في عام 1506 ، تم اكتشاف تمثال عمره أكثر من 1000 عام. الشخصية الرئيسية ، لاوكون ، فقدت ذراعها. كلف البابا بإجراء مسابقة لمعرفة من الذي سيعيد إنشاء الذراع المفقودة بشكل أفضل. نسخة مايكل أنجلو فقدت. في عام 1906 ، تم العثور على الذراع الأصلية ونحتها مايكل أنجلو في الوضع الدقيق تقريبًا.

لاكون وأبناؤه

الذراع بعد التعديل 2010

عندما تم اكتشاف التمثال ، كانت ذراع لاكون اليمنى مفقودة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع جزء من يد أحد الأطفال والذراع اليمنى للآخر ، وأجزاء مختلفة من الثعبان. الابن الأكبر ، على اليمين ، كان منفصلاً عن الشخصين الآخرين. لا يزال عمر المذبح الذي استخدمه Laocoön كمقعد غير مؤكد. ناقش الفنانون والخبراء كيفية تفسير الأجزاء المفقودة. اقترح مايكل أنجلو أن الأذرع اليمنى المفقودة كانت في الأصل عازمة على الكتف. ومع ذلك ، اعتقد آخرون أنه من الأنسب إظهار الأذرع اليمنى ممتدة للخارج في لفتة بطولية.

وفقًا لفاساري ، في حوالي عام 1510 ، أقام برامانتي ، مهندس البابا ، مسابقة غير رسمية بين النحاتين لجعل ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 12 دقائق)

13 فكرة حول "في عام 1506 ، تم اكتشاف تمثال عمره أكثر من 1000 عام. الشخصية الرئيسية ، Laocoön ، فقدت ذراعها. كلف البابا بإجراء مسابقة لمعرفة من الذي سيعيد إنشاء الذراع المفقودة بشكل أفضل. نسخة مايكل أنجلو فقدت. في عام 1906 ، تم العثور على الذراع الأصلية ونحتها مايكل أنجلو في الوضع الدقيق تقريبًا ".

  1. DoctorStrangeBlood

    القصة أكثر روعة مما يمكن أن يكون العنوان.

    حوالي 200 قبل الميلاد - 70 بعد الميلاد تم إنشاء هذا التمثال لكاهن طروادة وأبناؤه الذين تعرضوا لهجوم من قبل الثعابين البحرية. لقد كان أمرًا رائعًا للناس وعلق عليه أحد أبرز الكتاب الفنيين في ذلك الوقت ، بليني الأكبر.

    لقد ضاع في النهاية في الوقت المناسب وعثر عليه بشكل عشوائي بعد 1500 عام تقريبًا في كرم روماني. حدث هذا خلال عصر النهضة وأذهل هؤلاء النحاتين المزينين للغاية. يبدو أنهم أدركوا أنه الفن المفقود من القرون الماضية ولكن كان لديه العديد من القطع المفقودة ولا سيما الأسلحة. كلف الفاتيكان بإجراء مسابقة ليحكم عليها أي شخص آخر غير رافائيل لتحديد من يمكنه إنشاء أفضل شكل لذراع لاكون.

    اعتقد مايكل أنجلو أن الرجل يحني ذراعه للخلف ، بينما كان جاكوبو سانسوفينو يعتقد أن [الذراع كانت بارزة وخارجية] (https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cd/Laocoonphoto.jpg). فاز سانسوفينو وأضيفت الذراع إلى التمثال.

    ثم في عام 1906 ، تم العثور على ذراع من الرخام بالقرب من مكان العثور على هيكل لاوكون. لم يكن هذا هو الشكل والتصميم المناسبين فحسب ، بل كان به ثقب حفر يتماشى تمامًا مع الثقب الموجود في الهيكل الأصلي. [تم ثني هذا الذراع للخلف تمامًا كما اقترح مايكل أنجلو قبل 200 عام تقريبًا] (https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/14/Laocoon_Vatican.jpg/280px-Laocoon_Vatican.jpg).

  2. DoctorStrangeBlood

    ملاحظة: تصحيح صغير في العنوان ، كان المهندس المعماري للبابا هو الذي كلف المسابقة

    القسم ذو الصلة:

    > في عام 1906 ، اكتشف لودفيج بولاك ، عالم الآثار وتاجر الفن ومدير متحف باراكو ، قطعة من ذراع رخامية في ساحة بناء في روما ، بالقرب من مكان العثور على المجموعة. مع ملاحظة التشابه الأسلوبي مع مجموعة Laocoön ، قدمها إلى متاحف الفاتيكان: بقيت في مخازنهم لمدة نصف قرن. في عام 1957 ، قرر المتحف أن هذه الذراع - المنحنية ، كما اقترح مايكل أنجلو - كانت في الأصل تنتمي إلى Laocoön ، واستبدلت بها. وفقًا لباولو ليفيراني: "بشكل ملحوظ ، على الرغم من عدم وجود قسم حرج ، فإن الوصلة بين الجذع والذراع كانت مضمونة بفتحة حفر في قطعة واحدة تتماشى تمامًا مع ثقب مماثل في الأخرى."

  3. Wuzzy_Gee

    لاي-أوك-أوه-جوان. تذكر أنك تعلمت نطقها مرة أخرى في فصل اللغة اللاتينية في مدرسة Hogh School.

  4. نود رانش

    إذا وجدت نفسك في سان فرانسيسكو ، فهناك نسخة من هذا التمثال خارج Legion of Honor (على الطريق الجنوبي بين Legion وملعب الجولف): [https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8 /Newsletter.html] (https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html)

    (إنها بين شجرتين مهمتين ؛ إحداهما زرعها الجنرال فرديناند فوش ، والأخرى زرعها الجنرال جوزيف جوفر).

  5. slugsalad

    إذهب واستنتج!

  6. Zymotical

    كيف نعرف أن مايكل أنجلو لم يصنع ذراعين ودفن أحدهما فقط.

  7. Shadolit12

    لماذا لا يبيع Redd هذا التمثال؟ لدينا حتى أمثلة من العالم الحقيقي على المزيفة مقابل الحقيقية.

  8. dharkmajik

    رائع ، هذا مذهل !!

  9. فرس النهر

    ممتع للغاية!

  10. جروفا

    أبدو غريب الأطوار ، لكن هذا كان التمثال المفضل لدي منذ أن رأيته في فصل تاريخ الفن في عام 2004.

  11. cjdking

    واو ، لقد رأيت هذا التمثال شخصيًا ولم أكن أعرف هذه القصة مطلقًا. أتمنى لو كنت أعرف ذلك في ذلك الوقت. إنه تمثال رائع حقًا.

  12. FlareSpeedWalkOnAir

    يا الله ، تخيل مدى سخونة هذه الأشياء.

  13. i_am_not_a_raptor

    تحدث عن جحيم سباق التسلح LOL

    كان يجب أن يقاتلوا بها ، ربما مباراة مصارعة من نوع لول

    لم أفكر أبدًا في مايكل أنجلو كونه لاعب كمال أجسام LOL

    هل يمكن لشخص آخر أن يساعدني بهذه التورية؟ لول

اترك تعليق

In 1506, a 1000+ year old statue was unearthed. The main figure, Laocoön, was missing an arm. The pope commissioned a contest to find who would recreate the missing arm best. Michelangelo’s version lost. In 1906 the original arm was found and in nearly the exact pose Michelangelo had sculpted.

Laocoön and His Sons

The arm after refixing, 2010

When the statue was discovered, Laocoön’s right arm was missing, along with part of the hand of one child and the right arm of the other, and various sections of snake. The older son, on the right, was detached from the other two figures. The age of the altar used as a seat by Laocoön remains uncertain. Artists and connoisseurs debated how the missing parts should be interpreted. Michelangelo suggested that the missing right arms were originally bent back over the shoulder. Others, however, believed it was more appropriate to show the right arms extended outwards in a heroic gesture.

According to Vasari, in about 1510 Bramante, the Pope’s architect, held an informal contest among sculptors to make r… Continue Reading (12 minute read)

13 thoughts on “In 1506, a 1000+ year old statue was unearthed. The main figure, Laocoön, was missing an arm. The pope commissioned a contest to find who would recreate the missing arm best. Michelangelo’s version lost. In 1906 the original arm was found and in nearly the exact pose Michelangelo had sculpted.”

  1. DoctorStrangeBlood

    The story is way cooler than I could fit in the title.

    Around 200 BC – 70 AD this sculpture was created of a Trojan priest and his sons being attacked by sea serpents. It was amazing to people and commented on by one of the most prominent art writers of the time, Pliny the Elder.

    It was eventually lost in time and randomly found nearly 1500 years later in a roman vineyard. This happened to be during the Renaissance and amazed these highly decorated sculptors. They seemed to recognize it as the lost art from centuries past but it had many missing pieces notably the arms. The vatican commissioned a competition to be judged by none other than Raphael to determine who could best create the pose of Laocoön’s arm.

    Michelangelo believed the man to be bending his arm backward, while Jacopo Sansovino believed that the [arm was sticking up and out](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cd/Laocoonphoto.jpg). Sansovino won and the arm was added to the sculpture.

    Then in 1906 a marble arm was found near where the Laocoön structure was found. Not only was it the right shape and design, but it had a drill hole that lined up perfectly with the one in the original structure. [This arm was bent backwards just as Michelangelo had suggested nearly 200 years prior](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/14/Laocoon_Vatican.jpg/280px-Laocoon_Vatican.jpg).

  2. DoctorStrangeBlood

    Note: Small correction in the title, it was actually the pope’s architect that commissioned the competition

    Relevant section:

    > In 1906 Ludwig Pollak, archaeologist, art dealer and director of the Museo Barracco, discovered a fragment of a marble arm in a builder’s yard in Rome, close to where the group was found. Noting a stylistic similarity to the Laocoön group he presented it to the Vatican Museums: it remained in their storerooms for half a century. In 1957 the museum decided that this arm—bent, as Michelangelo had suggested—had originally belonged to this Laocoön, and replaced it. According to Paolo Liverani: “Remarkably, despite the lack of a critical section, the join between the torso and the arm was guaranteed by a drill hole on one piece which aligned perfectly with a corresponding hole on the other.”[45]

  3. Wuzzy_Gee

    Lay-okk-oh-juan. Remember having learned to pronounce it back in Hogh School Latin class.

  4. NudeRanch

    If you find yourself in San Francisco, there is a copy of this statue outside the Legion of Honor (on the southside path between the Legion and the golf course): [https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html](https://www.ronhenggeler.com/Newsletters/2016/5.8/Newsletter.html)

    (It’s between two trees of significance; one planted by General Ferdinand Foch, one planted by General Joseph Joffre.)

  5. Zymotical

    How we know Michelangelo didn’t just make 2 arms and bury one.

  6. shadolit12

    Why isn’t this a statue Redd sells? We even have real world examples of fake vs genuine.

  7. dharkmajik

    Woooow, that’s amazing!!

  8. Hippopotamidaes

    Super interesting!

  9. Geruvah

    Going to sound nerdy, but this has been my favorite statue ever since I saw it in my art history class back in 2004.

  10. cjdking

    Wow, I’ve actually seen this sculpture in person and I never knew this story. I wish I knew it back then. It’s a really impressive statue.

  11. FlareSpeedWalkOnAir

    God, imagine how hot it must get in those things.

  12. i_am_not_a_raptor

    Talk about a hell of an arms race LOL

    They should have fought it out, possibly a wrestling match of sorts lol

    I never thought of Michelangelo being a bodybuilder LOL

    Can someone else give me a hand with these puns? LOL

Leave a Comment