضًا إلى اليابان وزار البلاط الإمبراطوري وجلس مع الإمبراطور. وجد الملك نفسه في الصين ومصر ، ثم أخيرًا في الولايات المتحدة.

خلال إقامته القصيرة في الولايات المتحدة ، زار العديد من المواقع المهمة في البلاد ، بل والتقى بتوماس إديسون. على الرغم من أن كالاكوا كان شغوفًا جدًا بالحفاظ على تراث شعبه والطرق القديمة ، إلا أنه كان مهتمًا جدًا بالتكنولوجيا. أفادت الأنباء أن قصر كالاكوا كان مزودًا بأضواء كهربائية ومياه جارية قبل البيت الأبيض. (مصدر: WBUR)

اترك تعليق

Home » Uncategorized » Who was the First Reigning Monarch to Circumnavigate the World?

Who was the First Reigning Monarch to Circumnavigate the World?

The Merrie Monarch King Kalākaua was known for his flamboyant and fun-loving ways. He was the last king of Hawaii before it became part of the US. But did you know he was a pioneer for something quite unexpected?

King Kalākaua was the last king of the Hawaiian kingdom and the first reigning monarch to circumnavigate the world. He traveled to different countries to promote his country, hoping that it wouldn’t disappear.

Who was King Kalākaua?

David Kalakaua was born on November 15, 1836, in Honolulu, Hawaii. He was the son of a high chief, growing up with a classical education in both English and Hawaiian. The generation of the young Kalakaua was known as part of the most literate generations of Hawaii due to the vision of King Kamehameha to create a literate country. (Source: Library of Congress)

Kalakaua grew up in a time when Christian missionaries were converting many native Hawaiians and were beginning to take up positions in the local government. When he came of age and through his lineage as a son of a high chief, Kalakaua became a candidate for the throne. He lost the 1873 election to Lunalilo, but unfortunately, the new king passed just a year after being inducted.

Kalakaua’s election by the legislature brought him to the throne. However, his election was quite controversial, but once he settled in, the new king proved his worth and capabilities in winning over the Hawaiians. Kalakaua was passionate about keeping and improving the national identity of Hawaii.

Kalakaua was responsible for Hawaii Ponoi, the country’s national anthem, and it was received well by the natives. He also toured all the islands under Hawaii and met with his subjects. Kalakaua also brought back the hula, the traditional sacred dance which referenced myths and legends in Hawaii, which was banned in 1820.

At the time, Hawaiian history was not preserved in writing but instead was passed down orally. Many Americans and Europeans settled in the islands and were beginning to influence many native Hawaiians. The new generation wasn’t interested in the traditional Hawaiian customs. And older Hawaiian generations believed that it was taboo to write about their myths and legends. (Source: WBUR)

But Kalakaua challenged that notion and had scholars work with natives who memorized the ancient verses, called the Kahunas, so that they could write them down. The most controversial challenge the king gave the scholars was to document the sacred chant performed only in ceremonies, the Kumulipo. The Kumulipo contained the creation story as well as the lineage of royalty. The Kahunas objected, but Kalakaua won them over. (Source: Library of Congress)

Kalākaua and Traveling the World

In his short reign as the last king of Hawaii, his extensive work in preserving Hawaiian traditions was successful. One of his acts to ensure this was to make as many people know about his country in the hopes that their legacy won’t be forgotten.

As the king, he set off on an international goodwill tour. He was the first monarch ever to circumnavigate the world. His 281 voyage took him to small villages in Europe and eventually met the Queen. Kalakaua also traveled to Japan and visited the imperial courts, and sat with the emperor. The monarch found himself in China and Egypt, then finally in the US.

In his brief stay in the US, he visited many significant spots in the country and even met Thomas Edison. Though Kalakaua was very passionate about keeping his people’s heritage and ancient ways, he was also very interested in technology. It was reported that Kalakaua’s palace had electric lights and running water before the White House did. (Source: WBUR)

Leave a Comment