首页 » 敏感题材 » 蒂莉·史密斯是谁?

蒂莉·史密斯是谁?

海啸是来自海洋的一系列巨大波浪,通常由地震、山体滑坡、火山活动甚至小行星引起。 它可以上升到一百英尺,造成严重的洪水和大规模破坏。 在印度洋的海啸中,一个小女孩可以救很多人,但如何呢?

一个 10 岁的英国女孩蒂莉·史密斯 (Tilly Smith) 在与家人一起去泰国度假前几周得知了海啸。 她能够识别警告标志并警告酒店工作人员。 他们能够疏散海滩上的人。

蒂莉·史密斯是谁?

Tilly Smith 出生于 1994 年。由于她敏锐的眼光和在学校学到的知识的应用,她在迈考海滩拯救了数百人。

尽管她的家人拒绝了商业广播机构的采访请求,但她还是于 2005 年 XNUMX 月出现在联合国。在此期间,她遇到了联合国海啸救援特使比尔·克林顿 (Bill Clinton)。 (来源: 瓢Who)

蒂莉·史密斯如何预测海啸即将袭击迈考?

蒂莉和家人在泰国迈考海滩度假。 在假期前几周的地理课上,她的老师安德鲁·科尔尼 (Andrew Kearney) 向他们介绍了海啸以及预测海啸的迹象。

当她和她的家人在海滩上时,她认出了这些标志; 从海岸线退去的水和海面上的泡沫。 她提醒了她父母的注意,他们继续通知了酒店工作人员。

大海在嘶嘶作响,波浪上有泡沫。 我一直在想,'我见过这个,我在某处见过这个'。 我觉得有什么可怕的事情要发生了。

蒂莉史密斯为太阳

工作人员能够在海啸袭击之前及时清理海滩。 水继续淹没城镇数英里; 如果没有蒂莉的警告,海滩上的几个人可能会丧生。 (来源: 红十字会)

在这种情况下,教育的力量是我认为成功与失败或生与死之间的区别,没有什么可以替代它。 没有教育,人们是无能为力的,正如这里所见,它在指导您自己的生活方面可能非常强大。

安德鲁·科尔尼\

(资源: 妈妈咪呀)

蒂莉·史密斯 (Tilly Smith) 今天在哪里?

那天,蒂莉·史密斯因其英雄主义而获得了无数奖项。 她被命名为 年度最佳儿童 由一家法国儿童报纸出版,并获得了海洋协会和海洋学员颁发的托马斯格雷特别奖。 她甚至有一颗以她的名字命名的小行星。

26年2005月XNUMX日,她有幸朗诵了灾难十周年的一首诗。

赢得这一天的不是破坏或死亡。 胜利的是人类,是慷慨、勇气和爱的光辉胜利。

纳瓦拉·庞派本

如今,26 岁的蒂莉住在伦敦,从事游艇租赁工作。 (来源: 妈妈咪呀)

发表评论

Home » Sensitive Subjects » Who is Tilly Smith?

Who is Tilly Smith?

A tsunami is a series of massive waves from the ocean often caused by earthquakes, landslides, volcanic activity, and even asteroids. It can rise to a hundred feet, causing severe floods and mass destruction. During a tsunami from the Indian Ocean, a little girl could save a lot of people, but how?

A 10-year-old English girl, Tilly Smith, learned about tsunamis a couple of weeks before vacationing with her family in Thailand. She was able to identify the warning signs and alarmed the hotel staff. They were able to evacuate the people off the beach.

Who is Tilly Smith?

Tilly Smith was born in 1994. Because of her keen eye and application of what she has learned in school, she saved hundreds of people at Maikhao Beach.

Though her family declined requests for interviews by commercial broadcasting agencies, she appeared at the United Nations in November 2005. During this time, she met Bill Clinton, the UN’s Special Envoy for Tsunami Relief. (Source: Scoop Whoop)

How Did Tilly Smith Predict That A Tsunami Was About to Hit Maikhao?

Tilly was on vacation with her family in Maikhao Beach, Thailand. In a geography class weeks before their vacation, her teacher Andrew Kearney taught them about tsunamis and the signs in predicting one.

While she and her family were on the beach, she recognized the signs; receding water from the shoreline and frothing bubbles on the sea surface. She called her parents’ attention, and they went ahead and notified the hotel staff.

The sea was fizzing and there was froth on of the waves. I kept thinking, ‘I’ve seen this, I’ve seen this somewhere’. I felt something terrible was going to happen.

Tilly Smith for The Sun

The staff was able to clear out the beach just in time before the tsunami had hit. The water went on to flood town for miles; without Tilly’s warning, several people on the beach could’ve perished. (Source: Red Cross)

The power of education is the difference between I suppose success and failure, or life or death in this case, and there is nothing to substitute it for. Without education, people are powerless and as can be see here it can be very powerful in terms of directing your own lives.

Andrew Kearney\

(Source: Mama Mia)

Where is Tilly Smith Today?

Tilly Smith received numerous awards for her heroism on that day. She was named Child of the Year by a French Children’s newspaper and had received the Thomas Gray Special Award from The Marine Society & Sea Cadets. She even had an asteroid named after her.

On December 26, 2005, she was given the honor to read a poem on the tenth anniversary of the disaster.

It wasn’t devastation or death that won the day. It was humanity that triumphed, the shining victory of generosity, courage, love.

Naowarat Pongpaiboon

Today at age 26, Tilly lives in London and works in yacht chartering. (Source: Mama Mia)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: