非洲象经常被埋葬或睡觉的人类,或在受到伤害时帮助他们。 一个女人在树下睡着了,醒来发现一只大象站在她轻轻抚摸着她的身旁。 当其他大象到达时,他们将她葬在树枝下。 第二天早上她没有受伤。

大象认知

科学家经常争论大象感觉到情感的程度。 大象已成为除智人和尼安德特人以外的少数几类哺乳动物之一,已知它们在死后具有或具有任何可识别的仪式。 大象对自己的骨头表现出浓厚的兴趣(即使是很早以前就已经死亡的无关的大象)。 人们经常看到他们用他们的躯干和脚轻轻地检查骨头,同时保持非常安静。 有时,与死者完全无关的大象仍在探墓。

大象研究员马丁·梅雷迪斯(Martin Meredith)在他的书中回忆起一种典型的大象死亡仪式的发生,南非南非生物学家安东尼·霍尔·马丁(Anthony Hall-Martin)见证了这一事件。 继续阅读(14分钟阅读)

关于“非洲象有6个想法”,非洲象经常被埋葬或睡觉的人类,或在受到伤害时予以援助。 一个女人在树下睡着了,醒来发现一只大象站在她轻轻抚摸着她的身旁。 当其他大象到达时,他们将她葬在树枝下。 第二天早上她没有受伤。”

  1. 苹果酒

    大象很棒,应该受​​到尊重。

  2. 马基维尔王子

    链接中一些非常有趣的信息。 特别是这个故事:

    “该家庭的两名成员被偷猎者开枪,随后被其余的大象赶走。 尽管其中一头大象死亡,但另一头名为蒂娜(Tina)的大象仍然站立,但膝盖开始让位。 特里斯塔(Trista)和特里西亚(Teresia)(蒂娜(Tina)的母亲)的两个家庭成员走到蒂娜(Tina)的两侧,俯身抱起她。 最终,蒂娜变得如此虚弱,她倒在地上死了。 然而,特里斯塔和特里西亚没有放弃,而是一直试图解除她。 他们设法使Tina坐下,但她的身体无生气,再次摔倒在地。 随着其他大象家庭成员更加积极地参与援助,他们试图将草放到蒂娜的嘴里。 然后,Teresia将她的象牙放在Tina的头部和前半部下面,然后抬起她。 当她这样做时,她的右牙已完全折断,一直到嘴唇和神经腔。 大象放弃了举起蒂娜的努力,但没有离开她。 取而代之的是,他们开始将她埋在一个浅浅的坟墓中,然后将叶子扔在她身上。 他们在蒂娜(Tina)上过夜,然后在早晨开始离开。 最后离开的是特里西亚。”

  3. 瓦数

    我不知道,从小睡中醒来,大象直立在我的头上,绝对让我害怕。

  4. 价值观与规范

    大象非常复杂,在情感上也很聪明。 他们将知识从一代传给下一代,而青春期的大象则帮助照顾年幼的兄弟姐妹和堂兄弟姐妹。

    有一个叫Sheldrick的救援中心,人们在那里养育和教导孤象,这些孤象的母亲遭到了人类浮渣偷猎者的枪击。 他们照顾了这些大象多年,然后将它们重新引入野外。 “毕业生”带着自己的孩子回来介绍她的老饲养员和新婴儿的情况并不少见。

    真正不可思议的生物。

    如果你们中有人在布朗克斯区,那儿的动物园里就有一只大象被单独关押。 他们承受着巨大的压力,要求将她转移到庇护所,但他们拒绝了。 因此,如果您是选民,则可以加上XNUMX美分。动物园似乎刚刚赢了一个案子,可以让他们养她。

    [“快乐”](https://www.nonhumanrights.org/client-happy/)

  5. TechyDad

    迪士尼+上有一部大象纪录片。 在某一时刻,这群人经过一头死象的骨头。 他们排成一列,用一种“对死者表示敬意”的仪式轻轻地用touch牙触碰骨头。 他们甚至教小象怎么做。

  6. Random_user_no_name

    大象,世界需要的奇妙生物,但不值得

发表评论

African elephants often bury dead or sleeping humans or aid them when they are hurt. One woman fell asleep under a tree and woke to find an elephant standing over her gently touching her. As other elephants arrived they buried her under branches. She was found the next morning unharmed.

Elephant cognition

Scientists often debate the extent to which elephants feel emotion. Elephants have been one of few species of mammals other than Homo sapiens sapiens and Neanderthals known to have or have had any recognizable ritual around death. Elephants show a keen interest in the bones of their own kind (even unrelated elephants that have died long ago). They are often seen gently investigating the bones with their trunks and feet while remaining very quiet. Sometimes elephants that are completely unrelated to the deceased still visit their graves.

Elephant researcher Martin Meredith recalls in his book an occurrence of a typical elephant death ritual as witnessed by Anthony Hall-Martin, a South African biologist who had studied elephants in A… Continue Reading (14 minute read)

6 thoughts on “African elephants often bury dead or sleeping humans or aid them when they are hurt. One woman fell asleep under a tree and woke to find an elephant standing over her gently touching her. As other elephants arrived they buried her under branches. She was found the next morning unharmed.”

  1. CiderMcbrandy

    Elephants are wonderful, and should be respected.

  2. PrinceMachiavelliest

    Some really interesting information in the link. Especially this story:

    “Two members of the family were shot by poachers, who were subsequently chased off by the remaining elephants. Although one of the elephants died, the other, named Tina, remained standing, but with knees beginning to give way. Two family members, Trista and Teresia (Tina’s mother), walked to both sides of Tina and leaned in to hold her up. Eventually, Tina grew so weak, she fell to the ground and died. However, Trista and Teresia did not give up but continually tried to lift her. They managed to get Tina into a sitting position, but her body was lifeless and fell to the ground again. As the other elephant family members became more intensely involved in the aid, they tried to put grass into Tina’s mouth. Teresia then put her tusks beneath Tina’s head and front quarters and proceeded to lift her. As she did so, her right tusk broke completely off, right up to the lip and nerve cavity. The elephants gave up trying to lift Tina but did not leave her; instead, they began to bury her in a shallow grave and throw leaves over her body. They stood over Tina for the night and then began to leave in the morning. The last to leave was Teresia.”

  3. WattsAGigawatt

    I dunno, waking up from a nap with an elephant standing right over me would absolutely freak me out.

  4. valuesandnorms

    Elephants are incredibly sophisticated and emotionally intelligent. They pass knowledge from one generation to the next and adolescent elephants help take care of their younger siblings and cousins.

    There’s an rescue center called Sheldrick where people raise and teach teach orphan elephants whose mothers have been shot by human scum poachers. They take care of these elephants for years and then reintroduce them into the wild. It’s not uncommon for “graduates” to come back with their own children and introduce her old keepers and her new baby.

    Truly incredible creatures.

    If any of you are in the Bronx, the zoo there has an elephant in solitary confinement. There has been tremendous pressure on them to move her to a sanctuary but they refuse. So if you are a constituent maybe you can add your two cents in. The zoo appears to have just won a case to allow them to keep her

    [“Happy”](https://www.nonhumanrights.org/client-happy/)

  5. TechyDad

    There’s an Elephants documentary on Disney+. At one point, the group passes by the bones of a dead elephant. They line up and gently touch the bones with their tusks in a sort of “pay respects to the dead” ritual. They even teach the young elephants what to do.

  6. Random_user_no_name

    Elephants, the incredibly wonderful creatures the world needs, but doesn’t deserve

Leave a Comment