1506年,出土了具有1000多年历史的雕像。 主要人物Laocoön缺少手臂。 教皇委托进行一场竞赛,以找出谁能最好地重建失踪的手臂。 米开朗基罗的版本丢失了。 1906年,人们发现了原始的手臂,并以米开朗基罗雕刻的几乎准确的姿势摆好了姿势。

Laocoön和他的儿子

固定后的手臂,2010年

当发现雕像时,Laocoön的右臂,一个孩子的手的一部分和另一个孩子的右臂以及蛇的不同部分都丢失了。 右边的大儿子与另外两个人物分开。 Laocoön用作座位的祭坛的年龄仍然不确定。 艺术家和鉴赏家们在辩论如何解释缺失的部分。 米开朗基罗(Michelangelo)建议,失踪的右臂本来是向后弯过肩膀的。 然而,其他人则认为以英雄的姿态展示右臂向外伸出更为合适。

根据瓦萨里(Vasari)的说法,大约在1510年,教皇的建筑师布拉曼特(Bramante)在雕塑家之间举行了一次非正式竞赛,以使罗马教皇能够在罗马教皇的统治下进行创作。 继续阅读(12分钟阅读)

关于“在13年,出土了1506多年的雕像的1000个想法。 主要人物Laocoön缺少手臂。 教皇委托进行一场竞赛,以找出谁能最好地重建失踪的手臂。 米开朗基罗的版本丢失了。 1906年,人们发现了原始的手臂,并以米开朗基罗雕刻的几乎准确的姿势摆了头。”

  1. 奇异博士血

    这个故事比标题中的内容还酷。

    大约在公元前200年–公元70年,这个雕塑是由特洛伊木马神父及其儿子遭到海蛇袭击而创建的。 令人惊叹的是,当时最杰出的艺术作家之一普林尼(Pliny the Elder)对此发表了评论。

    最终它被及时遗失,并在将近1500年后在罗马葡萄园中随机发现。 这恰好是在文艺复兴时期,使这些装饰精美的雕塑家大为惊讶。 他们似乎将其视为几百年来的遗失艺术品,但其中有许多遗失的物品,尤其是武器。 梵蒂冈委托拉斐尔(Raphael)进行一项比赛,由谁来评判,以确定谁最能创造出老挝人手臂的姿势。

    米开朗基罗(Michelangelo)相信该人向后弯曲手臂,而雅科波·桑索维诺(Jacopo Sansovino)则认为[手臂在伸出并伸出](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cd/Laocoonphoto.jpg)。 Sansovino获胜,并将手臂添加到雕塑中。

    然后在1906年,在发现Laocoön结构的地方附近发现了一个大理石臂。 它不仅具有正确的形状和设计,而且具有与原始结构中的孔完美​​对齐的钻孔。 [就像米开朗基罗在200年前提出的那样,这条胳膊向后弯曲] [https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/14/Laocoon_Vatican.jpg/280px-Laocoon_Vatican.jpg).

  2. 奇异博士血

    注意:标题中有一些小的更正,实际上是教皇的建筑师委托了比赛

    相关部分:

    > 1906年,考古学家,艺术品经销商,巴拉克博物馆博物馆(Museo Barracco)主任路德维希·波拉克(Ludwig Pollak)在罗马一个建造者的院子中发现了一支大理石臂的碎片,该发现者与该组织很近。 他注意到与Laocoön小组在风格上的相似之处,然后将其展示给了梵蒂冈博物馆:它在他们的储藏室中保存了半个世纪。 1957年,博物馆决定,这只手臂-正如米开朗基罗建议的那样-最初属于该老挝,并取代了它。 保罗·利弗拉尼(Paolo Liverani)表示:“值得注意的是,尽管缺少关键部分,但躯干和手臂之间的连接却通过在一个零件上的钻孔与另一个上的相应孔完美对齐来保证。” [45]

  3. Wuzzy_Gee

    好的,哦,胡安。 记得在Hogh School拉丁班学习过发音。

  4. 裸体牧场

    如果您发现自己在旧金山,就可以在荣誉军团之外(位于军团和高尔夫球场之间的南侧路径上)看到此雕像的副本:[https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8 /Newsletter.html](https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html)

    (它位于两棵重要的树之间;一棵是费迪南德·福och将军种植的,另一棵是约瑟夫·乔佛雷将军种植的。)

  5. 合酶的

    我们怎么知道,米开朗基罗不仅举起了两只手臂并埋葬了一只。

  6. shadolit12

    为什么这不是雷德卖的雕像? 我们甚至有真实世界中的假货与货真价实的例子。

  7. 杰鲁瓦

    听起来很书呆子,但是自从我2004年在艺术史课上看到它以来,这一直是我最喜欢的雕像。

  8. 哇,我实际上亲自看过这个雕塑,但我从来不知道这个故事。 我希望我那时能知道。 这是一个非常令人印象深刻的雕像。

  9. FlareSpeedWalkOnAir

    天哪,想象一下这些东西必须变得多么热。

  10. i_am_not_a_raptor

    谈论军备竞赛的地狱大声笑

    他们本来应该战斗的,可能是一场摔跤比赛

    我从没想过米开朗基罗是健美运动员哈哈

    别人能帮我这些双关语吗? 大声笑

发表评论

In 1506, a 1000+ year old statue was unearthed. The main figure, Laocoön, was missing an arm. The pope commissioned a contest to find who would recreate the missing arm best. Michelangelo’s version lost. In 1906 the original arm was found and in nearly the exact pose Michelangelo had sculpted.

Laocoön and His Sons

The arm after refixing, 2010

When the statue was discovered, Laocoön’s right arm was missing, along with part of the hand of one child and the right arm of the other, and various sections of snake. The older son, on the right, was detached from the other two figures. The age of the altar used as a seat by Laocoön remains uncertain. Artists and connoisseurs debated how the missing parts should be interpreted. Michelangelo suggested that the missing right arms were originally bent back over the shoulder. Others, however, believed it was more appropriate to show the right arms extended outwards in a heroic gesture.

According to Vasari, in about 1510 Bramante, the Pope’s architect, held an informal contest among sculptors to make r… Continue Reading (12 minute read)

13 thoughts on “In 1506, a 1000+ year old statue was unearthed. The main figure, Laocoön, was missing an arm. The pope commissioned a contest to find who would recreate the missing arm best. Michelangelo’s version lost. In 1906 the original arm was found and in nearly the exact pose Michelangelo had sculpted.”

  1. DoctorStrangeBlood

    The story is way cooler than I could fit in the title.

    Around 200 BC – 70 AD this sculpture was created of a Trojan priest and his sons being attacked by sea serpents. It was amazing to people and commented on by one of the most prominent art writers of the time, Pliny the Elder.

    It was eventually lost in time and randomly found nearly 1500 years later in a roman vineyard. This happened to be during the Renaissance and amazed these highly decorated sculptors. They seemed to recognize it as the lost art from centuries past but it had many missing pieces notably the arms. The vatican commissioned a competition to be judged by none other than Raphael to determine who could best create the pose of Laocoön’s arm.

    Michelangelo believed the man to be bending his arm backward, while Jacopo Sansovino believed that the [arm was sticking up and out](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cd/Laocoonphoto.jpg). Sansovino won and the arm was added to the sculpture.

    Then in 1906 a marble arm was found near where the Laocoön structure was found. Not only was it the right shape and design, but it had a drill hole that lined up perfectly with the one in the original structure. [This arm was bent backwards just as Michelangelo had suggested nearly 200 years prior](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/14/Laocoon_Vatican.jpg/280px-Laocoon_Vatican.jpg).

  2. DoctorStrangeBlood

    Note: Small correction in the title, it was actually the pope’s architect that commissioned the competition

    Relevant section:

    > In 1906 Ludwig Pollak, archaeologist, art dealer and director of the Museo Barracco, discovered a fragment of a marble arm in a builder’s yard in Rome, close to where the group was found. Noting a stylistic similarity to the Laocoön group he presented it to the Vatican Museums: it remained in their storerooms for half a century. In 1957 the museum decided that this arm—bent, as Michelangelo had suggested—had originally belonged to this Laocoön, and replaced it. According to Paolo Liverani: “Remarkably, despite the lack of a critical section, the join between the torso and the arm was guaranteed by a drill hole on one piece which aligned perfectly with a corresponding hole on the other.”[45]

  3. Wuzzy_Gee

    Lay-okk-oh-juan. Remember having learned to pronounce it back in Hogh School Latin class.

  4. NudeRanch

    If you find yourself in San Francisco, there is a copy of this statue outside the Legion of Honor (on the southside path between the Legion and the golf course): [https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html](https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html)

    (It’s between two trees of significance; one planted by General Ferdinand Foch, one planted by General Joseph Joffre.)

  5. Zymotical

    How we know Michelangelo didn’t just make 2 arms and bury one.

  6. shadolit12

    Why isn’t this a statue Redd sells? We even have real world examples of fake vs genuine.

  7. dharkmajik

    Woooow, that’s amazing!!

  8. Hippopotamidaes

    Super interesting!

  9. Geruvah

    Going to sound nerdy, but this has been my favorite statue ever since I saw it in my art history class back in 2004.

  10. cjdking

    Wow, I’ve actually seen this sculpture in person and I never knew this story. I wish I knew it back then. It’s a really impressive statue.

  11. FlareSpeedWalkOnAir

    God, imagine how hot it must get in those things.

  12. i_am_not_a_raptor

    Talk about a hell of an arms race LOL

    They should have fought it out, possibly a wrestling match of sorts lol

    I never thought of Michelangelo being a bodybuilder LOL

    Can someone else give me a hand with these puns? LOL

Leave a Comment