主页 » 健康用品 » 生殖健康 » 1994年,美国外科医生被炒鱿鱼,原因是他说手淫是“人类性行为的一部分,也许应该教它”。

1994年,美国外科医生被炒鱿鱼,原因是他说手淫是“人类性行为的一部分,也许应该教它”。

Minnie Joycelyn Elders(出生于Minnie Lee Jones,13年1933月XNUMX日)是美国儿科医生和公共卫生行政人员。

她是公共卫生服务委员会的海军上将,也是第一位被任命为美国外科医生的非洲裔美国人。

长者最出名的是,她坦率地讨论了她对有争议问题的看法,例如毒品合法化,手淫和在学校分发避孕药具。[1] 由于她的观点,她在1994年XNUMX月因争议而被迫辞职。

在明尼苏达大学医院完成实习生并在阿肯色大学医学中心担任儿科住院医师后,长者于1967年获得了生物化学硕士学位。

1987年,时任州长的比尔·克林顿(Bill Clinton)任命埃尔德斯(Elders)为阿肯色州卫生局局长,这使她成为该州首位担任这一职位的非洲裔美国妇女。

她在任期间的一些主要成就包括通过增加学校诊所的节育,咨询和性教育的机会来降低青少年怀孕率; 从1988年到1992年,儿童早期筛查增加了十倍,两岁儿童的免疫接种率增加了24%; 扩大了艾滋病毒检测和咨询服务,乳腺癌筛查以及为老年人和患者提供更好的临终关怀服务的可用性。

尽管长者是一名儿科内分泌学家,并且是全美顶尖医学院之一的教授,但她也无法幸免于工作场所的种族主义。

在一次采访中,她被问到是否与雪莉·奇斯霍尔姆(Shirley Chisholm)有关女人比非裔美国人更受压迫的说法有关,她回答说:“我是我,因为我是黑人妇女”。[6] 老年人能够成为非裔美国人社区的代言人,并谈到贫困及其在青少年怀孕中的作用,这是该社区内部的一个主要问题。

对年轻的非洲裔美国妇女的性教育[编辑]

老年人强烈倡导性和生殖教育,尤其是在非裔美国人社区。

长者已获得美国国家卫生研究院职业发展奖,并自1967年起在阿肯色大学医学中心担任儿科学助理教授。

她的研究兴趣集中在内分泌学上。1978年,她获得小儿内分泌学家委员会认证,成为阿肯色州首位这样做的人。[3] 长者获得了博士学位。 于2002年从贝茨大学获得学位。

1993年XNUMX月,比尔·克林顿(Bill Clinton)任命她为美国外科医生,这使她成为第一位非洲裔美国人和第二位女性(紧随安托尼亚·诺维罗之后)。

有人问她,提倡手淫是否合适,以防止年轻人从事危险的性活动,她回答说:“我认为这是人类性行为的一部分,也许应该教它”。 [14] 此言论引起了极大的争议,并导致长老失去了白宫的支持。

自从担任外科医生长一职以来,长者以小儿科教授的身分回到阿肯色大学医学科学系,目前是UAMS的名誉教授。[19] 她是巡回演讲的常客,反对青少年怀孕。

长者也是Ro的咨询委员会的成员,Ro是针对慢性病的端到端服务。


来源: 乔伊斯林长老

In 1994, the Surgeon General of the U.S. was fired for saying masturbation is “part of human sexuality, and perhaps should be taught.”

Minnie Joycelyn Elders (born Minnie Lee Jones; August 13, 1933) is an American pediatrician and public health administrator.

She was a vice admiral in the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps and the first African American appointed as Surgeon General of the United States.

Elders is best known for her frank discussion of her views on controversial issues such as drug legalization, masturbation and distributing contraception in schools.[1] She was forced to resign in December 1994 amidst controversy as a result of her views.

After completing an internship at the University of Minnesota Hospital and a residency in pediatrics at the University of Arkansas Medical Center, Elders earned an M.S. in Biochemistry in 1967.

In 1987, then-governor Bill Clinton appointed Elders as Director of the Arkansas Department of Health, making her the first African American woman in the state to hold this position.

Some of her major accomplishments while in office include reducing the teen pregnancy rate by increasing the availability of birth control, counseling, and sex education at school-based clinics; a tenfold increase in early childhood screenings from 1988 to 1992 and a 24 percent rise in the immunization rate for two-year-olds; and expanded the availability of HIV testing and counseling services, breast cancer screenings, and better hospice care for the elderly and patients that were.

Even though Elders was a pediatric endocrinologist and a professor at one of the nation’s top medical schools, she was not immune from racism in the workplace.

During an interview, she was asked if she related to Shirley Chisholm’s statement about feeling more oppressed as a woman than as an African American, she replied saying, “I am who I am because I’m a black woman”.[6] Elders was able to be the voice for the African American community and speak on poverty and its role in teenage pregnancy, which is a major issue within the community.

Sex education for young African American women[edit]

Elders strongly advocated sex and reproductive education, especially in African American communities.

Elders has received a National Institutes of Health career development award, also serving as assistant professor in pediatrics at the University of Arkansas Medical Center from 1967.

Her research interests focused on endocrinology, and she received board certification as a pediatric endocrinologist in 1978, becoming the first person in the state of Arkansas to do so.[3] Elders received a D.Sc. degree from Bates College in 2002.

In January 1993, Bill Clinton appointed her as the United States Surgeon General, making her the first African American and the second woman (following Antonia Novello) to hold the position.

She was asked whether it would be appropriate to promote masturbation as a means of preventing young people from engaging in riskier forms of sexual activity, and she replied, “I think that it is part of human sexuality, and perhaps it should be taught”.[14] This remark caused great controversy and resulted in Elders losing the support of the White House.

Since leaving her post as Surgeon General, Elders has returned to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences as professor of pediatrics, and is currently professor emerita at UAMS.[19] She is a regular on the lecture circuit, speaking against teen pregnancy.

Elders is also on the advisory board to Ro, an end-to-end service for chronic health conditions.


Source: Joycelyn Elders