من هو تيلي سميث؟

التسونامي عبارة عن سلسلة من الموجات الهائلة القادمة من المحيط غالبًا ما تسببها الزلازل والانهيارات الأرضية والنشاط البركاني وحتى الكويكبات. يمكن أن ترتفع إلى مائة قدم ، مسببة فيضانات شديدة ودمار شامل. أثناء كارثة تسونامي من المحيط الهندي ، يمكن لفتاة صغيرة أن تنقذ الكثير من الناس ، لكن كيف؟

علمت الفتاة الإنجليزية تيلي سميث البالغة من العمر 10 سنوات بموجات المد البحري قبل أسبوعين من إجازتها مع أسرتها في تايلاند. تمكنت من التعرف على علامات التحذير وأذهلت موظفي الفندق. كانوا قادرين على إجلاء الناس من الشاطئ.

من هو تيلي سميث؟

ولدت تيلي سميث عام 1994. وبسبب اهتمامها الشديد وتطبيقها لما تعلمته في المدرسة ، أنقذت مئات الأشخاص في شاطئ مايخاو.

على الرغم من أن عائلتها رفضت طلبات المقابلات من قبل وكالات البث التجارية ، فقد ظهرت في الأمم المتحدة في نوفمبر 2005. خلال هذا الوقت ، التقت بيل كلينتون ، مبعوث الأمم المتحدة الخاص لإغاثة تسونامي. (مصدر: مغرفة العفريت)

كيف تنبأ تيلي سميث بأن تسونامي كان على وشك أن يضرب مايخاو؟

كانت تيلي في إجازة مع عائلتها في شاطئ مايخاو بتايلاند. في فصل جغرافيا قبل أسابيع من إجازتهم ، علمهم مدرسها أندرو كيرني عن موجات تسونامي وعلامات توقع حدوثها.

بينما كانت هي وعائلتها على الشاطئ ، تعرفت على العلامات ؛ انحسار المياه من الشاطئ ووجود فقاعات مزبدية على سطح البحر. لفتت انتباه والديها ، ومضوا قدما وأبلغوا موظفي الفندق.

كان البحر يزول ، وكان هناك زبد على الأمواج. ظللت أفكر ، "لقد رأيت هذا ، لقد رأيت هذا في مكان ما". شعرت أن شيئًا فظيعًا سيحدث.

تيلي سميث للشمس

كان الموظفون قادرين على إخلاء الشاطئ في الوقت المناسب قبل وقوع كارثة تسونامي. استمرت المياه في إغراق المدينة لأميال. دون تحذير تيلي ، كان من الممكن أن يموت العديد من الأشخاص على الشاطئ. (مصدر: الصليب الأحمر)

قوة التعليم هي الفرق بين أفترض النجاح والفشل ، أو الحياة أو الموت في هذه الحالة ، ولا يوجد ما يحل محله. بدون تعليم ، يكون الناس عاجزين ، وكما يمكن أن نرى هنا يمكن أن تكون قوية جدًا من حيث إدارة حياتك الخاصة.

أندرو كيرني \

(مصدر: ماما ميا)

أين تيلي سميث اليوم؟

تلقت تيلي سميث العديد من الجوائز على بطولتها في ذلك اليوم. تم تسميتها طفل العام من قبل إحدى الصحف الفرنسية للأطفال وحصل على جائزة توماس جراي الخاصة من جمعية مارين سوسايتي آند سي كاديتس. حتى أنها سميت كويكبًا باسمها.

في 26 ديسمبر 2005 ، تم تكريمها بقراءة قصيدة في الذكرى العاشرة للكارثة.

لم يكن الدمار أو الموت هو الذي فاز باليوم. كانت الإنسانية هي التي انتصرت ، انتصارًا ساطعًا للكرم والشجاعة والحب.

Naowarat Pongpaiboon

اليوم في سن 26 ، يعيش تيلي في لندن ويعمل في تأجير اليخوت. (مصدر: ماما ميا)

اترك تعليق

Home » Sensitive Subjects » Who is Tilly Smith?

Who is Tilly Smith?

A tsunami is a series of massive waves from the ocean often caused by earthquakes, landslides, volcanic activity, and even asteroids. It can rise to a hundred feet, causing severe floods and mass destruction. During a tsunami from the Indian Ocean, a little girl could save a lot of people, but how?

A 10-year-old English girl, Tilly Smith, learned about tsunamis a couple of weeks before vacationing with her family in Thailand. She was able to identify the warning signs and alarmed the hotel staff. They were able to evacuate the people off the beach.

Who is Tilly Smith?

Tilly Smith was born in 1994. Because of her keen eye and application of what she has learned in school, she saved hundreds of people at Maikhao Beach.

Though her family declined requests for interviews by commercial broadcasting agencies, she appeared at the United Nations in November 2005. During this time, she met Bill Clinton, the UN’s Special Envoy for Tsunami Relief. (Source: Scoop Whoop)

How Did Tilly Smith Predict That A Tsunami Was About to Hit Maikhao?

Tilly was on vacation with her family in Maikhao Beach, Thailand. In a geography class weeks before their vacation, her teacher Andrew Kearney taught them about tsunamis and the signs in predicting one.

While she and her family were on the beach, she recognized the signs; receding water from the shoreline and frothing bubbles on the sea surface. She called her parents’ attention, and they went ahead and notified the hotel staff.

The sea was fizzing and there was froth on of the waves. I kept thinking, ‘I’ve seen this, I’ve seen this somewhere’. I felt something terrible was going to happen.

Tilly Smith for The Sun

The staff was able to clear out the beach just in time before the tsunami had hit. The water went on to flood town for miles; without Tilly’s warning, several people on the beach could’ve perished. (Source: Red Cross)

The power of education is the difference between I suppose success and failure, or life or death in this case, and there is nothing to substitute it for. Without education, people are powerless and as can be see here it can be very powerful in terms of directing your own lives.

Andrew Kearney\

(Source: Mama Mia)

Where is Tilly Smith Today?

Tilly Smith received numerous awards for her heroism on that day. She was named Child of the Year by a French Children’s newspaper and had received the Thomas Gray Special Award from The Marine Society & Sea Cadets. She even had an asteroid named after her.

On December 26, 2005, she was given the honor to read a poem on the tenth anniversary of the disaster.

It wasn’t devastation or death that won the day. It was humanity that triumphed, the shining victory of generosity, courage, love.

Naowarat Pongpaiboon

Today at age 26, Tilly lives in London and works in yacht chartering. (Source: Mama Mia)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: