与守卫大英博物馆大门的猫迈克见面。 他在工作上花了20年的时间,因为不喜欢雌犬和狗而声名狼藉,只允许某些人喂他。 即使在退休后,他也偶尔会追赶狗,据报道,狗在袭击时“惊恐逃离”。

迈克(猫)

迈克(c。1908 – 1929年XNUMX月)是守卫大英博物馆大门的猫,其名气如此之大,以至于《时代》杂志为他的去世发表了两篇文章。 EA Wallis Budge描述迈克一生的工作被视为这种传记写作的顶峰。

早年

1908年春天,博物馆的家猫“黑杰克”(Black Jack)带着一个大物件走到埃及文物EA Wallis Budge的守卫者手中,然后将其放置在守卫者的脚下。 对象是一只小猫,后来被称为迈克。 第二年,迈克开始在黑杰克(Black Jack)的指导下学习,黑杰克(Black Jack)教年轻的猫像狗一样指向鸽子。 在黑杰克的指导下,迈克将继续对鸽子进行角逐,... 继续阅读(3分钟阅读)

关于“遇见守卫大英博物馆大门的猫迈克”的12条想法。 他在工作上花了20年的时间,因为不喜欢雌犬和狗而声名狼藉,只允许某些人喂他。 即使在退休后,他也偶尔会追赶那些狗,据报道,狗在袭击时“惊恐逃离”。

  1. 夫人_错误

    迈克(Mike)在大英博物馆的家猫黑杰克(Black Jack)的陪伴下学习,该杰克将这只小猫放在埃及文物EA Wallis Budge的守护者脚下。 在黑杰克的指导下,迈克学会了跟踪鸽子。 他会围困鸽子,使它们发呆,然后将它们带到管家那里,管家将把这只鸟交换成一小撮食物和牛奶,然后放开它们。

  2. 暴力牛磺酸

    我长大了一只叫弗雷迪(Freddy)的猫,他对所有附近的狗都是绝对的恐怖。 他会跟踪他们,拐弯他们,然后锁住他们的脸。

    不过,最有趣的故事是当我的沙鼠从笼子里逃出来,弗雷迪以为他终于可以吃了,小沙鼠像小熊一样站在他的后腿上,朝弗雷迪跑去。 弗雷迪再也没有打扰过那只愤怒的小熊了。

  3. Mojomonkeyfish

    我小时候有一只像这样的猫。 他是一个非常普通,懒惰的人-宠物和食物。 然后,他与一个铜头纠缠在一起,铜头在后院离我太近了,被咬在他的头后面。
    显然,在此之前,他为我们的家人提供保护,但是在被咬后,他就落伍了。 他不会让任何人进入我们家或其附近。 如果他到外面去,他将在门附近的灌木丛中埋伏邮递员或律师。
    他会超级甜蜜,并且非常爱我们,但随着时间的流逝,这种情况只会恶化。 有一次,一位雅芳女士来到我们家,当我妈妈打开它时,这只罗威纳犬就向他推了进来。一只邻居的狗松了下来-一个无边无际的可爱男孩。 我妈妈没有认出他,我的弟弟正在客厅的地板上玩耍,所以当这只大奇怪的狗像大狗一样闯入那里时,她大叫。 费利克斯(猫)从该死的天空中(二楼走廊着陆处)出来,锁在狗的背上,用爪子挖进那只可怜的幼崽的腹部,只是……恶狠狠地着脖子。 那只狗惊慌失措,正在房子里大吼大叫,然后摔倒,然后带着费利克斯的背回到前门。 费利克斯后来回来了。 这只狗(像任何一只狗一样)再也没有来过我们家附近的任何地方。
    费利克斯有很多关于殴打的故事,但最后一个故事是一个小孩在屋外骑着自行车沿着街走,他的腿被严重撕裂了(快餐)。 那时我们被告知必须放下他。 动物控制通常并不能指导猫。

  4. 马哈维申尼

    我在工作的商店里有个女“迈克”。 她没有真实的名字,我称她为“杀手”,因为那是她所做的。 完全正常大小,不张扬的猫,但是在她呆在那里的8到9年间,我们还没有遇到过啮齿类动物问题。 但是圣洁的狗屎见她与他们打交道,这真是太残酷了。 我们那里有几只大狗,他们都学会了不与她交往的艰难方法。 我曾经见过我老板的边境牧羊犬离得太近了,她和罗伊·琼斯(Roy Jones)用20件组合给他擦了擦他的脸。 他们都以最大的尊重/恐惧对待她。

  5. 底特律天鹅绒

    爱我的老鼠

    爱我博物馆

    爱我奶油和饼干

    爱我吧

    吃狗

    吃了威明(不是性别歧视,只是不要嘲笑他们)

    吃了在户外

    简单为

  6. Waldo_Pepper62

    当猫/狗/等被赋予普通名称时,我喜欢它。 我认识一只曾经叫凯文的大猫。 大声笑。

  7. 导弹射击

    愿他永远活着。

    认为这种看似微不足道的猫科动物生活是疯狂的,自从这只猫生活以来,在那段时间里有成千上万的人甚至是数十亿的猫科动物生活,他是不朽的,因为他的名字在历史书籍中,并且将永远被人们记住。 没有更大的荣誉

  8. 怪物

    迈克在那张照片中看起来像个混蛋

  9. 强大的雷神211

    我最喜欢的部分是这篇文章引起了许多坏蛋猫的故事。 我爱你所有的猫,并允许我添加自己的猫。

    首先是Cally和Trixe。 两位我们误以为是喂养的野兽,他们都收养了我们。 所有这两个都是A级鼠标。 当涉及到他们时,势不可挡。 他们过着把他们留在我姐妹床上的生活。 我知道不如其他猫那么坏,但是仍然很酷。

    然后是妮莉。 我们从一个真的不想要她的牧师那里得到了Nelly。 她曾经是流浪猫,意识到她比街上更喜欢舒适的沙发和加热器。 我们把她和三只狗,一只皮吉尼狗和两头长发奇瓦瓦狗放在一起,而我的姐姐则有3条她经常带到美国的小猎犬。 奈利接过。 哦,他们当中的任何一个。 一个奇瓦瓦州的杰克会吠叫和骚扰她,当她不想的时候,走了! 爪子站到头上,头朝地板上,小狗刚打扫着爪子,便哭着跑开。 有一天,小猎犬想和她一起玩。 他们对她的体重稳定在2-2磅。 这只狗吠叫着向她吼叫。 妮莉继续停放烤箱,穿过厨房的桌子,像他妈的忍者一样将自己撞向狗背,只是挖了一下牙齿。 她被剥夺了前爪的爪子。 她像骑着那只顽强的野马一样,骑着这只小猎犬穿过房子,穿过后帘门进入后院,最终松开手,跳下了车。 内里尔(Nellyl)刚从破损的门小跑回到房子,坐下,看着外面的狗。 只要内利(Nelly)坐在那里,那只狗就会拒绝进入里面。 那么以示威是否有力? 去拥抱我的姐妹们(狗的主人)大腿。

  10. 我想知道“ Black Jack”是否真的是“ Black Jill”,大声笑。 雄猫通常不会随身携带奇怪的小猫,更不用说在吓pig鸽子(和狗)的技巧中对它们进行辅导了。

  11. 百日草

    迈克被索伦转世改变了主意

发表评论

Meet Mike, a cat who guarded the gates of the British Museum. He spent 20 years on the job, gaining notoriety for his disliking of females and dogs, and only allowing certain people to feed him. Even after retiring he occasionally chased off dogs, who reportedly “fled in terror” when he attacked.

Mike (cat)

Mike (c.1908 – January 1929) was a cat who guarded the gates of the British Museum whose fame was such that Time magazine devoted two articles to him on his death. E. A. Wallis Budge’s work describing the life of Mike has been viewed as the zenith of such biographical writing.

Early life

In the spring of 1908 “Black Jack”, the house cat of the Museum, walked up to the Keeper of Egyptian antiquities E. A. Wallis Budge with a large object in his mouth which he then deposited at the Keeper’s feet. The object was a kitten, later known as Mike. The following year Mike began to study under Black Jack who taught the younger cat to stalk pigeons by pointing like a dog. Under Black Jack’s guidance Mike would proceed to corner the pigeons, da… Continue Reading (3 minute read)

12 thoughts on “Meet Mike, a cat who guarded the gates of the British Museum. He spent 20 years on the job, gaining notoriety for his disliking of females and dogs, and only allowing certain people to feed him. Even after retiring he occasionally chased off dogs, who reportedly “fled in terror” when he attacked.”

  1. Dame_Erroneous

    Mike studied under Black Jack, a housecat of the British Museum who deposited the kitten at the feet of Keeper of Egyptian antiquities E. A. Wallis Budge. Under Black Jack’s guidance Mike learned to stalk pigeons.  He would corner the pigeons, daze them, then bring them to the housekeeper, who would exchange the bird for a morsel of food and milk, and release them unharmed.

  2. violentlytaurine

    I had this cat growing up named Freddy, he was an absolute terror to all of the neighborhood dogs. He would stalk them, corner them, and latch on to their faces.

    The funniest story though was when my gerbil escaped from his cage and Freddy thought that he could finally eat him, the little gerbil stood on his hind legs like a tiny bear and ran towards Freddy. Freddy never bothered the tiny angry bear ever again.

  3. mojomonkeyfish

    I had a cat like this when I was a kid. He was a pretty normal, lazy guy – pets and foods. Then, he got into a tangle with a copperhead that got too close to me in the backyard, and was bitten on the back of his head.
    Obviously, he was protective of our family before that, but after the bite he went overboard. He wouldn’t let anyone in or near our home. If he got outside, he’d wait in the bushes near the door to ambush the mailman or solicitors.
    He would be super sweet, and loved us so much, but it just deteriorated over time. Once, an Avon lady came to our door, and when my mom opened it this rottweiler just pushed his way in. A neighbor’s dog that had gotten loose – a sweet boy with no boundaries. My mom didn’t recognized him, and my infant brother was playing on the floor of the living room, so she screamed when this big strange dog just barged in there, as big dogs do. Felix (the cat) came out of the fuckin sky (the second floor hallway landing) and latches onto the dog’s back, digging his claws into the poor pups belly and just… gnawing on his neck viciously. The dog panicked and was yelping and crashing around the house, then back out the front door with Felix on his back. Felix returned later. The dog (like ANY dog) never came anywhere near our house again.
    There are many Felix assault stories, but the final one was a kid riding his bike down the street by out house, who got his leg pretty torn up (fast food). At that point we were told we had to have him put down. Not something animal control usually dictates for cats.

  4. mahavishnunj

    we have a female ‘mike’ at the shop i work at. she doesnt have a real name, i call her ‘killer’ because thats what she does. totally normal sized, unassuming cat, but we havent had a rodent problem in the 8-9 years shes been there. but holy shit-ive seen her deal with them and it is fucking sadistic. we have several huge dogs that are there and they ALL have learned the hard way not to fuck with her. i once saw my boss’s border collie get too close and she roy jones jr’d him with a 20 piece combo and bloodied his face. they all treat her with the utmost of respect/fear.

  5. detroitvelvetslim

    Love me mice

    Love me museum

    Love me cream and biscuits

    Love me foightin’

    Ate dogs

    Ate wimmin (not sexist, just don’t lioke em)

    Ate being outdoors

    Simple as

  6. Waldo_Pepper62

    I like it when Cats/Dogs/etc are given normal names. I knew a great cat once named Kevin. LOL.

  7. missilefire

    May he live forever.

    It’s crazy to think such a seemingly insignificant feline life, where millions of human lives and maybe billions of feline lives pass in the time since this cat lived, he is immortal, because his name is in the history books and will forever be remembered. There is no greater honour

  8. thelosermonster

    Mike looks like an asshole in that picture

  9. MightyThor211

    The fact that this post has caused so many stories of badass cats is my favorite part. I love all your cats and allow me to add my own.

    First are cally and trixe. Both ferals who we made the mistake of feeding and they adopted us. All in all these two were grade A mousers. Unstoppable when it came to them. They lived to leave them in my sisters bed. I know not as badass as the other cats but still cool.

    Then theres Nelly. We got Nelly from a priest who didnt really want her. She was a former street cat that realized shes liked comfy couchs and heaters more then the street. We had her along with 3 dogs, a pekignese and 2 long hair Chihuahuas and my sister had 2 American terriers that she routinely brought to the house. Nelly took. O shit from any of them. The one Chihuahua jack would bark amd bug her and when she didnt want to, wam! Paw to the head, head to the floor, little dog running away whimpering while she just cleaned her paws. One day on of the terriers wanted to play with her. They had a solid 80-90 pounds on her. This dog is barks and snapping at her. Nelly proceeds to parkor up the oven, across to the kitchen table and launched herself onto the dogs back like a fucking ninja and just dug her teeth. She was declawed in the front paws. She proceedes to ride the terrier like its a fucking bucking bronco through the house, breaks through the back screen door into the back yard and eventually lets go and jumps off. Nellyl just trots back to the house, through the broken door and sits down, watching outside at the dog. The dog refuses to fome inside as long as Nelly is sitting there. Then as a show if power? Goes and cuddles into my sisters (the owner of the dogs) lap.

  10. Cyssane

    I have to wonder if “Black Jack” was actually “Black Jill”, lol. Male cats don’t normally carry strange kittens around, much less mentor them in the fine art of terrorizing pigeons (and dogs).

  11. zinnia_cosmos

    Mike was Sauron reincarnated change my mind

Leave a Comment