在患有阿尔茨海默氏症的大脑中发现了慢性牙龈疾病的细菌。 不良的口腔卫生一直是痴呆症的已知危险因素,但研究人员现在怀疑,牙龈疾病引起的细菌可能以某种方式进入大脑并引起或加重了阿尔茨海默氏症的症状。

阿尔茨海默氏症与牙龈疾病有关-但口腔健康不良并非唯一的罪魁祸首

对于大多数人来说,牙齿清洁可能只是日常生活的一部分。 但是,如果你今天清洁牙齿的方式,可能会影响你在未来几年患上阿尔茨海默病的几率?

越来越多的证据表明牙龈(牙周)疾病可能是阿尔茨海默氏病的危险因素。 一些研究甚至表明,如果牙龈疾病持续十年或更长时间,您的风险就会加倍。 确实,一项发表在《科学进展》上的美国研究详细描述了在阿尔茨海默氏病患者的大脑中如何发现一种与牙龈疾病相关的称为牙龈卟啉单胞菌(P. gingivalis)的细菌。 对老鼠的测试还显示了臭虫如何从它们的嘴传播到大脑。 继续阅读(3分钟阅读)

在患有阿尔茨海默氏症的大脑中发现了16种关于“慢性牙龈疾病的细菌的想法”。 不良的口腔卫生一直是痴呆症的已知危险因素,但研究人员现在怀疑牙龈疾病引起的细菌可能以某种方式进入大脑并引起或加重了阿尔茨海默氏症的症状。”

  1. 屁派

    我与一家为疗养院患者提供牙齿卫生的公司合作。 他们的嘴巴通常被完全忽略,无论是因为他们身体上无法刷牙还是忘记了,疗养院的工作人员通常不会帮助他们。 我有牙科助理告诉我,他们已经看过人们的嘴巴,他们吃的最后三顿饭仍然混在里面。

  2. 手工糖果

    牙齿健康对整体健康有很多影响,我真的认为应该将牙齿健康视为一个整体,而不是像在美国那样拥有单独的保险和治疗方法

  3. 意外事故

    >现有研究表明,其他类型的细菌和I型疱疹病毒也可以在阿尔茨海默氏病大脑中发现。 唐氏综合症患者和重度颅脑损伤患者也更容易患阿尔茨海默氏病。 研究还表明,与心血管疾病有关的几种疾病都可能增加阿尔茨海默氏病的风险。 这表明一个端点存在多种原因-科学家仍在努力找出这种联系。

    超级迷人。

  4. Titty_diddler

    牙医在这里。 几乎可以肯定不是细菌或牙龈疾病本身,而是您的身体为了抵抗这些虫子而处于的慢性炎症状态。 C反应蛋白和纤维蛋白原以及其他促炎性标志物的升高可能有助于神经原纤维缠结和tau蛋白聚集。

  5. Rottsnottots

    我的背部臼齿由于蛀牙而在十几岁时就被拔了,下一个臼齿有根管。 后来,作为成年人,我有牙科保险,但是我要辞职了。 幸运的是,我有眼镜蛇保险,所以我不得不迅速做出一些决定,以充分利用剩余的牙科保险时间。 我决定要用牙套和植入物来代替最后一颗牙齿。 与我的牙髓病医生和牙医来回交流后,建议我拔下剩下的根管牙,然后将植入物放在那儿。 我丝毫不感到痛苦,但怀疑它们的根部有浅白色区域。 这可能是当前的感染或骨质流失,可能是由于我必须获得根管之前的10多年的感染。 为了安全起见,我选择将其拉出并被感染。 我的牙医拉了那个坏男孩,我闻到了臭臭的猫屎。
    当时,我患有轻度虚弱的坐骨神经痛。 有时候我不能穿袜子。 我在脊医,针灸和按摩上花费了数千美元。 我吃了布洛芬。
    我拔牙后大约三天。 我只是注意到我体内的能量。 我觉得我想搬家。 我登上跑步机,进行了一些慢跑/散步,但在公元前10分钟后停下来,我不希望这种突然的良好身体振动消失。 我花了大约3天时间将它们拼凑在一起。 对于我来说,就像经过几年的日常痛苦之后,我为什么要他妈的变得无痛。 发生了什么变化”,灯灭了,我追到了牙齿。 我仔细阅读,甚至和我的口腔外科医师交谈。 细菌从牙齿不断浸出到身体中会产生灾难性的影响。 他说我可能仍然存在坐骨神经痛问题,但是感染使它难以忍受。 可悲的是,我很幸运有保险,并决定投资我的牙齿。 即使有了保险,牙套和植入物也可能要花我4英镑以上。 当时我的总收入为$ 35,000。 那是一笔巨大的费用,但是我知道,在美国居住,我可能再也不会拥有那么好的牙科保险了。 如果我没有做呢? 我受感染的牙齿使我没有任何疼痛。 我永远不会怀疑这是罪魁祸首。 这让我伤心,认为所有我会忍着痛苦的。

  6. 布阿布布肖

    现在忘记刷牙会让您忘记多刷牙

  7. 酒精度

    心脏病也与牙龈疾病有关。

    如果您忽略自己的牙齿,它们将会消失-并在它们离开时将您甩开。

  8. 意外事故

    我想知道我们是否会生活在这样一个时代,即我们了解细菌与人体的相互作用以及我们对食物与人体的相互作用。

  9. 吉尔129

    但是患有老年痴呆症的人最终会不会口腔卫生不好

  10. 德州外阴迷

    是时候探讨因果关系和相关因素了。 非常有趣的东西。

  11. 牛肉

    好吧,多年以来没有因为沮丧而刷牙。

    我希望这可以让我重新开始

  12. 斯塔克

    因此,忘记刷牙会导致您忘记更频繁地刷牙吗? 听起来像是细菌的阴谋。

  13. 爷爷丹

    但是,牙科健康保险被认为是一种特权……

  14. pingback的: 在患有阿尔茨海默氏症的大脑中发现了慢性牙龈疾病的细菌。 不良的口腔卫生一直是痴呆症的已知危险因素,但研究人员现在怀疑牙龈疾病引起的细菌可能以某种方式进入大脑并引起或导致

发表评论

Bacteria from chronic gum disease has been found in brains suffering from Alzheimer’s. Bad oral hygiene has been a known risk factor for dementia but researchers now suspect that bacteria from gum disease may somehow cross into the brain and cause or worsen Alzheimer’s symptoms.

Alzheimer’s is linked to gum disease – but bad oral health is not the only culprit

For most people, teeth cleaning may just be a normal part of your daily routine. But what if the way you clean your teeth today, might affect your chances of getting Alzheimer’s disease in years to come?

There is an increasing body of evidence to indicate that gum (periodontal) disease could be a plausible risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease. Some studies even suggest your risk doubles when gum disease persists for ten or more years. Indeed, a US study published in Science Advances details how a type of bacteria called Porphyromonas gingivalis – or P. gingivalis – which is associated with gum disease, has been found in the brains of patients with Alzheimer’s disease. Tests on mice also showed how the bug spread from their mouth to brain… Continue Reading (3 minute read)

16 thoughts on “Bacteria from chronic gum disease has been found in brains suffering from Alzheimer’s. Bad oral hygiene has been a known risk factor for dementia but researchers now suspect that bacteria from gum disease may somehow cross into the brain and cause or worsen Alzheimer’s symptoms.”

  1. Reich2choose

    BRB, going to brush my teeth

  2. FartPie

    I work with a company that provides dental hygiene to nursing home patients. Their mouths are usually completely neglected, whether it be because they physically can’t brush or forget, nursing home staff usually don’t help them with it. I’ve had dental assistants tell me they’ve seen people’s mouths with the last three meals they’ve eaten still mashed around inside.

  3. handcraftedcandy

    Dental health has so many impacts on overall health, I really think it should be considered one in the same rather than having separate insurances and treatments like it is here in the US

  4. Fine_Accident

    >Existing research shows that other types of bacteria and the Herpes type I virus can also be found in Alzheimer’s disease brains. People with Down’s syndrome are also at a higher risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease, as are people who have had a severe head injury. Research also shows that several conditions associated with cardiovascular disease can increase the risk of Alzheimer’s disease. This suggests there are many causes with one endpoint – and scientists are still trying to figure out the connection.

    Super fascinating.

  5. Titty_diddler

    Dentist here. It’s almost certainly not the bacteria or gum disease itself, but rather the chronic inflammatory state your body is in to fight off these bugs. Elevation in C-reactive protein and fibrinogen, as well as other pro inflammatory markers likely contributes to neurofibrillary tangles and tau protein aggregates.

  6. Rottsnottots

    My very back molar had been pulled as a teenager due to cavity, and the next molar had a root canal. Later on, as an adult, I had dental insurance, but I was leaving my job. Fortunately, I had cobra insurance, so I had to make some decisions quickly about making the most of my remaining time having dental insurance. I decided to get braces and an implant to replace that last tooth. After some back and forth with my endodontist and dentist, I was advised to pull that remaining root canal tooth and put the implant there. I was in no pain whatsoever, but they were suspect of a light white area at the base of the root. It could have been a current infection or bone loss, from an infection the 10+ years before when I had to get my root canal. I chose to get it pulled to be safe and it was infected. My dentist pulled that bad boy and I could smell the stinky puss.
    At the time, I had been suffering from mildly debilitating sciatica. Some days I couldn’t put my socks on. I spent thousands on chiropractors, acupuncture, and massage. I ate ibuprophen.
    About three days after my pulled tooth. I just noticed an energy in my body. I felt like I wanted to move. I got on my treadmill and did some light jogging/walking, but stopped after 10 minutes bc I didn’t want this sudden good body vibes to go away. It took about 3 days for me to piece it together. For me to get to the point of like “why the fuck am I pain free, after years of daily pain. What has changed” the light went off and I traced it to my tooth. I read up on it, and even spoke with my oral surgeon. The constant leaching of bacteria from your teeth, into your body can have disasterous effects. He said that I probably still have sciatica issues, but the infection made it unbearable. The sad thing is I got lucky to have had insurance and made the decision to invest in my teeth. Even with insurance, the braces and implant probably cost me upward of 4 grand. I was making gross $35,000 at that time. That was a huge expense, but I knew, living in the US, I may never have dental insurance that good again. And what if I had not done it? My infected tooth caused me no pain whatsoever. I would never have suspected it was the culprit. It makes me sad to think of all of the suffering I would have endured.

  7. booyaabooshaw

    Forgetting to brush your teeth will now make you forget to brush your teeth more

  8. AlcoholPrep

    Heart disease has also been correlated to gum disease.

    If you ignore your teeth they will go away — and flip you off as they leave.

  9. Fine_Accident

    I wonder if we will ever live in a time where we understand how bacteria interacts with our body as well as we understand how food interacts with our body.

  10. Kyrle129

    But wouldn’t people with alzheimers eventually end up having bad oral hygiene

  11. TexasVulvaAficionado

    Time to dig into the causation vs correlation factors. Very interesting stuff.

  12. misterbeef

    well, haven’t brushed my teeth in years due to depression.

    i hope this can get me to start doing it again

  13. StarkRG

    So forgetting to brush your teeth can result in you forgetting to brush your teeth more often? Sounds like a bacterial conspiracy.

  14. Grandpa_Dan

    And yet Dental health coverage is considered a privilege…

  15. Pingback: Bacteria from chronic gum disease has been found in brains suffering from Alzheimer’s. Bad oral hygiene has been a known risk factor for dementia but researchers now suspect that bacteria from gum disease may somehow cross into the brain and cause or wo

Leave a Comment