主页 » 参考文献 » 人文 » 历史进程 » 谁是第一个环游世界的君主?

谁是第一个环游世界的君主?

快乐君主 Kalākaua 国王以其华丽和有趣的方式而闻名。 他是夏威夷成为美国一部分之前的最后一位国王。 但是你知道他是一个出乎意料的先驱吗?

Kalākaua 国王是夏威夷王国的最后一位国王,也是第一位环游世界的在位君主。 他前往不同的国家宣传他的国家,希望它不会消失。

卡拉卡瓦国王是谁?

大卫卡拉卡瓦于 15 年 1836 月 XNUMX 日出生于夏威夷檀香山。 他是一位高级酋长的儿子,在英语和夏威夷语的古典教育下长大。 由于卡美哈美哈国王建立一个有文化的国家的愿景,年轻的卡拉卡瓦一代被称为夏威夷最有文化的一代。 (资源: 美国国会图书馆)

Kalakaua 成长于基督教传教士转变许多夏威夷原住民并开始在当地政府任职的时期。 当他长大成人并成为高级酋长的儿子时,卡拉卡瓦成为了王位的候选人。 他在 1873 年的选举中输给了 Lunalilo,但不幸的是,新国王在就任后仅一年就去世了。

卡拉卡瓦在立法机关的选举使他登上了王位。 然而,他的选举非常有争议,但一旦他解决,新的国王就证明了他在夏威夷人赢得胜利的价值和能力。 Kalakaua 热衷于保持和改善夏威夷的民族认同感。

卡拉卡瓦负责 夏威夷波诺伊是该国的国歌,深受当地人的欢迎。 他还参观了夏威夷的所有岛屿并会见了他的臣民。 卡拉卡瓦还带回了 呼啦圈, 参考夏威夷神话和传说的传统神圣舞蹈,于 1820 年被禁止。

当时,夏威夷的历史并没有以书面形式保存下来,而是口头流传下来。 许多美国人和欧洲人在岛上定居,并开始影响许多夏威夷原住民。 新一代对夏威夷的传统习俗不感兴趣。 夏威夷的老一代人认为,写他们的神话和传说是禁忌。 (资源: WBUR)

但卡拉卡瓦挑战了这一观念,并让学者与背诵古代经文的当地人一起工作,称为 卡胡纳斯, 这样他们就可以把它们写下来。 国王向学者们提出的最具争议的挑战是记录仅在仪式中表演的神圣圣歌, Kumulipo. Kumulipo 包含创作故事以及皇室血统。 Kahunas 反对,但 Kalakaua 赢得了他们的支持。 (资源: 美国国会图书馆)

Kalākaua 和环游世界

在他作为夏威夷最后一位国王的短暂统治期间,他在保护夏威夷传统方面的广泛工作取得了成功。 他确保这一点的一项行动是让尽可能多的人了解他的国家,希望他们的遗产不会被遗忘。

作为国王,他踏上了国际亲善之旅。 他是第一位环游世界的君主。 他的 281 次航行将他带到了欧洲的小村庄,并最终遇到了女王。 卡拉卡瓦还前往日本访问了朝廷,并与天皇坐在一起。 这位君主发现自己在中国和埃及,然后最终在美国。

在美国短暂停留期间,他参观了该国的许多重要景点,甚至会见了托马斯爱迪生。 虽然 Kalakaua 非常热衷于保留其人民的传统和古老的生活方式,但他也对技术非常感兴趣。 据报道,卡拉卡瓦的宫殿在白宫之前就有电灯和自来水。 (资源: WBUR)

发表评论

Home » Uncategorized » Who was the First Reigning Monarch to Circumnavigate the World?

Who was the First Reigning Monarch to Circumnavigate the World?

The Merrie Monarch King Kalākaua was known for his flamboyant and fun-loving ways. He was the last king of Hawaii before it became part of the US. But did you know he was a pioneer for something quite unexpected?

King Kalākaua was the last king of the Hawaiian kingdom and the first reigning monarch to circumnavigate the world. He traveled to different countries to promote his country, hoping that it wouldn’t disappear.

Who was King Kalākaua?

David Kalakaua was born on November 15, 1836, in Honolulu, Hawaii. He was the son of a high chief, growing up with a classical education in both English and Hawaiian. The generation of the young Kalakaua was known as part of the most literate generations of Hawaii due to the vision of King Kamehameha to create a literate country. (Source: Library of Congress)

Kalakaua grew up in a time when Christian missionaries were converting many native Hawaiians and were beginning to take up positions in the local government. When he came of age and through his lineage as a son of a high chief, Kalakaua became a candidate for the throne. He lost the 1873 election to Lunalilo, but unfortunately, the new king passed just a year after being inducted.

Kalakaua’s election by the legislature brought him to the throne. However, his election was quite controversial, but once he settled in, the new king proved his worth and capabilities in winning over the Hawaiians. Kalakaua was passionate about keeping and improving the national identity of Hawaii.

Kalakaua was responsible for Hawaii Ponoi, the country’s national anthem, and it was received well by the natives. He also toured all the islands under Hawaii and met with his subjects. Kalakaua also brought back the hula, the traditional sacred dance which referenced myths and legends in Hawaii, which was banned in 1820.

At the time, Hawaiian history was not preserved in writing but instead was passed down orally. Many Americans and Europeans settled in the islands and were beginning to influence many native Hawaiians. The new generation wasn’t interested in the traditional Hawaiian customs. And older Hawaiian generations believed that it was taboo to write about their myths and legends. (Source: WBUR)

But Kalakaua challenged that notion and had scholars work with natives who memorized the ancient verses, called the Kahunas, so that they could write them down. The most controversial challenge the king gave the scholars was to document the sacred chant performed only in ceremonies, the Kumulipo. The Kumulipo contained the creation story as well as the lineage of royalty. The Kahunas objected, but Kalakaua won them over. (Source: Library of Congress)

Kalākaua and Traveling the World

In his short reign as the last king of Hawaii, his extensive work in preserving Hawaiian traditions was successful. One of his acts to ensure this was to make as many people know about his country in the hopes that their legacy won’t be forgotten.

As the king, he set off on an international goodwill tour. He was the first monarch ever to circumnavigate the world. His 281 voyage took him to small villages in Europe and eventually met the Queen. Kalakaua also traveled to Japan and visited the imperial courts, and sat with the emperor. The monarch found himself in China and Egypt, then finally in the US.

In his brief stay in the US, he visited many significant spots in the country and even met Thomas Edison. Though Kalakaua was very passionate about keeping his people’s heritage and ancient ways, he was also very interested in technology. It was reported that Kalakaua’s palace had electric lights and running water before the White House did. (Source: WBUR)

Leave a Comment