Where is Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch?

Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch is located in Mississippi. He started this project by purchasing 26 bee hives from Arkansas back in 2014 – and today his ranch is one of the few bee farms that focus on providing the best environment for the bees and not for profit gains. 

مورجان فريمان ، حائز على جائزة الأوسكار ، وفاعل خير وأيقونة أفلام مشهورة بفضل كلاسيكيات مثل - The Shawshank Redemption ، و Million Dollar Baby ، و Driving Miss Daisy ، و The Dark Knight Trilogy والمزيد. اشتهر بصوته العميق ولعب حتى صوت الله في الكوميديا ​​عام 2003 بروس تعالى. الآن ، هو أكثر رغبة في الأدوار السردية خاصة للأفلام الوثائقية مثل March of the Penguins. أعطانا هذا الممثل الحائز على العديد من الجوائز شيئًا لنتذكره حقًا. لكن هل تتوقف عند هذا الحد؟

مع كل الإنجازات والجوائز ، ربما تتساءل ما الذي لا يمكنه فعله؟ حتى الآن ، هو يفعل كل شيء. تحدث فريمان لأول مرة عن تربية النحل في عام 2014 في مقابلة مع جيمي فالون في برنامج الليلة. تحدث عن مدى أهمية النحل ولماذا نحتاج إلى الحفاظ على بيئة جيدة لهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أكد على أن النحل هو أساس نمو كوكبنا. أصبح المفهوم معروفًا لنا الآن ، لكن من كان يظن ذلك في عام 2014؟

دعنا نعود إلى الحقائق. لماذا ينقرض النحل؟ في مقال نشرته ناشيونال جيوغرافيك في عام 2020 ، شرحوا كيف اكتشف الباحثون الانخفاض الهائل في عدد السكان في أمريكا الشمالية وحدها. قادهم المزيد من البحث إلى اكتشاف أن بعض الأنواع قد انقرضت تمامًا من الأماكن التي كانت تزدهر فيها. ومثال على ذلك هو نحلة Rusty Patched Bumblebee التي كانت شائعة في أونتاريو. الآن ، لا يمكنك العثور على هذه الأنواع في أي مكان في كندا وهي معرضة بشدة لخطر الانقراض في الولايات المتحدة. بعد فترة وجيزة ، كان انخفاض عدد السكان واضحًا أيضًا في أجزاء مختلفة من العالم.

ورقة نشرت في دورية علوم يوضح كيف يلعب تغير المناخ دورًا كبيرًا في انخفاض أعداد النحل. في هذه الدراسة ، المناطق التي زادت في متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة خلال العقود القليلة الماضية أو التي شهدت تغيرًا شديدًا في درجة الحرارة لديها عدد أقل من النحل. نظرًا لأن عمر النحل يقتصر على عام واحد ، فإن معدلات تكاثرهم ضرورية لبقائهم على قيد الحياة. إن الإساءة التي يتخذها كوكبنا من أفعالنا التي أدت إلى الاحتباس الحراري هي سلسلة من ردود الفعل للأحداث التي يجب علينا معالجتها الآن قبل فوات الأوان. لذا ، نعم ، تصريح فريمان حول حاجتنا إلى الحفاظ على بيئة مثالية للنحل هو المفتاح لإنقاذهم من الانقراض التام.

لماذا النحل مهم جدا على أي حال؟ يتحدث فريمان عن كونهم أساس نظامنا البيئي ، وهذا صحيح. سيكون لفقدان هذه الملقحات عواقب وخيمة على إنتاج الغذاء بشكل عام. تحتاج النباتات والأشجار إلى هذه الملقحات لإنتاج الغذاء ، وبدونها ، فإننا ننظر إلى انهيار صناعاتنا الزراعية. من كان يظن أن مثل هذه الحشرة الصغيرة يمكن أن تحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في عالمنا.

اشترى فريمان أكثر من 26 خلية نحل من أركنساس ونقلها إلى مزرعته في ميسيسيبي في عام 2014. الهدف هو تحويل المزرعة التي تبلغ مساحتها 124 فدانًا إلى محمية نحل بدوام كامل. يذهب إلى أبعد من التخطيط للأشجار والنباتات والزهور التي يجب أن تكون داخل وحول العقار لتشجيع النمو السكاني والظروف المعيشية المثلى. ويقول أيضًا إنه لا ينوي قطف العسل أو إزعاج خلايا النحل.

هذه ليست مجرد هواية للممثل البالغ من العمر 83 عامًا ، إنه مشروع شغوف عمل عليه لسنوات. يذهب فريمان نفسه إلى خلايا النحل ويطعم النحل يدويًا بماء السكر بدون بدلة مربي النحل. يدعي أنه لم يتعرض للسع حتى الآن ، ولن يحتاج إلى أي بدلة واقية في أي وقت قريب.

مصادر:

The Tonight Show بطولة جيمي فالون (25 يوليو 2014) مورغان فريمان هو مربي النحل الآن [فيديو] YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSBxGrIF89s

بيرل ، ديانا (21 يناير ، 2018) جوائز SAG لإنجاز الحياة ، أدوار الشرف الأكثر شهرة لمورغان فريمان. استردادها من: https://people.com/awards/sag-awards-2018-morgan-freeman-iconic-roles/

مين ، دوغلاس (7 فبراير 2020) ينقرض النحل الطنان في وقت "فوضى المناخ". استردادها من: https://www.nationalgeographic.com/animals/article/bumblebees-going-extinct-climate-change-pesticides

سوروي ، بيتر وآخرون. آل. (فبراير 7 ، 2020) تغير المناخ يساهم في حدوث انخفاضات واسعة النطاق بين النحل الطنان عبر القارات. استردادها من: https://science.sciencemag.org/content/367/6478/685

Nace ، Trevor (March 20، 2019) قام Morgan Freeman بتحويل مزرعته التي تبلغ مساحتها 124 فدانًا إلى محمية نحل العسل العملاقة لإنقاذ النحل. استردادها من: https://www.forbes.com/sites/trevornace/2019/03/20/morgan-freeman-converted-his-124-acre-ranch-into-a-giant-honeybee-sanctuary-to-save-the-bees/

12 thoughts on “Where is Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch?”

  1. هرقل

    أنا فقط أتخيله جالسًا في الحديقة ، يروي قصصًا صغيرة عن كل نحلة.

    "احصل على حياة صاخبة ... أو احتضن صخبًا."

  2. روبية 418

    حسنًا ، سأكون ملعونًا

  3. Eloisem. 333

    يا رجل ، أتمنى لو كنت غنيًا حتى أتمكن من الانغماس في محمية النحل. هذا يبدو وكأنه الشيء الأكثر متعة في العالم. أرغب أيضًا في زراعة عباد الشمس وصنع المربى والاستمتاع بالبيع في السوق. تنهد. ربما في الحياة القادمة.

  4. Edd_the_Redd

    نحلة التغيير ..

  5. براسبيلس

    قرأت أن هناك ميزة ضريبية جيدة ، إعفاء زراعي ، إذا كنت تحتفظ بالنحل (بدلاً من الماشية أو الأغنام أو أي شيء آخر) إذا كنت تمتلك مساحة. الكثير من الناس ذوي الخصائص الكبيرة يستفيدون منه مع النحل.

  6. N0thingman

    لا أستطيع قراءة المقال لأنني "دولي" لكن 26 خلية ... حسنا ... نوعا ما عدد صغير. بصفتك عازف نحل واحد ، حتى ولو بدوام جزئي ، فإن الاهتمام بـ 100 أمر واقعي.

  7. Docxx214

    عسل النحل جزء من المشكلة ، ليس في خطر. سيؤدي نقل هذه الخلايا إلى منافسة النحل البري الأصلي الذي يواجه مشكلة.

  8. Jacksons أمي

    هل تعلم أن النحل لا يتبول.

  9. دلودافيس

    كل شيء عن الضرائب

  10. السيدة_بي

    اعتقدت السيدة بي أن لا شيء يمكن أن يفعله مورغان فريمان من شأنه أن يجعله أكثر روعة

    راوي؛ كانت السيدة بي مخطئة

اترك تعليق

Where is Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch?

Morgan Freeman, is an Academy Award winner, philanthropist and a well-known movie icon thanks to classics like – The Shawshank Redemption, Million Dollar Baby, Driving Miss Daisy, The Dark Knight Trilogy and more. He is best recognized for his deep voice and has even played the voice of God in the 2003 comedy hit Bruce Almighty. Now, he is most coveted for narrating roles especially for documentaries like March of the Penguins. This multi-awarded actor truly gave all of us something to remember. But does it stop there? (Source: People)

Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch is located in Mississippi. He started this project by purchasing 26 bee hives from Arkansas back in 2014 – and today his ranch is one of the few bee farms that focus on providing the best environment for the bees and not for profit gains. 

With all the achievements and awards, you’re probably wondering what can’t he do? As of now, he’s doing it all. Freeman first talked about beekeeping back in 2014 in an interview with Jimmy Fallon on the Tonight Show. He talked about how important bees are and why we need to preserve a good environment for them. In addition, he stresses out how bees are actually the foundation of our planet’s growth. The concept is now well-known to us, but who would’ve thought that back in 2014? (Source: Youtube)

Why Do We Need to Save the Bees?

Let’s circle back to the facts. Why are bees going extinct? In an article published by National Geographic in 2020, they explain how researchers found out about the massive drop in population in North America alone. Further research led them to discovering that some species have completely been extinct from places they used to flourish in. An example of this is the Rusty Patched Bumblebee that used to be common in Ontario. Now, you can not find this species in any place in Canada and they are highly endangered in the US. Soon after, the population decline was also evident in different parts of the globe. (Source: National Geographic)

A paper published in the journal Science shows how climate change plays a big role on the decline of the bees population. In this study, areas that have increased in average temperature during the past few decades or have experienced an extreme shift in temperature have a lesser bee population. With the life span of bees being limited to a year, their reproduction rates are vital for their survival. The abuse our planet is taking from our actions that resulted in global warming is a chain reaction of events we must address now before it’s too late. So yes, Freeman’s statement on how we need to preserve an ideal environment for the bees is the key to saving them from complete extinction. (Source: Science Magazine)

Why are bees so important anyway? Freeman talks about them being the foundation of our ecosystem, and this true. The loss of these pollinators will have severe consequences to food production in general. Plants and trees need these pollinators to produce food, and without them, we’re looking at the collapse of our agricultural industries. Who would’ve thought that such a tiny insect could make such a huge difference in our world.

More About Freeman’s Bee Farm

Freeman has purchased over 26 beehives from Arkansas and moved them up to his ranch in Mississippi back in 2014. The goal is to convert the entire 124-acre ranch into a full-time bee sanctuary. He goes as far as planning out what trees, plants and flowers should be in and around the property to encourage population growth and optimal living conditions. He also says that he does not intend to harvest the honey or disturb hives. (Source: Forbes)

Summary

This is not just a hobby for the 83-year-old actor, this is a passion project he has worked on for years. Freeman himself goes to the hives and hand-feeds the bees with sugar water without a beekeeper suit. He claims to have not been stung yet, and would not be needing any protective suit any time soon.

12 thoughts on “Where is Morgan Freeman’s Bee Ranch?”

  1. herculesmeowlligan

    I’m just picturing him siting in the garden, narrating little stories about each bee.

    “Get buzzy living… or get buzzy dying.”

  2. Eloisem333

    Man, I wish I was rich so I could indulge in a bee sanctuary. That sounds like the most pleasant thing in the world. I’d also want to grow sunflowers and make jams and relishes to sell at the market. Sigh. Maybe in the next life.

  3. BrassBelles

    I read that there’s a nice tax advantage, an agricultural exemption, if you keep bees (rather than cattle or sheep or whatever) if you own acreage. Lot’s of people with large properties take advantage of it with bees.

  4. N0thingman

    I can’t read the article because I’m “international” but 26 hives is…. well… kinda a small number. As a single apiarist, even very part time, caring for 100 is realistic.

  5. Docxx214

    Honey Bees are part of the problem, they’re not endangered. Moving these hives will just result in them out-competing the native wild bees which are the ones in trouble.

  6. JacksonsMum

    Did you know that bees don’t wee.

  7. Mrs_Peee

    Mrs Peee thought that nothing Morgan Freeman could do would make him more adorable

    Narrator; Mrs Peee was wrong

Leave a Comment